Introduction

The Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) is responsible for administering the collective bargaining process for the federal public service, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and Parliament.

Sections 103 and 104 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA) specify that a bargaining agent may choose arbitration or conciliation as the process for resolving disputes arising from collective bargaining.

Arbitration leads to an arbitral decision that resolves the dispute and that binds the parties, thus eliminating the possibility of a strike.

Conciliation is a non-binding process that recognizes that employees in the bargaining unit have the right to strike under certain conditions, which is why it is often referred to as the "conciliation/strike route".

Regardless of the bargaining agent’s chosen dispute resolution process, the employer or the bargaining agent may request third-party assistance from the FPSLREB to facilitate the progress of negotiations. That request may be made under section 108 of the FPSLRA.

Under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA), arbitration is the only method available for resolving disputes that may arise during collective bargaining. Under section 40 of the PESRA, third-party assistance can be requested from the FPSLREB to facilitate collective bargaining.

Dispute Resolution Services (DRS) acts as the central resource for administrative services that facilitate resolving disputes that arise in the context of collective bargaining. In that role, DRS receives and processes applications and documents related to arbitration and conciliation processes.

The FPSLREB provides information on the status of collective bargaining. You can search for current information by employer, bargaining agent, or bargaining unit.

See the Fact Sheet on Collective Bargaining for more detailed information.

Introduction

La Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTESPF) est responsable de l'administration du régime de négociation collective dans la fonction publique fédérale, à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et au Parlement.

Les articles 103 et 104 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (LRTSPF) précisent que l’agent négociateur peut choisir entre l’arbitrage et la conciliation comme mode de règlement des différends découlant de la négociation collective.

L'arbitrage mène à une décision arbitrale qui règle le différend et lie les parties, écartant ainsi la possibilité d’une grève.

Quant à la conciliation, il s’agit d’un processus non exécutoire qui reconnaît aux employés faisant partie de l’unité de négociation le droit de déclencher une grève sous réserve de certaines conditions; c'est pourquoi elle est souvent appelée la « voie de la conciliation/grève ».

Peu importe le mode de règlement des différends choisi par l’agent négociateur, l'employeur ou l'agent négociateur peut demander l'aide d'un tiers à la CRTESPF pour faciliter le déroulement des négociations. Une telle demande peut être présentée en vertu de l'article 108 de la LRTSPF.

En vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP), l'arbitrage est le seul mode de règlement des différends permis pour régler un différend qui pourrait survenir dans le cadre de la négociation collective. Une demande peut être présentée en vertu de l'article 40 de la LRTP pour demander l'aide d'un tiers à la CRTESPF pour faciliter la négociation collective.

L'équipe des Services de médiation et de règlement des différends (SMRD) agit à titre de point central dans l'administration des services visant le règlement des différends qui surviennent dans le cadre de la négociation collective. À ce titre, les SMRD reçoivent et traitent les demandes et documents liés aux processus d’arbitrage et de conciliation.

La CRTESPF offre des renseignements sur l'état des négociations collectives. Vous pouvez trouver des renseignements à jour par employeur, agent négociateur et unité de négociation.

Consultez la fiche d'information sur la négociation collective pour obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés.