Policy on Accommodation Requests

Table of Contents

  1. Effective Date
  2. Who to Contact at the FPSLREB to make a request for accommodation
  3. Making a Request for Accommodation
  4. Next Steps
  5. Other Important Information
  6. Inquiries

The FPSLREB is committed to ensuring that its processes are accessible. It addresses requests for reasonable accommodation on a case-by-case basis in accordance with the Canadian Human Rights Act.

1. Effective Date

This policy is effective immediately.

2. Who to Contact at the FPSLREB to make a request for accommodation

Requests for accommodation must be made as soon as possible, once the need for accommodation becomes known.

Requests for accommodation should normally be sent directly to the Registry by telephone at 613-949-6516, Teletypewriter at 1-866-389-6901 or by e-mail: director.directeur@fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca.

The FPSLREB recognizes that accommodation needs may arise during any stage of the complaint process. During FPSLREB proceedings, such as hearings or mediation sessions, the person making the request can speak directly to the member presiding at the hearing or the mediator. In those cases, the member or mediator may directly address a request for accommodation or refer the request to the Registry, as appropriate.

3. Making a Request for Accommodation

A request for accommodation must be as specific as possible. The provision of sufficient information is important in reviewing a request for accommodation. Otherwise, it may not be possible to assess the request or to properly address it.

At the same time, the person making the request should include only the information that is necessary to address it. Details of a medical condition are not required at this stage.

The request for accommodation should include information such as

4. Next Steps

The FPSLREB will review the information on the request for accommodation as soon as possible, and inform the person of the result of that review. In certain circumstances, the FPSLREB will ask for additional information or may organize a conference call to discuss the matter.

5. Other Important Information

Privacy considerations

To the extent possible, the FPSLREB will respect the privacy of the individual making the request for accommodation. However in some situations, particularly in the context of a hearing, the FPSLREB may ask that a copy of the request be sent to the other parties for procedural fairness or that information be provided to the other parties in order to respond to the accommodation request. If this is necessary, the FPSLREB may consider submissions from the parties in order to maintain sensitivity to privacy issues.

Disability

Where the request for accommodation relates to disability, this includes:

Use of support services and related arrangements

The FPSLREB recognizes that some individuals require the use of support services to assist with daily needs including communication, mobility, personal care or medical needs. The FPSLREB strives to support such accommodation services but will not generally arrange for them.

Service animals and assistive devices

Some individuals may require the use of a service animal or assistive device to participate in the FPSLREB's proceedings. The Registrar should be contacted in advance of the proceedings if any special arrangements are required for the animal or device.

Scented products

Please note that the FPSLREB asks people who are attending meetings in person – such as mediation meetings, pre-hearing and settlement conferences and hearings – to refrain from using scented products.

Unavailability of accommodation measure

Where an accessibility or accommodation measure provided by the FPSLREB becomes unavailable, the FPSLREB will provide notice as soon as practicable.

6. Inquiries

Inquiries concerning these guidelines may be directed to:

Director, Staffing Registry Services
Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board
240 Sparks Street, 6th Floor West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A5

Telephone: 613-949-6516
Fax: 613-949-6551

Politique sur les demandes d'accommodement

Table des matières

  1. Date d'entrée en vigueur
  2. À qui adresser une demande d'accommodement é la CRTESPF
  3. Soumettre une demande d'accommodement
  4. Étapes suivantes
  5. Autres renseignements importants
  6. Demandes de renseignements

La CRTESPF s'engage à assurer l'accessibilité de ses processus. Il traite les demandes d'accommodement raisonnables au cas par cas, conformément à la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne.

1. Date d'entrée en vigueur

La présente politique entre en vigueur immédiatement.

2. À qui adresser une demande d'accommodement à la CRTESPF

Les demandes d'accommodement doivent être soumises dès que possible – une fois le besoin connu.

Les demandes d'accommodement doivent normalement être soumises directement au Greffe par téléphone au 613-949-6516, par téléimprimeur au 1-866-389-6901 ou par courriel à director.directeur@fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca.

La CRTESPF reconnaît que des besoins d'accommodement peuvent survenir à n'importe quelle étape du processus de plainte. Au cours des procédures de la CRTESPF – audiences ou séances de médiation –, la personne formulant la demande peut parler directement au membre qui préside l'audience ou au médiateur. Dans ces circonstances, le membre ou le médiateur peut donner suite à la demande lui-même ou l'adresser au Greffe, s'il y a lieu.

3. Soumettre une demande d'accommodement

La demande d'accommodement doit être formulée de la façon la plus précise possible. Il est important de fournir des renseignements suffisants dans la demande, faute de quoi il pourrait être impossible d'en faire l'évaluation ou d'y répondre adéquatement.

D'autre part, la personne qui présente la demande ne doit fournir que les renseignements essentiels. Il n'est pas nécessaire de présenter de détails sur l'état de santé à cette étape.

La demande d'accommodement doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :

4. Étapes suivantes

La CRTESPF examine la demande d'accommodement le plus rapidement possible et informe la personne des résultats de cet examen. Dans certaines circonstances, la CRTESPF peut demander des renseignements additionnels ou organiser une conférence téléphonique afin de discuter de la question.

5. Autres renseignements importants

Considérations relatives à la vie privée

Dans la mesure du possible, la CRTESPF respecte la vie privée de la personne qui présente la demande. Toutefois, dans certaines situations, en particulier dans le contexte d'une audience, la CRTESPF peut demander qu'une copie de la demande soit envoyée aux autres parties pour les besoins de l'équité procédurale, ou que des renseignements soient fournis aux autres parties afin de répondre à la demande d'accommodement. S'il le juge nécessaire, la CRTESPF peut tenir compte des observations des parties de manière à demeurer attentif aux questions relatives à la vie privée.

Déficiences

Les catégories suivantes sont prises en compte quand la demande se rapporte à une déficience :

Services de soutien et dispositions connexes

La CRTESPF reconnaît que certaines personnes doivent avoir recours à des services de soutien pour répondre à leurs besoins quotidiens tels que la communication, la mobilité, les soins personnels ou les soins médicaux. La CRTESPF s'efforce de faciliter le recours aux services de soutien, mais ne les fournira généralement pas lui-même.

Animaux d'assistance et appareils fonctionnels

Certaines personnes peuvent avoir besoin d'un animal d'assistance ou d'un appareil fonctionnel pour participer aux procédures de la CRTESPF. Si des dispositions particulières doivent être prises relativement à l'animal ou à l'appareil, le Greffe doit en être avisé à l'avance.

Produits parfumés

La CRTESPF demande à celles et ceux qui assistent aux rencontres en personne (séances de médiation, conférences préparatoires, conférences de règlement et audiences) de s'abstenir d'utiliser des produits parfumés.

Indisponibilité des mesures d'accommodement

En cas d'indisponibilité des mesures d'accessibilité ou d'accommodement fournies par la CRTESPF, celui-ci en avisera les personnes concernées dans un délai raisonnable.

6. Demandes de renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements concernant la présente politique doivent être acheminées à :

Directrice, Services du greffe (dotation)
Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral
240, rue Sparks, 6e étage ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A5

Téléphone : 613-949-6516
Télécopieur : 613-949-6551