Policy on Affidavits

What is an affidavit?

An affidavit is a written declaration or statement of facts, confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the person who is making the affidavit in the presence of an individual who has the authority to administer oaths and affirmations.  The person making the declaration or statement of facts attests that the information contained in the affidavit is true.

When is an affidavit used?

The Public Service Employment Act gives the FPSLREB the power to accept affidavit evidence.  A member of the PSLREB can direct that certain witnesses provide their evidence through an affidavit in circumstances when, for example, the evidence relates to character evidence or is considered to be circumstantial. PSLREB hearings are usually scheduled for two days, the purpose of using affidavit evidence is to better manage the hearing time.

Will the affidavit evidence have as much weight as oral testimony?

Yes.  Affidavit evidence is equal to oral testimony.  In cases before the FPSLREB, the witness providing affidavit evidence will still be required to attend the hearing, either in person or via telephone to be cross-examined on the information provided in the affidavit.  The party calling that particular witness will then have the opportunity to conduct a re-examination of the witness.

Is it better to have witnesses testify in person?

Not always. Often writing out the facts in an affidavit results in evidence being presented in a more organized and clear fashion.  It is, however, preferable to have key witnesses testify in person, because their testimony is directly related to the core of the complaint.  For example, the complainant, an assessment board member or an expert witness would be best to testify in person.  The complainant and the assessment board member were directly involved in the appointment process and are able to speak directly to the events that transpired, whereas the expert witness needs to be qualified as an expert by the member at the hearing.

Witnesses who do not provide evidence directly related to the complaint, can provide their evidence by way of an affidavit.  For example a witness who provides character evidence, (i.e. the purpose of the testimony is to establish that the complainant is a hard worker, a good person, etc.) or circumstantial evidence (i.e. a co-worker testifies that he has observed discrimination in the work place). Character evidence and/or circumstantial evidence are used to support the party's case.

Witnesses who will be giving similar evidence or testifying about the same issue, can also provide their evidence by way of an affidavit.

Can more than one affidavit be submitted in a hearing?

Yes. The member presiding the pre-hearing conference will determine which witness(es) should testify by affidavit.

Content of an affidavit

An affidavit must be in writing, and must contain the following information:

  1. the name of the proceeding to which it relates;
  2. the name and work address of the person making the affidavit;
  3. the title or position of the person making the affidavit;
  4. a statement that the person making the affidavit swears or affirms that the contents of the affidavit are true to the best of his or her knowledge;
  5. a concise statement of each of the facts relevant to the case (each fact should be set out in a separate paragraph, and should be very explicit).

Persons filing an affidavit may use the Form provided by the FPSLREB for this purpose.

The affidavit must be sworn or affirmed and signed in the presence of an individual who has the authority to administer oaths and affirmations (e.g. a lawyer or a Commissioner for taking oaths and affirmations).

How long should an affidavit be?

An affidavit in the course of a FPSLREB hearing should be limited to a few pages.  The member presiding the pre-hearing conference may set a page limit for the affidavit.

Where can I find a commissioner for taking oaths or a notary public?

The FPSLREB does not offer the services of a commissioner for taking oaths or a notary public.

You may wish to consult a telephone directory to locate a lawyer, a notary public or a commissioner for taking oaths.  You can also contact a community legal clinic or inquire with your union or at your local municipal office if there is someone there authorized to swear or affirm your affidavit. Some government offices such as Service Canada may also offer the services of a commissioner for taking oaths.

Where to send affidavits

Affidavits must be sent to the parties attending the hearing as well as to the FPSLREB on the date instructed by the member conducting the pre-hearing conference.

Politique concernant les affidavits

Qu'est-ce qu'un affidavit?

Un affidavit est une déclaration écrite faite sous serment ou avec affirmation solennelle devant une personne autorisée à faire prêter serment ou à recevoir les affirmations solennelles. La personne signant la déclaration atteste la vérité des faits qui y sont énoncés.

Quand est-ce qu'on utilise un affidavit?

La Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique confère à la CRTESPF le pouvoir d'accepter des preuves par affidavit. Un commissaire de la CRTESPF peut demander à certains témoins de produire leurs preuves par affidavit lorsque par exemple celles-ci concernent le caractère de la personne ou sont considérées comme circonstancielles. Les audiences de la CRTESPF sont prévues ordinairement pour deux jours; l'utilisation des affidavits vise à mieux gérer la durée des procédures.

Les preuves par affidavit auront-elles autant de poids que les dépositions orales?

Oui. Un poids égal est accordé à la preuve par affidavit et à la déposition orale. Dans les affaires devant la CRTESPF, le témoin qui dépose par affidavit sera quand même tenu de comparaître à l'audience en personne ou par téléphone pour un contre-interrogatoire sur les faits énoncés dans l'affidavit. La partie faisant comparaître ce témoin aura alors l'occasion de mener un nouvel interrogatoire de celui-ci.

Est-il mieux de faire déposer les témoins en personne?

Pas toujours. Il arrive souvent que les faits énoncés dans un affidavit présentent les preuves d'une manière claire et plus structurée. Il est toutefois préférable de faire déposer en personne les principaux témoins dans la mesure où leur témoignage est directement lié à l'essentiel des motifs de la plainte. Les meilleurs témoins en personne seraient par exemple le plaignant, un membre du comité d'évaluation ou un témoin expert. Le plaignant et le membre du comité d'évaluation participaient directement dans le processus de nomination et sont donc en mesure d'aborder directement les événements intervenus, tandis que le témoin expert devra être reconnu comme tel par le membre à l'audience.

Les témoins dont la déposition n'a pas de rapport direct avec la plainte peuvent produire leurs preuves par affidavit – par exemple un témoin qui produit une preuve du caractère de la personne (son témoignage sert à établir que le plaignant est un travailleur acharné, quelqu'un de bien, etc.) ou une preuve circonstancielle (un collègue affirme qu'il a observé sur le lieu de travail une situation de discrimination). Les preuves concernant le caractère de la personne et/ou les preuves circonstancielles servent à appuyer la cause de telle ou telle partie.

Les témoins appelés à produire des éléments de preuve qui vont dans le même sens ou qui portent sur la même question peuvent aussi présenter leur déposition par affidavit.

Peut-on produire plusieurs affidavits au cours d'une audience?

Oui. Le commissaire qui préside la conférence préparatoire déterminera lequel ou lesquels des témoins devraient présenter leur déposition par affidavit.

Contenu d'un affidavit

L'affidavit doit être formulé par écrit et contenir les éléments suivants :

  1. le nom de la procédure à laquelle il se rapporte;
  2. le nom et l'adresse de travail de la personne signant l'affidavit;
  3. le titre ou le poste de la personne signant l'affidavit;
  4. une déclaration de la personne signant l'affidavit par laquelle elle jure ou affirme solennellement que les faits qui y sont énoncés sont, à sa connaissance, vrais;
  5. un bref exposé de chacun des éléments factuels se rapportant à l'affaire (chaque élément sera présenté dans un paragraphe distinct, d'une façon très explicite).

Les personnes déposant un affidavit peuvent utiliser le formulaire fourni par la CRTESPF à cette fin.

L'affidavit doit faire l'objet d'une déclaration sous serment ou d'une affirmation solennelle pour ensuite être signé en présence d'une personne autorisée à faire prêter serment et à recevoir les affirmations solennelles (c'est-à-dire un avocat ou un commissaire à l'assermentation).

L'affidavit devrait tenir sur combien de pages?

Dans le contexte d'une audience de la CRTESPF, un affidavit devrait se limiter à quelques pages. Le commissaire qui préside la conférence préparatoire peut établir un nombre maximum de pages.

Où est-ce que je peux trouver un commissaire à l'assermentation ou un notaire public?

La CRTESPF n'offre pas les services d'un commissaire à l'assermentation ou d'un notaire public.

Nous vous invitons à consulter un annuaire téléphonique à la recherche d'un avocat, d'un notaire public ou d'un commissaire à l'assermentation. Vous pouvez également contacter une clinique juridique communautaire, vous renseigner auprès de votre syndicat ou demander à votre bureau municipal local s'il dispose de quelqu'un autorisé à faire prêter serment ou à recevoir les affirmations solennelles. D'autre part, il se peut que certains bureaux du gouvernement comme Service Canada proposent les services d'un commissaire à l'assermentation.

Où est-ce qu'il faut envoyer les affidavits?

Les affidavits doivent être transmis aux parties comparaissant à l'audience ainsi qu'à la CRTESPF à la date prescrite par le commissaire en charge de la conférence préparatoire.