Policy for Scheduling of Hearings and Requests for Postponements

1. PURPOSE

The FPSLREB has developed the present policy to ensure that all parties to a complaint have their matter heard within a reasonable time and that PSLREB resources are used in an efficient and effective manner.


2. HEARINGS

2.1 Scheduling Hearings

A matter will be set down for a hearing approximately 60 days after the deputy head's (the respondent's) reply has been received by the FPSLREB. Normally, two days will be set aside for the hearing unless the FPSLREB determines otherwise. The parties will not be consulted about these dates. The Director, Staffing Registry Services will notify all parties of the date, time and location of the hearing via e-mail (Notice of Hearing). The exact address will be communicated no later than seven days, but usually one month, before the date of the hearing.

Once they have received the Notice of Hearing, the parties and their representatives must ensure that they are available on the scheduled dates. Parties should also ensure that their witnesses are available on those dates. If not, a request for postponement must be submitted within the first 30 days of receiving the Notice of Hearing.


3. REQUESTS FOR POSTPONEMENT

3.1 What to do if you are making your request within 30 days of receiving the Notice of Hearing

If you or your witnesses are not available on the dates indicated in the Notice of Hearing and wish to request a postponement, you must submit your request within 30 days of receiving the Notice of Hearing and follow the steps outlined below.

Step 1:

Communicate with the other parties to find out whether they consent to the postponement. DO NOT COPY THE FPSLREB ON THESE EXCHANGES.

The parties to a complaint can include:

Step 2:

Agree with the other parties on different dates for the hearing.
DO NOT COPY THE FPSLREB ON THESE EXCHANGES.

Step 3:

Provide your request in writing to the FPSLREB and the other parties at the same time, with the following information:

The FPSLREB WILL NOT consider a request for postponement if the information in Step 3 has not been provided. The request will be returned to the requestor immediately.

The other parties have five days from the time the request is received to respond to it if they wish. If no response is received within the five-day period, the FPSLREB will render a decision on the basis of the information it has received.

The FPSLREB may, in appropriate circumstances, take the opportunity to hold a teleconference.

3.2 What to do if more than 30 days have elapsed since you received the Notice of Hearing

You may request a postponement after the 30 days have elapsed since you received the Notice of Hearing where there are exceptional circumstances that have arisen that prevent you from proceeding with the hearing as scheduled.

Before submitting your request for postponement, you must follow the steps outlined below:

Step 1:

Same process as described in the Step 1 above.

Step 2:

Same process as described in the Step 2 above.

Step 3:

Provide the request in writing to the FPSLREB and the other parties at the same time, with the following information:

The FPSLREB WILL NOT consider a request for postponement if the information in Step 3 has not been provided. The request will be returned to the requestor immediately.

The other parties have five days from the time the request is received to respond to it if they wish. If no response is received within the five-day period, the FPSLREB will render a decision on the basis of the information it has received.

Requests for postponement are not automatically granted, even when all parties consent to the postponement. The FPSLREB will consider the request, but will grant a postponement only where there are exceptional circumstances that justify granting the postponement.

The FPSLREB may, in appropriate circumstances, take the opportunity to hold a teleconference.

3.3 Request for postponement to allow for mediation

Requests for postponement to allow for mediation are not automatically granted, even when all parties consent to the postponement. The FPSLREB will consider the reasons for the request and the dates proposed by the parties. In some cases, the FPSLREB may wish to hold a teleconference.


4. EXAMPLES

Example 1: Request for Postponement Where There Are Exceptional Circumstances

The Notice of Hearing was received by the parties on March 8, 2013, indicating that the hearing will be held on July 17 and 18, 2013. The last week of May, the complainant is hospitalized for a serious illness which requires a few weeks of convalescence. His convalescence prevents him from attending the hearing. The complainant must therefore make a request to postpone the hearing. However, given that the Notice of Hearing was received more than 30 days ago, the complainant must provide exceptional circumstances that justify the postponement. In this particular case, the exceptional circumstance is his convalescence time.

Step 1:

The complainant must communicate with the other parties to obtain their consent to postpone the hearing. In this case, it is the respondent and the Public Service Commission (PSC) only. The appointee did not respond to the allegations, therefore there is no requirement to communicate with her. Note that the FPSLREB is not copied on this communication.

Sample of email exchange between the parties:

Complainant:
Due to a serious illness requiring a few weeks of convalescence, I will not be able to attend the hearing on July 17th and 18th, 2013. I would therefore request your consent to postpone the hearing to a later date.
Respondent:
Yes, we consent to the postponement request.
PSC:
Yes, we consent to the postponement request.

Step 2:

The complainant must also ask the other parties for other dates on which they are available for the hearing. Note that the FPSLREB is not copied on this communication.

Complainant:
I propose the following alternative dates for the hearing: the week of September 9th, 2013, September 18th and 19th and the week of September 30th. Please provide me with your availability.
Respondent:
The respondent is available the weeks of September 9th and 30th, 2013.
PSC:
The PSC is available the weeks of September 9th and 30th, as well.

Step 3:

The complainant sends his request for postponement in writing to the FPSLREB and to the other parties. See sample email below.

Complainant:
The last week of May, I was hospitalized due to a serious illness and require a few weeks of convalescence. Consequently, I would like to request a postponement of the hearing scheduled for July 17th and 18th. I have contacted the respondent and the PSC and they consent to the postponement. As for alternate dates, we are all available the weeks of September 9th and 30th, 2013. Consequently, I would request that the hearing be rescheduled during one of those weeks.

The other parties have five days to respond to the postponement request.

Respondent:
The respondent consents to the postponement and is available the weeks of September 9th and 30th.
PSC:
The PSC consents to the postponement and is also available the weeks of September 9th and 30th.

Step 4:

The FPSLREB will render its decision after reviewing all of the information.


Example 2: Making a Request for Postponement Within 30 Days of Receiving the Notice of Hearing

The Notice of Hearing was received by the parties on March 8, 2013, indicating that the hearing will be held on July 17 and 18, 2013. Upon receipt of the Notice of Hearing, the complainant realizes that she will be on vacation during that week and will not be able to attend the hearing. The complainant must therefore make a request for postponement of the hearing.

Step 1:

The complainant communicates with the other parties to obtain their consent to postpone the hearing. In this case it is the respondent and the Public Service Commission (PSC) only. The appointee did not respond to the allegations, therefore there is no requirement to communicate with him. Note that the FPSLREB is not copied on this communication.

Sample of email exchange between the parties:

Complainant:
Following receipt of the FPSLREB's Notice of Hearing, I realized that I will be on vacation on July 17th and 18th, 2013. I would therefore request your consent to postpone the hearing to a later date.
Respondent:
Yes, we consent to the postponement request.
PSC:
Yes, we consent to the postponement request.

Step 2:

The complainant must also ask the other parties for other dates on which they are available for the hearing. Note that the FPSLREB is not copied on this communication.

Complainant:
I propose the following alternative dates for the hearing: August 5th to the 16th, 2013 and I am also available all of September. Please provide me with your availability.
Respondent:
The respondent is available the weeks of August 12th, 2013 and September 9th, 2013.
PSC:
The PSC is available the weeks of August 5th, August 12th and September 9th, 2013.

Step 3:

The complainant sends his request for postponement in writing to the FPSLREB and the parties within the 30 days of receiving the Notice of Hearing. See sample email below.

Complainant:
I would like to request a postponement of the hearing scheduled for July 17th and 18th because I will be on vacation. I have contacted the respondent and the PSC and they consent to the postponement. As for alternate dates, we are all available the weeks of August 12th and September 9th, 2013. Consequently, I would request that the hearing be rescheduled during the week of August 12th or September 9th, 2013.

The parties have five days to respond to the postponement request.

Respondent:
The respondent consents to the postponement and is available the weeks of August 12th and September 9th.
PSC:
The PSC consents to the postponement and is available the weeks of August 12th and September 9th.

Step 4:

The FPSLREB will render its decision after reviewing all of the information.

Politique concernant la fixation des dates d'audience et les demandes de remise

1. OBJET

La CRTESPF a rédigé la présente politique afin de s'assurer que toutes les parties à une plainte pourront être entendues dans un délai raisonnable et que les ressources de la CRTESPF seront utilisées efficacement.


2. AUDIENCES

2.1 Fixation des dates d'audience

Une affaire est mise au rôle environ 60 jours après réception par la CRTESPF de la réponse de l'administrateur général (l'intimé). Ordinairement, deux jours sont réservés pour l'audience à moins que la CRTESPF en décide autrement. Les parties ne sont pas consultées sur le choix de ces dates. Le directeur, Services du greffe (dotation), avise les parties de la date, de l'heure et du lieu de l'audience par courriel (avis d'audience). Les coordonnées exactes sont communiquées aux parties au plus tard sept jours avant la date de l'audience, mais habituellement un mois à l'avance.

Les parties et leurs représentants doivent s'assurer, dès réception de l'avis d'audience, qu'ils sont disponibles aux dates prévues. Il incombe également aux parties de s'assurer que leurs témoins seront disponibles à ces dates. En cas d'indisponibilité, les parties doivent présenter une demande de remise dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de l'avis d'audience.


3. DEMANDES DE REMISE

3.1 Marche à suivre pour présenter une demande de remise d'audience dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de l'avis d'audience

La partie ou ses témoins qui ne seront pas disponibles aux dates précisées dans l'avis d'audience et qui souhaitent demander une remise doivent présenter leur demande dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de l'avis d'audience, selon les étapes indiquées ci-dessous.

Étape 1 :

Communiquer avec les autres parties afin de tenter d'obtenir leur consentement, SANS FAIRE PARVENIR DE COPIE DE CES ÉCHANGES À LA CRTESPF.

Parties à une plainte :

Étape 2 :

Convenir avec les autres parties de nouvelles dates d'audience, SANS FAIRE PARVENIR DE COPIE DE CES ÉCHANGES À LA CRTESPF.

Étape 3 :

Soumettre sa demande par écrit à la CRTESPF et aux autres parties en même temps et fournir les renseignements suivants :

La CRTESPF N'examinera PAS la demande de remise si l'information requise à l'étape 3 n'a pas été fournie. La demande sera immédiatement retournée au demandeur.

Les autres parties disposent de cinq jours suivant la réception de la demande pour y répondre, si elles le souhaitent. Si la CRTESPF ne reçoit aucune réponse dans les cinq jours, il rendra une décision sur la demande en se fondant sur l'information dont il dispose.

La CRTESPF pourrait, dans des circonstances appropriées, décider de tenir une téléconférence.

3.2 Marche à suivre lorsque plus de 30 jours se sont écoulés depuis la réception de l'avis d'audience

Il est possible de demander une remise d'audience une fois la période de 30 jours suivant la réception de l'avis d'audience écoulée, lorsque des circonstances exceptionnelles empêchent de procéder à l'audience à la date prévue.

Avant de soumettre la demande de remise, il convient de suivre les étapes suivantes :

Étape 1 :

Mêmes dispositions que celles de l'étape 1 ci–dessus.

Étape 2 :

Mêmes dispositions que celles de l'étape 2 ci–dessus.

Étape 3 :

Soumettre la demande par écrit à la CRTESPF et aux autres parties en même temps et fournir les renseignements suivants :

La CRTESPF N'examinera PAS la demande de remise si l'information requise à l'étape 3 n'a pas été fournie. La demande sera immédiatement retournée au demandeur.

Les autres parties disposent de cinq jours suivant la réception de la demande pour y répondre, si elles le souhaitent. Si la CRTESPF ne reçoit aucune réponse dans les cinq jours, il rendra une décision sur la demande en se fondant sur l'information dont il dispose.

La demande de remise n'est pas automatiquement accordée, même en cas de consentement unanime des parties. La CRTESPF examinera la demande, mais n'accordera une remise que dans le cas où des circonstances exceptionnelles le justifient.

La CRTESPF pourrait, dans des circonstances appropriées, décider de tenir une téléconférence.

3.3 Demande de remise d'audience pour procéder à la médiation

La demande de remise pour cause de médiation n'est pas automatiquement accordée, même en cas de consentement unanime des parties. La CRTESPF examinera les motifs de la demande ainsi que les dates proposées par les parties. La CRTESPF pourrait, dans des circonstances appropriées, décider de tenir une téléconférence.


4. EXEMPLES

Exemple 1 : Comment faire une demande de remise lorsqu'il existe des circonstances exceptionnelles

Les parties ont reçu le 8 mars 2013 un avis d'audience indiquant que l'audience aura lieu les 17 et 18 juillet 2013. Au cours de la dernière semaine de mai, le plaignant est hospitalisé en raison d'une maladie grave. Il devra passer plusieurs semaines en convalescence. Il ne pourra donc pas se présenter à l'audience et doit demander une remise. Cependant, étant donné qu'il a reçu l'avis d'audience il y a plus de 30 jours, le plaignant doit invoquer des circonstances exceptionnelles pour justifier la remise. En l'espèce, il s'agit de la convalescence.

Étape 1 :

Le plaignant doit communiquer avec les autres parties afin d'obtenir leur consentement. En l'espèce, il s'agit seulement de l'intimé et de la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP). La personne nommée n'a pas donné suite aux allégations; il n'est donc pas nécessaire de communiquer avec elle. Remarque : La CRTESPF ne reçoit pas les communications à cet égard.

Exemple de l'échange de courriels entre les parties :

Le plaignant :
En raison d'une maladie grave, je devrai passer quelques semaines en convalescence et ne pourrai donc pas me présenter à l'audience des 17 et 18 juillet 2013. J'aimerais donc obtenir votre consentement pour une remise d'audience à une date ultérieure.
L'intimé :
Oui, nous consentons à votre demande de remise d'audience.
La CFP :
Oui, nous consentons à votre demande de remise d'audience.

Étape 2 :

Le plaignant doit également demander aux autres parties d'autres dates auxquelles elles seraient disponibles pour se présenter à l'audience. Remarque : La CRTESPF ne reçoit pas les communications à cet égard.

Le plaignant :
Je propose les nouvelles dates suivantes : la semaine du 9 septembre, les 18 et 19 septembre et la semaine du 30 septembre 2013. Veuillez me faire connaître vos disponibilités.
L'intimé :
L'intimé est disponible les semaines du 9 et du 30 septembre 2013.
La CFP :
La CFP est aussi disponible les semaines du 9 et du 30 septembre.

Étape 3 :

Le plaignant fait parvenir sa demande de remise par écrit à la CRTESPF et aux autres parties. Voir l'exemple ci–dessous.

Le plaignant :
Au cours de la dernière semaine de mai, j'ai été hospitalisé en raison d'une maladie grave. Je devrai ensuite passer quelques semaines en convalescence. Je demande donc une remise de l'audience qui devait avoir lieu les 17 et 18 juillet. J'ai communiqué avec l'intimé et avec la CFP. Les deux consentent à la remise de l'audience. Nous sommes tous disponibles les semaines du 9 et du 30 septembre 2013. Je demande donc que l'audience soit remise à l'une ou à l'autre de ces semaines.

Les autres parties disposent de cinq jours pour répondre à la demande de remise.

L'intimé :
L'intimé consent à la remise d'audience. Il est disponible les semaines du 9 et du 30 septembre.
La CFP :
La CFP consent à la remise d'audience. Elle est également disponible les semaines du 9 et du 30 septembre.

Étape 4 :

La CRTESPF rendra une décision après avoir revu tous ces renseignements.


Exemple 2 : Comment faire une demande de remise dans les 30 jours de la réception de l'avis d'audience

Les parties ont reçu le 8 mars 2013 un avis d'audience indiquant que l'audience aura lieu les 17 et 18 juillet 2013. Au moment où elle reçoit l'avis d'audience, la plaignante se rappelle qu'elle sera en vacances pendant la semaine en question et qu'elle ne pourra pas participer à l'audience. Elle doit donc présenter une demande de remise.

Étape 1 :

La plaignante communique avec les autres parties afin d'obtenir leur consentement. En l'espèce, il s'agit seulement de l'intimé et de la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP). La personne nommée n'a pas donné suite aux allégations; il n'est donc pas nécessaire de communiquer avec elle. Remarque : La CRTESPF ne reçoit pas les communications à cet égard.

Exemple de l'échange de courriels entre les parties :

La plaignante :
En recevant l'avis d'audience de la CRTESPF, je me suis rappelée que je serai en vacances les 17 et 18 juillet 1013. J'aimerais donc obtenir votre consentement pour une remise d'audience à une date ultérieure.
L'intimé :
Oui, nous consentons à votre demande de remise d'audience.
La CFP :
Oui, nous consentons à votre demande de remise d'audience.

Étape 2 :

La plaignante doit également demander aux autres parties d'autres dates auxquelles elles seraient disponibles pour se présenter à l'audience. Remarque : La CRTESPF ne reçoit pas les communications à cet égard.

La plaignante :
Je propose les dates suivantes pour l'audience : du 5 au 16 août 2013 ou n'importe quand au mois de septembre. Veuillez me faire connaître vos disponibilités.
L'intimé :
L'intimé est disponible les semaines du 12 août et du 9 septembre 2013.
La CFP :
La CFP est disponible les semaines du 5 et du 12 août ainsi que celle du 9 septembre 2013.

Étape 3 :

La plaignante envoie sa demande de remise d'audience écrite à la CRTESPF et aux parties dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de l'avis d'audience. Voir l'exemple ci-dessous.

Le plaignant :
J'aimerais demander une remise de l'audience prévue pour les 17 et 18 juillet, car je serai en vacances. J'ai communiqué avec l'intimé et avec la CFP. Les deux consentent à la remise de l'audience. Nous sommes tous disponibles les semaines du 12 août et du 9 septembre 2013. Je demande donc que l'audience soit remise à la semaine du 12 août ou du 9 septembre 2013.

Les autres parties disposent de cinq jours pour répondre à la demande de remise.

L'intimé :
L'intimé consent à la remise d'audience. Il est disponible les semaines du 12 août et du 9 septembre.
La CFP :
La CFP consent à la remise d'audience. Elle est disponible les semaines du 12 août et du 9 septembre.

Étape 4 :

La CRTESPF rendra une décision après avoir revu tous ces renseignements.