Pre-hearing Exchange of Document Lists


Adobe Logo  Pre-hearing Exchange of Document Lists (PDF)

Purpose of this Direction

Unless otherwise directed by a panel of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (“the Board” or FPSLREB), the pre-hearing disclosure of lists of documents necessary to enable a party to participate in an adjudication process is required.

The purpose of the pre-hearing exchange of Document Lists is to require the parties to share with the other parties all arguably relevant documents on the matter before them. That exchange early in the proceedings means that the parties will not be taken by surprise, which will reduce potential adjournment requests and will expedite Board proceedings.

    Application of the Direction

  1. This direction applies to all FPSLREB files, including any within the jurisdiction of its predecessors (the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB), the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSRLB), and the Public Service Staff Relations Board (PSSRB)), except for files relating to staffing complaints pursuant to the Public Service Employment Act.

  2. Board files include any grievance, complaint, or application filed with the FPSLREB, the PSLREB, the PSLRB, or the PSSRB.

  3. “Document” in this direction includes any paper document and digital-form data, including emails, memos, letters, notes, photographs, sound recordings, videotapes, films, charts, graphs, maps, plans, surveys, and books of account.

  4. “Day” means a calendar day.
  5. Pre-hearing Exchange of Document Lists

  6. The Board issues a schedule for each month of the year setting out all hearings in a particular month. The schedule for each month is typically sent between four and six months in advance and lists the cases scheduled to be heard. Some files are scheduled on short notice and do not fall within the Board’s normal scheduling process. For those files, the Board shall deal with the pre-hearing exchange of Document Lists on a case-by-case basis.

  7. Sixty days before the first scheduled hearing date, as noted in the schedule, every party shall deliver to every other party a Document List disclosing, to the full extent of the party’s knowledge, information, and belief, all documents arguably relevant to the matter(s) at issue set out in the Board file scheduled to be heard.

  8. If a party fails to produce the required Document List, the other party may apply to the Board for an order directing that the non-complying party produce one within the time set by the Board.

  9. The Document List shall contain the following, in separate schedules:

    1. all documents arguably relevant to any matter at issue in the party’s possession, control, or power, including, but not limited to, all documents upon which the party intends to rely;

    2. all documents arguably relevant to any matter at issue that were formerly in the party’s possession, control, or power, together with a statement of when and how the party lost possession or control of or power over them and their present location, if known;

    3. all documents arguably relevant to any matter at issue that the party knows exist and of which the party has never had possession or control but for which it has in its power the ability to obtain possession or control or of copies of them, as well as a statement of their present location, if known; and

    4. all documents with

      1. any claim that they are confidential or contain confidential information, and a statement of the grounds for the confidentiality claim, and

      2. any claim that they are privileged, and a statement of the grounds for each claim of privilege,

      3. all documents subject to a potential statutory objection.

  10. All documents set out in the Document List shall be described with sufficient information to enable them to be properly identified. An email should be identified as such and should state the date and time it was sent, the sender and the recipients, the subject, and a brief statement as to its content, including any attachments.
  11. Supplementary Document List

  12. A party that has provided a Document List and that comes into the possession or control of, or obtains power over, an arguably relevant document or that becomes aware that the Document List is inaccurate or deficient shall as soon as possible provide a supplementary Document List adding the document or correcting the inaccuracy or deficiency.
  13. Request to Produce Documents and Request for an Order to Produce Documents

  14. A party may deliver to any other party a “Request to Produce Documents” with respect to any document identified on that other party’s Document List if it is identified as being in that other party’s possession, power, or control. A party who has received such a request shall, within seven days, produce the documents requested to the requesting party, failing which the requesting party may contact the Board to facilitate that production.

  15. If a requested document is not in the possession, power, or control of the party that included the document in its Document List, the parties shall try to resolve the issue between them.

  16. The parties may contact the Board to request an “Order to Produce Documents” should they be unable to obtain a document through a Request to Produce Documents.
  17. Delivery of Document List and Request to Produce Documents

  18. The Document List and a Request to Produce Documents shall be delivered to the addresses of the parties as the Board set out on the contact list. If a party is represented by legal counsel, the delivery to a party shall be considered effective by making the delivery to the party’s legal counsel, or if that party is represented by a bargaining agent representative, making the delivery to the party’s bargaining agent representative shall be considered effective.
  19. Failure to Comply

  20. If a party fails to comply with this direction by failing to provide the Document List within the set time frames or fails to produce a document, the Board or adjudicator assigned to hear the matter may, among other statutory authorities, exercise its or his or her discretion by making determinations at the hearing. For example, it or he or she may refuse to accept the document into evidence or may draw adverse inferences.

  21. If a party fails to comply with this direction by failing to request the production of documents, and during the course of a hearing, a document otherwise disclosed is entered into evidence, an adjournment or a postponement request may be refused.
  22. Implementation

  23. This practice direction comes into force effective Tuesday September 4, 2018, for all schedules issued after September 1, 2018. Please consult the website for information on the schedule.

Échange de listes de documents préalable à l’audience


Adobe Logo  Échange de listes de documents préalable à l’audience (PDF)

But de la présente directive

La communication préalable à l’audience de listes de documents nécessaires à la participation d’une partie à un processus d’arbitrage est nécessaire, sauf avis contraire d’une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (la « Commission » ou CRTESPF).

L’échange préalable à l’audience de listes de documents a pour but d’amener les parties à échanger tous les documents qui pourraient être pertinents à l’affaire en instance. Cet échange, qui survient tôt dans la procédure, signifie que les parties ne seront pas prises par surprise; on réduira ainsi le nombre d’éventuelles demandes d’ajournement et on accélérera les procédures de la Commission.

    Application de la directive

  1. La présente directive s’applique à tous les dossiers de la CRTESPF, y compris les dossiers qui relèvent de la compétence de ses prédécesseurs (la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP), la Commission des relations de travail de la fonction publique (CRTFP) et l’ancienne Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (ancienne CRTFP), hormis les dossiers liés à des plaintes de dotation déposées en vertu de la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique.

  2. Les dossiers de la Commission comprennent tout grief ou toute plainte ou demande présentée à la CRTESPF, la CRTEFP, la CRTFP ou l’ancienne CRTFP.

  3. Dans la présente directive, le terme « document » comprend tout document papier et toute donnée électronique, y compris les courriels, les notes de service, les lettres, les notes, les photographies, les bandes sonores, les vidéos, les films, les graphiques, les tableaux, les cartes, les plans, les sondages et les registres de compte.

  4. Le terme « jour » signifie un jour civil.
  5. Échange de listes de documents préalable à l’audience

  6. La Commission distribue un rôle pour chaque mois de l’année, qui fait état de toutes les audiences prévues dans un mois donné. Le rôle de chaque mois est habituellement envoyé quatre à six mois à l’avance et il énumère les audiences prévues. Certains dossiers sont prévus à court préavis et ne font pas partie du processus normal d’établissement du rôle de la Commission. Pour ces dossiers, la Commission gérera l’échange de listes de documents préalable à l’audience au cas par cas.

  7. Soixante jours avant la première date d’audience prévue, comme il est indiqué dans le rôle, chaque partie doit fournir à toutes les autres parties une liste de documents qui fait état, au meilleur de sa connaissance, de tous les documents potentiellement pertinents à l’affaire en litige pour laquelle une audience est prévue.

  8. Si une partie ne présente pas la liste de documents requise, l’autre partie peut demander à la Commission de rendre une ordonnance afin d’exiger de la partie en défaut qu’elle en produise une dans le délai fixé par la Commission.

  9. La liste de documents doit contenir ce qui suit dans des annexes distinctes :

    1. tous les documents potentiellement pertinents à toute question en litige que la partie a en sa possession ou dont elle assume le contrôle ou la garde, y compris tous les documents que la partie entend déposer à l’audience;

    2. tous les documents potentiellement pertinents à toute question en litige que la partie avait en sa possession ou dont elle assumait le contrôle ou la garde, accompagnés d’un énoncé du moment et de la raison de la perte de la possession, du contrôle ou de la garde par la partie et de leur emplacement actuel, s’il est connu;

    3. tous les documents potentiellement pertinents à toute question en litige dont l’existence est connue de la partie et dont cette dernière n’a jamais eu possession ou contrôle, mais dont elle a les moyens d’avoir la possession ou d’assumer le contrôle ou d’en obtenir des copies, ainsi qu’un énoncé de leur emplacement actuel, s’il est connu.

    4. tous les documents qui contiennent ce qui suit :

      1. toute indication selon laquelle ils sont confidentiels ou contiennent des renseignements confidentiels, et un énoncé des motifs de l’indication de confidentialité;

      2. toute indication selon laquelle ils sont visés par le secret professionnel, et un énoncé des motifs pour chaque indication de secret professionnel;

      3. tous les documents visés par une éventuelle objection législative.

  10. Tous les documents qui figurent dans la liste de documents doivent contenir suffisamment de renseignements descriptifs pour permettre l’identification adéquate du document. Un courriel devrait être identifié en tant que tel et comporter la date et l’heure auxquelles il a été envoyé, le nom de l’expéditeur et des destinataires, l’objet ainsi qu’un bref énoncé relatif à son contenu, y compris toute pièce jointe.
  11. Liste supplémentaire de documents

  12. Une partie qui a présenté une liste de documents et qui obtient la possession ou le contrôle d’un document potentiellement pertinent, ou qui apprend que la liste de documents est erronée ou incomplète, doit présenter une liste supplémentaire de documents afin d’ajouter le document ou de corriger l’inexactitude ou la lacune le plus tôt possible.
  13. Demande de production et demande d’ordonnance de production

  14. Une partie peut remettre à toute autre partie une « Demande de production de documents » concernant tout document énuméré dans la liste de documents de cette autre partie, s’il est indiqué qu’il se trouve en sa possession ou sous son contrôle ou sa garde. Une partie ayant reçu une telle demande doit, dans un délai de sept jours, fournir les documents demandés à la partie requérante. À défaut de le faire, la partie requérante peut communiquer avec la Commission afin de faciliter la production.

  15. Si un document demandé ne se trouve pas en la possession ou sous le contrôle ou la garde de la partie ayant inclus ce document dans sa liste, les parties doivent tenter de régler la question entre elles.

  16. Les parties peuvent communiquer avec la Commission afin de demander une « Ordonnance de production» si elles ne parviennent pas à obtenir un document au moyen d’une demande de production.
  17. Signification de la liste de documents et de la demande de production de documents

  18. La liste de documents et la demande de production doivent être livrées aux adresses des parties telles qu’elles figurent sur la liste de personnes-ressources de la Commission. Si une partie est représentée par un procureur, la signification au procureur de cette partie est valable. De même, la signification au représentant de l’agent négociateur est valable, dans le cas d’une partie représentée par un représentant de l’agent négociateur.
  19. Défaut de se conformer

  20. Lorsqu’une partie ne se conforme pas à la présente directive en ne fournissant pas la liste de documents dans les délais impartis ou en ne produisant pas un document, la formation de la Commission ou l’arbitre de grief assigné à l’audience peut, entre autres pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par la loi, exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire en rendant des décisions à l’audience. À titre d’exemple, il peut refuser d’accepter le document en preuve ou peut tirer des conclusions défavorables.

  21. Lorsqu’une partie ne se conforme pas à la présente directive en ne demandant pas la production de documents et qu’au cours d’une audience, un document dont l’existence a été divulguée est déposé en preuve, une demande d’ajournement ou de remise peut être refusée.
  22. Mise en vigueur

  23. La présente directive de pratique entre en vigueur le mardi 4 septembre 2018 pour tous les rôles émis après le 1er septembre 2018. Veuillez consulter le site Web pour en savoir plus sur le rôle.