Policy to Request an Order for the Provision of Information

Introduction

Parties are encouraged to meet or communicate with each other at the earliest possible date to complete the exchange information. This can be initiated by either the complainant or the department. Often the information sought (documents and verbal explanations) will be readily provided by the other party once it is requested. It is suggested that the parties meet for the exchange of information in order to have a true exchange and understanding of the issues in dispute. It also gives the parties an opportunity to discuss and explain matters for which there is no documentation.

Purpose of policy

  1. To ensure that parties exchange as much information voluntarily, the FPSLREB will no longer accept requests for orders for the provision of information until after the 25-day period for the exchange of information has expired.
  2. To clarify time lines for allegations and replies once a decision has been rendered on a request for an order for provision of information.

Requests made prior to the end of the period for exchange of information

Requests for orders for provision of information made before the end of the period for exchange of information will no longer be accepted. The parties will be directed to complete the exchange of information and, if a party has been refused information that is relevant, they can make a request for an order to the FPSLREB, clearly explaining how the information is relevant to the complaint.

Similarly if the FPSLREB grants the parties an extension of time to complete the exchange of information, requests for orders for the provision of information may not be brought until the completion of the exchange of information.

Requests made following the period for exchange of information

Upon receipt of a request for an order for provision of information after the exchange of information, the FPSLREB will place all time lines in abeyance while it considers the request.

The other party is to provide its response to the request within five calendar days. The response is to include whether the information exists, whether it was already provided, or will be provided, and the party's position on relevance in respect of information it does not want to provide.

If the responding party agrees to provide some or all of the information requested, it must indicate when that information will be provided failing which the FPSLREB will have to include it in its order, if it is relevant.

Once it has considered the request, the FPSLREB will render a decision and re-establish the deadlines for allegations and replies.

Parties should refer to the FPSLREB's policy on sending or receiving a request/motion. Also, the FPSLREB's web site contains decisions rendered by the PSST and the FPSLREB, including several related to requests for order for provision of information. These may be useful in preparing a request or a reply.

Politique relative aux demandes d'ordonnance de communication de renseignements

Introduction

Les parties sont conviées à se rencontrer ou à se contacter le plus tôt possible afin de procéder à l'échange de renseignements. Cette démarche peut être amorcée soit par le plaignant, soit par le ministère. Souvent, les renseignements recherchés (explications verbales et documents) sont fournis de bonne grâce et de façon ponctuelle par l'autre partie. Il est souhaitable que les parties se rencontrent pour se communiquer les renseignements afin qu'il y ait un véritable « échange » et que les questions en litige soient bien comprises. Les parties auront ainsi l'occasion de discuter des sujets pour lesquels il n'y a aucun document, et de donner des explications à cet égard.

Objectif

  1. Faire en sorte que les parties se communiquent volontairement le plus de renseignements possible. Par conséquent, la CRTESPF n'acceptera plus les demandes d'ordonnance de communication de renseignements avant la fin de la période de 25 jours prévue pour la communication de renseignements.
  2. Préciser le calendrier de présentation des allégations et des réponses après qu'une décision a été rendue en ce qui concerne une demande d'ordonnance de communication de renseignements.

Demandes présentées avant la fin de la période de communication de renseignements

Les demandes d'ordonnance de communication de renseignements présentées avant la fin de la période de communication de renseignements ne seront plus acceptées. Les parties seront invitées à exécuter l'échange de renseignements. Une partie qui n'arrive pas à obtenir un élément d'information pertinent peut présenter à la CRTESPF une demande d'ordonnance expliquant clairement en quoi les renseignements sont pertinents par rapport à sa plainte.

De la même façon, si la CRTESPF accorde une prorogation de délai aux parties pour terminer cette étape, aucune demande d'ordonnance de communication de renseignements ne peut être présentée avant la fin de la communication de renseignements.

Demandes présentées après la période de communication de renseignements

Sur réception d'une demande d'ordonnance de communication de renseignements à la suite de l'échange de renseignements, la CRTESPF suspendra tous les délais prévus pendant qu'il examine la demande.

L'autre partie devra répondre à la demande dans les cinq jours civils. Cette réponse devra indiquer si les renseignements existent, s'ils ont déjà été fournis ou s'ils le seront; elle devra également contenir le point de vue de la partie visée sur la pertinence des renseignements qu'elle ne veut pas fournir.

Si l'autre partie accepte de fournir tout ou partie des renseignements demandés, elle doit indiquer quand ils seront fournis, faute de quoi la CRTESPF devra inclure ces renseignements dans l'ordonnance si elle les estime pertinents.

Une fois qu'elle aura examiné la demande, la CRTESPF rendra une décision et fixera de nouveau les échéances relatives à la présentation des allégations et des réponses.

Les parties doivent se conformer à la politique de la CRTESPF sur l'envoi ou la réception d'une demande ou d'une requête. De plus, le site Web de la CRTESPF contient les décisions qu'elle a rendues en plus de celles rendues par le TDFP, dont plusieurs se rapportent à des demandes d'ordonnance de communication de renseignements. Ces décisions pourraient être utiles à la préparation d'une demande ou d'une réponse.