Policy on Postponements of Hearings


Adobe Logo  Policy on Postponements of Hearings (PDF)


This policy outlines the procedure for requesting the postponement of a scheduled
hearing. Scheduling a time and a place for a hearing must take into account several factors, including the geographically widespread area where hearings take place, the provision of services in both official languages and the availability of its members. Our goal is to effectively and efficiently administer justice without the unnecessary loss of time or resources.

This policy replaces all previous postponement policies of the Board.

Requesting a Postponement

Ideally, a request for a postponement should be made as soon as possible once hearing dates have been provided. As proximity to the scheduled date(s) increases, so will the Board’s scrutiny of any request for the postponement. Any postponement request must be supported by clear, cogent and compelling reasons.

  1. If a party wishes to postpone a hearing, they must submit a request in writing to the Board. The requesting party must copy all parties identified by the Board for the hearing. Consideration of a request for a postponement does not mean that the request will automatically be granted, even where all parties give their consent.
  2. The request for postponement must include the following:
    1. The currently scheduled hearing dates, and
    2. The reason(s) for requesting a postponement
  3. Upon receipt of the request, the Board may contact the other party or parties and determine whether they agree with, or oppose, the postponement request. If there is opposition to the request, the other party or parties must provide written reasons.
  4. The party asking for the postponement must set out clear, cogent and compelling reasons to support their request. The other party or parties (to the hearing) can consider the request and determine whether they wish to take a position. The Board will then determine whether or not to grant the postponement request.
  5. If the postponement is granted, the Board will advise all parties of the postponement, including any specific direction for the rescheduling of the matter.
  6. If the postponement is not granted, parties are expected to be present on the date of the hearing. If a party is not present at the hearing, the Board may proceed in their absence.

Grounds

The Board will only grant a postponement where clear, cogent and compelling reasons exist. As guidance to parties, the following will generally NOT be considered sufficient cause to grant a postponement:

  • The parties’ mutual desire for a postponement
  • The fact that the matter has not previously been postponed
  • That the parties indicate the case will probably settle if a postponement is granted
  • If   a   witness,   party,   or   counsel   is   unavailable   (without   exceptional circumstances) after being provided with due notice

Coming into effect

This policy will come into effect on June 1, 2019.

Politique sur les remises d’audiences


Adobe Logo  Politique sur les remises d’audiences (PDF)


La présente politique décrit la procédure pour demander la remise d’une audience
prévue. Le choix de la date et du lieu d’une audience doit tenir compte  de plusieurs facteurs, notamment la vaste étendue géographique des endroits où l’audience peut se tenir, l’offre de services dans les deux langues officielles et la disponibilité des membres. L’objectif consiste à exercer la justice de façon efficace et efficiente sans perte évitable de temps ou de ressources.

La présente politique remplace toutes les politiques précédentes sur la remise d’audience de la Commission.

Demande de remise d’audience

Idéalement, la demande de remise doit être faite le plus tôt possible une fois que les dates d’audience sont connues. Plus le jour de l’audience approche, plus la demande de remise fera l’objet d’un examen attentif de la part de la Commission. Toute demande de remise doit être justifiée par des motifs clairs, logiques et convaincants.

  1. Si une partie souhaite reporter une audience, elle doit en faire la demande par écrit à la Commission et en faire parvenir une copie à toutes les parties à l’audience, telles qu’elles ont été identifiées par la Commission. La prise en considération d’une demande de remise ne signifie pas que la demande sera automatiquement accordée, même si toutes les parties y consentent.
  2. La demande de remise doit indiquer ce qui suit :
    1. La date actuellement prévue de l’audience.
    2. Le ou les motifs de la demande de remise.
  3. Dès la réception de la demande, la Commission peut communiquer avec l’autre partie ou les autres parties pour savoir si elles acceptent la demande de remise ou si elles s’y opposent. Si elles s’y opposent, la partie ou les parties doivent en fournir les raisons par écrit.
  4. La partie demandant la remise doit fournir des motifs clairs, logiques et convaincants pour justifier sa demande. L’autre ou les autres parties (de l’audience) peuvent prendre la demande en considération et décider si elles souhaitent se prononcer. La Commission déterminera ensuite si elle accorde ou non la demande de remise.
  5. Si la remise est accordée, la Commission en avisera toutes les parties et donnera ses directives sur la remise au rôle de l’affaire.
  6. Si la remise est refusée, la Commission s’attendra à ce que les parties soient présentes à la date prévue de l’audience. Si une partie ne se présente pas, la Commission peut procéder en son absence.

Motifs

La Commission accordera une remise qu’en présence de motifs clairs, logiques et convaincants. À titre de guide pour les parties, les situations suivantes NE constituent généralement PAS une raison suffisante pour accorder une remise :

  • Le souhait mutuel des parties pour une remise.
  • Le fait que l’affaire n’a pas été reportée auparavant.
  • Le fait que les parties affirment que le cas sera probablement réglé si la remise est accordée.
  • Si un témoin, une partie ou un avocat n’est pas disponible (sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles) après avoir été avisé raisonnablement à l’avance.

Entrée en vigueur

La présente politique entrera en vigueur le 1er juin 2019.