Return to reports

Access to Information Act Annual Report 2005-2006

ACCESS TO INFORMATION ACT

ANNUAL REPORT

PUBLIC SERVICE LABOUR
RELATIONS BOARD

2005-2006


© Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada 2006
    published by the Public Service Labour Relations Board
Cat. No. SR2-2/2006
ISBN 0-662-49295-1
This publication is also available on the Board’s Web site at:
http://www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca


June 30, 2006

The Honourable Beverley J. Oda
Minister of Canadian Heritage and
Minister responsible for Status of Women
Jules Léger Building, 12th Floor
15 Eddy Street
Gatineau, QC   K1A 0M5

Dear Minister:

I am pleased to transmit to you, pursuant to section 72 of the Access to Information Act, the 2005-06 Annual Report of the Public Service Labour Relations Board covering the period from April 1, 2005 to March 31, 2006 for submission to Parliament.

  Sylvie Matteau
Acting Chairperson

Table of CONTENTS

Introduction

Statistical Reports / Explanation

Organization of Activities and Delegation Instrument

Implementation

Formal/Informal Interface

Institutional Policies

Education and Training

Complaints, Investigations and Audits

Appeals to the Federal Court


ANNUAL REPORT
ACCESS TO INFORMATION ACT
APRIL 1, 2005 TO MARCH 31, 2006

INTRODUCTION

The Public Service Labour Relations Board was established on April 1 st 2005 with the coming into force of the Public Service Labour Relations Act. This new board builds on the accomplishments of its predecessor, the Public Service Staff Relations Board, which was established in 1967 with the inception of collective bargaining in the Public Service of Canada.

The Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board) is an independent, quasi-judicial statutory tribunal responsible for administering the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems in the federal public and parliamentary services. The Board also provides mediation and conflict resolution services to help parties resolve differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As part of its new mandate, the Board has established compensation analysis and research services. Pursuant to the Act, the Board consists of a Chairperson, 3 Vice-Chairpersons, and such other full-time members and part-time members as the Governor in Council considers necessary.

Proceedings before the Board include grievance adjudication, arbitration, conciliation through Public Interest Commissions, mediation, applications for certification, revocation of certification, displacement, complaints of unfair labour practices, identification of positions whose duties are of a managerial and confidential nature, essential services agreements, determination of successor rights, enforcement of obligations of employer and employee organizations, and complaints of disciplinary actions or discrimination that resulted from federal employees having exercised their rights relating to workplace health and safety under Part II of the Canada Labour Code.

STATISTICAL REPORTS / EXPLANATION

The Board received four formal access to information requests during the period under review. One request was from a government organization, one request was from an individual and two requests were from businesses. For one of the formal requests, there was partial disclosure of the available information.  Exemption was invoked under subsection 19(1) of the Access to Information Act. For another formal request we were unable to process the request because the Board did not have the information being sought. The other two requests were fully disclosed. Access to the disclosed information of the formal requests was provided through copies of the documents.

The Board also processed ten consultation requests. The documents that were part of the consultation requests were fully disclosed.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Organization of Activities and Delegation Instrument

The Chairperson has appointed the Head, Records and Mail Services, as Co–ordinator under the Access to Information Act.  Any request received by the Board is referred by the Co–ordinator to the appropriate Branch for review and report before a decision is rendered on the request by the Co–ordinator. Where necessary, consultation takes place with the Chairperson. The Co–ordinator dedicated approximately 2% of a person–year to the administration of the Access to Information Act, to updating the Government of Canada Publication Info Source, and to preparing reports.

Implementation

A reading area is located in the Board's Records Office. A copy of the Government of Canada Publication Info Source is available for reference, as are Access to Information Request Forms, a copy of the  Board's Subject Classification Manual and other relevant publications.

In compliance with the Treasury Board Policy on records management, the Board's Records Office is continuously reviewing and updating its information holdings to ensure quick retrieval of information which could be requested under the Access to Information Act. In addition, all information included in the Board's main filing system is linked to its respective Program Record Number.

Formal/Informal Interface

During the reporting period, four requests were submitted formally and one was received informally.  All formal completed requests were treated formally and the one request which was submitted informally was treated as such.

Institutional Policies

While the Board's policy is to charge fees for requests where the processing exceeds $5.00, the nature and merit of each request are reviewed before a final decision concerning the request for or waiving of payment is made.

Education and Training

Information on the Access to Information Act is incorporated into the Board's orientation package for new employees.

Complaints, Investigations and Audits

As of March 31, 2006, the Board had no complaints against it under the Access to Information Act.

Appeals to the Federal Court

There were no appeals to the Federal Court during the period under review with respect to Access to Information requests.


Report on the Access to Information Act (PDF)

Retourner aux rapports

Loi sur l'accès à l'information Rapport Annuel 2005-06

LOI SUR L'ACCÈS À L'INFORMATION

RAPPORT ANNUEL

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE

2005-2006


© Ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 2006
    publié par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique
N° de cat. SR2-2/2006
ISBN 0-662-49295-1
On peut aussi consulter ce document sur le site Web de la Commission :
http://www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca


Le 30 juin 2006

L’honorable Beverley J. Oda
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et
ministre responsable de la Condition féminine
Immeuble Jules Léger, 12e étage
15, rue Eddy
Gatineau (Qc)  K1A 0M5

Madame la Ministre,

En vertu de l’article 72 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, je suis heureuse de vous transmettre, pour présentation au Parlement, le rapport annuel 2005–2006 de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique pour la période allant du 1 er avril 2005 au 31 mars 2006.

  Sylvie Matteau
Présidente intérimaire

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Introduction

Rapports statistiques/explication

Organisation des activités et instrument de délégation

Mise en œuvre

Liaison officielle/non officielle

Politiques institutionnelles

Information et formation

Plaintes, enquêtes et vérifications

Appels à la Cour fédérale


RAPPORT ANNUEL
LOI SUR L’ACCÈS À L’INFORMATION
1er AVRIL 2005 AU 31 MARS 2006

INTRODUCTION

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique a été établie le 1 er avril 2005 avec l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. Cette commission s’appuie sur les réalisations de l’ancienne Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, qui avait été créée en 1967 avec le commencement de la négociation collective dans la fonction publique du Canada.

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission) est un tribunal quasi judiciaire indépendant, d’origine législative, qui est chargé d’appliquer les systèmes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique fédérale et les services parlementaires. La Commission offre en outre aux parties des services de médiation ou de règlement des conflits, pour les aider à s’entendre sans avoir recours à une audience officielle. Dans le cadre de son nouveau mandat, la Commission a établi des services d’analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération. Conformément à la Loi, la Commission comprend un président, trois vice–présidents et les autres membres à temps plein ou partiel pouvant être considérés comme nécessaires par le gouverneur en conseil.

Les procédures devant la Commission incluent l’arbitrage de griefs, l’arbitrage de différends, la conciliation par l’intermédiaire de commissions de l’intérêt public, la médiation, les demandes d’accréditation, l’annulation de l’accréditation, la substitution de syndicats, les plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail, la détermination de postes de direction ou de confiance, les ententes sur les services essentiels, l’établissement des droits du successeur, l’exécution d’obligations d’organisations patronales et syndicales et les plaintes de mesures disciplinaires ou de discrimination résultant du fait que des fonctionnaires fédéraux ont exercé leurs droits relatifs à la santé et à la sécurité au travail en vertu de la partie II du Code canadien du travail.

RAPPORTS STATISTIQUES/EXPLICATION

La Commission a eu quatre demandes officielles d’accès à l’information durant la période considérée. Ces demandes venaient d’une organisation gouvernementale dans un cas, d’un particulier dans un autre cas et d’entreprises dans les deux autres cas. Pour l’une des demandes officielles, il y a eu communication partielle de l’information disponible. Une exception a été invoquée en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Pour une autre demande officielle, nous n’avons pu traiter la demande parce que la Commission n’avait pas l’information demandée. Les deux autres demandes ont donné lieu à des communications complètes. L’accès à l’information communiquée à l’égard des demandes officielles a été assuré au moyen de copies des documents.

La Commission a également traité dix demandes de consultation. Les documents faisant l’objet des demandes de consultation ont été communiqués intégralement.

DOCUMENTATION DE RÉFÉRENCE

Organisation des activités et instrument de délégation

Le président a nommé le chef des services des dossiers et du courrier comme coordonnateur en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Avant de rendre une décision sur une demande reçue par la Commission, le coordonnateur soumet cette demande au service approprié, pour examen et rapport. Au besoin, il y a consultation du président. Le coordonnateur a consacré environ 2 % d’une année–personne à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, à la mise à jour de la publication du gouvernement du Canada Info Source et à la rédaction de rapports.

Mise en œuvre

Le service des dossiers de la Commission dispose d’un coin lecture. On peut y trouver un exemplaire de la publication Info Source du gouvernement du Canada, des formules de demande d’accès à l’information, un exemplaire du Manuel de classification par matière de la Commission et d’autres documents pertinents.

En conformité avec la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des dossiers, le service des dossiers de la Commission examine et met à jour continuellement l’information qu’il possède, pour assurer la récupération rapide de renseignements pouvant être demandés en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. De plus, tous les renseignements inclus dans le principal système de classement de la Commission sont liés à un numéro de dossier.

Liaison officielle/non officielle

Durant la période visée, quatre demandes ont été présentées officiellement et une a été présentée à titre non officiel. Toutes les demandes officielles ont été traitées officiellement, et celle qui avait été présentée non officiellement a été traitée comme telle.

Politiques institutionnelles

La Commission a pour politique d’exiger des frais pour les demandes lorsque le coût de traitement dépasse 5 $, mais la nature et le bien–fondé de chaque demande sont examinés avant qu’une décision finale soit prise concernant le paiement qui sera exigé ou auquel il sera renoncé.

Information et formation

L’information relative à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est incorporée dans la trousse de la Commission destinée aux nouveaux employés.

Plaintes, enquêtes et vérifications

Au 31 mars 2006, la Commission n’avait eu aucune plainte contre elle en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Appels à la Cour fédérale

Il n’y a eu aucun appel à la Cour fédérale pendant la période considérée, au sujet de demandes d’accès à l’information.


Rapport concernant la Loi sur l'accèss à l'information (PDF)