Return to reports

Privacy Act Annual Report 2005-2006

PRIVACY ACT

ANNUAL REPORT

PUBLIC SERVICE LABOUR
RELATIONS BOARD

2005-2006


© Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada 2006
    published by the Public Service Labour Relations Board
Cat. No. SR2-3/2006
ISBN 0-662-49296-X
This publication is also available on the Board’s Web site at:
http://www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca


June 30, 2006

The Honourable Beverley J. Oda
Minister of Canadian Heritage and
Minister responsible for Status of Women
Jules Léger Building, 12 th Floor
15 Eddy Street
Gatineau, QC   K1A 0M5

Dear Minister:

I am pleased to transmit to you, pursuant to section 72 of the Privacy Act, the 2005-06 Annual Report of the Public Service Labour Relations Board covering the period from April 1, 2005 to March 31, 2006 for submission to Parliament.

  Sylvie Matteau
Acting Chairperson

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction

Statistical Reports / Explanation

Organization of Activities

Implementation

Formal/Informal Interface

Institutional Policies

Education and Training

Complaints, Investigations and Audits

Appeals to the Federal Court

Disclosures under paragraph 8(2)(e) of the Privacy Act

Exempt Banks

Use and Disclosure


ANNUAL REPORT
PRIVACY ACT
APRIL 1, 2005 TO MARCH 31, 2006

INTRODUCTION

The Public Service Labour Relations Board was established on April 1 st 2005 with the coming into force of the Public Service Labour Relations Act. This new board builds on the accomplishments of its predecessor, the Public Service Staff Relations Board, which was established in 1967 with the inception of collective bargaining in the Public Service of Canada.

The Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board) is an independent, quasi-judicial statutory tribunal responsible for administering the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems in the federal public and parliamentary services. The Board also provides mediation and conflict resolution services to help parties resolve differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As part of its new mandate, the Board has established compensation analysis and research services. Pursuant to the Act, the Board consists of a Chairperson, 3 Vice-Chairpersons, and such other full-time members and part-time members as the Governor in Council considers necessary.

Proceedings before the Board include grievance adjudication, arbitration, conciliation through Public Interest Commissions, mediation, applications for certification, revocation of certification, displacement, complaints of unfair labour practices, identification of positions whose duties are of a managerial and confidential nature, essential services agreements, determination of successor rights, enforcement of obligations of employer and employee organizations, and complaints of disciplinary actions or discrimination that resulted from federal employees having exercised their rights relating to workplace health and safety under Part II of the Canada Labour Code.

STATISTICAL REPORTS / EXPLANATION

The Board received seven formal Privacy requests from individuals during the period under review. One of the seven formal requests was transferred to the appropriate federal institution. One request was given full access while another was denied. We were unable to process the other four requests as information was non existent.  All requests were processed within the 30-day limit.

The Board also processed three consultation requests that originated from other federal institutions.  The documents that were part of the consultation requests were fully disclosed.

No requests for translation, corrections or notations were received during the period under review.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Organization of Activities and Delegation Instrument

The Chairperson has appointed the Head, Records and Mail Services, as Co–ordinator under the Privacy Act. Any request received by the Board is referred by the Co–ordinator to the appropriate Branch for review and report before a decision is rendered on the request by the Co–ordinator. Where necessary, consultation takes place with the Chairperson. The Co–ordinator dedicated approximately 4% of a person–year to the administration of the Privacy Act and to updating the Government of Canada Publication Info Source, and to preparing reports .

Implementation

A reading area is located in the Board's Records Office.  A copy of the Government of Canada Publication Info Source is available for reference, as are Privacy Request Forms, a copy of the Board's Subject Classification Manual and other relevant publications.

All Personal Information Banks of the former Public Service Staff Relations Board are registered with Treasury Board. The Public Service Labour Relations Board is in the process of registering its new Personal Information Banks.

Records contained in Personal Information Banks are disposed of in accordance with schedules approved by the National Archives.

Formal/Informal Interface

All requests for personal information were submitted formally during the reporting period.

Institutional Policies

All requests for personal information were processed free of charge to applicants.

Education and Training

Information on the Privacy legislation is incorporated into the Board’s orientation package for new employees.

Complaints, Investigations and Audits

As of March 31, 2006, the Board had one (1) outstanding complaint against it under the Privacy Act.

Appeals to the Federal Court

There were no appeals to the Federal Court during the period under review with respect to Privacy requests.

Disclosures under paragraph 8(2)(e) of the Privacy Act

The Co-ordinator for the Privacy Act, following consultation with the Chairperson, is authorized to approve disclosures to specified investigative bodies.

Exempt Banks

There were no denials of access pursuant to subsection 18(2) of the Privacy Act.

Use and Disclosure

During the formal review and registration process of Personal Information Banks for the Board, bank managers are informed of the requirement to ensure that information contained in banks is directly related to an existing government program or activity and that the use of personal information is consistent with the purpose for which it is compiled /obtained.


Report on the Access to Information Act (PDF)

Retourner aux rapports

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels Rapport annuel 2005-2006

LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES
RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

RAPPORT ANNUEL

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE

2005-2006


© Ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 2006
    publié par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique
N° de cat. SR2-3/2006
ISBN 0-662-49296-X
On peut aussi consulter ce document sur le site Web de la Commission :
http://www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca


Le 30 juin 2006

L’honorable Beverley J. Oda
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et
ministre responsable de la Condition féminine
Immeuble Jules Léger, 12e étage
15, rue Eddy
Gatineau (Qc)  K1A 0M5

Madame la Ministre,

En vertu de l’article 72 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, je suis heureuse de vous transmettre, pour présentation au Parlement, le rapport annuel 2005–2006 de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique pour la période allant du 1 er avril 2005 au 31 mars 2006.

  Sylvie Matteau
Présidente intérimaire

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

Introduction

Rapports statistiques/explication

Organisation des activités et instruments de délégation

Mise en œuvre

Liaison officielle/non officielle

Politiques institutionnelles

Information et formation

Plaintes, enquêtes et vérifications

Appels à la Cour fédérale

Communications selon l’alinéa 8(2)e) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Fichiers inconsultables

Usage et communication


RAPPORT ANNUEL
LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS
1er AVRIL 2005 AU 31 MARS 2006

INTRODUCTION

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique a été établie le 1 er avril 2005 avec l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. Cette commission s’appuie sur les réalisations de l’ancienne Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, qui avait été créée en 1967 avec le commencement de la négociation collective dans la fonction publique du Canada.

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission) est un tribunal quasi judiciaire indépendant, d’origine législative, qui est chargé d’appliquer les systèmes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique fédérale et les services parlementaires. La Commission offre en outre aux parties des services de médiation ou de règlement des conflits, pour les aider à s’entendre sans avoir recours à une audience officielle. Dans le cadre de son nouveau mandat, la Commission a établi des services d’analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération. Conformément à la Loi, la Commission comprend un président, trois vice–présidents et les autres membres à temps plein ou partiel pouvant être considérés comme nécessaires par le gouverneur en conseil.

Les procédures devant la Commission incluent l’arbitrage de griefs, l’arbitrage de différends, la conciliation par l’intermédiaire de commissions de l’intérêt public, la médiation, les demandes d’accréditation, l’annulation de l’accréditation, la substitution de syndicats, les plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail, la détermination de postes de direction ou de confiance, les ententes sur les services essentiels, l’établissement des droits du successeur, l’exécution d’obligations d’organisations patronales et syndicales et les plaintes de mesures disciplinaires ou de discrimination résultant du fait que des fonctionnaires fédéraux ont exercé leurs droits relatifs à la santé et à la sécurité au travail en vertu de la partie II du Code canadien du travail.

RAPPORTS STATISTIQUES/EXPLICATION

Durant la période considérée, la Commission a reçu de la part de particuliers sept demandes officielles relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels. L’une des sept demandes officielles a été transférée à l’institution fédérale compétente. Une communication complète a été autorisée dans le cas d’une demande, alors qu’une autre a été rejetée. Nous n’avons pu répondre aux quatre autres demandes, car l’information était inexistante. Toutes les demandes ont été traitées dans le délai de 30 jours.

La Commission a en outre traité trois demandes de consultation émanant d’autres institutions fédérales. Les documents faisant l’objet des demandes de consultation ont été communiqués intégralement.

La Commission n’a eu aucune demande de traduction, de correction ou de mention pendant la période visée.

DOCUMENTATION DE RÉFÉRENCE

Organisation des activités et instrument de délégation

Le président a nommé le chef des services des dossiers et du courrier comme coordonnateur en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Avant de rendre une décision sur une demande reçue par la Commission, le coordonnateur soumet cette demande au service approprié, pour examen et rapport. Au besoin, il y a consultation du président. Le coordonnateur a consacré environ 4 % d’une année–personne à l’application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, à la mise à jour de la publication du gouvernement du Canada Info Source et à la rédaction de rapports.

Mise en œuvre

Le service des dossiers de la Commission dispose d’un coin lecture. On peut y trouver un exemplaire de la publication Info Source du gouvernement du Canada, des formules de demande en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, un exemplaire du Manuel de classification par matière de la Commission et d’autres documents pertinents.

Tous les fichiers de renseignements personnels de l’ancienne Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique sont enregistrés auprès du Conseil du Trésor. La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique est en voie d’enregistrer ses nouveaux fichiers de renseignements personnels.

Les documents que renferment les fichiers de renseignements personnels sont supprimés conformément aux calendriers établis par les Archives nationales.

Liaison officielle/non officielle

Dans la période considérée, toutes les demandes relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels ont été présentées officiellement.

Politiques institutionnelles

Toutes les demandes concernant la protection des renseignements personnels ont été traitées sans frais pour les demandeurs.

Information et formation

L’information relative à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels est incorporée dans la trousse de la Commission pour les nouveaux employés.

Plaintes, enquêtes et vérifications

Au 31 mars 2006, une plainte, qui était en suspens, avait été déposée contre la Commission en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Appels à la Cour fédérale

Il n’y a eu aucun appel à la Cour fédérale pendant la période visée, au sujet de demandes en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

Communications selon l’alinéa 8(2) e) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Le coordonnateur pour ce qui est de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels peut, après consultation du président, approuver les communications à des organismes d’enquête déterminés.

Fichiers inconsultables

Il n’y a eu aucun refus d’accès selon le paragraphe 18(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Usage et communication

Durant le processus officiel d’examen et d’enregistrement de fichiers de renseignements personnels pour la Commission, les responsables des fichiers sont informés de l’exigence que l’information contenue dans les fichiers soit directement liée à une activité ou un programme gouvernemental existant et que l’utilisation de renseignements personnels soit conforme aux fins auxquelles ces renseignements ont été préparés/recueillis.


Rapport concernant la Loi sur la protection des renseignements peronnels (PDF)