Return to reports

Annual report of the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board - 2005-2006

YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD

Crest of the Yukon

ANNUAL REPORT
2005-2006


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD


REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2006

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the federal Public Service Labour Relations Board administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the Yukon public service. When performing these functions, that Board acts as the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board).

CHANGES IN 2005-06

Pursuant to the Act to Amend the Education Staff Relations Act and the Public Service Staff Relations Act, S.Y. 2004, c. 8, (the amending Act), which came into force on April 1, 2005, the Public Service Staff Relations Act became the Public Service Labour Relations Act.  

Under the amending Act, the Yukon Public Service Staff Relations Board (the former Board) was repealed and the new Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board was established. The amending Act provided that the Board consists of the persons from time to time holding office as full-time members of the Public Service Labour Relations Board under the federal act (the Public Service Labour Relations Act, enacted by s. 2 of the Public Service Modernization Act, S.C. 2003, c. 22).

Pursuant to subsection 70(2) of the amending Act, members of the former Board were continued as members of the Board. In 2005-06, Yvon Tarte was appointed as Chair of the Board, and Léo-Paul Guindon, Dan Quigley and Jean-Pierre Tessier continued as members. J.W. Potter's term as Vice-Chair expired. Sylvie Matteau and Ian R. Mackenzie became Vice-Chairs of the Board along with Georges Nadeau. Dan Butler and Barry Done became members in the fall of 2005. John B. Hall, Francine Chad Smith and Ruth Elizabeth Bilson were re-appointed as adjudicators.

Pursuant to subsections 70(2) and (4) of the amending Act, the Board is to be considered as a continuation of the former Board and any proceeding that the former Board was seized of before the day on which the amending Act came into force was transferred to the Board. The amending Act came into force on April 1, 2005.

PROCEEDINGS IN 2005-06

In 2005-06, there were 36 proceedings under the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act (the Act): 18 were referrals to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions and 18 were notices of identification pertaining to positions considered by the employer to be managerial or confidential (exclusion proposals).

No applications were received for the designation of employees essential for the safety or security of the public, and no applications were made for the determination of membership in bargaining units.

Grievance adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards, or from major disciplinary action and termination. 

The Board dealt with 18 grievance cases during the period under review-9 of which were new and 9 of which were carried over from the previous fiscal year. A total of 3 cases were completed in 2005-06.

Of the 18 cases, 7 dealt with interpretations of collective agreements. Of those, 1 case was settled by the parties prior to the hearing and 6 cases are to be scheduled for hearing in 2006-07.

The other 11 cases dealt with disciplinary matters, 4 of which involved terminations. Of these 4 cases, 1 was decided without an oral hearing and 1 was settled by the parties prior to the hearing. The other 2 termination cases are to be scheduled for hearing in 2006-07. The remaining 7 cases dealing with other types of disciplinary matters are to be scheduled for hearing in 2006-07.

Managerial or confidential positions

A person employed in a managerial or confidential position is one who, due to the nature of the duties being performed, meets the criteria established by the Public Service Labour Relations Act for exclusion from a bargaining unit. 

In 2005-06, 17 positions were identified by the employer as being managerial or confidential and 1 case was carried over from previous years. The bargaining agent objected to the identification of all 18 positions. By the end of 2005-06, 15 cases had been withdrawn by the bargaining agent, 1 had been withdrawn by the employer, and 2 were on hold pending the examiner's report.

Safety or security designations / Statement of essential services

Section 42 of the Act requires the employer to furnish a statement of the employees in a bargaining unit whose duties at any particular time are necessary to the safety or security of the public. In 2005-06, the Yukon Public Service Commission filed no such applications.

Determination of membership in bargaining units

One case had been filed prior to 2005-06 as a Determination of Membership in Bargaining Units under section 26, in error, and carried over into the period under review. This case was closed by the Board on June 17, 2005. No applications were received in 2005-06.

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publqiue du Yukon - 2005-2006

COMMISSION DES
RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DANS
LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON

Crest of the Yukon

RAPPORT ANNUEL
2005-2006


COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION


RAPPORT SUR L'APPLICATION DE LA LOI SUR LES RELATIONS
DE TRAVAIL DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
DU YUKON
POUR L'EXERCICE TERMINANT LE 31 MARS 2006

INTRODUCTION

En vertu d'une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique administre les régimes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu'elle s'acquitte de ces fonctions, cette Commission agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la Commission).

CHANGEMENTS EN 2005-2006

Conformément à la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, L.Y. 2004, chap. 8, (la loi modificative), en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2005, la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique a remplacé l'ancienne Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

En vertu de la loi modicative, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (l'ancienne Commission) a été abrogée et la nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon a été établie. La loi modificative prévoit que la Commission doit être composée de personnes qui exercent une charge à temps plein au sein de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique en vertu de la loi fédérale (la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, édictée par l'art. 2 de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique, L.C. 2003, chap. 22).

Conformément au paragraphe 70(2) de la loimodificative, les membres de l'ancienne Commission ont continué à agir à titre de membres de la nouvelle Commission. En 2005-2006, Yvon Tarte a été nommé président de la Commission, et Léo-Paul Guindon, Dan Quigley et Jean-Pierre Tessier ont continué à assumer leurs fonctions à titre de membres. Le mandat de J.W. Potter à titre de vice-président a pris fin. Sylvie Matteau et Ian R. Mackenzie sont devenus vice-présidents, de même que Georges Nadeau. Dan Butler et Barry Done sont devenus membres à l'automne 2005. John B. Hall, Francine Chad Smith et Ruth Elizabeth Bilson ont été de nouveau nommés arbitres de griefs. 

Conformément aux paragraphes 70(2) et (4) de la loimodificative, la Commission est un prolongement de l'ancienne Commission, et toute affaire dont l'ancienne Commission était saisie le jour précédant l'entrée en vigueur de la loi modificative se poursuit devant la Commission. La loi modificative est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2005. 

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2005-2006

En 2005-2006, 36 affaires ont été introduites en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (La Loi) : 18 étaient des renvois à l'arbitrage de griefs liés à l'interprétation des conventions collectives et aux mesures disciplinaires et 18 étaient des avis d'identification (propositions d'exclusion) se rapportant à des postes considérés par l'employeur comme étant des postes de direction ou de confiance.

Aucune demande n'a été reçue concernant la désignation des fonctionnaires dont les services sont essentiels à la sécurité du public ou l'identification des membres des unités de négociation.

Arbitrage de griefs

L'arbitrage s'entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment le règlement de griefs résultant de l'application ou de l'interprétation des conventions collectives ou des décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes sanctions disciplinaires allant jusqu'au licenciement.

La Commission a traité 18 cas de griefs au cours de l'exercice à l'étude - 9 nouveaux cas et 9 cas reportés de l'exercice précédent. Au total, trois cas ont été réglés en 2005-2006.

Parmi les 18 cas, 7 portaient sur l'interprétation de la convention collective. Un de ces cas a été réglé par les parties avant la tenue de l'audience et, en ce qui concerne les 6 autres, une date d'audience doit être fixée en 2006-2007.

Sur les 11 autres cas traitant de questions disciplinaires, 4 portaient sur des licenciements. Un de ces cas a fait l'objet d'une décision rendue sans audience et un autre a été réglé par les parties avant la tenue de l'audience. Les 2 autres cas de licenciement doivent être inscrits au rôle en 2006-2007. En ce qui concerne les 7 autres cas traitant d'autres types de questions disciplinaires, une date d'audience doit être fixée en 2006-2007.

Postes de direction ou de confiance

En raison de la nature des fonctions qu'elle assume, la personne qui occupe un poste de direction ou de confiance satisfait aux critères établis par la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique aux fins de l'exclusion d'une unité de négociation.

En 2005-2006, l'employeur a identifié 17 postes de direction ou de confiance et 1 cas concernant un autre poste a été reporté des exercices précédents. L'agent négociateur s'est objecté à l'identification de chacun de ces 18 postes. Avant la fin de 2005-2006, 15 cas avaient été retirés par l'agent négociateur, 1 l'avait été par l'employeur et les 2 autres étaient en suspens en attendant le rapport de l'examinateur.

Désignations de postes liés à la sécurité du public / énoncé des services essentiels

Conformément à l'article 42 de la Loi, l'employeur est tenu de fournir une liste des employés qui font partie d'une unité de négociation qu'il considère comme exerçant des fonctions qui sont, à un moment particulier, nécessaires pour la sécurité du public. En 2005-2006, la Commission de la fonction publique du Yukon n'a déposé aucune demande de cette nature.

Identification des membres des unités de négociation

Un cas d'identification des membres des unités de négociation fondé sur l'article 26 a été déposé avant l'exercice 2005-2006, par erreur, et a été reporté à la période à l'étude. Ce cas a été fermé par la Commission le 17 juin 2005. Aucune demande n'a été reçue en 2005-2006.