Return to reports

Annual Report 2005-06 PESRA

PARLIAMENTARY EMPLOYMENT
AND STAFF RELATIONS ACT

2005–2006 ANNUAL REPORT

PUBLIC SERVICE LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD


© Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada 2006
SR2-1/2006
0-662-49275-7
This publication is also available on the Board’s Web site at:
www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca


The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Women
House of Commons
Ottawa, K1A 0A6

Dear Minister,

It is my pleasure to transmit to you, pursuant to section 84 of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, the Annual Report on the administration of that Act by the Public Service Labour Relations Board covering the period from 1 April 2005 to 31 March 2006, for submission to Parliament.

Yours sincerely,

Ian R. Mackenzie
Acting Chairperson


PARLIAMENTARY EMPLOYMENT AND
STAFF RELATIONS ACT
Public Service Labour Relations Board
2005 – 2006

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD


TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE BOARD

  1. GRIEVANCE ADJUDICATION
  2. COMPLAINTS
  3. OTHER PROCEEDINGS

MEDIATION

TABLES

  1. Bargaining Units and Bargaining Agents under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, 1 April 2005 – 31 March 2006

  2. Adjudication References, 1 April 2000 – 31 March 2006

  3. Adjudication References Brought Forward and Received, 1 April 2000 – 31 March 2006


INTRODUCTION

In 1986, the Parliament of Canada passed the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA). Part I of this Act gives employees of parliamentary institutions the right to form a union in order to negotiate collectively the conditions of their employment. Part I also gives employees the right to lodge grievances concerning these conditions and, in certain cases, to refer these grievances to adjudication before a neutral third party.

Part I is administered and applied by the Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board), a quasi-judicial tribunal set up under the Public Service Labour Relations Act. The Board consists of a Chairperson, up to three Vice-Chairpersons, and such other full-time members and part-time members as the Governor in Council considers necessary.

Under PESRA, the Board hears various matters: applications by employee organizations for certification to become the bargaining agent representing employees; complaints of unfair labour practices; exclusion of persons employed in managerial and confidential capacities; and interest arbitration.

The Board also adjudicates grievances concerning the interpretation and application of provisions of collective agreements, significant disciplinary action, and all forms of termination of employment except rejection on probation during initial appointments. Grievances concerning demotion, appointment and classification may also be referred to adjudication but are determined, not by a Board Member, but by an external adjudicator chosen by the parties, which are equally responsible for the adjudicator's remuneration and expenses.

Through its dispute resolution service, the Board also assists parties unable to resolve their disputes at the bargaining table. This assistance may lead to a resolution without the need for the dispute to be heard formally by the Board, or may limit the number of issues.

PESRA provides for only one means of resolving disputes if bargaining comes to a dead end: arbitration. In these situations, the Board acts as an arbitration board. After hearing the parties, it renders a decision on the issues. These decisions form part of the collective agreements and are binding on the parties and on employees.


PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE BOARD

In 2005-06, the Board dealt with 47 cases under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act. Of these, 40 were grievances, 3 were complaints, and 4 pertained to other applications.

1) GRIEVANCE ADJUDICATION

In 2005-06, the bulk of proceedings before the Board concerned grievances. In that time period, the Board processed 40 grievances. Of these cases, 26 had been carried over from previous years and 14 were new.

Under PESRA there are three types of adjudicable grievances. The first type arises out of the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards. Such grievances cannot be referred without the approval and support of the bargaining agent. In 2005-06, the Board processed 4 of these grievances: 3 were from the House of Commons and 1 was from the Library of Parliament.

The second type refers to disciplinary actions resulting in suspension or a financial penalty and to termination of employment, other than rejection on probation in respect of an initial appointment. A member of the Board acting as an adjudicator hears these grievances. In 2005-06, the Board dealt with 11 such grievances—10 from the House of Commons and 1 from the Senate.

The third type includes grievances concerning demotion of employees, denials of appointment, and classification. These are heard and determined by an adjudicator selected by the parties. The Board processed 25 of these grievances. One was from the House of Commons and 24 were from the Library of Parliament. Most of the latter pertained to allegations of incorrect reclassification.

As of March 31, 2006, of these 40 grievances, 4 were on hold pending the outcome of mediation, 8 were on hold pending the outcome of another matter, 1 was scheduled for a hearing, 1 had received a hearing and was to be continued into the next fiscal year, and 23 were awaiting the scheduling of a hearing. Two cases had been settled or withdrawn pending confirmation, and 1 had been withdrawn and was considered completed.

2) COMPLAINTS

Section 13 of the Act requires the Board to examine and inquire into an alleged failure to observe any prohibition contained in sections 6, 7 or 8; to comply with any regulation respecting grievances made by the Board pursuant to section 71; and to give effect to any provision of an arbitral award or to a decision of an adjudicator with respect to a grievance. Where the Board upholds a complaint, it has authority under this section to order remedial action. If such action is not carried out, section 14 provides that the Board shall make a report to Parliament.

The Board processed 3 complaints in 2005-06. By the end of the fiscal year, 1 case had a settlement pending, 1 case had been withdrawn, and 1 case was scheduled to be heard in 2006-07.

3) OTHER PROCEEDINGS

Enforcement of obligations of employer and employee organizations

Section 70 of the Act requires the Board to inquire into allegations that cannot be the subject of a grievance by an individual employee. These come about when the employer or the bargaining agent seeks to enforce an obligation alleged to arise out of a collective agreement or arbitral award. No such cases were dealt with in 2005-06.

Applications for certification

Under section 18 of the Act, an employee organization may submit an application to be certified as bargaining agent for a bargaining unit. The Board did not receive any such applications in 2005-06.

Application to review certification

On November 15, 2005, the House of Commons employer filed an application with the Board under section 17 of the Act requesting a review of the existing bargaining unit structure. The respondents (the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada, the Public Service Alliance of Canada, the House of Commons Security Service Employees Association, and the Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada) represent 7 bargaining units that would be affected by this application. The matter is scheduled to be heard in 2006-07.

Determination of membership in bargaining unit

Under section 24 of the Act, the employer or an employee organization may ask the Board to determine whether an employee or class of employees is included in a bargaining unit. The Board dealt with no such applications in 2005-06.

Application for declaration of successor rights

Section 36 of the Act provides for the Board to determine what rights, privileges and duties are acquired or retained by an employee organization subsequent to a merger or amalgamation or a transfer of jurisdiction, other than as a result of revocation of certification. The Board did not receive any such applications in 2005-06.

Notice to bargain collectively

Section 37 provides that either the bargaining agent or the employer may require, by written notice, to commence bargaining collectively, with a view to concluding a collective agreement. In 2005-06, the Board received 1 Notice to Bargain Collectively from the Canadian Association of Professional Employees in order to commence bargaining with the Library of Parliament.

Applications under section 38

Section 38 of the Act requires the parties to bargain collectively in good faith and make every reasonable effort to conclude a collective agreement. The Board received 1 allegation of a violation of section 38 in 2005-06.

Request for the appointment of a conciliator

Under section 40 of the Act, parties unable to reach agreement on any term or condition of employment embodied in a collective agreement may ask the Chairperson to appoint a conciliator to assist them in reaching an agreement. The Board dealt with no such cases in 2005-06.

Arbitration proceedings

Section 46 of the Act provides that binding arbitration is the only method available for the resolution of interest disputes; there is no right to strike under the Act. The Board dealt with 1 request for arbitration in this fiscal year. At the end of March 2006, it had been scheduled for a hearing in 2006-07.


MEDIATION

When a proceeding is brought before the Board, mediation services are offered to help parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. In 2005-06, the Board provided the services of a mediator on 2 occasions to resolve grievances. One of these occasions involved 3 grievances from the same grievor.


1

Bargaining Units and Bargaining Agents under the
Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act
1 April 2005 – 31 March 2006


Bargaining UnitsBargaining Agents


(HOUSE OF COMMONS AS EMPLOYER)
Technical Group Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada
Protective Services Group House of Commons Security Services Employees Association
Procedural Sub-group and Analysis/ Reference Sub-group in the Parliamentary Programs Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Operational Group (except for part-time cleaners classified at the OP A level) Public Service Alliance of Canada
Reporting Sub-group and Text Processing Sub-group in the Parliamentary Programs Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Postal Services Sub-group in the Administrative Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada

(SENATE OF CANADA AS EMPLOYER)
Legislative Clerk Sub-group in the Administrative Support Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Protective Service Sub-group in the Operational Group Senate Protective Service Employees Association
Operational Group (except for employees in the Protective Service Sub-group) Public Service Alliance of Canada

(LIBRARY OF PARLIAMENT AS EMPLOYER)
Library Science (Reference) and Library Science (Cataloguing) Sub-groups in the Research and Library Services Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Administrative and Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library Technician Sub-group in the Research and Library Services Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Research Officer and Research Assistant Sub-groups in the Research and Library Services Group Canadian Association of Professional Employees


2

Adjudication References
1 April 2000 – 31 March 2006


  Interpretations [Para. 63(l)(a)] Discipline [Paras. 63(l) (b) & (c)] Party & Party [Sec. 70] Sub-Total Paras. 63(l) (d), (e) & (f) Total

2005–2006 4 11 0 15 25 40
2004–2005 2 4 0 6 0 6
2003–2004 2 2 0 4 0 4
2002–2003 51 3 0 54 29 83
2001–2002 7 0 0 7 0 7
2000–2001 2 2 1 5 12 17

Cumulative Totals 24 December 1986 – 31 March 2006
  350 65 10 425 263 688


3

Adjudication References Brought Forward and Received
1 April 2000 – 31 March 2006


Fiscal
Year
Brought
Forward
Received Overall
Total
Dispositions
Total

2005–2006 26 14 40  1
2004–2005 26  6 32  4
2003–2004 33  4 37  7
2002–2003  3 83 86 55
2001–2002 10  7 17 14
2000–2001 41 17 58 45

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel 2005-06 LRTP

LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
AU PARLEMENT

RAPPORT ANNUEL 2005–2006

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE


© Ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 2006
SR2-1/2006
0-662-49275-7
On peut aussi consulter ce document sur le site Web de la Commission :
www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca


L’honorable Beverley J. Oda, C.P., députée
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et de la Condition féminine
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0A6

Madame la Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur de vous transmettre, conformément à l’article 84 de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, le rapport annuel portant sur l’administration de cette loi par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, pendant la période du 1er avril 2005 au 31 mars 2006, qui doit être déposé devant le Parlement.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Madame la Ministre, l'hommage de mon profond respect.

Ian R. Mackenzie
Président intérimaire


LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL AU PARLEMENT
Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique
2005-2006

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


INTRODUCTION

Le Parlement du Canada a adopté en 1986 la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (la Loi). La partie I de cette loi accorde aux employés d’institutions parlementaires le droit d’adhérer à un syndicat pour la négociation collective de leurs conditions d’emploi. Elle donne également aux employés le droit de déposer des griefs relatifs à ces conditions et, dans certains cas, de renvoyer ces griefs à l’arbitrage de griefs devant une tierce partie neutre.

La partie I est administrée et appliquée par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission), tribunal quasi judiciaire créé en vertu de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. La Commission se compose d’un président, de trois vice-présidents ou moins et d’autant de commissaires à temps plein et à temps partiel que le gouverneur en conseil juge nécessaire.

En vertu de la Loi, la Commission peut être saisie de diverses affaires : demandes d’accréditation présentées par une organisation syndicale pour devenir l’agent négociateur représentant les employés; plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail; exclusion de personnes occupant un poste de direction ou de confiance et arbitrage de différends.

La Commission s’occupe également de l’arbitrage de griefs concernant l’interprétation et l’application de dispositions de conventions collectives, des mesures disciplinaires importantes et diverses formes de licenciement, sauf les renvois en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. Les griefs contestant une rétrogradation, une nomination et une classification peuvent aussi être renvoyés à l’arbitrage de griefs; ils sont toutefois tranchés non pas par un commissaire mais par un arbitre de grief de l’extérieur choisi par les parties, qui doivent, à parts égales, assumer sa rémunération et ses dépenses.

En outre, par l’entremise de son service de règlement des conflits, la Commission aide les parties qui n’arrivent pas à résoudre leurs différends à la table de négociation. Cette aide peut mener à un règlement sans que le conflit doive être l’objet d’une audience officielle de la Commission ou elle peut limiter le nombre de questions en litige.

La Loi prévoit un seul mode de règlement des différends si la négociation aboutit à une impasse : l’arbitrage. Dans ces situations, la Commission agit comme conseil d’arbitrage. Après avoir entendu les parties, elle rend une décision sur les points en litige. Ces décisions sont intégrées aux conventions collectives et lient les parties et les employés.


AFFAIRES DONT LA COMMISSION A ÉTÉ SAISIE

La Commission a, en 2005–2006, été saisie de 47 cas en vertu de la Loi. De ce nombre, 40 étaient des griefs, 3 étaient des plaintes et 4 se rapportaient à d’autres demandes.

1) ARBITRAGE DE GRIEFS

En 2005–2006, la plupart des affaires dont a été saisie la Commission concernaient des griefs. Au cours de cette période, la Commission a traité 40 griefs. Vingt–six étaient des griefs d’années précédentes qui avaient été reportés, et 14 étaient nouveaux.

Selon la Loi, il y a trois types de griefs arbitrables. Le premier type découle de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales. De tels griefs ne peuvent être renvoyés à l’arbitrage de griefs sans l’approbation et l’appui de l’agent négociateur. En 2005–2006, la Commission a traité 4 de ces griefs : 3 étaient de la Chambre des communes et 1 était de la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

Le deuxième type de griefs arbitrables se rapporte aux mesures disciplinaires donnant lieu à une suspension ou à une sanction pécuniaire et à un licenciement autre que le renvoi en cours de stage pour ce qui est d’une première nomination. Un commissaire agissant comme arbitre de grief entend ces griefs. En 2005–2006, la Commission a statué sur 11 griefs de ce type : 10 étaient de la Chambre des communes et 1 était du Sénat.

Le troisième type de griefs arbitrables inclut les griefs sur la rétrogradation, le refus de nomination et la classification. Un arbitre de grief choisi par les parties instruit et tranche ces griefs. La Commission a traité 25 de ces griefs : 1 était de la Chambre des communes et 24 étaient de la Bibliothèque du Parlement. La plupart de ces derniers avaient trait à des allégations de mauvaise reclassification.

Au 31 mars 2006, de ces 40 griefs, 4 étaient en suspens dans l’attente du résultat de la médiation, 8 étaient en suspens dans l’attente du résultat d’un cas, 1 était inscrit au rôle pour audience, 1 avait été l’objet d’une audience et devait se poursuivre au cours du prochain exercice et 23 n’avaient pas encore été mis au rôle pour audience. Deux cas avaient été réglés ou retirés en attendant une confirmation et 1 cas avait été retiré et était considéré comme classé.


2) PLAINTES

Aux termes de l’article 13 de la Loi, la Commission doit instruire toute plainte dont elle est saisie et selon laquelle il y a eu une omission d’observer les interdictions énoncées aux articles 6, 7 ou 8, de se conformer à tout règlement qu’elle a adopté relativement aux griefs conformément à l’article 71 et d’appliquer toute disposition d’une décision arbitrale ou d’une décision d’un arbitre de grief au sujet d’un grief. Lorsque la Commission accueille une plainte, cet article lui donne le pouvoir d’ordonner un redressement. Si l’ordonnance n’est pas exécutée, la Commission doit, en vertu de l’article 14, faire un rapport au Parlement.

La Commission a traité 3 plaintes en 2005–2006. À la fin de cet exercice, 1 cas avait été l’objet d’un règlement qui était en suspens, 1 cas avait été retiré et 1 cas était inscrit au rôle pour audition en 2006–2007.

3) AUTRES PROCÉDURES

Observation des obligations de l’employeur et des organisations syndicales

L’article 70 de la Loi dispose que la Commission doit enquêter sur les allégations qui ne peuvent faire l’objet d’un grief par un fonctionnaire. De tels cas se posent lorsque l’employeur ou l’agent négociateur tente de faire imposer l’observation d’une obligation qui découlerait d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale. De tels cas ne se sont pas présentés en 2005–2006.

Demandes d’accréditation

L’article 18 de la Loi dispose qu’une organisation syndicale peut présenter une demande pour être accréditée à titre d’agent négociateur d’une unité de négociation. La Commission n’a pas reçu de telles demandes en 2005–2006.

Demande d’examen d’accréditation

Le 15 novembre 2005, la Chambre des communes a, à titre d’employeur, déposé auprès de la Commission une demande, en vertu de l’article 17 de la Loi, sollicitant un examen de la structure existante de l’unité de négociation. Les défendeurs (l’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada, l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, l’Association des employés du Service de sécurité de la Chambre des communes et le Syndicat canadien des communications, de l’énergie et du papier) représentent 7 unités de négociation qui seraient touchées par cette demande. L’affaire doit être entendue en 2006–2007.

Détermination de l’appartenance à une unité de négociation

En vertu de l’article 24 de la Loi, l’employeur ou une organisation syndicale peut demander à la Commission de déterminer si un employé ou une classe d’employés fait partie d’une unité de négociation. La Commission n’a pas traité de telles demandes en 2005–2006.

Demande de déclaration des droits du successeur

L’article 36 de la Loi prévoit que la Commission peut préciser les droits, privilèges et obligations acquis ou conservés par une organisation syndicale à la suite d’une fusion d’organisations syndicales ou du transfert de compétence entre de telles organisations, qui ne sont pas la conséquence d’une révocation d’accréditation. La Commission n’a pas reçu de telles demandes en 2005–2006.

Avis de négocier collectivement

L’article 37 de la Loi prévoit que l’agent négociateur ou l’employeur peut, par avis écrit, requérir l’autre partie d’entamer des négociations collectives en vue de la conclusion d’une convention collective. En 2005–2006, la Commission a reçu 1 avis de négocier collectivement de l’Association canadienne des employés professionnels, pour le commencement d’une négociation avec la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

Demandes fondées sur l’article 38

Aux termes de l’article 38 de la Loi, les parties doivent entamer de bonne foi des négociations collectives et faire tout effort raisonnable pour conclure une convention collective. En 2005–2006, la Commission a reçu 1 allégation de violation de l’article 38.

Demande de nomination d’un conciliateur

Aux termes de l’article 40 de la Loi, lorsque les parties sont incapables de s’entendre sur une condition d’emploi prévue dans une convention collective, elles peuvent demander au président de nommer un conciliateur qui les aidera à parvenir à un accord. La Commission n’a pas traité de tels cas en 2005–2006.

Procédures d’arbitrage de différends

L’article 46 de la Loi dispose que l’arbitrage exécutoire est le seul mode de règlement des différends; la Loi ne prévoit pas de droit de grève. La Commission a été saisie de 1 demande d’arbitrage au cours de l’exercice visé. À la fin de mars 2006, cette demande avait été mise au rôle pour audience en 2006–2007.


MÉDIATION

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la Commission, des services de médiation sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. En 2005–2006, la Commission a offert les services d’un médiateur à 2 occasions pour le règlement de griefs. À l’une de ces occasions, il s’agissait de 3 griefs de la part du même fonctionnaire s’estimant lésé.


1

Unités de négociation et agents négociateurs visés par la
Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement
du 1eravril 2005 au 31 mars 2006


Unité de négociationAgent négociateur


(EMPLOYEUR : CHAMBRE DES COMMUNES)
Catégorie technique Syndicat canadien des communications, de l'énergie et du papier
Groupe des Services de protection Association des employé(e)s du Service de sécurité de la Chambre des communes
Sous-groupe de la Procédure et sous-groupe de l'Analyse et Référence compris dans le groupe des Programmes parlementaires Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Groupe de l'exploitation (à l'exception des nettoyeurs à temps partiel classés OPA) Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Comptes rendus et sous-groupe du Traitement de textes du groupe des Programmes parlementaires Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Services postaux du groupe du Soutien administratif Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada

(EMPLOYEUR : SÉNAT DU CANADA)
Sous-groupe des greffiers du groupe Soutien administratif Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe du Service de sécurité du groupe de l'Exploitation Association des employé(e)s du Service de sécurité du Sénat
Groupe de l'Exploitation (à l'exception du sous-groupe du Service de sécurité) Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada

(EMPLOYEUR : BIBLIOTHÈQUE DU PARLEMENT)
Sous-groupes de Bibliothéconomie (Référence) et Bibliothéconomie (Catalogueur) du groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Groupe de l'Administration et du soutien Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe de Techniciens de bibliothèque du groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupes des Attachés de recherche et des Adjoints de recherche du groupe des Services de recherche et bibliothéconomie Associations canadienne des employé(e)s professionnels


2

Griefs renvoyés à l’arbitrage
du 1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2006


Questions d’interprétation [al. 63(l)a)] Questions disciplinaires [als 63(l)b)
et c)]
Accusations d’une partie contre l’autre [art. 70] Total partiel Als 63(l)d), e) et f) Total

2005-2006

4 11 0 15 25 40

2004-2005

2 4 0 6 0 6

2003-2004

2 2 0 4 0 4

2002-2003

51 3 0 54 29 83

2001-2002

7 0 0 7 0 7

2000-2001

2 2 1 5 12 17

Totaux cumulatifs du 24 décembre 1986 au 31 mars 2006
350 65 10 425 263 688


3

Arbitrage de griefs – Affaires reportées et reçues
du 1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2006


Exercice Affaires
reportées
Affaires
reçues
Total des
affaires
Total des
règlements

2005-2006 26 14 40 1
2004-2005 26 6 32 4
2003-2004 33 4 37 7
2002-2003 3 83 86 55
2001-2002 10 7 17 14
2000-2001 41 17 58 45