Return to reports

Annual report of the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board - 2006-2007

YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD

Yukon crest

ANNUAL REPORT
2006-2007


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD


REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2007

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the federal Public Service Labour Relations Board administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the Yukon public service. When performing these functions, that Board acts as the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD IN 2006–2007

Yvon Tarte retired as Chair in May 2006 after 14 years serving the Public Service Labour Relations Board and its predecessor, the Public Service Staff Relations Board. Vice-Chairs, Sylvie Matteau and Ian R. Mackenzie, respectively, served as acting chairs until January 2, 2007 when the new Chair, Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E., was appointed. 

Michele A. Pineau was appointed as a Vice-Chair effective January 1, 2007. Ian R. Mackenzie and Georges Nadeau continued in their appointments as Vice-Chairs. In 2006–2007 Dan Butler, Barry Done, Léo-Paul Guindon, Dan Quigley and Jean-Pierre Tessier served as members of the Board. Jean-Pierre Tessier completed his term as a  member and Sylvie Matteau completed her term as Vice-Chair.

Colin Taylor completed his term as adjudicator.

PROCEEDINGS IN 2006–2007

In 2006–2007, there were 33 proceedings under the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act (the Act): 30 were referrals to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions; 2 were notices of identification pertaining to positions considered by the employer to be managerial or confidential (exclusion proposals); and 1 application pertained to the designation of employees essential for the safety or security of the public.

No applications were made for the determination of membership in bargaining units.

Grievance adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards, or from major disciplinary action or termination.

The Board dealt with 30 grievance cases during the period under review—15 of which were new and 15 of which were carried over from the previous fiscal year. A total of 7 cases were completed in 2006–2007.

Of the 30 cases, 16 dealt with interpretations of collective agreements. Of those 16, 2 cases were withdrawn by a party prior to a hearing, 8 cases are to be scheduled for hearing in 2007–2008, 5 cases are being held pending mediation and 1 case is being held pending the outcome of a related Yukon Human Rights Commission complaint.

Fourteen (14) cases dealt with disciplinary matters, 4 of which involved terminations. Of these 4 cases, 1 was decided without an oral hearing, 1 was settled by the parties prior to a hearing, 1 is to be scheduled for hearing in 2007–2008 and 1 is tentatively scheduled for hearing in 2007–2008. Of the 10 remaining cases dealing with other types of disciplinary matters, 1 is scheduled for hearing in 2007–2008, 5 are to be scheduled for hearing in 2007–2008, 1 was settled by the parties prior to a hearing, 2 were decided with an oral hearing and 1 case is being held pending the outcome of other proceedings.

Managerial or confidential positions

A person employed in a managerial or confidential position is one who, due to the nature of the duties being performed, meets the criteria established by the Actfor exclusion from a bargaining unit.

In 2006–2007, 1 position was identified by the employer as being a managerial or confidential position and 1 case, containing 1 position, was carried over from previous years. The bargaining agent objected to the identification of both positions. The 2 cases are to be scheduled for hearing in 2007–2008.

Safety or security designations / Statement of essential services

Section 42 of the Act requires the employer to furnish a statement of the employees in a bargaining unit whose duties at any particular time are necessary to the safety or security of the public. In 2006–2007, the Yukon Public Service Commission filed 1 application, which will be decided in 2007–2008.

Determination of membership in bargaining units

No such applications were received in 2006–2007.

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publqiue du Yukon - 2006-2007

COMMISSION DES
RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DANS
LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON

Yukon crest

RAPPORT ANNUEL
2006-2007


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION


RAPPORT SUR L'APPLICATION DE LA LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON POUR L'EXERCICE TERMINANT LE 31 MARS 2007

INTRODUCTION

En vertu d’une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique fédérale administre les régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions, cette Commission agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon.

COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION EN 2006-2007

Yvon Tarte a pris sa retraite comme président en mai 2006 après avoir servi 14 ans la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique fédérale et sa prédécesseure. Les vice-présidents, Sylvie Matteau et Ian R. Mackenzie, respectivement, ont agi comme présidents intérimaires jusqu’au 2 janvier 2007, date de la nomination du nouveau président, Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.

Michele A. Pineau a été nommée vice-présidente à compter du 1er janvier 2007. Ian R. Mackenzie et Georges Nadeau ont conservé leur poste de vice-président. En 2006-2007, Dan Butler, Barry Done, Léo-Paul Guindon, Dan Quigley et Jean-Pierre Tessier ont servi la Commission en qualité de commissaires; Jean-Pierre Tessier a terminé son mandat comme commissaire et Sylvie Matteau a terminé son mandat comme vice-présidente.

Colin Taylor a terminé son mandat comme arbitre de grief.

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2006-2007

En 2006-2007, 33 affaires ont été introduites en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la Loi) : 30 étaient des renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs liés à l’interprétation des conventions collectives ainsi qu’à des mesures disciplinaires; 2 étaient des avis d’identification (propositions d’exclusion) concernant des postes considérés par l’employeur comme étant des postes de direction ou de confiance; 1 demande concernait la désignation de fonctionnaires dont les services sont essentiels à la sécurité du public.

Aucune demande n’a été reçue quant à l’identification des membres des unités de négociation.

Arbitrage de griefs

L’arbitrage de griefs s’entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment dans le cas des griefs résultant de l’application ou de l’interprétation des conventions collectives ou des décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes sanctions disciplinaires allant jusqu’au licenciement.

La Commission a traité 30 cas de griefs au cours de l’exercice, dont 15 nouveaux cas et 15 autres reportés de l’exercice précédent. Au total, 7 cas ont été réglés en 2006-2007.

Parmi les 30 cas, 16 portaient sur l’interprétation des conventions collectives. Deux de ces cas ont été retirés par une partie avant l’audience; 8 cas seront inscrits au rôle pour audience en 2007-2008; 5 cas ont été gardés en suspens en attendant la médiation et 1 cas a lui aussi été gardé en suspens en attendant qu’une décision soit rendue à l’égard d’une plainte connexe déposée à la Commission des droits de la personne du Yukon.

Quatorze (14) cas portaient sur des questions disciplinaires – 4 portaient sur des licenciements. Un de ces 4 cas a été réglé sans audience, 1 autre a été réglé par les parties avant la tenue de l’audience, 1 cas sera inscrit au rôle pour audience en 2007-2008 et 1 cas a été inscrit provisoirement pour audience en 2007-2008. Sur les 10 autres cas traitant d’autres types de questions disciplinaires, 1 est inscrit au rôle pour audience en 2007-2008, 5 cas doivent être inscrits pour audience en 2007-2008, 1 cas a été réglé par les parties avant la tenue de l’audience, 2 cas ont été tranchés sans audience et 1 cas est suspendu en attendant le résultat d’autres procédures.

Postes de direction ou de confiance

En raison de la nature des fonctions qu’elle assume, la personne qui occupe un poste de direction ou de confiance satisfait aux critères établis par la Loi aux fins de l’exclusion d’une unité de négociation.

En 2006-2007, l’employeur a identifié 1 poste de direction ou de confiance et 1 cas concernant un tel poste a été reporté des exercices précédents. L’agent négociateur s’est objecté à l’identification de chacun de ces deux postes. Les 2 cas doivent être inscrits au rôle pour audience en 2007-2008.

Désignations de postes liés à la sécurité du public/énoncé des services essentiels

Conformément à l’article 42 de la Loi, l’employeur est tenu de fournir une liste des employés qui font partie d’une unité de négociation qui exercent selon lui des fonctions qui sont, à un moment particulier, nécessaires pour la sécurité du public. En 2006-2007, la Commission de la fonction publique du Yukon a déposé une demande de désignation qui sera tranchée en 2007-2008.

Identification des membres des unités de négociation

Aucune demande de ce genre n’a été reçue en 2006-2007.