Return to reports

PSLRB PESRA Annual Report 2007-2008

The Honourable James Moore, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
House of Commons
Ottawa, K1A 0A6

Dear Minister,

It is my pleasure to transmit to you, pursuant to section 84 of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, the Annual Report of the administration of that Act by the Public Service Labour Relations Board covering the period from April 1, 2007 to March 31, 2008.

Yours sincerely,

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson


PARLIAMENTARY EMPLOYMENT AND
STAFF RELATIONS ACT
Public Service Labour Relations Board
2007–2008

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD


Message from the Chairperson

I am pleased to submit to Parliament the annual report on the administration of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA) for 2007-2008.

The Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the legislative framework within which labour relations are conducted in the institutions of Parliament. Our clients are the 10 employers and bargaining agents covered by the Act.

In 2007-2008, the PSLRB reaffirmed its vision and mission and set out a new strategic plan to guide the organization over the next few years. We remain committed to neutrality, impartiality and fairness in all our proceedings as well as to providing timely services and functions in a manner that is responsive, proactive and consultative. Our goal is to assist in the resolution of workplace differences and to provide tools, training and information that support labour relations processes. Finally, we seek to offer our own employees and Board members a fulfilling and challenging workplace — one that emphasizes continuous learning, strong teamwork and sound management.

To see how well we are doing, every three years we conduct a survey to gauge the extent to which our clients in the institutions of Parliament and the federal public service are satisfied with our services. We use this information to identify areas for improvement and to adjust our internal processes.

I am very proud of the results of the most recent Client Satisfaction Survey conducted in 2007. At 83%, the response rate was very high and, in general, client respondents indicated positive levels of satisfaction with all our services. This gratifying assessment is a direct result of the hard work and dedication of our Board members, managers and employees. I pay tribute to them all. There are a few areas, of course, where client satisfaction is not as high, such as the timeliness of some of our processes, and we are committed to intensifying our efforts to address these concerns in the future.

We have met with success using mediation to reduce the number of cases that go to formal adjudication. In the period under review, we strengthened our efforts to promote our mediation services, recognizing that mediation is a very effective use of resources in the pursuit of harmonious labour relations. A single mediation can often resolve numerous similar cases. Going forward, the PSLRB will build on its strong reputation for mediation by exploring additional ways to promote our services.

On December 17, 2007, I appeared before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates to support our request for supplementary funding for 2007-2008. I shared with committee members my concern that the PSLRB lacks the permanent stable funding base required to fulfill its responsibilities under the Acts we administer. Although the new Public Service Labour Relations Act, which came into force on April 1, 2005, has given us an expanded role, particularly in compensation analysis and research, we have still not received the resources we need on a consistent basis to fully deliver on our obligations. I remain hopeful that efforts in 2008-2009 will yield a funding solution that supports full implementation of our mandate in the years ahead.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson
Public Service Labour Relations Board


Table of Contents


Introduction

In 1986, the Parliament of Canada passed the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA). Part I of this Act gives employees of parliamentary institutions the right to form a union in order to negotiate collectively the conditions of their employment. Part I also gives employees the right to lodge grievances concerning these conditions and, in certain cases, to refer these grievances to adjudication before a neutral third party.

Part I is administered and applied by the Public Service Labour Relations Board (the PSLRB), a quasi-judicial tribunal established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act. The Board of the PSLRB consists of a Chairperson, up to three Vice-Chairpersons and such other full-time members and part-time members as the Governor in Council considers necessary.

Under the PESRA, the Board hears various matters: applications by employee organizations for certification to become the bargaining agent representing employees; complaints of unfair labour practices; designation of persons employed in managerial and confidential capacities; and adjudication of disputes.

The Board also adjudicates grievances concerning the interpretation and application of provisions of collective agreements, significant disciplinary action, and all forms of termination of employment except rejection on probation during initial appointments. Grievances concerning demotion, appointment and classification may also be referred to adjudication but are determined not by a Board member but by an external adjudicator chosen by the parties, which are equally responsible for the adjudicator's compensation and expenses.

Through its mediation services, the PSLRB also assists parties unable to resolve their disputes at the bargaining table. This assistance may lead to a resolution without the need for the dispute to be heard formally by the Board or may limit the number of issues.

Under the PESRA, arbitration is the only means of resolving disputes if bargaining comes to an impasse. In these situations, the Board acts as an arbitration board. Upon receiving a request for arbitration, the Chairperson appoints a tripartite panel composed of two persons representing the interests of each party, along with a Board member who chairs the panel. Such panels are deemed to act as the Board for the purposes of dealing with the dispute. After hearing the parties, the panel renders a decision on the issues in dispute. These decisions form part of collective agreements and are binding on the parties and on employees.

Appointments to the Public Service Labour Relations Board

In 2007-2008, a number of new appointments were made to the Board. Marie-Josée Bédard was appointed as a Vice-Chairperson, joining Ian R. Mackenzie and Michele A. Pineau, who continued in their appointments as Vice-Chairpersons. John Mooney, Roger Beaulieu and Renaud Paquet were appointed as new full-time Board members, joining Dan R. Quigley and Dan Butler who continued in their appointments. Georges Nadeau retired from the Board as a Vice-Chairperson, Barry Done retired as a full-time Board member and Léo-Paul Guindon completed his term as a full-time Board member. Christopher James Albertyn, George P.L. Filliter, Deborah M. Howes, Margaret E. Hughes and Allen Ponak were appointed as part-time Board members, and Bruce Archibald, Q.C., Ruth Elizabeth Bilson, Q.C. and John J. Steeves were reappointed as part-time Board members.

Proceedings before the Public Service Labour Relations Board

In 2007-2008, the PSLRB dealt with 41 cases under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA). Of these, 29 were grievances, 1 was a complaint and 11 pertained to other applications.

1. Grievance Adjudication

In 2007-2008, the PSLRB processed 29 grievances. Of these cases, 23 had been carried over from previous years and 6 were new.

Under the PESRA there are three types of adjudicable grievances. The first type arises from the application or interpretation of a collective agreement or an arbitral award. Such grievances cannot be referred without the approval and support of the bargaining agent. In 2007-2008, the PSLRB processed 3 of these grievances; 2 were from the House of Commons and 1 was from the Library of Parliament.

The second type refers to disciplinary actions resulting in suspension or financial penalty as well as to terminations of employment, other than rejection on probation. A member of the Board acting as an adjudicator hears these grievances. In 2007-2008, the PSLRB dealt with 7 such grievances; 6 were from the House of Commons and 1 was from the Senate.

The third type includes grievances relating to the demotion of an employee, to the denial of appointment and to classification. These are heard and determined by an adjudicator selected by the parties. The PSLRB processed 19 of these grievances. Five (5) were from the House of Commons and 14 were from the Library of Parliament. All but 1 of the latter pertained to classification grievances.

As of March 31, 2008, of these 29 grievances, 2 were on hold pending the outcome of mediation, 12 were on hold pending other reasons, 6 were scheduled for a hearing, and 2 were awaiting the scheduling of a hearing. Of the 7 cases considered completed, all had been withdrawn.

2. Complaint Adjudication

Section 13 of the PESRA requires the Board to examine and inquire into an alleged failure to observe any prohibition contained in sections 6, 7 or 8, to comply with any regulation respecting grievances made by the PSLRB pursuant to section 71, or to give effect to any provision of an arbitral award or to a decision of an adjudicator with respect to a grievance.

Where the Board upholds a complaint, it has authority under this section to order remedial action. If such action is not carried out, section 14 provides that it shall make a report to Parliament. One (1) complaint was processed in 2007-2008. As of March 31, 2008, this case was scheduled to be heard in 2008-2009.

3. Other Proceedings

Requests for extensions of time

Section 79 of the P.E.S.R.A. Regulations and Rules of Procedure provides for applications to extend the time to present a grievance. One (1) such application carried over from a previous year was completed in 2007-2008.

Enforcement of obligations of employer and employee organizations

Section 70 of the PESRA requires the PSLRB to inquire into allegations that cannot be the subject of a grievance by an individual employee. These come about when an employer or bargaining agent seeks to enforce an obligation alleged to arise out of a collective agreement or an arbitral award. One (1) new case of this type was received in 2007-2008.

Applications for certification

Under section 18 of the PESRA, an employee organization may submit an application to be certified as bargaining agent for a bargaining unit. The PSLRB did not receive any such applications in 2007-2008.

Application to review certification

On November 14, 2005, the House of Commons employer filed an application with the PSLRB under section 17 of the PESRA requesting a review of the existing bargaining unit structure. The four respondents — the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada, the Public Service Alliance of Canada, the House of Commons Security Service Employees Association, and the Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada — represent 7 bargaining units affected by this application. The matter is awaiting a decision.

Determination of membership in bargaining unit

Under section 24 of the PESRA, an employer or an employee organization may ask the PSLRB to determine whether an employee or class of employees is included in a bargaining unit. The PSLRB dealt with no such applications in 2007-2008.

Application for declaration of successor rights

Section 36 of the PESRA provides for the PSLRB to determine what rights, privileges and duties are acquired or retained by an employee organization after a merger or amalgamation or a transfer of jurisdiction, other than as a result of revocation of certification. The PSLRB did not receive any such applications in 2007-2008.

Notice to bargain collectively

Section 37 of the PESRA provides that either the bargaining agent or the employer may require, by written notice, to commence bargaining collectively with a view to concluding a collective agreement. In 2007-2008, the PSLRB dealt with 2 notices to bargain collectively; both were submitted by the bargaining agent and both were for the Senate of Canada.

Applications under section 38

Section 38 of the PESRA requires the parties to bargain collectively in good faith and make every reasonable effort to conclude a collective agreement. The PSLRB did not deal with any allegations of a violation of section 38 in 2007-2008.

Request for the appointment of a conciliator

Under section 40 of the PESRA, parties unable to reach agreement on any term or condition of employment embodied in a collective agreement may ask the Chairperson to appoint a conciliator to assist them in reaching an agreement. In 2007-2008, the PSLRB dealt with 2 requests for conciliators for the House of Commons. Conciliators were appointed. Not all issues could be resolved, and the 2 cases went to arbitration. Arbitral awards were issued in both cases.

Arbitration proceedings

Section 46 of the PESRA provides for binding arbitration as the only method available to resolve interest disputes; there is no right to strike under the Act. In 2007-2008, the PSLRB dealt with 4 requests for arbitration, all for the House of Commons. Three (3) arbitral awards were issued and one case was scheduled for 2008-2009.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the PSLRB, dispute resolution services are offered to help parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. Mediations may be conducted by staff mediators or Board members; the latter may remain seized of the matter for a decision on the merits, with the consent of the parties. In 2007-2008, the PSLRB dealt with 4 grievance mediation cases. Two (2) are to be scheduled for mediation in 2008-2009, and 1 was settled. Another case was not settled and will be going to a formal adjudication hearing.

In 2007-2008, the parties requested the PSLRB’s mediation services in 2 cases of preventive mediation in an effort to resolve a dispute before continuing with the grievance process. As of March 31, 2008, one case was scheduled for mediation in 2008-2009, and the other was settled.

Tables

Table 1: Bargaining Units and Bargaining Agents under the Parliamentary
Employment and Staff Relations Act
April 1, 2007 to March 31, 2008

BARGAINING UNITS BARGAINING AGENTS
House of Commons as Employer
Technical Group Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada
Protective Services Group House of Commons Security Services Employees Association
Procedural Subgroup and Analysis/Reference Subgroup in the Parliamentary Programs Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Operational Group (except for part-time cleaners classified at the OP A level) Public Service Alliance of Canada
Reporting Subgroup and Text Processing Subgroup in the Parliamentary Programs Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Postal Services Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Scanners Public Service Alliance of Canada
Senate of Canada as Employer
Legislative Clerk Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Protective Service Subgroup in the Operational Group Senate Protective Service Employees Association
Operational Group (except for employees in the Protective Service Subgroup) Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library of Parliament as Employer
Library Science (Reference) and Library Science (Cataloguing) Subgroups in the Research and Library Services Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Administrative and Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library Technician Subgroup in the Research and Library Services Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Research Officer and Research Assistant Subgroups in the Research and Library Services Group Canadian Association of Professional Employees

Table 2: Adjudication References, April 1, 2000 to March 31, 2008

  Interpretations
[Para. 63(1)(a)]
Discipline
[Paras. 63(1)(b)
& (c)]
Party & Party
[Sec. 70]
Sub-Total Paras.
63(1) (d),
(e) & (f)
Total
2007–2008 2 7 1 10 19 29
2006–2007 6 12 0 18 28 46
2005–2006 4 11 0 15 25 40
2004–2005 2 4 0 6 0 6
2003–2004 2 2 0 4 0 4
2002–2003 51 3 0 54 29 83
2001–2002 7 0 0 7 0 7
2000–2001 2 2 1 5 12 17
  Cumulative Totals December 24, 1986 to March 31, 2008  
  358 84 11 453 310 763

Table 3: Adjudication References Carried Forward and Received April 1, 2000 to March 31, 2008

Fiscal Year Carried Forward Received Overall Total Dispositions Total
2007–2008 23 6 29 7
2006–2007 41 5 46 23
2005–2006 26 14 40 1
2004–2005 26 6 32 4
2003–2004 33 4 37 7
2002–2003 3 83 86 55
2001–2002 10 7 17 14
2000–2001 41 17 58 45

Retourner aux rapports

Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement Rapport annuel 2007-2008

L’honorable James Moore, C.P., député
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles
Chambre des communes
Ottawa K1A 0A6

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur de vous transmettre, conformément à l’article 84 de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, le rapport annuel de l’administration de cette loi par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, pour la période du 1er avril 2007 au 31 mars 2008.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de mon profond respect.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
PRÉSIDENT


LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL AU PARLEMENT
Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique
2007-2008

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION


Message du président

J’ai l’honneur de présenter au Parlement le rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) pour l’exercice 2007-2008.

La Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) administre le cadre législatif qui régit la conduite des relations de travail dans les institutions relevant du Parlement. Les clients sont les 10 employeurs et agents négociateurs visés par la Loi.

En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a réaffirmé sa vision ainsi que sa mission, et a dressé un nouveau plan stratégique visant à guider l’organisation au cours des prochaines années. Nous demeurons attachés à la neutralité, l’impartialité et l’équité dans toutes nos procédures et sommes soucieux d’assurer, en temps opportun, des services et des fonctions qui soient adaptés, proactifs et consultatifs. Notre but consiste à contribuer au règlement des différends de travail ainsi qu’à fournir les outils, la formation et l’information nécessaires à l’appui des processus de relations de travail. Enfin, nous nous efforçons d’offrir à nos employés et aux commissaires un milieu de travail intéressant et stimulant qui privilégie l’apprentissage permanent, le travail d’équipe et une saine gestion.

Pour savoir si nous nous acquittons bien de cette mission, nous menons, tous les trois ans, un sondage afin de mesurer le degré de satisfaction de nos clients, dans les institutions relevant du Parlement et au sein de la fonction publique fédérale, à l’égard de nos services. Nous nous servons des renseignements ainsi obtenus pour cerner les aspects à améliorer et adapter nos processus internes.

Je suis particulièrement fier des résultats du plus récent Sondage sur la satisfaction de la clientèle, réalisé en 2007. Nous avons obtenu un taux de réponse très élevé, à 83 %, et les clients qui ont répondu à notre questionnaire se sont généralement dit satisfaits de nos services. Cette évaluation gratifiante, nous la devons directement au travail acharné et au dévouement de nos commissaires, gestionnaires et employés, à qui j’adresse ici une marque de déférence. Il y a bien entendu aussi quelques aspects ou dimensions qui ne suscitent pas un taux de satisfaction aussi élevé de la clientèle, comme les délais de certaines de nos procédures; nous nous attachons à intensifier nos efforts pour résoudre ces préoccupations à l’avenir.

Nous avons utilisé avec succès la médiation pour réduire le nombre de dossiers officiellement renvoyés à l’arbitrage. Au cours de l’exercice évalué, nous avons accentué nos efforts pour promouvoir nos services de médiation, reconnaissant que la médiation représente une utilisation très efficace des ressources pour favoriser des relations de travail harmonieuses. Une seule médiation peut souvent résoudre de nombreuses affaires de nature semblable. Forte de sa solide réputation en la matière, la CRTFP poursuivra dans cette voie en explorant d’autres façons de promouvoir ses services.

Le 17 décembre 2007, je suis venu plaider la cause de notre demande de financement additionnelle pour 2007-2008 devant le Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre des communes. J’ai fait part aux membres du Comité de ma crainte que la CRTFP ne dispose pas d’une base de financement permanent suffisante pour s’acquitter de ses obligations en vertu des lois que nous administrons. La nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2005, nous a certes conféré un rôle accru, en particulier au chapitre des analyses et recherches en matière de rémunération, mais nous n’avons toujours pas reçu les ressources dont nous avons constamment besoin pour dûment remplir nos obligations. Je garde l’espoir que les efforts déployés en 2008-2009 engendreront une solution de financement qui favorisera la pleine exécution de notre mandat dans les années à venir.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président
Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Introduction

En 1986, le Parlement du Canada a adopté la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP). La partie I de cette loi accorde aux employés d’institutions parlementaires le droit d’adhérer à un syndicat pour la négociation collective de leurs conditions d’emploi. Elle donne également aux employés le droit de déposer des griefs relatifs à ces conditions et, dans certains cas, de renvoyer ces griefs à l’arbitrage devant une tierce partie neutre.

La partie I est administrée et appliquée par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la CRTFP), tribunal quasi judiciaire créé en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. La Commission comprend un président, jusqu’à trois vice-présidents et le nombre de commissaires à temps plein et à temps partiel que le gouverneur en conseil estime nécessaire.

En vertu de la LRTP, la Commission peut être saisie de diverses affaires : demandes d’accréditation présentées par une organisation syndicale pour devenir l’agent négociateur représentant les employés; plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail; désignation de personnes occupant un poste de direction ou de confiance et arbitrage de différends.

La Commission s’occupe également de l’arbitrage de griefs concernant l’interprétation et l’application de dispositions de conventions collectives, des mesures disciplinaires importantes et diverses formes de licenciement, sauf les renvois en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. Les griefs contestant une rétrogradation, une nomination et une classification peuvent aussi être renvoyés à l’arbitrage; ils sont toutefois tranchés non pas par un commissaire mais par un arbitre de grief externe choisi par les parties, lesquelles doivent, à parts égales, prendre en charge la rémunération et les frais de l’arbitre de grief.

En outre, par l’entremise de ses services de médiation, la CRTFP aide les parties qui n’arrivent pas à résoudre leurs différends à la table de négociation. Cette aide peut mener à un règlement sans que le conflit doive être l’objet d’une audience officielle de la Commission, ou elle peut limiter le nombre de questions en litige.

L’arbitrage est le seul mode de règlement des différends prévu par la LRTP lorsque la négociation aboutit à une impasse. Dans ces situations, la Commission agit comme conseil d’arbitrage. Sur réception d’une demande d’arbitrage, le président met sur pied un groupe tripartite composé de deux personnes représentant les intérêts de chaque partie et d’un commissaire qui dirige ce groupe. Pareils groupes sont réputés agir au nom de la Commission pour ce qui est de régler le différend. Après avoir entendu les parties, le groupe rend une décision sur les questions en litige. Ces décisions sont intégrées aux conventions collectives et lient parties et employés.

Nominations à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique

En 2007-2008, on a procédé à un certain nombre de nouvelles nominations à la Commission. Marie-Josée Bédard a été nommée vice-présidente, se joignant à Ian R. Mackenzie et Michele A. Pineau, qui ont poursuivi leur mandat à ce titre. John Mooney, Roger Beaulieu et Renaud Paquet ont été nommés commissaires à temps plein, se joignant à Dan R. Quigley et Dan Butler, qui ont poursuivi leur mandat. Le vice-président Georges Nadeau et le commissaire à temps plein Barry Done ont pris leur retraite, tandis que Léo-Paul Guindon a terminé son mandat de commissaire à temps plein. Christopher James Albertyn, George P.L. Filliter, Deborah M. Howes, Margaret E. Hughes et Allen Ponak ont été nommés commissaire à temps partiel, et le mandat à ce titre de Bruce Archibald, c.r., Ruth Elizabeth Bilson, c.r. et John J. Steeves a été renouvelé.

Affaires dont la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique a été saisie

En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a été saisie de 41 cas en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP). De ce nombre, 29 étaient des griefs, 1 était une plainte et 11 se rapportaient à d’autres demandes.

1) Arbitrage de griefs

En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a traité 29 griefs, dont 23 avaient été reportés d’années antérieures et 6 étaient nouveaux.

Aux termes de la LRTP, il y a trois types de griefs arbitrables. Le premier type découle de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales. De tels griefs ne peuvent être renvoyés à l’arbitrage sans l’approbation et l’appui de l’agent négociateur. En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a traité 3 de ces griefs, dont 2 provenaient de la Chambre des communes et 1 de la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

Le deuxième type se rapporte aux mesures disciplinaires donnant lieu à une suspension ou à une sanction pécuniaire ainsi qu’aux licenciements autres que le renvoi en cours de stage. Un commissaire agissant comme arbitre de grief entend ces griefs. En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a traité 7 de ces griefs, dont 6 émanaient de la Chambre des communes et 1 du Sénat.

Le troisième type comprend les griefs arbitrables traitant de la rétrogradation d’un employé, du refus d’une nomination et de la classification. Un arbitre de grief choisi par les parties instruit et tranche ces griefs. La CRTFP a traité 19 de ces griefs, dont 5 provenaient de la Chambre des communes et 14 de la Bibliothèque du Parlement. Tous sauf 1 (qui fait partie des 14 griefs précités) avaient trait à des litiges en matière de classification.

Au 31 mars 2008, sur ces 29 griefs, 2 étaient en suspens, dans l’attente du résultat de la médiation, 12 étaient en suspens pour d’autres raisons, 6 devaient faire l’objet d’une audience et 2 n’avaient pas encore été mis au rôle pour la tenue d’une audience. Eu égard aux 7 cas considérés classés, tous les griefs avaient été retirés.

2) Arbitrage de plaintes

Aux termes de l’article 13 de la LRTP, la Commission doit instruire toute plainte dont elle est saisie et selon laquelle il y a eu omission d’observer les interdictions énoncées aux articles 6, 7 ou 8, de respecter l’un des règlements pris en matière de griefs par la CRTFP, en application de l’article 71, et de mettre à effet une disposition d’une décision arbitrale ou une décision d’un arbitre de grief relative à un grief.

Lorsque la Commission accueille une plainte, cet article l’habilite à ordonner un redressement. Si l’ordonnance n’est pas exécutée, la Commission doit, en vertu de l’article 14, faire un rapport au Parlement. Une (1) plainte a été traitée en 2007-2008. Au 31 mars 2008, cette plainte devait faire l’objet d’une audience en 2008-2009.

3) Autres procédures

Demandes de prorogation de délais

Les demandes de prorogation du délai de présentation d’un grief sont prévues à l’article 79 du Règlement et règles de procédure de la L.R.T.P. Une (1) demande semblable, qui avait été reportée d’un exercice précédent, a été réglée en 2007-2008.

Exécution des obligations de l’employeur et des organisations syndicales

L’article 70 de la LRTP exige que la CRTFP enquête sur les allégations ne pouvant être l’objet d’un grief individuel. De tels cas se posent lorsqu’un employeur ou un agent négociateur cherche à faire exécuter une obligation qui découlerait d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale. Un (1) nouveau cas de ce type a été reçu en 2007-2008.

Demandes d’accréditation

En vertu de l’article 18 de la LRTP, une organisation syndicale peut présenter une demande en vue d’être accréditée comme agent négociateur d’une unité de négociation. La CRTFP n’a pas reçu de telles demandes en 2007-2008.

Demande d’examen d’accréditation

Le 14 novembre 2005, la Chambre des communes a, à titre d’employeur, déposé auprès de la CRTFP une demande, en vertu de l’article 17 de la LRTP, pour solliciter un examen de la structure existante d’une unité de négociation. Les quatre défendeurs, soit l’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada, l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, l’Association des employés du Service de sécurité de la Chambre des communes et le Syndicat canadien des communications, de l’énergie et du papier, représentent sept unités de négociation qui seraient touchées par cette demande. Une décision doit être rendue dans cette affaire.

Détermination de l’appartenance à une unité de négociation

En vertu de l’article 24 de la LRTP, l’employeur ou une organisation syndicale peut demander à la CRTFP de déterminer si un employé ou une classe d’employés fait partie d’une unité de négociation. La CRTFP n’a pas traité de telles demandes en 2007-2008.

Demande de déclaration des droits du successeur

L’article 36 de la LRTFP prévoit que la CRTFP peut préciser les droits, privilèges et obligations acquis ou conservés par une organisation syndicale à la suite d’une fusion d’organisations syndicales ou du transfert de compétences entre de telles organisations qui ne découlent pas d’une révocation d’accréditation. La CRTFP n’a pas reçu de telles demandes en 2007-2008.

Avis de négocier collectivement

L’article 37 de la LRTP prévoit que l’agent négociateur ou l’employeur peut, par avis écrit, requérir l’autre partie d’entamer des négociations collectives en vue de la conclusion d’une convention collective. En 2007-2008, la CRTFP s’est penchée sur deux avis de négociation collective, tous deux soumis par l’agent négociateur et émanant du Sénat du Canada.

Demandes fondées sur l’article 38

Aux termes de l’article 38 de la LRTP, les parties doivent entamer de bonne foi des négociations collectives et faire tout effort raisonnable pour conclure une convention collective. En 2007-2008, la CRTFP n’a été saisie d’aucune allégation de violation de l’article 38.

Demande de nomination d’un conciliateur

En vertu de l’article 40 de la LRTP, lorsque les parties n’arrivent pas à convenir d’une condition d’emploi pouvant figurer dans la convention collective, elles peuvent demander au président de nommer un conciliateur pour qu’il les aide à parvenir à un accord. En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a traité de 2 demandes de conciliateurs émanant de la Chambre des communes. Les conciliateurs ont été nommés. Toutes les questions n’ont pu être résolues, et 2 affaires ont été renvoyées à l’arbitrage. Dans les deux cas, les décisions arbitrales ont été rendues.

Procédures d’arbitrage de différends

L’article 46 de la LRTP prévoit que l’arbitrage exécutoire est le seul mode de règlement des différends; la LRTP ne prévoit pas de droit de grève. En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a répondu à 4 demandes d’arbitrage, toutes émanant de la Chambre des communes. Trois (3) décisions arbitrales ont été rendues et un cas était inscrit au rôle pour 2008-2009.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la CRTFP, des services de règlement des différends sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Les médiations peuvent être conduites par des médiateurs de la Commission ou par des commissaires; ces derniers peuvent demeurer saisis de l’affaire en attendant qu’une décision sur le fond soit rendue, et ce, avec le consentement des parties. En 2007-2008, la CRTFP a traité 4 cas de médiation de grief. Deux (2) seront inscrits au rôle pour médiation en 2008-2009 et 1 a été réglé. Un autre cas n’a pas été réglé et devra faire l’objet d’une audience formelle d’arbitrage.

En 2007-2008, les parties ont sollicité les services de médiation de la CRTFP dans 2 cas de médiation préventive, afin de résoudre un litige avant de continuer le processus de règlement des griefs. Au 31 mars 2008, un cas avait été mis au rôle pour médiation en 2008-2009, et l’autre était réglé.

Tableaux

Tableau 1 : Unités de négociation et agents négociateurs visés par la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement du 1er avril 2007 au 31 mars 2008

UNITÉS DE NÉGOCIATION AGENTS NÉGOCIATEURS
Employeur : Chambre des communes
Catégorie technique Syndicat canadien des communications, de l’énergie et du papier
Groupe des Services de protection Association des employés du Service de sécurité de la Chambre des communes
Sous-groupe de la Procédure et sous-groupe de l’Analyse et Référence
compris dans le groupe des Programmes parlementaires
Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Groupe de l’exploitation (à l’exception des nettoyeurs à temps partiel classés OPA) Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Comptes rendus et sous-groupe du Traitement de textes du groupe
des Programmes parlementaires
Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Services postaux du groupe du Soutien administratif Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Opérateurs de scanographe Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Employeur : Sénat du Canada
Sous-groupe des greffiers du groupe Soutien administratif Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe du Service de sécurité du groupe de l’Exploitation Association des employés du Service de sécurité du Sénat
Groupe de l’Exploitation (à l’exception des employés du sous-groupe du Service de sécurité) Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Employeur : Bibliothèque du Parlement
Sous-groupes Bibliothéconomie (Référence) et Bibliothéconomie (Catalogage) du groupe
des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie
Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Groupe de l’Administration et du soutien Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe de Techniciens de bibliothèque du groupe des Services de recherche et
de bibliothéconomie
Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupes des Attachés de recherche et des Adjoints de recherche du groupe des Services
de recherche et de bibliothéconomie
Association canadienne des employés professionnels

Tableau 2 : Griefs renvoyés à l’arbitrage du 1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2008

  Questions d’interprétation
[alinéa 63(1)a)]
Questions disciplinaires
[alinéas 63(1)b) et c)]
Accusations d’une partie contre l’autre
[art. 70]
Total partiel Alinéas
63(1)d), e) et f)
Total
2007–2008 2 7 1 10 19 29
2006–2007 6 12 0 18 28 46
2005–2006 4 11 0 15 25 40
2004–2005 2 4 0 6 0 6
2003–2004 2 2 0 4 0 4
2002–2003 51 3 0 54 29 83
2001–2002 7 0 0 7 0 7
2000–2001 2 2 1 5 12 17
  Taux cumulatifs du 24 décembre 1986 au 31 mars 2008  
  358 84 11 453 310 763

Tableau 3 : Arbitrage de griefs – Affaires reportées et reçues
du 1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2008

Exercice Affaires reportées Affaires reçues Total des affaires Total des règlements
2007–2008 23 6 29 7
2006–2007 41 5 46 23
2005–2006 26 14 40 1
2004–2005 26 6 32 4
2003–2004 33 4 37 7
2002–2003 3 83 86 55
2001–2002 10 7 17 14
2000–2001 41 17 58 45