Return to reports

Annual report of the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board - 2007-2008

YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD

Yukon crest

ANNUAL REPORT
2007-2008


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD


REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2008

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the federal Public Service Labour Relations Board administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the Yukon public service. When performing these functions, that Board acts as the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD IN 2007–2008

In 2007-2008, a number of new appointments were made to the Board. Marie-Josée Bédard was appointed as a Vice-Chair, joining Ian R. Mackenzie and Michele A. Pineau, who continued in their appointments as Vice-Chairs. John Mooney, Roger Beaulieu and Renaud Paquet were appointed as new full-time Board members, joining Dan R. Quigley and Dan Butler who continued in their appointments. Georges Nadeau retired from the Board as a Vice-Chair, Barry Done retired as a full-time Board member and Léo-Paul Guindon completed his term as a full-time Board member.

PROCEEDINGS IN 2007–2008

In 2007–2008, there were 41 proceedings under the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act (the Act): 38 were referrals to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions; 2 were notices of identification pertaining to positions considered by the employer to be managerial or confidential (exclusion proposals); and 1 application pertained to the designation of employees essential for the safety or security of the public.

There were no applications were made for the determination of membership in bargaining units.

Grievance adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards, or from major disciplinary action or termination.

The Board dealt with 38 grievance cases during the period under review. Fifteen (15) were new and 23 were carried over from the previous fiscal year. Four (4) cases were closed in 2007–2008.

Of the 38 grievance cases, 21 dealt with interpretations of collective agreements. Of those 21, 16 cases are to be scheduled for hearing in 2008–2009, 4 cases are being held pending mediation and 1 case is being held pending the outcome of a related Yukon Human Rights Commission complaint.

Seventeen (17) cases dealt with disciplinary matters, 5 of which involved terminations. Of these 5 cases, 1 was settled by the parties prior to a hearing and 4 are to be scheduled to be heard in 2008–2009. 

Of the 12 remaining cases dealing with other types of disciplinary matters, 10 are to be scheduled to be heard in 2008–2009, and 2 were settled by the parties prior to a hearing.

Managerial and confidential positions

A person employed in a managerial or confidential position is one who, due to the nature of the duties being performed, meets the criteria established by the Act for exclusion from a bargaining unit.

In 2007–2008, 2 cases, pertaining to 2 positions that had been previously identified by the employer as being a managerial or confidential position were carried over from previous years. One (1) case is to be scheduled to be heard in 2008–2009 and 1 was withdrawn.

Safety or security designations / Statement of essential services

Section 42 of the Act requires the employer to furnish a statement of the employees in a bargaining unit whose duties are necessary to the safety or security of the public. In 2006–2007, the Yukon Public Service Commission filed 1 application, which was withdrawn upon settlement in 2007–2008.

Determination of membership in bargaining units

No such applications were received in 2007–2008.

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publqiue du Yukon - 2007-2008

COMMISSION DES
RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DANS
LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON

Yukon crest

RAPPORT ANNUEL
2007-2008


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION


RAPPORT SUR L’APPLICATION
DE LA LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
DU YUKON
POUR L’EXERCICE SE TERMINANT LE
31 MARS 2008

INTRODUCTION

En vertu d’une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique fédérale administre les régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions, cette Commission agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon.

COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION EN 2007-2008

En 2007-2008, un certain nombre de nouvelles nominations ont été faites à la Commission. Marie-Josée Bédard a été nommée vice-présidente, se joignant ainsi à Ian R. Mackenzie et à Michele A. Pineau, qui ont poursuivi leur mandat comme vice-présidents. John Mooney, Roger Beaulieu et Renaud Paquet ont été nommés commissaires à temps plein, se joignant à Dan R. Quigley et à Dan Butler qui ont poursuivi leur mandat. Georges Nadeau a pris sa retraite à titre de vice-président de la Commission, Barry Done a pris sa retraite à titre de commissaire à temps plein et Léo-Paul Guindon a terminé son mandat à titre de commissaire à temps plein.

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2007-2008

En 2007-2008, 41 affaires ont été introduites en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la Loi) : 38 étaient des renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs ayant trait à l’interprétation des conventions collectives ainsi qu’à des mesures disciplinaires; 2 étaient des avis d’identification (propositions d’exclusion) concernant des postes considérés comme des postes de direction ou de confiance par l’employeur; 1 demande concernait la désignation de fonctionnaires dont les services sont essentiels à la sécurité du public.

Aucune demande n’a été reçue aux fins de l’identification des membres d’unités de négociation.

Arbitrage de griefs

L’arbitrage de griefs s’entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment dans le cas des griefs résultant de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes mesures disciplinaires ou des licenciements.

La Commission a traité 38 cas de griefs au cours de l’exercice, soit 15 nouveaux cas et 23 cas reportés de l’exercice précédent. Au total, 4 dossiers ont été fermés en 2007-2008.

Parmi les 38 cas de griefs, 21 portaient sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives. Seize (16) de ces 21 cas seront mis au rôle pour audience en 2008-2009; 4 cas sont en suspens en attendant la médiation; 1 cas est en suspens en attendant l’issue d’une plainte connexe qui a été déposée devant la Commission des droits de la personne du Yukon.

Dix-sept (17) cas portaient sur des questions disciplinaires, dont 5 portaient sur des licenciements. De ces 5cas, 1 a été réglé par les parties avant la tenue de l’audience; les 4 autres seront mis au rôle pour audition en 2008-2009.

Sur les 12 autres cas ayant trait à d’autres types de questions disciplinaires, 10 seront mis au rôle pour audition en 2008-2009 et 2 ont été réglés par les parties avant la tenue de l’audience.

Postes de direction ou de confiance

En raison de la nature des fonctions qu’elle accomplit, la personne qui occupe un poste de direction ou de confiance satisfait aux critères établis par la Loi aux fins de l’exclusion de l’unité de négociation.

En 2007-2008, 2 cas se rapportant à 2 postes que l’employeur avait identifiés comme des postes de direction ou de confiance étaient de reports de l’exercice précédent. Un (1) cas sera mis au rôle pour audition en 2008-2009 et 1 cas a été retiré.

Désignations de postes liés à la sécurité du public/énoncé des services essentiels

Conformément à l’article 42 de la Loi, l’employeur est tenu de fournir la liste des employés de l’unité de négociation qui exercent des fonctions qui sont nécessaires pour la sécurité du public. En 2006-2007, la Commission de la fonction publique du Yukon a déposé 1 demande de désignation, laquelle a été retirée après qu’une entente fut intervenue entre les parties en 2007-2008.

Identification des membres des unités de négociation

Aucune demande de ce genre n’a été reçue en 2007-2008.