Return to reports

Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act
Annual Report 2009 - 2010

© Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada 2010
Cat. No. SR2-1/2010
ISBN 978-1-100-51736-0
This publication is also available on the PSLRB’s website at http://www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca.

The Honourable James Moore, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
House of Commons
Ottawa, K1A 0A6


Dear Minister,

It is my pleasure to submit to you, pursuant to section 84 of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, the Annual Report of the administration of that Act by the Public Service Labour Relations Board covering the period from April 1, 2009 to March 31, 2010, for submission to Parliament.

Yours sincerely,

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson


PARLIAMENTARY EMPLOYMENT AND STAFF RELATIONS ACT

Public Service Labour Relations Board 2008-2009

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

Table of Contents

Message from the Chairperson

I am pleased to submit to Parliament the annual report on the administration of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA) for 2009-2010.

During the reporting period, exploring innovative ways to effectively manage a sizable caseload to ensure that active cases are kept to a manageable number and to reduce the overall time it takes to complete case files remained a priority. For example, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) rendered decisions on some cases based on information already on file or through written submissions, rather than through formal hearings, which represents a proactive shift in our approach to case management, and which resulted in enhanced fairness, efficiency and effectiveness, as well as cost savings.

Again this year, PSLRB mediators worked with the parties to help them resolve their disputes in an open, collaborative environment, rather than subjecting them to more adversarial settlement processes. When resources permitted, preventive mediations were undertaken, which enabled disputes to be resolved before a grievance or a complaint was formally referred to the PSLRB. The PSLRB also set up and conducted several arbitration boards, which enabled the parties to resolve their collective bargaining disputes by way of a binding report.

In 2009-2010, there were 6 full-time and 11 part-time PSLRB Board members. Mr. John A. Mooney left the PSLRB in September, and Mr. Michel Paquette retired in December 2009.

No new full-time members were appointed during the year. Mr. Paul E. Love, a former part-time Board Member, and Mr. Joseph W. Potter, a former Board Member, Deputy Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, were appointed as part-time Board members in November 2009.

I should also note that I was reappointed as Chairperson of the PSLRB for a three-year term that began on January 2, 2010. I look forward to continuing to provide leadership to the PSLRB and to successfully addressing the challenges before us.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson
Public Service Labour Relations Board

Introduction

Under Part I of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA), employees of parliamentary institutions have the right to form a union in order to negotiate collectively the conditions of their employment. Part I also gives employees the right to file grievances concerning those conditions and, in certain cases, to refer grievances to adjudication before a neutral third party.

Part I is administered and applied by the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB), an independent quasi-judicial tribunal established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act. The Board of the PSLRB comprises a Chairperson, three Vice-Chairpersons and other members that the Governor in Council may appoint for terms of no longer than five years and who may be reappointed.

Under the PESRA, the Board hears such matters as applications for certification by employee organizations to become bargaining agents representing employees; complaints of unfair labour practices; designations of persons employed in managerial and confidential capacities; and arbitrations of disputes.

The Board also adjudicates grievances concerning the interpretation and application of provisions of collective agreements, significant disciplinary action, and all forms of termination of employment except rejection on probation during initial appointments. Grievances concerning demotion, appointment and classification may also be referred to adjudication but are determined not by a Board member but by an external adjudicator chosen by the parties, which are equally responsible for the adjudicator’s compensation and expenses.

The PSLRB’s mediation services provide a collaborative forum for dispute resolution, rather than subjecting the parties to other, more adversarial methods of resolving their disputes. Through mediation, the parties are encouraged to explore the underlying reasons for their conflict, allowing them to craft solutions that better address the root causes of their problem.

Under the PESRA, arbitration is the only means of resolving disputes if bargaining reaches an impasse. In those situations, the Board acts as an arbitration board. On receiving a request for arbitration, the Chairperson appoints a tripartite panel comprising two persons representing the interests of each party along with a Board member who chairs the panel. Such panels are deemed to act as the Board for the purposes of dealing with the dispute. After hearing the parties, the panel renders a decision on the issues in dispute. Those decisions then form part of collective agreements and are binding on the parties and on employees.

Proceedings before the Public Service Labour Relations Board

In 2009-2010, the PSLRB dealt with 62 cases under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA). Of those cases, 21 were grievances, and 41 pertained to other applications. There were no complaints.

1) Grievance Adjudication

Of the 21 grievances processed by the PSLRB in 2009-2010, 17 were carried over from previous years, and 4 were new.

There are four types of adjudicable grievances under the PESRA. The first type arises from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards. Such grievances cannot be referred to adjudication without the approval and support of the bargaining agent. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB processed 1 such grievance from the House of Commons.

The second type refers to disciplinary actions resulting in suspension or financial penalty and to termination of employment for reasons other than rejection on probation for an initial appointment. A member of the Board acting as an adjudicator hears these types of grievances. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB dealt with 5 such grievances; 2 were from the House of Commons, 2 were from the Library of Parliament and 1 was from the Senate.

The third type includes grievances relating to the demotion of an employee, to the denial of appointment and to classification. They are heard and determined by an adjudicator selected by the parties. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB processed 14 such grievances. Four (4) were from the House of Commons, 4 were from the Library of Parliament and 6 were from the Senate. All but 3 of the latter pertained to allegations of incorrect classification.

The fourth type refers to grievances under section 70 of the PESRA, which requires that the PSLRB look into allegations that cannot be the subject of a grievance by an individual employee. These situations occur when the employer or the bargaining agent seeks to enforce an obligation alleged to arise from a collective agreement or an arbitral award. One (1) such case was dealt with in 2009-2010.

As of March 31, 2010, of the 21 grievances that were received, 14 were on hold, 1 of which was pending the outcome of mediation. Six (6) cases were considered completed. Of those cases, 1 was upheld, 2 were settled, 2 were dismissed and 1 was withdrawn.

2) Complaint Adjudication

Section 13 of the PESRA requires the Board to examine and inquire into an alleged failure to observe any prohibition contained in sections 6, 7 or 8, to comply with any regulation respecting grievances made by the PSLRB pursuant to section 71, or to give effect to any provision of an arbitral award or to a decision of an adjudicator with respect to a grievance.

Where the Board upholds a complaint, it has authority under section 13 to order remedial action. If such action is not carried out, section 14 provides that the PSLRB shall make a report to Parliament. The PSLRB did not process any such complaints in 2009-2010.

3) Other Proceedings

Applications for a declaration of successor rights

Section 36 of the PESRA provides for the PSLRB to determine the rights, privileges and duties that are required or retained by an employee organization after a merger or amalgamation or a transfer of jurisdiction, other than as a result of a revocation of certification. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB did not receive any such applications.

Applications for certification

Under section 18 of the PESRA, an employee organization may submit an application to be certified as a bargaining agent for a bargaining unit. The PSLRB did not receive any such applications in 2009-2010.

Applications to review a decision

Under section 17 of the PESRA, the PSLRB received 1 application requesting a review of a decision. The employer (the Library of Parliament) applied for a review of the bargaining unit structure. The application is being determined by way of written submissions.

Applications under section 38

Section 38 of the PESRA requires parties to bargain collectively in good faith and to make every reasonable effort to conclude a collective agreement. The PSLRB did not receive any allegations of a violation under section 38 in 2009-2010.

Arbitration proceedings

Section 46 of the PESRA provides that binding arbitration is the only method available to resolve interest disputes; there is no right to strike under the PESRA. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB dealt with 7 new requests to establish an arbitration board. One (1) case was carried over from the previous year and resulted in an arbitral award. Of the remaining 7 cases, 3 resulted in arbitral awards, and the remaining cases will be dealt with in 2010-2011.

Determination of membership in a bargaining unit

Under section 24 of the PESRA, the employer or an employee organization may ask the PSLRB to determine if an employee or class of employees is included in a bargaining unit. The PSLRB dealt with 1 such application in 2009-2010.

Notice to bargain collectively

Section 37 of the PESRA provides that either the bargaining agent or the employer may require the other party, by written notice, to commence bargaining collectively, with a view to concluding a collective agreement. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB did not receive a notice to bargain for any of the bargaining units for which the collective agreement had expired.

Request for the appointment of a conciliator

Under section 40 of the PESRA, parties that are unable to reach agreement on any term or condition of employment embodied in a collective agreement may ask the Chairperson to appoint a conciliator to assist them in reaching an agreement. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB did not receive any new requests for a conciliator.

Requests for extensions of time

In 2009-2010, the PSLRB did not receive any requests for extensions of time for the presentation of a grievance, as provided for under section 79 of the P.E.S.R.A. Regulations and Rules of Procedure.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the PSLRB, dispute resolution services are offered to help parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. In a few instances, the parties requested the Board’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter was referred to adjudication. In 2009-2010, the PSLRB’s Dispute Resolution Services held 3 mediation interventions in which 4 files were identified, 3 of which were settled. The remaining case will be dealt with through a hearing.

Tables

Table 1: Bargaining Units and Bargaining Agents under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, April 1, 2009 to March 31, 2010
Bargaining Units Bargaining Agents
House of Commons as Employer
Technical Group Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada
Protective Services Group House of Commons Security Services Employees Association
Procedural Subgroup and Analysis/Reference Subgroup in the Parliamentary Programs Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Operational Group (except for part-time cleaners classified at the OP A level) Public Service Alliance of Canada
Reporting Subgroup and Text Processing Subgroup in the Parliamentary Programs Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Postal Services Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Scanners Public Service Alliance of Canada
Senate of Canada as Employer
Legislative Clerk Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Protective Service Subgroup in the Operational Group Senate Protective Service Employees Association
Operational Group (except for employees in the Protective Service Subgroup) Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library of Parliament as Employer
Library Science (Reference) and Library Science (Cataloguing) Subgroups in the Research and Library Services Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Administrative and Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library Technician Subgroup in the Research and Library Services Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Research Officer and Research Assistant Subgroups in the Research and Library Services Group Canadian Association of Professional Employees

 

Table 2: Adjudication References, April 1, 2000 to March 31, 2010
  Interpretations
[Para. 63(1)(a)]
Discipline [Paras.
63(1)(b) & (c)]
Party & Party
[Sec. 70]
Sub-Total Paras. 63(1)
(d), (e) & (f)
Total
2009-2010 1 5 1 7 14 21
2008-2009 1 9 1 11 24 35
2007-2008 2 7 1 10 19 29
2006-2007 6 12 0 18 28 46
2005-2006 4 11 0 15 25 40
2004-2005 2 4 0 6 0 6
2003-2004 2 2 0 4 0 4
2002-2003 51 3 0 54 29 83
2001-2002 7 0 0 7 0 7
2000-2001 2 2 1 5 12 17
Cumulative Totals, April 1, 2000 to March 31, 2010
  78 55 4 137 151 288

 

Table 3: Adjudication Cases Carried Forward, Received and Completed,
April 1, 2007 to March 31, 2010
Fiscal Year Carried Forward Received Overall Total Dispositions Total
 
2009-2010 51 16 67 20
2008-2009 57 33 90 39
2007-2008 33 45 78 21

Note: As of 2009-2010, Table 3 includes references from section 70 of the PESRA.

Retourner aux rapports

Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement Rapport annuel 2009 - 2010

© Ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux Canada 2010
No de cat. SR2-1/2010
ISBN 978-1-100-51736-0
Cette publication est également disponible sur le site Web de la CRTFP, à http://www.pslrb-crtfp.gc.ca

L’honorable James Moore, C.P., député
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles
Chambre des communes
Ottawa K1A 0A6

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur de vous transmettre, conformément à l’article 84 de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, le rapport annuel de l’administration de cette loi par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, pour la période du 1eravril 2009 au 31 mars 2010, qui doit être déposé devant le Parlement.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de mon profond respect.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président

LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL AU PARLEMENT
Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique 2009-2010

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION

Table des matières


Message du président

J’ai l’honneur de présenter au Parlement le rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) pour l’exercice 2009-2010.

Au cours de la période à l’étude, la recherche de moyens innovateurs de gérer efficacement une charge de travail substantielle pour veiller à ce que le nombre de cas actifs demeure gérable et pour réduire la période requise au total pour mener les dossiers de cas à terme est demeurée une priorité. Ainsi, dans certains cas, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) a rendu des décisions sur le fondement des renseignements contenus au dossier ou par voie d’arguments écrits plutôt qu’à l’issue d’une audience en bonne et due forme. C’est là un changement proactif dans notre manière de gérer les cas, qui a permis à la CRTFP d’accroître son efficience et son efficacité ainsi que l’équité de ses pratiques, et de réaliser des économies de coûts.

Encore une fois cette année, les médiateurs de la CRTFP ont aidé les parties à régler leurs différends dans un environnement ouvert et empreint de collaboration plutôt que de les assujettir à des processus de règlement davantage contradictoires. Dans les cas où les ressources l’ont permis, des séances de médiation préventive ont été tenues, ce qui a contribué au règlement de différends avant le renvoi officiel d’un grief ou d’une plainte à la CRTFP. Cette dernière a constitué et mené plusieurs conseils d’arbitrage, qui ont permis aux parties de régler leurs différends en matière de négociation collective par la voie d’un rapport les liant.

En 2009-2010, la CRTFP comptait 6 commissaires à temps plein et 11 commissaires à temps partiel. M. John A. Mooney a quitté la CRTFP en septembre et M. Michel Paquette est parti à la retraite en décembre 2009. Aucun nouveau commissaire à temps plein n’a été nommé au cours de l’année. M. Paul E. Love, ancien commissaire à temps partiel, et M. Joseph W. Potter, ancien commissaire, président suppléant et vice-président, ont été nommés commissaires à temps partiel au mois de novembre 2009.

Je dois signaler également que mon mandat à titre de président de la CRTFP a été reconduit pour trois autres années, à compter du 2 janvier 2010. Je me réjouis de continuer d’assurer le leadership de la CRTFP, et je suis certain que nous pourrons surmonter avec succès les difficultés qui se présenteront.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président
Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique

Introduction

La partie I de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) accorde aux employés des institutions parlementaires le droit de se syndiquer pour négocier collectivement leurs conditions d’emploi. Elle leur accorde aussi le droit de présenter des griefs concernant ces conditions et, dans certains cas, de renvoyer ces griefs à l’arbitrage devant une tierce partie neutre.

La partie I est administrée et appliquée par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP), un tribunal quasi judiciaire indépendant créé par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. La Commission est formée d’un président, de trois vice-présidents et du nombre de commissaires que le gouverneur général en conseil peut nommer pour cinq ans au plus et dont le mandat peut être renouvelé.

En vertu de la LRTP, la Commission peut être saisie de diverses affaires : demandes d’accréditation présentées par une organisation syndicale pour devenir l’agent négociateur représentant des employés; plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail; désignations de personnes occupant des postes de direction et de confiance et arbitrages de différends.

La Commission s’occupe également de l’arbitrage de griefs portant sur l’interprétation et l’application de dispositions de conventions collectives, sur des mesures disciplinaires importantes et sur toutes les formes de licenciement, sauf les renvois en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. Les griefs contestant une rétrogradation, une nomination et une classification peuvent également être renvoyés à l’arbitrage; ils sont toutefois tranchés non par un commissaire, mais par un arbitre de grief externe choisi par les parties, qui doivent en assumer à parts égales la rémunération et les frais.

Les services de médiation de la CRTFP permettent aux parties d’en arriver à un règlement de leur différend par la voie de la collaboration plutôt que de les soumettre à des processus de règlement davantage contradictoires. Par la voie de la médiation, les parties sont encouragées à examiner les raisons qui sous-tendent leur différend, ce qui leur permet d’élaborer des solutions qui touchent de plus près aux causes profondes de leur problème.

Sous le régime de la LRTP, l’arbitrage est le seul mode de règlement des différends lorsque la négociation aboutit à une impasse. En pareil cas, la Commission agit comme conseil d’arbitrage. Sur réception d’une demande d’arbitrage, le président met sur pied un groupe tripartite composé de deux personnes représentant les intérêts de chaque partie et d’un commissaire qui dirige ce groupe. Pareils groupes sont réputés agir au nom de la Commission pour ce qui est de régler le différend. Après avoir entendu les parties, le groupe rend une décision sur les questions en litige. Cette décision fait alors partie d’une convention collective et lie les parties et les employés.

Affaires dont la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique est saisie

En 2009-2010, la CRTFP a traité 62 cas en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP). De ce nombre, 21 étaient des griefs et 41 se rapportaient à d’autres demandes. Il n’y a eu aucune plainte.

1) Arbitrage de griefs

Sur les 21 griefs traités par la CRTFP en 2009-2010, 17 avaient été reportés d’années antérieures et 4 étaient nouveaux.

Il existe quatre types de griefs arbitrables sous le régime de la LRTP. Le premier type découle de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales. De tels griefs ne peuvent être renvoyés à l’arbitrage sans l’approbation et l’appui de l’agent négociateur. En 2009-2010, la CRTFP a traité 1 de ces griefs, provenant de la Chambre des communes.

Le deuxième type se rapporte aux mesures disciplinaires entraînant une suspension ou une sanction pécuniaire, ainsi qu’aux licenciements autres que le renvoi en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. Un commissaire agissant comme arbitre de grief entend ces griefs. En 2009-2010, la CRTFP a traité 5 de ces griefs, dont 2 provenaient de la Chambre des communes, 2 de la Bibliothèque du Parlement et 1 du Sénat.

Le troisième type est celui des griefs arbitrables portant sur la rétrogradation d’un employé, le refus d’une nomination et la classification. Un arbitre de grief choisi par les parties instruit et tranche ces griefs. En 2009-2010, la CRTFP a traité 14 de ces griefs, dont 4 provenaient de la Chambre des communes, 4 de la Bibliothèque du Parlement et 6 du Sénat. Tous sauf 3 (qui font partie des 6 griefs précités) portaient sur des allégations de classification erronée.

Le quatrième type se rapporte aux griefs présentés en vertu de l’article 70 de la LRTP, aux termes duquel la CRTFP doit se pencher sur les allégations qui ne peuvent faire l’objet d’un grief de la part d’un employé. De tels cas se posent lorsqu’un employeur ou un agent négociateur cherche à faire exécuter une obligation qui découlerait d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale. La CRTFP a traité 1 de ces griefs en 2009-2010.

Au 31 mars 2010, sur les 21 griefs au total qui avaient été reçus, 14 étaient en suspens, l’un d’entre eux était dans l’attente du résultat de la médiation. On estimait que 6 cas étaient classés, soit 1 cas accueilli, 2 cas réglés, 2 cas rejetés et 1 cas retiré.

2) Arbitrage de plaintes

En vertu de l’article 13 de la LRTP, la Commission doit instruire toutes les plaintes dont elle est saisie alléguant qu’on a omis d’observer les interdictions énoncées aux articles 6, 7 ou 8, de respecter un règlement pris en matière de griefs par la CRTFP en application de l’article 71 ou d’appliquer une disposition d’une décision arbitrale ou une décision d’un arbitre de grief concernant un grief. Lorsque la Commission accueille une plainte, l’article 13 de la LRTP l’habilite à ordonner un redressement. Si l’ordonnance n’est pas exécutée, la CRTFP doit, en vertu de l’article 14, faire un rapport au Parlement. La CRTFP n’a traité aucune plainte en 2009-2010.

3) Autres procédures

Avis de négocier collectivement

L’article 37 de la LRTP prévoit que l’agent négociateur ou l’employeur peuvent, par avis écrit, requérir l’autre partie d’entamer des négociations collectives en vue de la conclusion d’une convention collective. En 2009-2010, la CRTFP n’a été saisie d’aucun avis de négocier pour aucune des unités de négociation dont la convention collective avait expiré.

Demande de nomination d’un conciliateur

En vertu de l’article 40 de la LRTP, les parties qui n’arrivent pas à s’entendre sur une condition d’emploi pouvant figurer dans la convention collective peuvent demander au président de nommer un conciliateur pour qu’il les aide à parvenir à un accord. En 2009-2010, la CRTFP n’a reçu aucune nouvelle demande de nomination d’un conciliateur.

Demandes d’accréditation

En vertu de l’article 18 de la LRTP, une organisation syndicale peut présenter une demande en vue d’être accréditée comme agent négociateur d’une unité de négociation. La CRTFP n’a reçu aucune demande de ce genre en 2009-2010.

Demandes de déclaration des droits du successeur

L’article 36 de la LRTP prévoit que la CRTFP peut préciser les obligations, les droits et les privilèges acquis ou conservés par une organisation syndicale après une fusion ou un transfert de compétence qui ne découlent pas d’une révocation d’accréditation. En 2009-2010, la CRTFP n’a été saisie d’aucune demande de ce genre.

Demandes de prorogation de délais

En 2009-2010, la CRTFP n’a reçu aucune demande de prorogation du délai de présentation d’un grief, en vertu de l’article 79 du Règlement et règles de procédure de la L.R.T.P.

Demandes de réexamen d’une décision

En vertu de l’article 17 de la LRTP, la CRTFP a reçu 1 demande de réexamen d’une de ses décisions. L’employeur (la Bibliothèque du Parlement) a demandé une révision de la structure de l’unité de négociation. La demande est en cours d’instance par voie d’arguments écrits.

Demandes fondées sur l’article 38

Aux termes de l’article 38 de la LRTP, les parties doivent entamer de bonne foi des négociations collectives et faire tout effort raisonnable pour conclure une convention collective. La CRTFP n’a été saisie d’aucune allégation de violation de l’article 38 en 2009-2010.

Détermination de l’appartenance à une unité de négociation

En vertu de l’article 24 de la LRTP, l’employeur ou une organisation syndicale peut demander à la CRTFP de déterminer si un employé ou une classe d’employés fait partie d’une unité de négociation. La CRTFP a été saisie d’une demande de ce genre en 2009-2010.

Procédures d’arbitrage de différends

L’article 46 de la LRTP prévoit que l’arbitrage exécutoire est le seul mode de règlement des différends; la LRTP ne prévoit pas de droit de grève. En 2009-2010, la CRTFP a été saisie de 7 nouvelles demandes de formation d’un conseil d’arbitrage. Un (1) cas a été reporté de l’année précédente et a été tranché par une décision arbitrale. Trois (3) des 7 cas restants ont donné lieu à des décisions arbitrales et les cas restants seront traités en 2010-2011.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la CRTFP, des services de règlement des conflits sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Dans quelques cas, les parties ont demandé à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un différend avant que l’affaire ne soit renvoyée à l’arbitrage. En 2009-2010, les Services de règlement des conflits de la CRTFP ont tenu 3 interventions de médiation dans lesquelles 4 dossiers ont été désignés, dont 3 ont été réglés. Les cas restants passeront à l’étape de la tenue d’une audience.

Tableaux

Tableau 1 : Unités de négociation et agents négociateurs visés par la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, du 1er avril 2009 au 31 mars 2010
Unités de négociation Agents négociateurs
Employeur : Chambre des communes
Catégorie technique Syndicat canadien des communications,
de l’énergie et du papier
Groupe des Services de protection Association des employés du Service de sécurité de la Chambre des communes
Sous-groupe de la Procédure et sous-groupe de l’Analyse et Référence compris dans le groupe des Programmes parlementaires Institut professionnel de la fonction
publique du Canada
Groupe de l’exploitation (à l’exception des nettoyeurs à temps partiel classés OPA) Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Comptes rendus et sous-groupe du Traitement de textes du groupe des Programmes parlementaires Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Services postaux du groupe du
Soutien administratif
Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Opérateurs de scanographe Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Employeur : Sénat du Canada
Sous-groupe des greffiers du groupe Soutien administratif Institut professionnel de la fonction
publique du Canada
Sous-groupe du Service de sécurité du groupe de l’Exploitation Association des employés du Service de sécurité du Sénat
Groupe de l’Exploitation (à l’exception des employés du sous-groupe du Service de sécurité) Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Employeur : Bibliothèque du Parlement
Sous-groupe Bibliothéconomie (Référence) et Bibliothéconomie (Catalogage) du groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Groupe de l’Administration et du soutien Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe de Techniciens de bibliothèque du groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupes des Attachés de recherche et des Adjoints de recherche du Groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie Association canadienne des employés professionnels

 

Tableau 2 : Griefs renvoyés à l’arbitrage, du 1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2010
  Interpretations [Para. 63(1)(a)] Discipline [Paras. 63(1)(b) & (c)] Party & Party [Sec. 70] Sub-Total Paras. 63(1) (d), (e) & (f) Total
2009-2010 1 5 1 7 14 21
2008-2009 1 9 1 11 24 35
2007-2008 2 7 1 10 19 29
2006-2007 6 12 0 18 28 46
2005-2006 4 11 0 15 25 40
2004-2005 2 4 0 6 0 6
2003-2004 2 2 0 4 0 4
2002-2003 51 3 0 54 29 83
2001-2002 7 0 0 7 0 7
2000-2001 2 2 1 5 12 17
Totaux cumulatifs du 1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2010
  78 55 4 137 151 288

 

Tableau 3 : Cas d’arbitrage de griefs reportés, reçus et terminés, du 1er avril 2007 au 31 mars 2010
Exercice Cas
reportés
Cas reçus Total des cas Total des règlements
 
2009-2010 51 16 67 20
2008-2009 57 33 90 39
2007-2008 33 45 78 21

Note : À partir de 2009-2010, le Tableau 3 inclut les renvois de l’article 70 de la LRTP.