Return to reports

Public Service Labour Relations Board Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act Annual Report 2010 - 2011

© Minister of Public Works and Government Services 2011
Cat. No. SR2-1/2011

The Honourable James Moore, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
House of Commons
Ottawa, K1A 0A6

Dear Minister,

It is my pleasure to transmit to you, pursuant to section 84 of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, the Annual Report of the administration of that Act by the Public Service Labour Relations Board covering the period from April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2011, for submission to Parliament.

Yours sincerely,

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
CHAIRPERSON


Public Service Labour Relations Board 2010 - 2011

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

[1] Section 12 of the Public Service Labour Relations Act states that the PSLRB may have up to three Vice-Chairpersons. During the reporting period, two Vice-Chairpersons left the Board, one of whom was replaced; therefore, four names appear in this report.

[2] Guy Lalonde was appointed Executive Director of the PSLRB effective February 7, 2011.

Table of Contents

Message from the Chairperson

I am pleased to submit to Parliament the annual report on the administration of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA) for 2010-2011.

As in previous years, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) sustained its case management efforts to deal with its caseload in the most efficient manner.

In 2010-2011, there were 5 full-time and 12 part-time Board members. Some changes occurred among the members of the Board, including the departure of Vice-Chairperson Marie-Josée Bédard to fulfill an appointment with the Federal Court. Renaud Paquet, a full-time Board member since 2008, was appointed as a Vice-Chairperson, and Dan Quigley, who had served four full-time terms, retired. As well, two new full-time Board members were appointed, Catharine Rogers and Stephan Bertrand, as well as three part-time members, Steven Katkin, William Kydd and Gus Richardson.

Another notable change was the retirement of Pierre Hamel, Executive Director and General Counsel. As the PSLRB’s mandate and activities have expanded over the years, it was determined that there would be more significant management, legal, learning and training challenges in the coming years. As a result, the combined functions of Executive Director and General Counsel were divided into two separate positions. Guy Lalonde, Director, Compensation Analysis and Research Services, was appointed to the Executive Director position in February 2011. The General Counsel position will be staffed in 2011-2012.

I am confident that the outstanding team that we have in place, which includes a group of dedicated and highly skilled employees, will serve us well in meeting the challenges to come. I look forward to continuing to lead an organization that enjoys an enviable reputation in the labour relations realm.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
CHAIRPERSON
Public Service Labour Relations Board

Introduction

Under Part I of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA), employees of parliamentary institutions have the right to form a union in order to negotiate collectively the conditions of their employment. Part I also gives employees the right to file grievances concerning those conditions and, in certain cases, to refer grievances to adjudication before
a neutral third party.

Part I is administered and applied by the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB), an independent quasi-judicial tribunal that was established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act. The Board of the PSLRB comprises a Chairperson, three Vice-Chairpersons and other members that the Governor in Council may appoint for terms of no longer than five years and who may be reappointed.

Under the PESRA, the Board hears such matters as applications for certification by employee organizations to become bargaining agents representing employees; complaints of unfair labour practices; designations of persons employed in managerial and confidential capacities; and arbitrations of disputes.

The Board also adjudicates grievances concerning the interpretation and application of provisions of collective agreements, significant disciplinary action, and all forms of termination of employment except rejection on probation during initial appointments. Grievances concerning demotion, appointment and classification may also be referred to adjudication but are determined not by a Board member but by an external adjudicator chosen by the parties, which are equally responsible for the adjudicator’s compensation and expenses.

The PSLRB’s mediation services provide a collaborative way to informally resolve disputes, sparing parties more adversarial processes. Through mediation, the parties are encouraged to explore the underlying reasons for their conflict, allowing them to find solutions that better address the root causes of their problem.

Under the PESRA, arbitration is the only means of resolving disputes if bargaining reaches an impasse. In those situations, the Board acts as an arbitration board. On receiving a request for arbitration, the Chairperson appoints a tripartite panel comprising two persons representing the interests of each party along with a Board member who chairs the panel. Such panels are deemed to act as the Board for the purposes of dealing with the dispute. After hearing the parties, the panel renders a decision on the issues in dispute. Those decisions then form part of collective agreements and are binding on the parties and on employees.

Proceedings before the Public Service Labour Relations Board

In 2010-2011, the PSLRB processed 56 cases under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA). Of those cases, 25 were grievances, 2 were complaints and 29 pertained to other applications.

1) Grievance Adjudication

Of the 25 grievances processed by the PSLRB in 2010-2011, 16 were carried over from previous years and 9 were new.

There are four types of adjudicable grievances under the PESRA. The first type arises from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards. Such grievances cannot be referred to adjudication without the approval and support of the bargaining agent. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB processed 6 such grievances from the House of Commons.

The second type refers to disciplinary actions resulting in suspension or financial penalty and to termination of employment for reasons other than rejection on probation for an initial appointment. A member of the Board acting as an adjudicator hears these types of grievances. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB processed 4 such grievances, 3 of which were from the House of Commons and 1 of which was from the Library of Parliament.

The third type includes grievances relating to the demotion of an employee, to the denial of appointment and to classification. They are heard and determined by an adjudicator selected by the parties. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB processed 12 such grievances. Three (3) were from the House of Commons, 3 were from the Library of Parliament and 6 were from the Senate. All but 2 of the latter pertained to allegations of incorrect classification.

The fourth type refers to grievances under section 70 of the PESRA, which requires that the PSLRB look into allegations that cannot be the subject of a grievance by an individual employee. These situations occur when the employer or the bargaining agent seeks to enforce an obligation alleged to arise from a collective agreement or an arbitral award. Three (3) such cases were processed in 2010-2011.

As of March 31, 2011, of the total of 25 grievances that were processed, 4 were on hold awaiting nomination of an independent adjudicator as per subsection 66(3) of the PESRA, 4 were to be scheduled, 3 were awaiting decision, and 1 was pending the outcome of mediation. Thirteen (13) cases were considered completed. Of those cases, 3 were settled, 9 were dismissed and 1 was withdrawn.

2) Complaint Adjudication

Section 13 of the PESRA requires the Board to examine and inquire into an alleged failure to observe any prohibition contained in sections 6, 7 or 8, to comply with any regulation respecting grievances made by the PSLRB pursuant to section 71, or to give effect to any provision of an arbitral award or to a decision of an adjudicator with respect to a grievance.

Where the Board upholds a complaint, it has authority under section 13 to order remedial action. If such action is not carried out, section 14 provides that the PSLRB shall make a report to Parliament. The PSLRB processed 2 complaints in 2010-2011, both of which were on hold as of March 31, 2011.

3) Other Proceedings

Application for a declaration of successor rights

Section 36 of the PESRA provides for the PSLRB to determine the rights, privileges and duties that are required or retained by an employee organization after a merger or amalgamation or a transfer of jurisdiction, other than as a result of a revocation of certification. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB did not receive any such applications.

Applications for certification

Under section 18 of the PESRA, an employee organization may submit an application to be certified as a bargaining agent for a bargaining unit. The PSLRB did not receive any such applications in 2010-2011.

Applications to review a decision

Under section 17 of the PESRA, the PSLRB dealt with 1 application requesting a review of a decision.
The bargaining agent (i.e., the Canadian Association of Professional Employees) applied for a review in order to amend the description of a bargaining unit. That application was determined on the basis of written submissions and was upheld.

Applications under section 38

Section 38 of the PESRA requires parties to bargain collectively in good faith and to make every reasonable effort to conclude a collective agreement. The PSLRB did not receive any allegations of
a violation under section 38 in 2010-2011.

Arbitration proceedings

Section 46 of the PESRA provides that binding arbitration is the only method available to resolve interest disputes; there is no right to strike under the PESRA. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB dealt with 4 requests that were carried over from the previous year to establish an arbitration board. Two (2) of those requests resulted in an arbitral award; the other 2 were settled by the parties before a hearing.

Determination of membership in a bargaining unit

Under section 24 of the PESRA, the employer or an employee organization may ask the PSLRB to determine if an employee or class of employees is included in a bargaining unit. The PSLRB processed 1 such application in 2010-2011, which was to be scheduled as of March 31, 2011.

Notice to bargain collectively

Section 37 of the PESRA provides that either the bargaining agent or the employer may require the
other party, by written notice, to commence bargaining collectively, with a view to concluding a collective agreement. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB did not receive a notice to bargain for any of the bargaining units for which the collective agreement had expired.

Request for the appointment of a conciliator

Under section 40 of the PESRA, parties that are unable to reach agreement on any term or condition of employment embodied in a collective agreement may ask the Chairperson to appoint a conciliator to assist them in reaching an agreement. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB did not receive any new requests for a conciliator.

Requests for extensions of time

In 2010-2011, the PSLRB did not receive any requests for extensions of time for the presentation of a grievance, as provided for under section 79 of the P.E.S.R.A. Regulations and Rules of Procedure.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the PSLRB, dispute resolution services are offered to help parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the Board’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB’s Dispute Resolution Services held 2 mediation interventions, both of which were settled.

Tables

Table 1: Bargaining Units and Bargaining Agents under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2011

Bargaining Units Bargaining Agents
House of Commons as Employer
Technical Group Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada
Protective Services Group House of Commons Security Services Employees Association
Procedural Subgroup and Analysis/Reference Subgroup in the Parliamentary Programs Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Operational Group (except for part-time cleaners classified at
the OP A level)
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Reporting Subgroup and Text Processing Subgroup in the Parliamentary Programs Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Postal Services Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Scanners Public Service Alliance of Canada
Senate of Canada as Employer
Legislative Clerk Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Protective Service Subgroup in the Operational Group Senate Protective Service Employees Association
Operational Group (except for employees in the Protective Service Subgroup) Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library of Parliament as Employer
Library Science (Reference) and Library Science (Cataloguing) Subgroups in the Research and Library Services Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Administrative and Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library Technician Subgroup in the Research
and Library Services Group
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Research Officer and Research Assistant Subgroups in the Research and Library Services Group Canadian Association of Professional Employees

Table 2: Adjudication References, April 1, 2001 to March 31, 2011

 

Interpretations [Para. 63(1)(a)]

Discipline [Paras. 63(1)(b) & (c)]

Policy
[Sec. 70]

Sub-Total

Paras. 63(1)
(d), (e) & (f)

Total

2010-2011

6

4

3

13

12

25

2009-2010

1

5

1

7

14

21

2008-2009

1

9

1

11

24

35

2007-2008

2

7

1

10

19

29

2006-2007

6

12

0

18

28

46

2005-2006

4

11

0

15

25

40

2004-2005

2

4

0

6

0

6

2003-2004

2

2

0

4

0

4

2002-2003

51

3

0

54

29

83

2001-2002

7

0

0

7

0

7

 

Cumulative Totals, April 1, 2001 to March 31, 2011

 

82

57

6

145

151

296

April 1, 2007 to March 31, 2011

Fiscal
Year

Carried
Forward

Received

Overall
Total

Dispositions
Total

2010-2011

44

12

56

14

2009-2010 51 16 67 20
2008-2009 57 33 90 39
2007-2008 33 45 78 21

Note: As of 2009-2010, Table 3 includes section 70 of the PESRA, policy proceedings.

Retourner aux rapports

Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement Rapport annuel 2010 - 2011

© Ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux 2011
N° de cat. SR2-1/2011

L’honorable James Moore, C.P., député
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles
Chambre des communes
Ottawa K1A 0A6

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur de vous transmettre, conformément à l’article 84 de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, le rapport annuel de l’administration de cette loi par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, pour la période du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2011, qui doit être déposé devant le Parlement.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de ma considération distinguée.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président


Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique 2010 - 2011

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION

[1] L'article 12 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique prévoit que la CRTFP peut se composer d'au plus trois vice-présidents. Pendant la période visée par le rapport, deux vice-présidents ont quitté la Commission, dont l'un a été remplacé; c'est ce qui explique la mention de quatre vice-présidents dans le présent rapport.

[2] Guy Lalonde a été nommé directeur général de la CRTFP et est entré en fonction le 7 février 2011.

Table des matières

Message du président

J’ai l’honneur de présenter au Parlement le rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) pour l’exercice 2010-2011.

Comme les années précédentes, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) a maintenu ses efforts en matière de gestion des cas pour traiter sa charge de travail de la manière la plus efficace.

En 2010-2011, la CRTFP comptait 5 commissaires à temps plein et 12 commissaires à temps partiel. Certains changements ont eu lieu au sein des commissaires, dont le départ de la vice-présidente Marie-Josée Bédard qui a été nommée à la Cour fédérale. Renaud Paquet, commissaire à temps plein depuis 2008, a été nommé vice-président, et Dan Quigley, qui a rempli quatre mandats à temps plein, a pris sa retraite. De plus, deux nouveaux commissaires à temps plein ont été nommés, Catharine Rogers et Stephan Bertrand, ainsi que trois commissaires à temps partiel, Steven Katkin, William Kydd et Gus Richardson.

Un autre changement important a été le départ à la retraite de Pierre Hamel, directeur général et avocat général. Comme le mandat et les activités de la CRTFP se sont étendus au fil des ans, il a été prévu qu’il y aurait plus de défis importants à relever dans les années à venir relativement au domaine juridique, à la gestion, à l’apprentissage et à la formation. En conséquence, les fonctions combinées de directeur général et d’avocat général ont été scindées en deux postes distincts. Guy Lalonde, directeur, Services d’analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération, a été nommé au poste de directeur général en février 2011. Le poste d’avocat général sera pourvu en 2011-2012.

Avec l’équipe exceptionnelle que nous avons en place, qui comprend un groupe d’employés dévoués et hautement qualifiés, je suis persuadé que nous sommes bien équipés pour relever les défis à venir. Je suis heureux de continuer d’assurer la direction d’un organisme qui jouit d’une réputation enviable dans le domaine des relations de travail.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président
Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique

Introduction

La partie I de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) accorde aux employés des institutions parlementaires le droit de se syndiquer pour négocier collectivement leurs conditions d’emploi. Elle leur accorde aussi le droit de présenter des griefs concernant ces conditions et, dans certains cas, de renvoyer ces griefs à l’arbitrage devant une tierce partie neutre.

La partie I est administrée et appliquée par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP), un tribunal quasi judiciaire indépendant qui a été créé par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. La Commission est formée d’un président, de trois vice-présidents et d’autres commissaires que le gouverneur en conseil peut nommer pour cinq ans au plus et dont le mandat peut être renouvelé.

En vertu de la LRTP, la Commission peut être saisie de diverses affaires telles que des demandes d’accréditation présentées par des organisations syndicales pour devenir des agents négociateurs représentant des employés, des plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail, des désignations de personnes occupant des postes de direction et de confiance, et des arbitrages de différends.

La Commission s’occupe également de l’arbitrage de griefs portant sur l’interprétation et l’application de dispositions de conventions collectives, sur des mesures disciplinaires importantes et sur toutes les formes de licenciement, sauf les renvois en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. Les griefs contestant une rétrogradation, une nomination et une classification peuvent également être renvoyés à l’arbitrage; ils ne sont toutefois pas tranchés par un commissaire, mais par un arbitre de grief externe choisi par les parties, qui doivent en assumer à parts égales la rémunération et les frais.

Les services de médiation de la CRTFP permettent aux parties d’en arriver à un règlement de leurs différends par la voie de la collaboration informelle, plutôt que de les soumettre à des processus de règlement davantage contradictoires. Par la voie de la médiation, les parties sont encouragées à examiner les raisons qui sous-tendent leur différend, ce qui leur permet d’élaborer des solutions qui touchent de plus près aux causes profondes de leur problème.

Sous le régime de la LRTP, l’arbitrage constitue le seul mode de règlement des différends lorsque la négociation aboutit à une impasse. En pareil cas, la Commission agit comme conseil d’arbitrage. Sur réception d’une demande d’arbitrage, le président met sur pied un groupe tripartite composé de deux personnes représentant les intérêts de chaque partie et d’un commissaire qui dirige ce groupe. Pareils groupes sont réputés agir au nom de la Commission pour ce qui est de régler le différend. Après avoir entendu les parties, le groupe rend une décision sur les questions en litige. Cette décision fait alors partie d’une convention collective et lie les parties et les employés.

Affaires dont la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique est saisie

En 2010-2011, la CRTFP a traité 56 cas en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP). De ce nombre, 25 étaient des griefs, 2 étaient des plaintes et 29 se rapportaient à d’autres demandes.

1) Arbitrage de griefs

Sur les 25 griefs traités par la CRTFP en 2010-2011, 16 avaient été reportés d’années antérieures et
9 étaient nouveaux.

Il existe quatre types de griefs arbitrables sous le régime de la LRTP. Le premier type découle de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales. De tels griefs ne peuvent être renvoyés à l’arbitrage sans l’approbation et l’appui de l’agent négociateur. En 2010-2011, la CRTFP a traité 6 de ces griefs provenant de la Chambre des communes.

Le deuxième type se rapporte aux mesures disciplinaires entraînant une suspension ou une sanction pécuniaire, ainsi qu’aux licenciements autres que le renvoi en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. Un commissaire agissant comme arbitre de grief entend ces griefs. En 2010-2011, la CRTFP a traité 4 de ces griefs, dont 3 provenaient de la Chambre des communes et 1 de la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

Le troisième type est celui des griefs arbitrables portant sur la rétrogradation d’un employé, le refus d’une nomination et la classification. Un arbitre de grief choisi par les parties instruit et tranche ces griefs. En 2010-2011, la CRTFP a traité 12 de ces griefs, dont 3 provenaient de la Chambre des communes, 3 de la Bibliothèque du Parlement et 6 du Sénat. Tous sauf 2 des griefs précités portaient sur des allégations de classification erronée.

Le quatrième type se rapporte aux griefs présentés en vertu de l’article 70 de la LRTP, aux termes duquel la CRTFP doit se pencher sur les allégations qui ne peuvent pas faire l’objet d’un grief de la part d’un employé. De tels cas se posent lorsqu’un employeur ou un agent négociateur cherche à faire exécuter une obligation qui découlerait d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale. Trois (3) de ces cas ont été traités en 2010-2011.

Au 31 mars 2011, sur les 25 griefs au total qui ont été traités, 4 étaient en suspens, soit en attente de la nomination d’un arbitre indépendant conformément au paragraphe 66(3) de la LRTP, 4 étaient en attente d’une date d’audience, 3 étaient en attente d’une décision et 1 était dans l’attente du résultat de la médiation. On estime que treize (13) cas ont été classés. Parmi ces cas, 3 ont été réglés, 9 ont été rejetés et 1 a été retiré.

2) Arbitrage de plaintes

En vertu de l’article 13 de la LRTP, la Commission doit instruire toutes les plaintes dont elle est saisie alléguant qu’on a omis d’observer les interdictions énoncées aux articles 6, 7 ou 8, de respecter un règlement pris en matière de griefs par la CRTFP en application de l’article 71 ou d’appliquer une disposition d’une décision arbitrale ou une décision d’un arbitre de grief concernant un grief.

Lorsque la Commission accueille une plainte, l’article 13 de la LRTP l’habilite à ordonner un redressement.
Si l’ordonnance n’est pas exécutée, la Commission doit, en vertu de l’article 14, faire un rapport au Parlement. La CRTFP a traité 2 plaintes en 2010-2011, et ces deux plaintes étaient en attente le 31 mars 2011.

3) Autres procédures

Demandes de déclaration des droits du successeur

L’article 36 de la LRTP prévoit que la CRTFP peut préciser les obligations, les droits et les privilèges acquis ou conservés par une organisation syndicale après une fusion ou un transfert de compétence qui ne découlent pas d’une révocation d’accréditation. En 2010-2011, la CRTFP n’a été saisie d’aucune demande de ce genre.

Demandes d’accréditation

En vertu de l’article 18 de la LRTP, une organisation syndicale peut présenter une demande en vue d’être accréditée comme agent négociateur d’une unité de négociation. La CRTFP n’a reçu aucune demande de ce genre en 2010-2011.

Demandes de réexamen d’une décision

En vertu de l’article 17 de la LRTP, la CRTFP a reçu une demande de réexamen d’une de ses décisions. L’agent négociateur (c’est-à-dire l’Association canadienne des employés professionnels) a fait une demande de réexamen visant à modifier la définition d’une unité de négociation. Cette demande a
été jugée en fonction des arguments écrits et elle a été accueillie.

Demandes fondées sur l’article 38

Aux termes de l’article 38 de la LRTP, les parties doivent entamer de bonne foi des négociations collectives et faire tout effort raisonnable pour conclure une convention collective. La CRTFP n’a été saisie d’aucune allégation de violation de l’article 38 en 2010-2011.

Procédures d’arbitrage de différends

L’article 46 de la LRTP prévoit que l’arbitrage exécutoire est le seul mode de règlement des différends;
la LRTP ne prévoit pas de droit de grève. En 2010-2011, la CRTFP a traité 4 demandes qui ont été reportées de l’année précédente afin d’établir un conseil d’arbitrage. Deux (2) de ces demandes ont été tranchées par une décision arbitrale; les deux autres ont été réglées par les parties avant la tenue d’une audience.

Détermination de l’appartenance à une unité de négociation

En vertu de l’article 24 de la LRTP, l’employeur ou une organisation syndicale peut demander à la CRTFP de déterminer si un employé ou une classe d’employés fait partie d’une unité de négociation. La CRTFP
a traité une demande de ce genre en 2010-2011, dont la date d’audience restait à fixer le 31 mars 2011.

Avis de négocier collectivement

L’article 37 de la LRTP prévoit que l’agent négociateur ou l’employeur peut, par avis écrit, obliger
l’autre partie à entamer des négociations collectives en vue de la conclusion d’une convention
collective. En 2010-2011, la CRTFP n’a été saisie d’aucun avis de négocier pour aucune des unités
de négociation dont la convention collective était expirée.

Demande de nomination d’un conciliateur

En vertu de l’article 40 de la LRTP, les parties qui n’arrivent pas à s’entendre sur une condition d’emploi pouvant figurer dans la convention collective peuvent demander au président de nommer un conciliateur pour qu’il les aide à parvenir à un accord. En 2010-2011, la CRTFP n’a reçu aucune nouvelle demande de nomination d’un conciliateur.

Demandes de prorogation de délais

En 2010-2011, la CRTFP n’a reçu aucune demande de prorogation du délai de présentation d’un grief,
en vertu de l’article 79 du Règlement et règles de procédure de la L.R.T.P.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la CRTFP, des services de règlement des conflits sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. De même, les parties peuvent demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un différend avant que l’affaire ne soit renvoyée à l’arbitrage. En 2010-2011, les Services de règlement des conflits de la CRTFP ont tenu deux séances de médiation et les deux affaires ont été réglées.

Tableaux

Tableau 1 : Unités de négociation et agents négociateurs visés par la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2011

Unités de négociation Agents négociateurs
Employeur : Chambre des communes
Catégorie technique Syndicat canadien des communications, de l’énergie et du papier
Groupe des Services de protection Association des employés du Service de sécurité de la Chambre des communes
Sous-groupe de la Procédure et sous-groupe de l’Analyse et Référence compris dans le groupe des Programmes parlementaires Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Groupe de l’exploitation (à l’exception des nettoyeurs à temps partiel classés OPA) Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Sous-groupe des Comptes rendus et sous-groupe du Traitement de textes du groupe des Programmes parlementaires Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Sous-groupe des Services postaux du groupe du Soutien administratif Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Opérateurs de scanographe Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Employeur : Sénat du Canada
Sous-groupe des greffiers du groupe Soutien administratif Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe du Service de sécurité du groupe de l’Exploitation Association des employés du Service de sécurité du Sénat
Groupe de l’Exploitation (à l’exception des employés du sous-groupe du Service de sécurité) Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Employeur : Bibliothèque du Parlement
Sous-groupe Bibliothéconomie (Référence) et
Bibliothéconomie (Catalogage) du groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie
Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Groupe de l’Administration et du soutien Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Sous-groupe de Techniciens de bibliothèque du groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Sous-groupes des Attachés de recherche et des Adjoints de recherche du Groupe des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie Association canadienne des employés professionnels

Tableau 2 : Griefs renvoyés à l’arbitrage, du 1er avril 2001 au 31 mars 2011

 

Questions d’interprétation [alinéa 63(1)a)]

Questions disciplinaires [alinéas 63(1)b) et c)]

Questions de politique [art. 70]

Total partiel

Alinéas 63(1) d), e) et f)

Total

2010-2011

6

4

3

13

12

25

2009-2010

1

5

1

7

14

21

2008-2009

1

9

1

11

24

35

2007-2008

2

7

1

10

19

29

2006-2007

6

12

0

18

28

46

2005-2006

4

11

0

15

25

40

2004-2005

2

4

0

6

0

6

2003-2004

2

2

0

4

0

4

2002-2003

51

3

0

54

29

83

2001-2002

7

0

0

7

0

7

 

Totaux cumulatifs du 1er avril 2001 au 31 mars 2011

 

82

57

6

145

151

296

Tableau 3 : Cas d’arbitrage et de la Commission reportés, reçus et réglés, du 1er avril 2007 au 31 mars 2011

Exercice

Cas reportés

Cas reçus

Total des cas

Total des
règlements

2010-2011

44

12

56

14

2009-2010 51 16 67 20
2008-2009 57 33 90 39
2007-2008 33 45 78 21

Note : À partir de 2009-2010, le Tableau 3 inclut les renvois de l’article 70 de la LRTP.