Return to reports

Annual report of the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board – 2010-2011

YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD

ANNUAL REPORT
2010-2011


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

1Section 12 of the Public Service Labour Relations Act states that the Board may have up to three Vice-Chairpersons. During the reporting period, two Vice-Chairpersons left the Board, one of whom was replaced; therefore, four names appear in this report.

2Dan Quigley, a full-time Board member, retired during the year but was appointed as a part-time adjudicator in November 2010.

3Guy Lalonde was appointed Executive Director of the PSLRB effective February 7, 2011.


REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT
FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2011

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the Yukon public service. When performing these functions, the PSLRB acts as the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board (“the Board”).

MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD IN 2010–2011

In 2010-2011, several changes occurred among the members of the Board, including the departure of Vice-Chairperson Marie-Josée Bédard to fulfill an appointment with the Federal Court. Renaud Paquet, a full-time Board member since 2008, was appointed as a Vice-Chairperson, and Dan Quigley, who had served four full-time terms, retired. Mr. Quigley was appointed as a part-time adjudicator in November 2010. As well, two new full-time Board members were appointed, Catharine Rogers and Stephan Bertrand, and Steven Katkin was appointed as a part-time adjudicator.

PROCEEDINGS IN 2010–2011

In 2010-2011, there were 44 proceedings under the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act (“the Act”); 1 was an application for an extension of time to present a grievance, 42 were referrals to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions, and 1 was an objection to the identification of a position considered by the employer to be managerial or confidential (exclusion proposal).

There were no applications pertaining to the designation of employees essential for the safety or security of the public and no applications for the determination of membership in bargaining units.

Grievance adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards or from major disciplinary actions or terminations.

The Board dealt with 42 grievance adjudication cases during the period under review. Seventeen (17) were new, and 25 were carried over from the previous fiscal year. Five (5) cases were closed.

Of the 42 grievance cases, 27 dealt with interpretations of collective agreements. Of those 27 cases, none was scheduled for a hearing in 2010-2011. No cases were settled pending confirmation, 2 cases were on hold by the parties, and 4 cases were completed.

Fifteen (15) cases dealt with disciplinary matters, 4 of which involved terminations. Of those 4 cases, 2 have been scheduled, 1 remains to be scheduled, and 1 was completed. Of the 11 remaining cases dealing with other types of disciplinary matters, 6 remain to be scheduled, 1 has been scheduled, 3 have been scheduled tentatively, and 1 is on hold by the parties.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the Board, dispute resolution services are offered to help the parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the Board’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2010-2011, no requests for mediation were received by the PSLRB’s Dispute Resolution Services.

Managerial and confidential positions

A person employed in a managerial or confidential position is one who, due to the nature of the duties being performed, meets the criteria established by the Act for exclusion from a bargaining unit.

In 2010-2011, 1 case pertaining to 1 position that had been previously identified by the employer as being a managerial or confidential position was carried over from previous years and was closed.

Safety or security designations / Statement of essential services

Section 42 of the Act requires the employer to furnish a statement of the employees in a bargaining unit whose duties are necessary for the safety or security of the public. In 2010-2011, the Yukon Public Service Commission filed no such applications.

Determination of membership in bargaining units

No such applications were received in 2010-2011.

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon 2010-2011

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON

RAPPORT ANNUEL
2010-2011


COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION

1L’article 12 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique précise que la CRTFP peut compter au plus trois vice-présidents. Pendant la période visée par le rapport, deux vice-présidents ont quitté la Commission, dont l’un a été remplacé. C’est pourquoi quatre vice-présidents sont mentionnés dans le rapport.

2Dan Quigley, commissaire à temps plein, a pris sa retraite au cours de l’année, mais a été nommé arbitre de grief à temps partiel en novembre 2010.

3Guy Lalonde a été nommé directeur général de la CRTFP et est entré en fonction le 7 février 2011.


RAPPORT SUR L’APPLICATION
DE LA LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON
POUR L’EXERCICE SE TERMINANT LE
31 MARS 2011

INTRODUCTION

Aux termes d’une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) administre les régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions, la CRTFP agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la « Commission »).

COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION EN 2010-2011

En 2010-2011, certains changements sont survenus parmi les commissaires, dont le départ de Marie-Josée Bédard, vice-présidente, qui a été nommée à la Cour fédérale. Renaud Paquet, commissaire à temps plein depuis 2008, a été nommé vice-président. Dan Quigley, qui avait rempli quatre mandats à temps plein, a pris sa retraite, puis a été nommé arbitre de grief à temps partiel en novembre 2010. De plus, deux nouveaux commissaires à temps plein ont été nommés, soit Catharine Rogers et Stephan Bertrand, et Steven Katkin a été nommé arbitre de grief à temps partiel.

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2010-2011

En 2010-2011, il y a eu 44 affaires en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la « Loi »), dont 1 était une demande de prorogation de délai en vue du dépôt d’un grief, 42 étaient des renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs portant sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives et sur des mesures disciplinaires, et 1 visait un avis d’opposition à la qualification d’un poste de direction ou de confiance par l’employeur (proposition d’exclusion).

Il n’y a eu aucune demande de désignation de postes essentiels pour la sécurité ou la protection du public, ni de demande de détermination de l’appartenance à une unité de négociation.

Arbitrage de griefs

L’arbitrage de griefs s’entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment les cas de griefs résultant de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes mesures disciplinaires ou de licenciements.

La Commission a traité 42 cas d’arbitrage de griefs au cours de la période visée, dont 17 nouveaux et 25 reportés de l’exercice précédent. Cinq (5) cas ont été réglés.

Sur ces 42 cas de griefs, 27 portaient sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives. Aucun de ces 27 cas n’a été mis au rôle en 2010-2011. Aucun cas n’a été tranché en attente de la confirmation des parties, deux ont été suspendus par les parties, et quatre ont été réglés.

Quinze (15) cas de griefs portaient sur des sanctions disciplinaires, dont 4 portaient sur des licenciements. De ces 4 cas, 2 ont été mis au rôle, 1 le sera à une date ultérieure, et 1 a été réglé. Des 11 cas restants visant d’autres types de sanctions disciplinaires, 6 doivent être mis au rôle, 1 a été mis au rôle, 3 l’ont été de façon provisoire, et 1 a été mis en suspens par les parties.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la Commission, des services de règlement des conflits sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Les parties peuvent également demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un conflit avant que l’affaire ne soit renvoyée à l’arbitrage. En 2010-2011, les Services de règlement des conflits de la CRTFP n’ont reçu aucune demande de médiation.

Postes de direction ou de confiance

En raison de la nature de ses fonctions, quiconque occupe un poste de direction ou de confiance satisfait aux critères établis par la Loi pour être exclu d’une unité de négociation.

En 2010-2011, 1 cas concernant 1 poste préalablement qualifié par l’employeur de poste de direction ou de confiance a été reporté d’exercices antérieurs et a été réglé.

Désignation de postes liés à la sécurité du public/énoncé des services essentiels

L’article 42 de la Loi oblige l’employeur à désigner les employés faisant partie d’une unité de négociation dont les fonctions sont essentielles à la sécurité ou à la protection du public. En 2010-2011, la Commission de la fonction publique du Yukon n’a déposé aucune demande de cette nature.

Identification des membres des unités de négociation

Aucune demande de ce genre n’a été reçue en 2010-2011.