Return to reports

Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board Annual report 2010-2011

YUKON TEACHERS
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD

ANNUAL REPORT
2010-2011


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

PRINCIPAL STAFF OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

1Section 12 of the Public Service Labour Relations Act states that the Board PSLRB may have up to three Vice-Chairpersons. During the reporting period, two Vice-Chairpersons left the Board, one of whom was replaced; therefore, four names appear in this report.

2Dan Quigley, a full-time Board member, retired during the year but was appointed as a part-time adjudicator in November 2010.

3Guy Lalonde was appointed Executive Director of the Board effective February 7, 2011.


REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON EDUCATION
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT
FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2011

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for Yukon teachers. When performing these functions, the PSLRB acts as the Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board (“the Board”).

MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD IN 2010-2011

In 2010-2011, several changes occurred among the members of the Board, including the departure of Vice-Chairperson Marie-Josée Bédard to fulfill an appointment with the Federal Court. Renaud Paquet, a full-time Board member since 2008, was appointed as a Vice-Chairperson, and Dan Quigley, who had served four full-time terms, retired. Mr. Quigley was appointed as a part-time adjudicator in November 2010. As well, two new full-time Board members were appointed, Catharine Rogers and Stephan Bertrand, and Steven Katkin was appointed as a part-time adjudicator.

PROCEEDINGS IN 2010-2011

In 2010-2011, there were 13 proceedings under the Yukon Education Labour Relations Act (“the Act”); 12 were referrals to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions, and 1 was an arbitration request.

Grievance Adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards or from major disciplinary actions or terminations.

The Board dealt with 12 grievance adjudication cases during the review period. Three (3) were new, and 9 were carried over from the previous fiscal year.

Of the 12 grievance cases, 3 were disciplinary matters involving termination. Of those 3, 2 were completed, and 1 remains to be scheduled for a hearing.

Of the 9 grievances pertaining to the interpretation of collective agreements, 1 remains to be scheduled, 1 is on hold pending the outcome of a related matter, 2 are scheduled for hearings in 2011-2012, and 5 were completed.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the Board, dispute resolution services are offered to help the parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the Board’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2010-2011, the PSLRB’s Dispute Resolution Services held one mediation intervention, which resulted in the settlement of two files.

Managerial and confidential positions

A person employed in a managerial or confidential position is one who, due to the nature of the duties being performed, meets the criteria established by the Act for exclusion from a bargaining unit.

In 2010-2011, there were no matters of this nature.

Other Types of Proceedings

Request for arbitration

Further to prior efforts between the Yukon Teachers’ Association and the Government of the Yukon to reach a collective agreement, the Board received notice in January 2010 that the Yukon Teachers’ Association wished to proceed to arbitration pursuant to subsection 30(1) of the Act. After reviewing the submissions, the Chairperson appointed an arbitrator, Ms. Beth Bilson, on February 19, 2010. A hearing took place from May 17 to 19, 2010, and a decision was issued on December 9, 2010.

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon 2010-2011

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DU
PERSONNEL ENSEIGNANT DU YUKON

RAPPORT ANNUEL
2010-2011


COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION

PRINCIPAUX CADRES DE LA COMMISSION

1L’article 12 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique prévoit que la CRTFP peut se composer d’au plus trois vice-présidents. Pendant la période visée par le rapport, deux vice-présidents ont quitté la Commission, dont l’un a été remplacé; c’est ce qui explique la mention de quatre vice-présidents dans le présent rapport.

2Dan Quigley, un commissaire à temps plein a pris sa retraite au cours de l’année, mais a été nommé arbitre de grief à temps partiel en novembre 2010.


RAPPORT SUR L’APPLICATION DE LA
LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DANS
LE SECTEUR DE L’ÉDUCATION DU YUKON
POUR L’EXERCICE SE TERMINANT LE
31 MARS 2011

INTRODUCTION

En vertu d’une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) administre les régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs du personnel enseignant du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions, la CRTFP agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon (la « Commission »).

COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION EN 2010-2011

En 2010-2011, il y avait 5 commissaires à temps plein et 12 commissaires à temps partiel. Certains changements sont survenus parmi les commissaires, dont le départ de Marie-Josée Bédard, vice-présidente, qui a été nommée à la Cour fédérale. Renaud Paquet, commissaire à temps plein depuis mars 2008, a été nommé vice-président et Dan Quigley, qui avait rempli quatre mandats à temps plein, a pris sa retraite. M. Quigley a été nommé arbitre de grief à temps partiel en novembre 2010. De plus, deux nouveaux commissaires à temps plein ont été nommés, soit Catharine Rogers et Stephan Bertrand.

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2010-2011

En 2010–2011, il y a eu 13 affaires en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l’éducation du Yukon (la « Loi »), dont 12 renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs portant sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives et sur des mesures disciplinaires et 1 demande d’arbitrage.

Arbitrage de griefs

L’arbitrage de griefs s’entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment dans les cas de griefs résultant de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes mesures disciplinaires ou de licenciements.

La Commission s’est penchée sur 12 cas d’arbitrage de griefs au cours de la période visée, dont 3 nouveaux cas et 9 reportés de l’exercice précédent.

Sur ces 12 cas de griefs, 3 étaient des cas où l’on contestait un licenciement pour raisons disciplinaires. Sur ces 3 cas, 2 ont été tranchés et il reste à en ajouter 1 au rôle.

Parmi les 9 griefs portant sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives, 1 doit être inscrit au rôle, 1 est en suspens en attendant le résultat d’une affaire connexe, 2 ont été inscrits au rôle de 2010-2011, et 5 ont été tranchés.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la Commission, des services de règlement des conflits sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Les parties peuvent également demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un conflit avant que l’affaire ne soit renvoyée à l’arbitrage. En 2010-2011, les Services de règlement des conflits de la CRTFP ont tenu une intervention de médiation durant laquelle 2 dossiers ont été réglés.

Postes de direction ou de confiance

En raison de la nature de ses fonctions, quiconque occupe un poste de direction ou de confiance satisfait aux critères établis par la Loi pour être exclu d’une unité de négociation.

En 2010-2011, il n’y a eu aucun cas de ce genre.

Autres types d’affaires

Demande d’arbitrage

À la suite d’efforts faits antérieurement entre la Yukon Teacher’s Association et le gouvernement du Yukon pour conclure une convention collective, la Commission a reçu un avis en janvier 2010 selon lequel la Yukon Teacher’s Association souhaitait que la question soit soumise à l’arbitrage en vertu du paragraphe 30(1) de la Loi. Après avoir examiné les arguments présentés, le président a nommé une arbitre de grief, Mme Beth Bilson, le 19 février 2010. Une audience s’est tenue du 17 au 19 mai 2010, et une décision a été rendue le 9 décembre 2010.