Return to reports

Public Service Labour Relations Board Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act Annual Report 2011 - 2012

© Minister of Public Works and Government Services 2012
Cat. No. SR2-1/2012

The Honourable James Moore, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
House of Commons
Ottawa, K1A 0A6

Dear Minister,

It is my pleasure to transmit to you, pursuant to section 84 of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, the Annual Report of the administration of that Act by the Public Service Labour Relations Board covering the period from April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2012.

Yours sincerely,

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
CHAIRPERSON


Public Service Labour Relations Board 2011 - 2012

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OF THE PSLRB

Table of Contents

Message from the Chairperson

I am pleased to submit to Parliament the annual report on the administration of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA) for 2011-2012.

I am proud of the work that the PSLRB has undertaken this year in meeting its mandate under the PESRA. We will continue our efforts to provide efficient and timely service to our clients.

None of the accomplishments that we realized this year would have been possible without the help of my colleagues and all PSLRB employees. Through their hard work, professionalism and loyalty, we continue to be recognized as a unique and leading force in the labour relations realm.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson
Public Service Labour Relations Board

Introduction

Under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA), the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the institutions of Parliament (i.e., the House of Commons, the Senate, the Library of Parliament, the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, and the Office of the Senate Ethics Officer). The Board of the PSLRB comprises the Chairperson, up to three Vice- Chairpersons and full- and part-time members who are appointed by the Governor in Council for terms of no longer than five years and who may be reappointed.

Under the PESRA, the PSLRB hears such matters as applications for certification by employee organizations to become bargaining agents representing employees; complaints of unfair labour practices; designations of persons employed in managerial and confidential capacities; and arbitrations of disputes.

The PSLRB also adjudicates grievances concerning the interpretation and application of provisions of collective agreements, significant disciplinary action, and all forms of termination of employment except rejections on probation during initial appointments. Grievances concerning demotion, appointment and classification may also be referred to adjudication; those are determined not by a Board member but by an external adjudicator chosen by the parties, who are equally responsible for the adjudicator’s compensation and expenses.

The PSLRB’s mediation services provide a collaborative way to informally resolve disputes, sparing parties more adversarial processes. Through mediation, the parties are encouraged to explore the underlying reasons for their conflict, allowing them to find solutions that better address the root causes of their problem.

Under the PESRA, arbitration is the only means of resolving disputes if bargaining reaches an impasse. In those situations, the PSLRB acts as an arbitration board. On receiving a request for arbitration, the Chairperson appoints a tripartite panel comprising two persons, representing the interests of each party, and a Board member who chairs the panel. Such panels are deemed to act as the Board for the purposes of dealing with the dispute. After hearing the parties, the panel renders an arbitral award on the issues in dispute. The arbitral award then forms part of the collective agreement and is binding on the parties and on employees.

Proceedings before the Public Service Labour Relations Board

In 2011-2012, 7 new grievances were referred to the PSLRB as of March 31, 2012, bringing its total active caseload over the year to 22. During the year, the PSLRB disposed of 7 cases.

There are four types of adjudicable grievances under the PESRA. The first type arises from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards. The PSLRB managed 8 such grievances from the House of Commons in 2011-2012.

The second type includes disciplinary actions resulting in suspension or financial penalty and to terminations of employment for reasons other than rejection on probation for an initial appointment. In 2011-2012, the PSLRB managed 3 such grievances from the House of Commons.

The third type includes grievances relating to the demotion of an employee, to a denial of appointment and to classification. They are heard and determined by an adjudicator selected by the parties. In 2011-2012, the PSLRB dealt with 5 such grievances. Four (4) were from the House of Commons, of which 2 pertained to allegations of incorrect classification, and 1 was from the Library of Parliament.

The fourth type refers to grievances under section 70 of the PESRA, which requires that the PSLRB look into allegations that cannot be the subject of a grievance by an individual employee. Those situations occur when the employer or the bargaining agent seeks to enforce an obligation alleged to arise from a collective agreement or an arbitral award. Three (3) such cases were dealt with in 2011-2012.

As of March 31, 2012, of the total of 19 grievances that were open in the PSLRB’s registry, 5 cases were completed. Of those, 2 were settled, 2 were withdrawn and 1 was allowed. (See Table 2 for a list of grievances by type before the PSLRB from April 1, 2002 to March 31, 2012.)

There was one determination of membership case that was carried over in 2011-2012. That case was scheduled for a hearing in March 2012 but was postponed after the parties requested mediation, which will be scheduled sometime in 2012-2013.

Of the two complaints before the PSLRB, 1 will be heard in 2012-2013. The PSLRB also received 2 notices to bargain: 1 for a bargaining unit at the Senate; the other for a bargaining unit at the Library of Parliament.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the PSLRB, dispute resolution services are offered to help parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the PSLRB’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2011-2012, the PSLRB’s Dispute Resolution Services held 2 mediation interventions, involving a total of 3 files. One (1) file was settled and the remaining 2 will proceed to a formal hearing in 2012-2013.

Tables

Table 1: Bargaining Units and Bargaining Agents under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2012

Bargaining Units Bargaining Agents
House of Commons as Employer
Technical Group Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada
Protective Services Group House of Commons Security Services Employees Association
Procedural Subgroup and Analysis/Reference Subgroup in the Parliamentary Programs Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Operational Group (except for part-time cleaners classified at
the OP A level)
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Reporting Subgroup and Text Processing Subgroup in the
Parliamentary Programs Group
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Postal Services Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Scanners Public Service Alliance of Canada
Senate of Canada as Employer
Legislative Clerk Subgroup in the Administrative Support Group Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Protective Service Subgroup in the Operational Group Senate Protective Service Employees Association
Operational Group (except for employees in the Protective
Service Subgroup)
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library of Parliament as Employer
Library Science (Reference) and Library Science (Cataloguing)
Subgroups in the Research and Library Services Group
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Administrative and Support Group Public Service Alliance of Canada
Library Technician Subgroup in the Research and
Library Services Group
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Research Officer and Research Assistant Subgroups in the
Research and Library Services Group
Canadian Association of Professional Employees

Table 2: Adjudication References, April 1, 2002 to March 31, 2012

 

Interpretations
[Para. 63(1)(a)]

Discipline
[Paras. 63(1)(b) & (c)]

Policy
[Sec. 70]

Sub-Total

Paras. 63(1)
(d), (e) & (f)

Total

2011-2012

8

3

3

14

5

19

2010-2011

6

4

3

13

12

25

2009-2010

1

5

1

7

14

21

2008-2009

1

9

1

11

24

35

2007-2008

2

7

1

10

19

29

2006-2007

6

12

0

18

28

46

2005-2006

4

11

0

15

25

40

2004-2005

2

4

0

6

0

6

2003-2004

2

2

0

4

0

4

2002-2003

51

3

0

54

29

83

 

Cumulative Totals, April 1, 2002 to March 31, 2012

 

83

60

9

152

156

308

Table 3: Adjudication and Board Cases Carried Forward, Received and Completed,
April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2012

Fiscal
Year

Carried
Forward

Received

Overall
Total

Dispositions
Total

2011-2012

15

7

22

7

2010-2011

44

12

56

14

2009-2010 51 16 67 20
2008-2009 57 33 90 39

Note: As of 2009-2010, Table 3 includes section 70 of the PESRA, policy proceedings.

Retourner aux rapports

Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement Rapport annuel 2011 - 2012

© Ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux 2012
N° de cat. SR2-1/2012

L’honorable James Moore, C.P., député
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles
Chambre des communes
Ottawa K1A 0A6

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur de vous transmettre, conformément à l’article 84 de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, le rapport annuel de l’administration de cette loi par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, pour la période du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2012.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de ma considération distinguée.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président


Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique 2011 - 2012

CADRES DE DIRECTION DE LA CRTFP

Table des matières

Message du président

J’ai l’honneur de présenter au Parlement le rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) pour l’exercice 2011-2012.

Je suis fier du travail accompli cette année par la CRTFP pour remplir son mandat en vertu de la LRTP. Nous poursuivrons nos efforts pour offrir des services efficaces et en temps opportun à nos clients.

Aucune des réalisations accomplies cette année n’aurait été possible sans l’aide de mes collègues et de tous les employés de la CRTFP. Grâce à leur travail acharné, leur professionnalisme et leur dévouement, la CRTFP continue d’être reconnue comme une force incomparable et prépondérante dans le domaine des relations de travail.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président
Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique

Introduction

Aux termes de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP), la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) est chargée de l’administration des régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs pour les institutions du Parlement (c.-à-d. la Chambre des communes, le Sénat, la Bibliothèque du Parlement, le Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, et le Bureau du conseiller sénatorial en éthique). La Commission est formée d’un président, d’au plus trois vice-présidents, et de commissaires à temps plein et à temps partiel nommés par le gouverneur en conseil pour un mandat d’au plus cinq ans, lequel peut être renouvelé.

En vertu de la LRTP, la Commission peut être saisie de diverses affaires telles que des demandes d’accréditation présentées par des organisations syndicales pour devenir des agents négociateurs représentant des employés, des plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail, des désignations de personnes occupant des postes de direction et de confiance, et des arbitrages de différends.

La Commission s’occupe également de l’arbitrage de griefs portant sur l’interprétation et l’application de dispositions de conventions collectives, sur des mesures disciplinaires importantes et sur toutes les formes de licenciement, sauf les renvois en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. Les griefs contestant une rétrogradation, une nomination et une classification peuvent également être renvoyés à l’arbitrage; ils ne sont toutefois pas tranchés par un commissaire, mais par un arbitre de grief externe choisi par les parties, qui doivent en assumer à parts égales la rémunération et les frais.

Les services de médiation de la CRTFP permettent aux parties d’en arriver à un règlement de leurs différends par la voie de la collaboration informelle, plutôt que de les soumettre à des processus de règlement davantage contradictoires. Par la voie de la médiation, les parties sont encouragées à examiner les raisons qui sous-tendent leur différend, ce qui leur permet d’élaborer des solutions qui touchent de plus près aux causes profondes de leur problème.

Sous le régime de la LRTP, l’arbitrage constitue le seul mode de règlement des différends lorsque la négociation aboutit à une impasse. En pareil cas, la Commission agit comme conseil d’arbitrage. Sur réception d’une demande d’arbitrage, le président met sur pied un groupe tripartite composé de deux personnes représentant les intérêts de chaque partie et d’un commissaire qui dirige ce groupe. Pareils groupes sont réputés agir au nom de la Commission pour ce qui est de régler le différend. Après avoir entendu les parties, le groupe rend une décision sur les questions en litige. La décision arbitrale fait alors partie d’une convention collective et lie les parties et les employés.

Affaires dont la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique est saisie

En 2011-2012, 7 nouveaux cas ont été renvoyés à la CRTFP en date du 31 mars 2012, ce qui a porté la charge totale active à 22 cas. Durant l’année écoulée, la CRTFP a statué sur 7 cas.

Il existe quatre types de griefs arbitrables sous le régime de la LRTP. Le premier type découle de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales. La CRTFP a traité 8 de ces griefs provenant de la Chambre des communes en 2011-2012.

Le deuxième type se rapporte aux mesures disciplinaires entraînant une suspension ou une sanction pécuniaire, ainsi qu’aux licenciements autres que le renvoi en cours de stage dans le cas d’une première nomination. En 2011-2012, la CRTFP a traité 3 de ces griefs provenant de la Chambre des communes.

Le troisième type se rapporte aux griefs arbitrables portant sur la rétrogradation d’un employé, le refus d’une nomination et la classification. Un arbitre de grief choisi par les parties instruit et tranche ces griefs. En 2011-2012, la CRTFP a traité 5 de ces griefs, dont 4 provenaient de la Chambre des communes, de ce nombre 2 portaient sur des allégations de classification incorrecte, et 1 provenait de la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

Le quatrième type se rapporte aux griefs présentés en vertu de l’article 70 de la LRTP, aux termes duquel la CRTFP doit se pencher sur les allégations qui ne peuvent faire l’objet d’un grief de la part d’un employé. De tels cas se posent lorsqu’un employeur ou un agent négociateur cherche à faire exécuter une obligation qui découlerait d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale. Trois (3) de ces cas ont été traités en 2011-2012.

Au 31 mars 2012, sur les 19 griefs au total présentés au greffe de la CRTFP, 5 cas ont été classés. Parmi ces cas, 2 ont été réglés, 2 ont été retirés et 1 a été accueilli. (Voir le Tableau 2 pour obtenir la liste des types de griefs dont la CRTFP était saisie du 1er avril 2002 au 31 mars 2012.)

Un cas de détermination d’appartenance à une unité de négociation a été reporté en 2011-2012. Ce cas a été mis au rôle en mars 2012, mais a été reporté à une date ultérieure à la suite d’une demande de médiation de la part des parties qui est prévue au cours de 2012-2013.

Sur les 2 plaintes dont la CRTFP est saisie, 1 sera entendue en 2012-2013. La CRTFP a également reçu 2 avis de négocier : l’un concernant une unité de négociation du Sénat, et l’autre applicable à une unité de négociation de la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la CRTFP, des services de règlement des différends sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. De même, les parties peuvent demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un différend avant que l’affaire ne soit renvoyée à l’arbitrage. En 2011-2012, les Services de règlement des conflits de la CRTFP ont tenu 2 séances de médiation concernant un total de 3 dossiers. Un dossier a été réglé, et les deux autres seront instruits en audience officielle au cours de 2012-2013.

Tableaux

Tableau 1 : Unités de négociation et agents négociateurs visés par la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2012

Unités de négociation Agents négociateurs
Employeur : Chambre des communes
Catégorie technique Syndicat canadien des communications, de l’énergie et du papier
Groupe des Services de protection Association des employés du Service de sécurité de la Chambre des communes
Sous-groupe de la Procédure et sous-groupe de
l’Analyse et Référence compris dans le groupe des Programmes parlementaires
Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Groupe de l’exploitation (à l’exception des nettoyeurs
à temps partiel classés OPA)
Alliance de la Fonction
publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Comptes rendus et sous-groupe
du Traitement de textes du groupe des
Programmes parlementaires
Alliance de la Fonction
publique du Canada
Sous-groupe des Services postaux du groupe
du Soutien administratif
Alliance de la Fonction
publique du Canada
Opérateurs de scanographe Alliance de la Fonction
publique du Canada
Employeur : Sénat du Canada
Sous-groupe des greffiers du groupe Soutien administratif Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Sous-groupe du Service de sécurité du groupe de l’Exploitation Association des employés du Service de sécurité du Sénat
Groupe de l’Exploitation (à l’exception des employés du
sous-groupe du Service de sécurité)
Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Employeur : Bibliothèque du Parlement
Sous-groupe Bibliothéconomie (Référence) et
Bibliothéconomie (Catalogage) du groupe des
Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie
Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Groupe de l’Administration et du soutien Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Sous-groupe de Techniciens de bibliothèque du groupe
des Services de recherche et de bibliothéconomie
Alliance de la Fonction publique
du Canada
Sous-groupes des Attachés de recherche et des Adjoints
de recherche du Groupe des Services de recherche et
de bibliothéconomie
Association canadienne des
employés professionnels

Tableau 2 : Griefs renvoyés à l’arbitrage, du 1er avril 2002 au 31 mars 2012

 

Questions d’interprétation
[alinéa 63(1)a)]

Questions disciplinaires
[alinéas 63(1)
b) et c)]

Questions de politique
[art. 70]

Total partiel

Alinéas 63(1)
d), e) et f)

Total

2011-2012

8

3

3

14

5

19

2010-2011

6

4

3

13

12

25

2009-2010

1

5

1

7

14

21

2008-2009

1

9

1

11

24

35

2007-2008

2

7

1

10

19

29

2006-2007

6

12

0

18

28

46

2005-2006

4

11

0

15

25

40

2004-2005

2

4

0

6

0

6

2003-2004

2

2

0

4

0

4

2002-2003

51

3

0

54

29

83

 

Totaux cumulatifs du 1er avril 2002 au 31 mars 2012

 

83

60

9

152

156

308

Tableau 3 : Cas d’arbitrage et de la Commission reportés, reçus et réglés, du 1er avril 2008 au 31 mars 2012

Exercice

Cas reportés

Cas reçus

Total des cas

Total des
règlements

2011-2012

15

7

22

7

2010-2011

44

12

56

14

2009-2010 51 16 67 20
2008-2009 57 33 90 39

Note : À partir de 2009-2010, le Tableau 3 inclut les renvois de l’article 70 de la LRTP.