Return to reports

Annual report of the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board – 2011-2012

YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

Chairperson: Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.

Vice-Chairpersons: Linda Gobeil (appointed APril 28, 2011)
Renaud Paquet
Michele A. Pineau (term ended December 31, 2011)

Members: Roger Beaulieu
Stephan J. Bertrand
Dan Butler (retired October 7, 2011)
Steven B. Katkin (appointed September 1, 2011)
Catharine (Kate) Rogers

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

Executive Director: Guy Lalonde
General Counsel: Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Director, Compensation Analysis and Research Services: Céline Laporte (Acting Director)
Director, Corporate Services: Alison Campbell
Director, Dispute Resolution Services: Gilles Grenier
Director, Financial Services: Robert Sabourin
Director, Human Resources Services: Chantal Bélanger
Director, Registry Operations and Policy: Susan J. Mailer

REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT
FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2012

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the Yukon public service. When performing these functions, the PSLRB acts as the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board (“the Board”).

PROCEEDINGS IN 2011–2012

In 2011-2012, there were 44 proceedings under the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act (“the Act”); 2 were applications for extensions of time to present a grievance and 42 were referrals to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements or disciplinary actions.

Early in 2011, the Board met with the employer and bargaining agent to discuss the caseload and to develop a hearing schedule until December 2013. These initiatives enable the parties to be better prepared for hearings and for the Board to secure adjudicators. Given the success of these initiatives, the Board plans to organize another meeting in 2012-2013 year to schedule the remaining cases.

Grievance adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards or from major disciplinary actions or terminations.

The Board dealt with 42 grievance adjudication cases during the period under review. Four (4) were new, and 38 were carried over from the previous fiscal year. Ten (10) cases were closed.

Of the 42 grievance cases, 25 dealt with interpretations of collective agreements. Of those 25 cases, 3 were scheduled for a hearing in 2011-2012. Sixteen (16) remain to be scheduled, 2 were settled pending confirmation, 1 case was on hold by the parties and 3 were completed.

Seventeen (17) cases dealt with disciplinary matters, 4 of which involved terminations. Of those 4 cases, 3 were withdrawn and 1 remains to be scheduled. Of the 13 remaining cases dealing with other types of disciplinary matters, 1 has been scheduled, 1 has been scheduled tentatively, 6 remain to be scheduled, 1 has been settled pending confirmation and 4 have been completed.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the Board, mediation is offered to help the parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the Board’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2011-2012, there were no requests for mediation.

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon 2011-2012

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON


COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION

Président: Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.

Vice-présidents: Linda Gobeil (nommée le 28 avril 2011)
Renaud Paquet
Michele A. Pineau (mandat a pris fin le 31 décembre 2011)

Commissaires: Roger Beaulieu
Stephan J. Bertrand
Dan Butler (a pris sa retraite le 7 octobre 2011)
Steven B. Katkin (nommé le 1er septembre 2011)
Catharine (Kate) Rogers

CADRES DE DIRECTION DE LA COMMISSION

Directeur général : Guy Lalonde
Avocate générale : Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Directrice, Services d'analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération : Céline Laporte (directrice intérimaire)
Directrice, Services généraux : Alison Campbell
Directeur, Services de règlement des conflits : Gilles Grenier
Directeur, Services financiers : Robert Sabourin
Directrice, Services des ressources humaines : Chantal Bélanger
Directrice, Opérations du greffe et politiques : Susan J. Mailer

RAPPORT SUR L’APPLICATION
DE LA LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON
POUR L’EXERCICE SE TERMINANT LE
31 MARS 2012

INTRODUCTION

Aux termes d’une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) administre les régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions, la CRTFP agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la « Commission »).

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2011-2012

En 2011-2012, il y a eu 44 affaires en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la « Loi »), dont deux (2) étaient des demandes de prorogation de délai en vue du dépôt d’un grief, et 42 étaient des renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs portant sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou sur des mesures disciplinaires.

Au début de 2011, la Commission a rencontré l’employeur et l’agent négociateur afin de discuter du volume des affaires et de préparer un rôle d’audiences jusqu’en décembre 2013. Ces initiatives permettent aux parties de mieux se préparer aux audiences, et à la Commission de s’assurer de l’affectation des arbitres de griefs. Forte du succès de ces initiatives, la Commission prévoit organiser une autre réunion en 2012-2013 en vue de la mise au rôle d’audience des autres affaires en instance.

Arbitrage de griefs

L’arbitrage de griefs s’entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment les cas de griefs résultant de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes mesures disciplinaires ou de licenciements.

La Commission a traité 42 cas d’arbitrage de griefs au cours de la période visée, dont 4 nouveaux et 38 reportés de l’exercice précédent. Dix (10) cas ont été réglés.

Sur ces 42 cas de griefs, 25 portaient sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives. Parmi ces 25 cas, 3 ont été mis au rôle en 2011-2012, 16 demeurent en attente d’être mis au rôle, 2 ont été tranchés en attente de la confirmation des parties, 1 a été suspendu par les parties, et 3 ont été réglés.

Dix-sept (17) cas portaient sur des sanctions disciplinaires, dont 4 portaient sur des licenciements. De ces 4 cas, 3 ont été retirés et 1 est en attente d’être mis au rôle. Des 13 cas restants visant d’autres types de sanctions disciplinaires, 1 a été mis au rôle, 1 a été mis au rôle de façon provisoire, 6 sont en attente d’être mis au rôle, 1 a été réglé en attente de la confirmation des parties, et 4 ont été réglés.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la Commission, des services de médiation sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Les parties peuvent également demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un conflit avant que l’affaire ne soit renvoyée à l’arbitrage. En 2011-2012, aucune demande de médiation n’a été présentée.