Return to reports

Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board
Annual report 2012-2013

YUKON TEACHERS
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

Chairperson: Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
(term ended January 2, 2013)
David Paul Olsen, Acting Chairperson
(January 2, 2013 to March 31, 2013)

Vice-Chairpersons: Linda Gobeil
David Paul Olsen (appointed August 27, 2012)
Renaud Paquet

Members: Stephan J. Bertrand
John Jaworski
Steven B. Katkin
Michael McNamara
Catharine (Kate) Rogers
Margaret Shannon

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

Executive Director: Guy Lalonde
General Counsel: Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Director, Compensation Analysis and Research Services: Suzanne Payette
Director, Corporate Services: Alison Campbell
Director, Dispute Resolution Services: Gilles Grenier
Director, Financial Services: Robert Sabourin
Director, Human Resources Services: Chantal Bélanger
Director, Registry Operations and Policy: Susan J. Mailer

REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON EDUCATION
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2013

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for Yukon teachers. When performing those functions, the PSLRB acts as the Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board ("the Board").

PROCEEDINGS IN 2011-2012

In 2012-2013, there were 9 proceedings under the Yukon Education Labour Relations Act ("the Act"); 6 were references to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions; 1 was an adjudication without a grievance; and 2 were objections to the identification of a position considered by the employer to be managerial or confidential (exclusion proposal).

Grievance Adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards or from major disciplinary actions or terminations.

The Board dealt with 6 grievance adjudication cases during the review period. One (1) was new, and 5 were carried over from the previous fiscal year. One (1) of those cases was closed, and 5 will be carried forward into 2013-2014.

Of the 6 grievance cases, 4 were disciplinary matters involving termination or suspension, and 2 involved the interpretation of collective agreements. Of those 4 discipline cases, 1 was scheduled for a hearing in 2012-2013, 1 remains to be scheduled, and 2 are awaiting decision.

Of the 2 grievances pertaining to the interpretation of collective agreements, 1 remains to be scheduled for a hearing and 1 was closed.

The Board also dealt with 1 reference to adjudication without a grievance (under section 76 of the Act). That case, which was carried over from the previous fiscal year, is on hold pending the outcome of a related file that is before the Yukon Court of Appeal.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the Board, mediation is offered to help the parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the Board's assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2012-2013, the PSLRB did not receive any requests for mediation.

Managerial and confidential positions

A person employed in a managerial or confidential position is one who, due to the nature of the duties being performed, meets the criteria established by the Act for exclusion from a bargaining unit.

In 2012-2013, there were 2 matters of this nature: 1 new case and 1 carried over from the previous year. Both were upheld and completed.

Retourner aux rapports

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon 2012-2013

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DU
PERSONNEL ENSEIGNANT DU YUKON


COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION

Président: Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
(mandat a pris fin le 2 janvier 2013)
David Paul Olsen, président intérimaire
(du 2 janvier 2013 au 31 mars 2013)

Vice-présidents: Linda Gobeil
David Paul Olsen (nommée le 27 août 2012)
Renaud Paquet

Commissaires: Stephan J. Bertrand
John Jaworski
Steven B. Katkin
Michael McNamara
Catharine (Kate) Rogers
Margaret Shannon

CADRES DE DIRECTION DE LA COMMISSION

Directeur général : Guy Lalonde
Avocate générale : Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Directrice, Services d'analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération : Suzanne Payette
Directrice, Services généraux : Alison Campbell
Directeur, Services de règlement des conflits : Gilles Grenier
Directeur, Services financiers : Robert Sabourin
Directrice, Services des ressources humaines : Chantal Bélanger
Directrice, Opérations du greffe et politiques : Susan J. Mailer

RAPPORT SUR L’APPLICATION DE LA
LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DANS
LE SECTEUR DE L’ÉDUCATION DU YUKON
POUR L’EXERCICE SE TERMINANT LE
31 MARS 2013

INTRODUCTION

Aux termes d'une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) administre les régimes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage de griefs du personnel enseignant du Yukon. Lorsqu'elle s'acquitte de ces fonctions, la CRTFP agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon (la « Commission »).

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2012-2013

En 2012-2013, il y a eu 9 affaires en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon (la « Loi »), dont 6 renvois à l'arbitrage de griefs portant sur l'interprétation de conventions collectives et sur des mesures disciplinaires, 1 arbitrage sans grief et 2 affaires concernant un avis d'opposition à la qualification d'un poste comme étant un poste de direction ou de confiance par l'employeur (proposition d'exclusion).

Arbitrage de griefs

L'arbitrage de griefs s'entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment dans les cas de griefs résultant de l'application ou de l'interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes mesures disciplinaires ou de licenciements.

La Commission a traité 6 cas d'arbitrage de griefs au cours de la période visée, dont 1 nouveau et 5 reportés de l'exercice précédent. Un (1) de ces cas a été réglé et 5 seront reportés à l'exercice 2013-2014.

Sur les 6 cas de griefs, 4 étaient des cas où l'on contestait un licenciement pour raisons disciplinaires ou une suspension et 2 concernaient l'interprétation de conventions collectives. Sur ces 4 cas disciplinaires, 1 a été mis au rôle pour l'exercice 2012-2013, 1 est en attente d'être mis au rôle et 2 sont en instance de décision.

Parmi les 2 griefs portant sur l'interprétation de conventions collectives, 1 n'a pas encore été mis au rôle et 1 a été tranché.

La Commission a aussi traité 1 renvoi à l'arbitrage sans grief (en vertu de l'article 76 de la Loi). Ce cas, qui a été reporté de l'exercice précédent, a été mis en suspens en attendant l'issue d'un dossier apparenté qui est en instance devant la Cour d'appel du Yukon.

Médiation

Lorsqu'une affaire est soumise à la Commission, des services de médiation sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Les parties peuvent également demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un conflit avant que l'affaire ne soit renvoyée à l'arbitrage. En 2012-2013, la CRTFP n'a reçu aucune demande de médiation.

Postes de direction ou de confiance

En raison de la nature de ses fonctions, quiconque occupe un poste de direction ou de confiance satisfait aux critères établis par la <em>Loi</em> pour être exclu d'une unité de négociation.

En 2012-2013, 2 cas de cette nature ont été présentés : 1 nouveau et 1 reporté de l'exercice précédent. Les deux cas ont été confirmés et réglés.