Return to reports

Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

1. Authority and Objectives

The mandate of the Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board), established in 2005 by the enactment of Public Service Labour Relations Act and successor to the former Public Service Staff Relations Board established in 1967, is to effectively and efficiently administer the systems of collective bargaining and grievance adjudication established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, as well as certain provisions of Part II of the Canada Labour Code concerning occupational safety and health applicable to employees in the Public Service. The Board also administers the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Yukon's Education Labour Relations Act.

2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The financial statements have been prepared in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector.

  1. Parliamentary appropriations
    The Board is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. Appropriations provided to the Board do not parallel financial reporting according to Canadian generally accepted accounting principles. Consequently, items recognized in the Statement of Operations and the Statement of Financial Position are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 3 provides a high-level reconciliation between the bases of reporting.
  2. Net Cash Provided by Government
    The Board operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash received by the Board is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the Board are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between departments of the federal government.
  3. Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund
    Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund is the difference between the net cash provided by Government and appropriations used in a year, excluding the amount of non-respendable revenue recorded by the department. It results from timing differences between when a transaction affects appropriations and when it is processed through the CRF.
  4. Revenues
    Revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues.
  5. Expenses
    Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:
    • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are expensed as the benefits accrue to employees under their respective terms of employment.
    • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation, the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans and legal services are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.
  6. Employee future benefits
    • Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer plan administered by the Government of Canada. The Board's contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the Board to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
    • Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.
  7. Accounts receivable
    Receivables recorded by the Board are from Other Government Departments. Recovery is considered certain and a provision has not been made.
  8. Contingent Liabilities
    In the normal course of its operations, the Board may become involved in various legal actions. Some of these potential liabilities may become actual liabilities when one or more future events occur or fail to occur. To the extent that the future event is likely to occur or fail to occur, and a reasonable estimate of loss can be made, an estimated liability is accrued and an expense recorded. If the likelihood is not determinable or an amount cannot be reasonably estimated, the contingency is disclosed in the notes to the financial statements. The Board has no contingent liabilities as at March 31, 2009.
  9. Tangible capital assets
    All tangible capital assets plus leasehold improvements having an initial cost of $3,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost. The Board does not capitalize intangibles, works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value. Amortization of capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the tangible capital asset as follows:
    Tangible Capital Asset class Amortization Period
    Furniture and equipment 5 years
    Informatics hardware and software 3 years
  10. Foreign currency transactions
    Transactions involving foreign currencies are translated into Canadian dollar equivalents using rates of exchange in effect at the time of those transactions. Monetary assets and liabilities denominated in foreign currencies are translated into Canadian dollars using exchange rates in effect on March 31st. Gains and losses resulting from foreign currency transactions are included in the statement of operations.
  11. Measurement uncertainty
    The preparation of these financial statements in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector, requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the financial statements. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. The most significant items where estimates are used are the useful lives of tangible capital assets, the assumptions underlying the employee severance benefits liability and the assessment of contingent liabilities. Actual results could significantly differ from those estimated. Management’s estimates are reviewed periodically and, as adjustments become necessary, they are recorded in the financial statements in the year they become known.

3. Parliamentary Appropriations

The Board receives its funding through annual Parliamentary appropriations. Items recognized in the Statement of Operations and the Statement of Financial Position in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Board has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to current year Parliamentary appropriations used:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Net cost of operations 16,137,473 14,153,814
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting appropriations:
Add (Less):
Services received without charge (2,853,681) (2,339,873)
Increase in employee severance benefit liability (335,727) (39,348)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (142,084) (187,186)
Increase vacation pay and compensatory leave liability (96,319) (8,169)
Refunds of prior years expenditures 10,455 13,638
Revenue not available for spending 40 146
Other (2) -
  12,720,155 11,593,022
     
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting appropriations:
Add (Less):
Acquisition of tangible capital assets 212,767 133,688
Current year Parliamentary appropriations used 12,932,922 11,726,710

(b) Parliamentary appropriations provided and used:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Vote 85 - Program expenditures 5,996,000 10,617,000
Vote 85a - Supplementary - 2,548,500
Vote 85b - Supplementary 5,401,410 -
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 5 130,191 -
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 15 80,155 79,000
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 22   853,650
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 25 530,850  
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 30 47 999  
Disposal of surplus Crown assets - 141
Contributions to employee benefit plan 1,121,992 1,082,950
Total autorities 13,308,597 15,181,241
Less: Lapsed appropriations - Operating (375,675) (3,454,531)
Current year Parliamentary appropriations used 12,932,922 11,726,710

3. Parliamentary Appropriations

(c) Reconciliation of net cash provided by Government of Canada to current year Parliamentary appropriations used:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Net cash provided by Government of Canada 13,185,156 11,439,908
Refunds of prior years expenditures 10,455 13,638
Revenue not available for spending 40 146
     
Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund
Variation in accounts receivable and advances (100,118) (61,243)
Variation in accounts payable and accrued liabilities (162,609) 334,261
Other (2) -
  (262,729) 273,018
Current year Parliamentary appropriations used 12,932,922 11,726,710

4. Tangible Capital Assets

Cost
(in dollars)
Opening Balance Acquisitions Disposals Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 1,207,555 32,620 - 1,240,175
Furniture and equipment 96,558 180,147 - 276,705
  1,304,113 212,767 - 1,516,880
 
Accumulated
amortization

(in dollars)
Opening Balance Amortization Disposals Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 983,386 125,263 - 1,108,649
Furniture and equipment 83,343 16,821 - 100,164
  1,066,729 142,084 - 1,208,813
 
Net book value
(in dollars)
Opening Balance   Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 224,169   131,526
Furniture and equipment 13,215   176 541
Net Book Value 237,384   308,067

Amortization expense for the year ended March 31, 2009 is $142,084 ($187,186 in 2007-2008)

5. Employee Benefits

(a) Pension benefits

The Board's employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

Both the employees and the Board contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2008-09 expense amounts to $810,078 ($789,470 in 2007-08), which represents approximately 2.0 times for 2008-09 (2.1 times in 2007-08) the contributions by employees. The amount reported for 2007-08 in last years notes ($132,422) has been adjusted to reflect the Board's accounts.

The Board's responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan's sponsor.

(b) Severance benefits

The Board provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 1,326,467 1,287,119
Expense for the year 346,219 132,422
Benefits paid during the year (10,492) (93,074)
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 1,662,194 1,326,467

6. Related Party Transactions

The Board is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. The Board enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. Also, during the year, the Board received services which were obtained without charge from other Government departments as presented below.

(a) Services received without charge:

During the year the Board received without charge from other departments, accommodation and the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services without charge have been recognized in the Board’s Statement of Operations as follows:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Accommodation 2,276,300 1,826,920
Employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans 577,381 512,953
TOTAL 2,853,681 2,339,873

7. Comparative information

Comparative figures have been reclassified to conform to the current year's presentation.

Retourner aux rapports

Notes complémentaires aux états financiers (non vérifié)

Notes complémentaires aux états financiers (non vérifié)

1. Autorisations et objectifs

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission), créée en 2005 par l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, succède à l’ancienne Commission créée en 1967 et a pour mandat d’administrer efficacement et avec efficience les systèmes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs établis par la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique et la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, ainsi que certaines dispositions de la Partie II du Code canadien du travail concernant la sécurité et la santé au travail qui sont applicables aux fonctionnaires de l’État. La Commission administre aussi la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon.

2. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Les états financiers ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes

  1. Crédits parlementaires
    La Commission est financée par le biais de crédits parlementaires du gouvernement du Canada. Les crédits consentis à la Commission ne correspondent pas à la présentation des rapports financiers prévus dans les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada, étant fondés dans une large mesure sur les besoins de trésorerie. Ainsi, les postes consignés dans l'État des résultats et dans l'État de la situation financière ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux auxquels il est pourvu par les crédits parlementaires. La note 3 présente un rapprochement général entre les deux méthodes de rapports financiers.
  2. Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement
    La Commission fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le receveur général du Canada. Toutes les rentrées de fonds sont déposées au Trésor et toutes les sorties de fonds sont payées à même le Trésor. L’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement correspond à la différence entre toutes les rentrées et les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations interministérielles.
  3. La variation de la situation nette du Trésor
    La variation de la situation nette du Trésor correspond à la différence entre l’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et les crédits utilisés au cours d’un exercice, à l’exclusion du montant des revenus non disponibles comptabilisés par la Commission. Il découle d’écarts temporaires entre le moment où une opération touche un crédit et le moment où elle est traitée par le
  4. Produits
    Les produits sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent.
  5. Charges
    Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice :
    • Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi respectives.
    • Les services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères du gouvernement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les services juridiques sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.
  6. Avantages sociaux futurs
    • Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime multi employeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations de la Commission au régime sont passées en charges dans l’exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l’obligation totale découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, la Commission n’est pas tenue de verser des cotisations au titre de l’insuffisance actuarielle du régime
    • Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit à des indemnités de départ, prévues dans leurs conventions collectives ou les conditions d’emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s’accumule à mesure que les employés effectuent les services nécessaires pour les gagner. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l’aide de l’information provenant des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle pour les prestations de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement.
  7. Débiteurs
    Les débiteurs enregistrés par la Commission sont imputables à d'autres ministères du gouvernement. Le recouvrement est considéré comme certain donc aucune provision n'a été établie.
  8. Passif éventuel
    Dans le cours normal de ses activités, la Commission pourrait être visée par diverses actions en justice. Certaines obligations éventuelles peuvent devenir des obligations réelles, selon que certains événements se réaliseront ou non. Dans la mesure où l'événement futur risque fort de se produire ou de ne pas se produire, et que l’on peut établir une estimation raisonnable de la perte, un passif estimatif est constaté et une charge enregistrée dans les états financiers consolidés du gouvernement. Le passif estimatif n’est pas porté aux états financiers de la Commission jusqu’à ce que son montant soit établi avec certitude. Au 31 mars 2009, la Commission n'avait pas de passifs éventuels.
  9. Immobilisations corporelles
    Toutes les immobilisations corporelles et les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d'au moins 3 000 $, sont comptabilisés selon le coût d’achat. Les immobilisations corporelles n’incluent pas les biens incorporels, les œuvres d'art, les trésors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthétique ou historique. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon une méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, comme suit :
    Catégorie d’élément actif Période d’amortissement
    Fournitures et équipements 5 ans
    Matériel et logiciels informatiques 3 ans
  10. Opérations en devises étrangères
    Les opérations en devises étrangères sont converties en dollars canadiens aux taux de change en vigueur à la date de la transaction. Les actifs et les passifs en devises étrangères sont convertis en dollars canadiens selon les taux en vigueur le 31 mars. Les gains et les pertes résultant de la conversion de devises sont présentés à l’état des résultats.
  11. Incertitude relative à la mesure
    La préparation de ces états financiers conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public, exige de la direction qu’elle fasse des estimations et pose des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants déclarés des actifs, des passifs, des revenus et des charges présentés dans les états financiers. Au moment de la préparation des présents états financiers, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Les principaux éléments pour lesquels des estimations sont faites sont le passif éventuel, le passif pour les indemnités de départ et la durée de vie utile des immobilisations corporelles. Les résultats réels pourraient différer des estimations de manière significative. Les estimations de la direction sont examinées périodiquement et, à mesure que les rajustements deviennent nécessaires, ils sont constatés dans les états financiers de l’exercice où ils sont connus.

3. Crédits parlementaires

La Commission reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement au moyen de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l’État des résultats et l’État de la situation financière d’un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans des exercices précédents, pendant l’exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans des exercices futurs. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets de la Commission diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des crédits parlementaires de l’exercice en cours :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Coût de fonctionnement net 16 137 473 14 153 814
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur les crédits :
Ajouter (déduire) :
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (2 853 681) (2 339 873)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles ( 142 084) ( 187 186)
Augmentation des obligations au titre des indemnités de départ ( 335 727) ( 39 348)
Augmentation du passif au titre des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ( 96 319) ( 8 169)
Remboursement des dépenses des années antérieures 10 455 13 638
Revenu non disponible pour dépenser 40 146
Autres (  2) 0
  12 720 155 11 593 022
Rajustements pour les postes sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les crédits :
Ajouter (déduire) :
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 212 767 133 688
Crédits de l’exercice en cours utilisés 12 932 922 11 726 710

(b) Crédits fournis et utilisés :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Crédit 85 – Dépenses du programme 5 996 000 10 617 000
Crédit 85a – Supplémentaire 0 2 548 500
Crédit 85b – Supplémentaire 5 401 410 0
Virement du crédit 5 du Conseil du Trésor 130 191 0
Virement du crédit 15 du Conseil du Trésor 80 155 79 000
Virement du crédit 25 du Conseil du Trésor 530 850 0
Virement du crédit 30 du Conseil du Trésor 47 999 0
Produit de la vente de biens excédentaires de l’État 0 141
Contributions au régime d’avantages sociaux des employés 1 121 992 1 082 950
Total des autorisations 13 308 597 15 181 241
Moins : Crédits annulés - fonctionnement ( 375 675) (3 454 531)
Crédits de l’exercice en cours utilisés 12 932 922 11 726 710

(c) Rapprochement de l’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et des crédits de l’exercice en cours utilisés :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement 13 185 156 11 439 908
Revenu non disponible pour dépenser 40 146
Remboursement des dépenses des années antérieures 10 455 13 638
 
Variation de la situation nette du Trésor
Variation des débiteurs et des avances ( 100 118) ( 61 243)
Variation des créditeurs et des charges à payer ( 162 609) 334 261
Autres (2) -
  (262,729) 273,018
Crédits de l’exercice en cours utilisés 12,932,922 11,726,710

4. Immobilisations corporelles

Coût
(en dollars)
Solde
d’ouverture
Acquisitions Aliénations Solde de clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 1 207 555 32 620 0 1 240 175
Fournitures et équipement 96 558 180 147 0 276 705
  96 558 212 767 0 276 705
 
Amortissement
cumulé

(en dollars)
Solde
d’ouverture
Amortissement Aliénations Solde de
clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 983 386 125 263 0 1 108 649
Fournitures et équipement 83 343 16 821 0 100 164
  83 343 142 084 0 100 164
 
Valeur comptable nette
(en dollars)
Solde
d’ouverture
  Solde de
clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 13 215   176 541
Fournitures et équipement 224 169   131 526
Valeur comptable nette 237 384   308 067

La charge d'amortissement pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2009 s'élève à 142 084$ ( 187 186$ en 2008-2009)

5. Avantages sociaux

(a) Prestations de retraite :

Les employés de la Commission participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s’accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l’inflation

Tant les employés que la Commission versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. En 2008-09 les charges s’élèvent à 810 078$ ( 789 470$ en 2007-08), soit environ 2.0 fois en 2008-09 (2.1 fois en 2007-08) les cotisations des employés. Le montant divulgué pour l’année financière 2007-08 ($132.422) dans les notes complémentaires de l’année dernière a été modifiée en fonction des comptes de la Commission.

La responsabilité de la Commission relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régimeé.

(b) Indemnités de départ

La Commission verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l’admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d’avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici quelles étaient les indemnités de départ au 31 mars :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Obligations au titre des prestations constituées, début
de l’exercice
1 326 467 1 287 119
Charge pour l’exercice 346 219 132 422
Prestations versées pendant l’exercice ( 10 492) ( 93 074)
Obligations au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l’exercice 1 662 194 1 326 467

6. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, la Commission est apparentée à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État du gouvernement du Canada. La Commission conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. De plus, au cours de l’exercice, la Commission a reçu gratuitement des services d’autres ministères, comme il est indiqué ci-dessous.

(a) Services fournis gratuitement :

Au cours de l’exercice, la Commission a reçu gratuitement des services d’autres ministères (installations, frais juridiques et cotisations de l’employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires). Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l’état des résultats de la Commission :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Installation 2 276 300 1 826 920
Cotisations du Conseil du Trésor au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires 577 381 512 953
TOTAL 2 853 681 2 339 873

Le gouvernement a structuré certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l’efficience et l’efficacité de sorte qu’un seul ministère mène sans frais certaines activités au nom de tous. Le coût de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d’émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canadas, ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l’état des résultats de la Commission.

7. Chiffres correspondants

Les chiffres de l'exercice précédent ont été reclassés afin de les rendre conformes à la présentation adoptée pour l'exercice en cours.