Return to reports

Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

1. Authority and Objectives

The mandate of the Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board), established in 2005 by the enactment of Public Service Labour Relations Act and successor to the former Public Service Staff Relations Board established in 1967, is to effectively and efficiently administer the systems of collective bargaining and grievance adjudication established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, as well as certain provisions of Part II of the Canada Labour Code concerning occupational safety and health applicable to employees in the Public Service. The Board also administers the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Yukon's Education Labour Relations Act. The Board’s three lines of services are Adjudication, Mediation and Compensation Analysis and Research Services, which are supported by its internal services activities.

2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The financial statements have been prepared in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector.

Siginificant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Parliamentary appropriations - the Board is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. Appropriations provided to the Board do not parallel financial reporting according to Canadian generally accepted accounting principles. Consequently, items recognized in the Statement of Operations and the Statement of Financial Position are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 3 provides a high-level reconciliation between the bases of reporting.
  2. Net Cash Provided by Government – The Board operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash received by the Board is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the Board are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between departments of the federal government.
  3. Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund is the difference between the net cash provided by Government and appropriations used in a year, excluding the amount of non-respendable revenue recorded by the department. It results from timing differences between when a transaction affects appropriations and when it is processed through the CRF.
  4. Revenues - Revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues.
  5. Expenses - Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:
    • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are expensed as the benefits accrue to employees under their respective terms of employment.
    • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation and the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.
  6. Employee future benefits
    1. Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer plan administered by the Government of Canada. The Board's contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the Board to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
    2. Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.
  7. Receivables recorded by the Board are from Other Government Departments. Recovery is considered certain and a provision has not been made.
  8. Contingent Liabilities - In the normal course of its operations, the Board may become involved in various legal actions. Some of these potential liabilities may become actual liabilities when one or more future events occur or fail to occur. To the extent that the future event is likely to occur or fail to occur, and a reasonable estimate of loss can be made, an estimated liability is accrued and an expense recorded. If the likelihood is not determinable or an amount cannot be reasonably estimated, the contingency is disclosed in the notes to the financial statements. The Board has no contingent liabilities as at March 31, 2010.
  9. Tangible capital assets - All tangible capital assets plus leasehold improvements having an initial cost of $3,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost. The Board does not capitalize intangibles, works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value. Amortization of capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the tangible capital asset as follows:
    Tangible Capital Asset class Amortization Period
    Furniture and equipment 5 years
    Informatics hardware and software 3 years
  10. Foreign currency transactions - transactions involving foreign currencies are translated into Canadian dollar equivalents using rates of exchange in effect at the time of those transactions. Monetary assets and liabilities denominated in foreign currencies are translated into Canadian dollars using exchange rates in effect on March 31st. Gains and losses resulting from foreign currency transactions are included in the statement of operations.
  11. Measurement uncertainty - The preparation of these financial statements in accordancew ith Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the financial statements. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. The most significant items where estimates are used are contingent liabilities, the liability for employee severance benefits and the useful life of tangible capital assets. Actual results could significantly differ from those estimated. Management’s estimates are reviewed periodically and, as adjustments become necessary, they are recorded in the financial statements in the year they become known.

3. Parliamentary Appropriations

The Board receives its funding through annual Parliamentary appropriations. Items recognized in the Statement of Operations and the Statement of Financial Position in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Board has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to current year appropriations used:

(in dollars) 2010 2009
Net cost of operations 14,882,756 16,137,473
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting appropriations:
Add (Less):
   
Services received without charge (2,768,945) (2,853,681)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (179,949) (142,084)
Decrease (Increase) in employee severance benefit liability 136,015 (335,727)
Revenue not available for spending 64 40
Increase vacation pay and compensatory leave liability (58,987) (96,319)
Refunds of prior years' expenditures 27,720 10,455
Other - (2)
  12,038,674 12,720,155
     
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting appropriations
Add (Less):
   
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 828,632 212,767
Current year appropriations used 12,867,306 12,932,922

b) Appropriations provided and used

(in dollars) 2010 2009
Vote 100 - Program expenditures 6,070,766  
Vote 100a - Supplementary 6,096,827  
Vote 85 - Program expenditures   5,996,000
Vote 85b - Supplementary   5,401,410
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 5   130,191
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 15 341,565 80,155
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 25 299,800 530,850
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 30 173,290 47,999
Contributions to employee benefit plan 1,251,476 1,121,992
Revenue not available for spending 64 -
Total authorities 14,233,788 13,308,597
Less:    
Appropriations available for future years (64)  
Lapsed appropriations: Operating (1,366,418) (375,675)
Current year appropriations used 12,867,306 12,932,922

c) Reconciliation of net cash provided by Government of Canada to current year Parliamentary appropriations used:

(in dollars) 2010 2009
Net cash provided by Government of Canada 12,622,318 13,185,156
Revenue not available for spending 64 40
Refunds of prior years' expenditures 27,720 10,455
Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund    
Variation in accounts receivable and advances 239,999 (100,118)
Variation in accounts payable and accrued liabilities (22,795) (162,609)
Other - (2)
  217,204 (262,729)
Current year appropriations used 12,867,306 12,932,922

4. Tangible Capital Assets

(in dollars)

Cost
(in dollars)
Opening Balance Acquisitions Disposals Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 1,240,175 758,729 (769,477) 1,229,427
Furniture and equipment 276,705 6 9,903 (77,653) 268,955
Total 1,516,880 828,632 (847,130) 1,498,382

Accumulated amortization
(in dollars)
Opening Balance Acquisitions Disposals Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 1,108,649 137,484 (769,477) 476,656
Furniture and equipment 100,164 42,465 (77,653) 64,976
Total 1,208,813 179,949 (847,130) 541,632

Net book value
(in dollars)
2010 2009
Informatics Hardware and Software 752,771 131,526
Furniture and equipment 203,979 176,541
Total 956,750 308,067

Amortization expense for the year ended March 31, 2010 is $179,949 ($142,084 in 2008-2009).

5. Employee Benefits

a) Pension benefits: The Board's employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

Both the employees and the Board contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2009-2010 expense amounts to $903,566 ($810,078 in 2008-09), which represents approximately 1.9 times (2.0 times in 2008-2009) the contributions by employees.

The Board's responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan's sponsor.

b) Severance benefits: The Board provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:

(in dollars) 2010 2009
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 1,662,194 1,326,467
Expense for the year (22,712) 346,219
Benefits paid during the year (113,303) (10,492)
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 1,526,179 1,662,194

6. Related party transactions

The Board is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. The Board enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. Also, during the year, the Board received services which were obtained without charge from other Government departments as presented below.

Services received without charge:

During the year the Board received without charge from other departments, accommodation and the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services without charge have been recognized in the Board’s Statement of Operations as follows:

(in dollars) 2010 2009
Accommodation 2,141,298 2,276,300
Employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans 627,647 577,381
Total 2,768,945 2,853,681

7. Comparative information

Comparative figures have been reclassified to conform to the current year's presentation.

Retourner aux rapports

Notes complémentaires aux états financiers (non vérifié)

Notes complémentaires aux états financiers (non vérifiées)
Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2010

1. Autorisations et objectifs

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission), créée en 2005 par l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, succède à l’ancienne Commission créée en 1967 et a pour mandat d’administrer efficacement et avec efficience les systèmes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs établis par la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique et la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, ainsi que certaines dispositions de la Partie II du Code canadien du travail concernant la sécurité et la santé au travail qui son applicables aux fonctionnaires de l’État. La Commission administre aussi la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon. Les trois lignes de services de la Commission sont l'arbitrage, la médiation et l'analyse et la recherche en matière de rémunération, lesquels sont soutenus par ses activités de services internes.

2. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Les états financiers ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Crédits parlementaires - La Commission est financée par le biais de crédits parlementaires du gouvernement du Canada. Les crédits consentis à la Commission ne correspondent pas à la présentation des rapports financiers prévus dans les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada, étant fondés dans une large mesure sur les besoins de trésorerie. Ainsi, les postes consignés dans l'État des résultats et dans l'État de la situation financière ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux auxquels il est pourvu par les crédits parlementaires. La note 3 présente un rapprochement général entre les deux méthodes de rapports financiers.
  2. Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement – La Commission fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le receveur général du Canada. Toutes les rentrées de fonds sont déposées au Trésor et toutes les sorties de fonds sont payées à même le Trésor. L’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement correspond à la différence entre toutes les rentrées et les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations interministérielles.
  3. La variation de la situation nette du Trésor – La variation de la situation nette du Trésor correspond à la différence entre l’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et les crédits utilisés au cours d’un exercice, à l’exclusion du montant des revenus non disponibles comptabilisés par la Commission. Il découle d’écarts temporaires entre le moment où une opération touche un crédit et le moment où elle est traitée par le Trésor.
  4. Produits – Les produits sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent.
  5. Charges – Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice :
    • Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi respectives.
    • Les services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.
  6. Avantages sociaux futurs
    1. Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime multi employeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations de la Commission au régime sont passées en charges dans l’exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l’obligation totale découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, la Commission n’est pas tenue de verser des cotisations au titre de l’insuffisance actuarielle du régime.
    2. Indemnités de départ: Les employés ont droit à des indemnités de départ, prévues dans leurs conventions collectives ou les conditions d’emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s’accumule à mesure que les employés effectuent les services nécessaires pour les gagner. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l’aide de l’information provenant des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle pour les prestations de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement.
  7. Les débiteurs enregistrés par la Commission sont imputables à d'autres ministères du gouvernement. Le recouvrement est considéré comme certain donc aucune provision n'a été établie.
  8. Passif éventuel - Dans le cours normal de ses activités, la Commission pourrait être visée par diverses actions en justice. Certaines obligations éventuelles peuvent devenir des obligations réelles, selon que certains événements se réaliseront ou non. Dans la mesure où l'événement futur risque fort de se produire ou de ne pas se produire, et que l’on peut établir une estimation raisonnable de la perte, un passif estimatif est constaté et une charge enregistrée dans les états financiers consolidés du gouvernement. Le passif estimatif n’est pas porté aux états financiers de la Commission jusqu’à ce que son montant soit établi avec certitude. Au 31 mars 2010, la Commission n'avait pas de passifs éventuels.
  9. Immobilisations corporelles - toutes les immobilisations corporelles et les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d'au moins 3 000 $, sont comptabilisés selon à coût d’achat. Les immobilisations corporelles n’incluent pas les biens incorporels, les oeuvres d'art, les trésors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthétique ou historique, les biens situés dans les réserves indiennes, ni les collections dans les musées. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon une méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, comme suit :
    Catégorie d’élément actif Période d’amortissement
    Fournitures et équipements 5 ans
    Matériel et logiciels informatiques 3 ans
  10. Opérations en devises étrangères - Les opérations en devises étrangères sont converties en dollars canadiens aux taux de change en vigueur à la date de la transaction. Les actifs et les passifs en devises étrangères sont convertis en dollars canadiens selon les taux en vigueur le 31 mars. Les gains et les pertes résultant de la conversion de devises sont présentés à l’état des résultats..
  11. Incertitude relative à la mesure — La préparation de ces états financiers conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public, exige de la direction qu’elle fasse des estimations et pose des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants déclarés des actifs, des passifs, des revenus et des charges présentés dans les états financiers. Au moment de la préparation des présents états financiers, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Les principaux éléments pour lesquels des estimations sont faites sont le passif éventuel, le passif pour les indemnités de départ et la durée de vie utile des immobilisations corporelles. Les résultats réels pourraient différer des estimations de manière significative. Les estimations de la direction sont examinées périodiquement et, à mesure que les rajustements deviennent nécessaires, ils sont constatés dans les états financiers de l’exercice où ils sont connus.

3. Crédits parlementaires

La Commission reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement au moyen de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l’État des résultats et l’État de la situation financière d’un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans des exercices précédents, pendant l’exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans des exercices futurs. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets de la Commission diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des crédits parlementaires de l'exercice en cours :

(en dollars) 2010 2009
Coût de fonctionnement net 14 882 756 16 137 473
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les crédits:    
Ajouter (déduire) :    
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (2 768 945) (2 853 681)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (179 949) (142 084)
Diminution (augmentation) des obligations au titre des indemnités de départ 136 015 (335 727)
Revenu non disponible pour dépenser 64 40
Augmentation du passif au titre des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires (58 987) (96 319)
Remboursement des dépenses des années antérieures 27 720 10 455
Autres - (2)
  12 038 674 12 720 155
Rajustements pour les postes sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les crédits :    
Ajouter (déduire) :    
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 828 632 212 767
Autorisations de l'exercice en cours utilisées 12 867 306 12 932 922

(b) Autorisations fournies et utilisées

(en dollars) 2010 2009
Crédit 100 - Dépenses du Programme 6 070 766  
Crédit 100a - Supplémentaire 6 096 827  
Crédit 85 - Dépenses du Programme   5 996 000
Crédit 85a - Supplémentaire   5 401 410
Virement du crédit 5 du Conseil du Trésor   130 191
Virement du crédit 15 du Conseil du Trésor 341 565 80 155
Virement du crédit 25 du Conseil du Trésor 299 800 530 850
Virement du crédit 30 du Conseil du Trésor 173 290 47 999
Contributions au régime d'avantages sociaux des employés 1 251 476 1 121 992
Revenu non disponible pour dépenser 64 -
Total des autorisations 14 233 788 13 308 597
Moins:    
Autorisations disponibles pour emploi dans les exercices ultérieurs (64)  
Périmés : Fonctionnement (1 366 418) (375 675)
Autorisations de l'exercice en cours utilisées 12 867 306 12 932 922

c) Rapprochement de l'encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et des autorisations de l'exercice en cours utilisés

(en dollars) 2010 2009
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement 12 622 318 13 185 156
Revenu non disponible pour dépenser 64 40
Remboursement des dépenses des années antérieures 27 720 10 455
Variation de la situation nette du trésor    
Variation des débiteurs et des avances 239 999 (100 118)
Variation des créditeurs et des charges à payer (22 795) (162 609)
Autres - (2)
  217 204 (262 729)
Autorisations de l'exercice en cours utilisées 12 867 306 12 932 922

4. Immobilisations corporelles

(en dollars)

Coût
(en dollars)
Solde
d'ouverture
Acquisitions Dispositions Solde de
clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 1 240 175 758 729 (769 477) 1 229 427
Fournitures et équipement 276 705 6 9 903 (77 653) 268 955
Total 1 516 880 828 632 (847 130) 1 498 382

Amortissement cumulé
(en dollars)
Solde
d'ouverture
Amortisse-
ment
Dispositions Solde de
clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 1 108 649 137 484 (769 477) 476 656
Fournitures et équipement 100 164 42 465 (77 653) 64 976
Total 1 208 813 179 949 (847 130) 541 632

Valeur comptable nette
(en dollars)
2010 2009
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 752 771 131 526
Fournitures et équipement 203 979 176 541
Total 956 750 308 067

La charge d'amortissement pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2010 s'élève à 179 949$ (142 084$ en 2008-2009).

5. Avantages sociaux

a) Prestations de retraite: Les employés de la Commission participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s’accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l’inflation.

Tant les employés que le ministère versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. En 2009-2010, les charges s'élèvent à 903 566$ (810 078$ en 2008-2009), soit environ 1.9 fois (2.0 fois en 2008-2009) les cotisations des employés.

La responsabilité de la Commission relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

b) Indemnités de départ : La Commission verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l’admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d’avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici quelles étaient les indemnités de départ au 31 mars :

(en dollars) 2010 2009
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, début de l’exercice 1 662 194 1 326 467
Charge pour l'exercice (22 712) 346 219
Prestations versées pendant l’exercice (113 303) (10 492)
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l’exercice 1 526 179 1 662 194

6. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, la Commission est apparenté à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État du gouvernement du Canada. La Commission conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. De plus, au cours de l’exercice, la Commission reçoit gratuitement des services d’autres ministères, comme il est indiqué ci-dessous.

Services fournis gratuitement :

Au cours de l'exercice, la Commission a reçu gratuitement des services de certains organismes de services communs relatifs aux installations et aux cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et indemnisation des accidentés du travail. Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l'état des résultats du ministère :

(en dollars) 2010 2009
Installations 2 141 298 2 276 300
Cotisations de l’employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires 627 647 577 381
Total 2 768 945 2 853 681

7. Information comparative

Les chiffres de l'exercice précédent ont été reclassifiés afin de les rendre conformes à la présentation adoptée pour l'exercice en cours.