Return to reports

Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

For the year ended March 31

1. Authority and objectives

The mandate of the Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board), established in 2005 by the enactment of Public Service Labour Relations Act and successor to the former Public Service Staff Relations Board established in 1967, is to effectively and efficiently administer the systems of collective bargaining and grievance adjudication established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, as well as certain provisions of Part II of the Canada Labour Code concerning occupational safety and health applicable to employees in the Public Service. The Board also administers the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Yukon's Education Labour Relations Act.

The Board has one strategic outcome: the resolution of labour relations issues in the federal public service and in Parliament. According to the approved Program Activity Architecture (PAA), the Statement of Operations was detailed by the following Program Activities (Business Lines):

Adjudication, mediation and compensation analysis and research

Hold hearings with respect to grievance adjudication, complaints and other types of proceedings, throughout Canada. The Board provides conciliation and arbitration services to assist parties in the renewal and negotiation of new collective agreements; mediation services to help parties work together to resolve grievances and complaints; and, an interactive training session on interest- based negotiations and mediation. A compensation analysis and research function consists of delivering information on comparative rates of pay, employee earnings, conditions of employment and benefits in the public and private sectors. The Board is required by statute to provide physical and administrative support services to the National Joint Council (NJC), but plays no direct role in its operations.

Internal Services

Internal Services are groups of activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of the Board. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across the Board, not those provided specifically to a program.

2. Summary of significant accounting policies

These financial statements have been prepared using the Government's accounting policies stated below, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Parliamentary authorities

The Board is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Board do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position and in the Statement of Financial Position are not necessarily the same as those provided through authorities from Parliament. Note 3 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting. The planned results amounts in the Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position are the amounts reported in the future-oriented financial statements included in the 2011-12 Report on Plans and Priorities.

(b) Net Cash Provided by Government

The Board operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash received by the Board is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the Board are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between departments of the Government.

(c) Due from the CRF

Amounts due from or to the CRF are the result of timing differences at year-end between when a transaction affects authorities and when it is processed through the CRF. Amounts due from the CRF represent the net amount of cash that the Board is entitled to draw from the CRF without further appropriations to discharge its liabilities.

(d) Revenues

Revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues.

(e) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:

(f) Employee future benefits

(g) Accounts receivables

Receivables recorded by the Board are from other government departments. Recovery is considered certain and a provision has not been made. Accounts and loans receivable are stated at the lower of cost and net recoverable value.

(h) Tangible capital assets

All tangible capital assets plus leasehold improvements having an initial cost of $3,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost. The Board does not capitalize intangibles, works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value. Amortization of capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the assets as follows:

Asset class Amortization Period
Informatics Hardware and Software 3 years
Furniture and equipment 5 years

Assets under construction are recorded in the applicable capital asset class in the year that they become available for use and are not amortized until they become available for use.

(i) Measurement uncertainty

The preparation of these financial statements requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the financial statements. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. The most significant items where estimates are used are the liability for employee severance benefits and the useful life of tangible capital assets. Actual results could significantly differ from those estimated. Management's estimates are reviewed periodically and, as adjustments become necessary, they are recorded in the financial statements in the year they become known.

3. Parliamentary Authorities

The Board receives most of its funding through annual parliamentary authorities. Items recognized in the Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position and the Statement of Financial Position in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Board has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to current year authorities used

(in dollars)

  2012 2011
Net cost of operations 15,411,270 15,074,302
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Add (Less):
 
Services provided without charge by other government departments (3,110,270) (2,767,388)
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits 880,461 (76,936)
Increase in vacation pay and compensatory leave 61,623 10,156
Refund of previous year expenditures 48,607 41,208
Amortization of tangible capital assets (179,829) (104,930)
Loss on disposal of tangible capital assets - (648,863)
  (2,299,408) (3,546,753)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Add (Less):
 
Acquisition of tangible capital assets 316,480 361,227
Variation in prepaid expenses 18,359 -
  334,839 361,227
 
Current year authorities used 13,446,701 11,888,776

(b) Authorities provided and used

(in dollars)

  2012 2011
Authorities provided:
Vote 110 - Program expenditures 14,026,811 12,892,947
Statutory authorities 1,306,699 1,221,153
Less:
Lapsed authorities (1,886,809) (2,225,324)
Current year authorities used 13,446,701 11,888,776

4. Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

The following table presents details of the Board's accounts payable and accrued liabilities:

(in dollars) 2012 2011
Accounts payable - other government departments
and agencies
124,178 22,841
Accounts payable - external parties 519,538 716,854
  643,716 739,695
Accrued liabilities 207,883 301,532
  851,599 1,041,227

5. Employee future benefits

(a) Pension benefits

The Board's employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

Both the employees and the Board contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2011-12 expense amounts to $939,517 ($857,204 in 2010-11), which represents approximately 1.8 times (1.9 times in 2010-11) the contributions by employees.

The Board's responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan's sponsor.

(b) Severance benefits

The Board provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and salary at termination of employment. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future authorities. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:

As part of collective agreement negotiations with certain employee groups, and changes to conditions of employment for executives and certain non-represented employees, the accumulation of severance benefits under the employee severance pay program ceased for these employees commencing in 2012. Employees subject to these changes have been given the option to be immediately paid the full or partial value of benefits earned to date or collect the full or remaining value of benefits on termination from the public service. These changes have been reflected in the calculation of the outstanding severance benefit obligation.

(in dollars) 2012 2011
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 1,603,115 1,526,179
Expense for the year (527,660) 209,057
Benefits paid during the year (307,801) (132,121)
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 722,654 1,603,115

6. Tangible capital assets

Cost
(in dollars)
Opening Balance Acquisitions Adjustments, Disposals
and Write-Offs
Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 854,281 33,059 - 887,340
Furniture and equipment 356,465 80,754 - 437,219
Assets under construction - 202,667 - 202,667
  1,210,746 316,480 - 1,527,226

Accumulated amortization
(in dollars)
Opening Balance Amortization Adjustments, Disposals
and Write-Offs
Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 530,345 107,640 - 637,985
Furniture and equipment 116,217 72,189 - 188,406
  646,562 179,829 - 826,391

Net book value
(in dollars)
2011     2012
Informatics Hardware and Software 323,936     249,355
Furniture and equipment 240,248     248,813
Assets under construction -     202,667
  564,184     700,835

Adjustments include assets under construction of $0 that were transferred to the other categories upon completion of the assets.

7. Related party transactions

The Board is related as a result of common ownership to all Government departments, agencies, and Crown Corporations. The Board enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. In addition, the Board has an agreement with the Public Service Staffing Tribunal related to the provision of finance and administration services. During the year, the Board received common services which were obtained without charge from OGD as disclosed below:

a) Common services provided without charge by other government departments

During the year the Board received services without charge from certain common service organizations, related to accommodation and the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services provided without charge have been recorded in the Board's Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position as follows:

(in dollars) 2012 2011
Accommodation 2,405,962 2,153,653
Employer's contribution to the health and
dental insurance plans
704,308 613,735
  3,110,270 2,767,388

The Government has centralized some of its administrative activities for efficiency, cost-effectiveness purposes and economic delivery of programs to the public. As a result, the Government uses central agencies and common service organizations so that one department performs services for all other departments and agencies without charge. The costs of these services, such as the payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada are not included in the Board's Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position.

(b) Other transactions with related parties

(in dollars) 2012 2011
Accounts receivable from other government
departments and agencies
218,540 105,334
Accounts payable to other government
departments and agencies
124,178 22,841
Expenses - Other Government
departments and agencies
1,686,577 1,365,068

8. Segmented Information

Presentation by segment is based on the Board's program activity architecture. The presentation by segment is based on the same accounting policies as described in the Summary of significant accounting policies in note 2. The following table presents the expenses incurred and revenues generated for the main program activities, by major object of expenses and by major type of revenues. The segment results for the period are as follows:

(in dollars) Adjudication,
mediation and
compensation
analysis and research
Internal Services 2012 2011
Operating expenses
Salaries and employee benefits 6,808,277 2,496,583 9,304,860 9,084,852
Accommodation 1,768,224 637,738 2,405,962 2,153,653
Professional and special services 1,247,258 435,888 1,683,146 1,454,108
Transportation and telecommunications 602,156 175,977 778,133 527,544
Rentals 266,081 250,611 516,692 496,666
Machinery and equipment 46,244 200,108 246,352 294,615
Amortization of tangible assets - 179,829 179,829 104,930
Utilities, materials and supplies 116,967 60,230 177,197 172,877
Repairs and maintenance 18,871 45,661 64,532 88,688
Communication 23,037 29,530 52,567 46,766
Other operating expenses 1,999 1 2,000 649,603
Total Operating expenses 10,899,114 4,512,156 15,411,270 15,074,302

Net cost of operations
10,899,114 4,512,156 15,411,270 15,074,302

9. Accounting changes

During 2011, amendments were made to Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.2––Departmental and Agency Financial Statements to improve financial reporting by government departments and agencies. The amendments are effective for financial reporting of fiscal years ending March 31, 2012, and later. The significant changes to the Board’s financial statements are described below. These changes have been applied retroactively, and comparative information for 2010-11 has been restated.

Net debt (calculated as liabilities less financial assets) is now presented in the Statement of Financial Position. Accompanying this change, the Board now presents a Statement of Change in Net Debt and no longer presents a Statement of Equity.

Government funding, as well as the credit related to services provided without charge by other government departments, are now recognized in the Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position below “Net cost of operations before government funding.” In previous years, the Board recognized these transactions directly in the Statement of Equity of Canada. The effect of this change was to decrease the net cost of operations after government funding and transfers by $16,515,176 for 2012 ($14,600,798 for 2011).

(in dollars) 2011
As previously
stated
Effect
of change
2011 Restated
Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position

Governement funding
Net cash provided by Government - 12,317,506 12,317,506
Change in due from Consolidated Revenue Fund - (484,096) (484,096)
Services provided without charge by other government departments - 2,767,388 2,767,388

Retourner aux rapports

Notes aux états financiers (non audité)

Notes aux états financiers (non audité)

Exercice terminé le 31 mars

1. Pouvoirs et objectifs

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission), créée en 2005 par l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, succède à l’ancienne Commission créée en 1967 et a pour mandat d’administrer efficacement et avec efficience les systèmes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs établis par la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique et la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, ainsi que certaines dispositions de la Partie II du Code canadien du travail concernant la sécurité et la santé au travail qui son applicables aux fonctionnaires de l’État. La Commission administre aussi la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon.

La Commission a un résultat stratégique : le règlement impartial des questions liées aux relations de travail dans la fonction publique fédérale et au Parlement. En fonction de l'architecture de l’activité de programme approuvé (AAP), l'état des résultats est exposé en détail selon les activités de programme suivantes (secteurs d'activités) :

La Commission a un résultat stratégique : des relations de travail harmonieuses dans la fonction publique fédérale et au Parlement. En fonction de l'architecture de l’activité de programme approuvé (AAP), l'état des résultats est exposé en détail selon les activités de programme suivantes (secteurs d'activités) :

Arbitrage, médiation et analyse et recherche en matière de rémunération

Instruire des griefs, des plaintes et d'autres types de procédures dans tout le Canada. La Commission offre des services de conciliation et d'arbitrage de différends pour aider les parties à renouveler et à négocier de nouvelles conventions collectives; des services de médiation pour aider les parties à coopérer pour régler les griefs et les plaintes; et des séances de formation interactive sur les négociations raisonnées et sur la médiation. Une fonction d'analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération consiste à fournir des renseignements sur les taux de rémunération, les salaires des employés, les conditions d'emploi et les avantages sociaux comparatifs dans le secteur public et dans le secteur privé. La Commission est tenue par la loi de fournir les locaux et les services de soutien administratif nécessaires au Conseil national mixte (CNM), mais ne joue aucun rôle direct dans les activités de celui-ci.

Services internes

Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales de la Commission. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

2. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Ces états financiers ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement énoncées ci-après, lesquelles s'appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence importante par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Autorisations parlementaires

La Commission est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La présentation des autorisations consenties à la Commission ne correspond pas à la présentation des rapports financiers selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Par conséquent, les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats et de la situation financière nette ministérielle ainsi que dans l'état de la situation financière ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux qui sont prévus par les autorisations parlementaires. La note 3 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de présentation des rapports financiers. Les montants des résultats prévus inclus dans l'état des résultats et de la situation financière nette ministérielle correspondent aux montants rapportés dans les états financiers prospectifs intégrés au Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2011-2012.

(b) Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement

La Commission fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le receveur général du Canada. La totalité de l'encaisse reçue par la Commission est déposée au Trésor, et tous les décaissements faits par la Commission sont prélevés sur le Trésor. L'encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement est la différence entre toutes les entrées de fonds et toutes les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations entre les ministère au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

(c) Le montant à recevoir du Trésor

Le montant à recevoir du Trésor (ou à lui verser) découle d'un écart temporaire entre le moment où une opération affecte les autorisations de la Commission et le moment où elle est traitée par le Trésor. Le montant à recevoir du Trésor correspond au montant net de l'encaisse que la Commission a le droit de prélever du Trésor sans autre affectation d'autorisations pour s'acquitter de ses passifs.

(d) Revenus

Les revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent.

(e) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice.

(f) Avantages sociaux futurs

(g) Débiteurs

Les débiteurs enregistrés par la Commission sont imputables à d'autres ministères du gouvernement. Le recouvrement est considéré comme certain donc aucune provision n'a été établie. Les débiteurs sont présentés au moindre du coût ou de la valeur nette de réalisation.

(h) Immobilisations corporelles

Toutes les immobilisations corporelles et les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d'au moins 3 000 $, sont comptabilisés à leur coût d’achat. La Commission n'inscrit pas à l'actif les biens incorporels, les œuvres d'art, les trésors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthétique ou historique, les biens situés dans les réserves indiennes et les collections dans les musées. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon une méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, comme suit :

Catégorie d’immobilisations Période d'amortissement
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 3 ans
Fournitures et équipements 5 ans

Les actifs en construction sont comptabilisés dans la catégorie applicable dans l'exercice au cours duquel ils deviennent utilisables et ne sont amortis qu'à partir de cette date.

(i) Incertitude relative à la mesure

La préparation des états financiers exige de la direction qu'elle fasse des estimations et pose des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants déclarés des actifs, des passifs, des revenus et des charges présentés dans les états financiers. Au moment de la préparation des présents états financiers, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Les principaux éléments pour lesquels des estimations sont faites sont le passif au titre des indemnités de départ et la durée de vie utile des immobilisations corporelles. Il se pourrait que les résultats réels diffèrent des estimations de manière significative. Les estimations de la direction sont examinées périodiquement et, à mesure que les rajustements deviennent nécessaires, ils sont constatés dans les états financiers de l'exercice où ils sont connus.

3. Autorisations parlementaires

La Commission reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires annuelles. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats et de la situation financière nette ministérielle d'un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires qui ont été approuvées au cours d'un exercice précédent, pendant l'exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un exercice futur. Par conséquent, les résultats des activités de fonctionnement nets de la Commission pour l'exercice diffèrent selon qu'ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations parlementaires de l'exercice en cours

(en dollars)

  2012 2011
Coût de fonctionnement net 15 411 270 15 074 302
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence
sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui
n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations :
Ajouter (déduire) :
 
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (3 110 270) (2 767 388)
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs 880 461 (76 936)
Diminution des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires 61 623 10 156
Recouvrements de dépenses d'exercices antérieurs 48 607 41 208
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (179 829) (104 930)
Perte sur l'aliénation des immobilisations corporelles - (648 863)
  (2 299 408) (3 546 753)
Rajustements pour les postes sans incidence sur
le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant
une incidence sur les autorisations :
Ajouter (déduire) :
 
Acquisition nette d’immobilisations corporelles 316 480 361 227
Variation des charges payées d’avance 18 359 -
  334 839 361 227
 
Autorisations de l'exercice en cours utilisées 13 446 701 11 888 776

(b) Autorisations fournies et utilisées

(en dollars) )

  2012 2011
Autorisations fournies :
Crédit 110 - Dépenses du programme 14 026 811 12 892 947
Montants législatifs 1 306 699 1 221 153
Moins :
Crédit périmés (1 886 809) (2 225 324)
Autorisations de l'exercice en cours
utilisées
13 446 701 11 888 776

4. Créditeurs et charges à payer

Le tableau ci-dessous donne le détail des créditeurs et des charges courues de la Commission :

(en dollars) 2012 2011
Créditeurs – autres ministères et organismes 124 178 22 841
Créditeurs – entités externes 519 538 716 854
  643 716 739 695
Charges à payer 207 883 301 532
  851 599 1 041 227

5. Avantages sociaux futurs

(a) Prestations de retraite

Les employés de la Commission participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s'accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l'inflation.

Tant les employés que la Commission versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. En 2011-2012, les charges s’élèvent à 939 517 $ ( 857 204 $ en 2010-2011), soit environ 1.8 fois (1.9 fois en 2010-2011) les cotisations des employés.

La responsabilité de la Commission relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, répondant du régime.

(b) Indemnités de départ

La Commission verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l'admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire à la cessation d'emploi. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d'avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les autorisations futures. Au 31 mars, les indemnités de départ totalisaient :

Dans le cadre des négociations de conventions collectives avec certains groupes d'employés et les changements apportés aux conditions d'emploi des cadres et de certains employés non représentés, l'accumulation des indemnités de départ au titre du programme de paie des employés a cessé à compter de 2012. Les employés visés par ces changements ont eu la possibilité d'être payés immédiatement la valeur totale ou partielle des prestations accumulées à ce jour ou de percevoir la valeur totale ou restante de prestations à la cessation d'emploi dans la fonction publique. Ces modifications ont été intégrées dans le calcul de l'obligation d'indemnités de départ courus.

(en dollars) 2012 2011
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, début de l'exercice 1 603 115 1 526 179
Charge pour l’exercice ( 572 660) ( 209 057)
Prestations versées pendant l’exercice ( 307 801) ( 132 121)
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l’exercice 722 654 1 603 115

6. Immobilisations corporelles

Coût
(en dollars)
Solde
d'ouverture
Acquisitions Ajustements,
aliénations
et radiations
Solde de
clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 854 281 33 059 - 887 340
Fournitures et équipements 356 465 80 754 - 437 219
Actifs en construction - 202 667 - 202 667
  1 210 746 316 480 - 1 527 226

Amortissement cumulé
(en dollars)
Solde d'ouverture Amortissement Ajustements,
aliénations
et radiations
Solde de
lôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 530 345 107 640 - 637 985
Fournitures et équipements 116 217 72 189 - 188 406
  646 562 179 829 - 826 391

Valeur comptable nette
(en dollars)
2011     2012
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 323 936     249 355
Fournitures et équipements 240 248     248 813
Actifs en construction -     202 667
  564 184     700 835

Les ajustements inclus les actifs en construction de 0 $ qui ont été transférés à d'autres catégories à la suite de l'achèvement de l'actif.

7. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, la Commission est apparentée à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État du gouvernement du Canada. La Commission conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. De plus, la Commission a conclu une entente avec le Tribuanl de la dotation de la fonction publique concernant la prestation de services relatifs aux finances et à l'administration. En outre, au cours de l'exercice, la Commission a reçu gratuitement des services communs d'autres ministères, comme il est indiqué ci-dessous :

a) Services communs fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères

Au cours de l'exercice, la Commission a reçu gratuitement des services de certains organismes de services communs relatifs aux installations et cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires. Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l'état des résultats et de la situation financière nette ministérielle :

(en dollars) 2012 2011
Installations 2 405 962 2 153 653
Cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins
de santé et de soins dentaires
704 308 613 735
  3 110 270 2 767 388

Le gouvernement a centralisé certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l'efficience et l'efficacité de la prestation des programmes auprès du public. Le gouvernement fait donc appel à des organismes centraux et à des organismes de services communs, de sorte qu'un seul ministère fournisse gratuitement des services à tous les autres ministères et organismes. Le coût de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d'émission des chèques offerts à tous les ministères et organismes par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada ne sont pas inclus dans l'état des résultats et de la situation financière nette ministérielle.

(b) Autres transactions entre apparentés

(en dollars) 2012 2011
Débiteurs - autres ministères et organismes 218 540 105 334
Créditeurs - autres ministères et organismes 124 178 22 841
Charges - autres ministères et organismes 1 686 577 1 365 068

8. Information sectorielle

La présentation de l'information sectorielle est fondée sur l'architecture des activités de programme de la Commission . La présentation par secteur est fondée sur les mêmes conventions comptables décrites à la note 2, Sommaire des principales conventions comptables. Le tableau qui suit présente les charges engagées et les revenus générés par les principales activités de programme, par principaux articles de dépenses et types de revenus. Voici les résultats de chaque segment pour la période :

(en dollars) Arbitrage,
médiation et
analyse et
recherche en
matière de rémunération
Services internes 2012 2011
Charges
Salaires et avantages sociaux 6 808 277 2 496 583 9 304 860 9 084 852
Installations 1 768 224 637 738 2 405 962 2 153 653
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 247 258 435 888 1 683 146 1 454 108
Transports et télécommunications 602 156 175 977 778 133 527 544
Locations 266 081 250 611 516 692 496 666
Machinerie et équipement 46 244 200 108 246 352 294 615
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles - 179 829 179 829 104 930
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 116 967 60 230 177 197 172 877
Entretien et réparation d'équipement 18 871 45 661 64 532 88 688
Communications 23 037 29 530 52 567 46 766
Autres charges de fonctionnement 1 999 1 2 000 649 603
Total des charges 10 899 114 4 512 156 15 411 270 15 074 302

Coût de fonctionnement net
10 899 114 4 512 156 15 411 270 15 074 302

9. Modification comptables

En 2011, des modifications ont été apportées à la Norme comptable 1.2 du Conseil du Trésor – États financiers des ministères et organismes pour améliorer la divulgation de l'information financière des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux. Les modifications entrent en vigueur pour les exercices financiers se terminant le 31 mars 2012 et les exercices ultérieurs. Les changements principaux aux états financiers de la Commission sont décrits ci-dessous. Ces modifications ont été appliquées sur une base rétroactive et les informations comparatives pour 2010-2011 ont été redressés.

La dette nette (représentant les passifs moins les actifs financiers) est maintenant présentée dans l'état de la situation financière. Pour accompagner ce changement, la Commission présente maintenant un état de la variation de la dette nette et ne présente plus un état de l'avoir.

Les revenus et les comptes débiteurs connexes sont maintenant présentés avec déduction faite des montants de revenus non disponibles à dépenser à nouveau dans l'état des résultats et de la situation financière nette ministérielle et dans l'état de la situation financière.

Le financement du gouvernement, ainsi que le crédit lié aux services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères, sont maintenant constatés dans l'état des résultats et de la situation financière nette ministérielle sous le « coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement ». Par le passé, la Commission constatait ces transactions directement dans l'état de l'avoir du Canada. Ce changement eu pour incidence de réduire le coût de fonctionnement net après le financement du gouvernement qui se chiffrait à 16 515 176 $ en 2012 (14 600 798 $ en 2011).

(en dollars) 2011
Avant
ajustement
Effet de la
modification
2011 Redressé
État des résultats et de la situation financière nette

Financement du governement
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement - 12 317 506 12 317 506
Variations des montants à recevoir du Trésor - ( 484 096) ( 484 096)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères - 2 767 388 2 767 388