Return to reports

Notes to Future-oriented Financial Statements

Notes to Future-oriented Financial Statements

1. Authority and Objectives

The mandate of the Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board), established in 2005 by the enactment of Public Service Labour Relations Act and successor to the former Public Service Staff Relations Board established in 1967, is to effectively and efficiently administer the systems of collective bargaining and grievance adjudication established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, as well as certain provisions of Part II of the Canada Labour Code concerning occupational safety and health applicable to employees in the Public Service. The Board also administers the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Yukon's Education Labour Relations Act. The Board’s three lines of services are Adjudication, Mediation and Compensation Analysis and Research Services, which are supported by its internal services activities.

2. Significant assumptions

The future-oriented financial statements have been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the department as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  1. The department's activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  3. Allowances for uncollectibility are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  4. Estimated year end information for 2010-2011 is used as the opening position for the 2011-2012 forecasts.

These assumptions are adopted as at February 9, 2011.

3. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2010-2011 and for 2011-2012, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing these financial statements the Board has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and judgements may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and judgements are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented financial statements and the historical financial statements include:

  1. The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  2. Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Board will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

4. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented financial statements have been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board accounting policies stated below, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Siginificant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Parliamentary appropriations - the Board is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. The cash accounting basis is used to recognize transactions affecting parliamentary appropriations. The future-oriented financial statements are based on accrual accounting. Consequently, items presented in the Future-oriented Statement of Operations and the Future-oriented Statement of Financial Position are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 5 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting.
  2. Expenses – are presented on an accrual basis:
    • - Vacation pay and compensatory leave are expensed as the benefits accrue to employees under their respective terms of employment.
    • - Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation, the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans and legal services are reported as operating expenses at their estimated cost.
  3. Employee future benefits
    1. Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer administered by the Government of Canada. The Board's contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the Board to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
    2. Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.
  4. Tangible capital assets - All tangible capital assets plus leasehold improvements having an initial cost of $3,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost. The Board does not capitalize intangibles, works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value. Amortization of capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the tangible capital asset as follows:
    Asset Class Amortization Period
    Furniture and equipment 5 years
    Informatics hardware and software 3 years

5. Parliamentary Appropriations

The Board receives its funding through annual Parliamentary appropriations. Items recognized in the Statement of Operations and the Statement of Financial Position in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Board has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Authorities requested

(in thousands of dollars) Estimated
2011
Forecast
2012
Authorities requested    
Vote 110 - Program expenditures 12,401 12,419
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 25 304 620
Transfer from Treasury Board - Vote 30 109 112
Contributions to employee benefit plan 1,253 1,330
Forecast authorities available 14,067 14,481

Forecast authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2012 are the planned spending amounts presented in the 2011-12 Report on Plans and Priorities. Estimated authorities requested for the year ending March 31 2011 include amounts presented in the 2010-2011 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A), (B) and (C) and estimates of amounts to be allocated at year-end from Treasury Board central votes.

b) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to request authorities:

(in thousands of dollars) Estimated
2011
Forecast
2012
Net cost of operations 16,332 17,680
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:    
Add (Less):    
Services received without charge (2,898) (3,034)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (127) (198)
(Loss) gain on disposal and write-down of tangible capital assets (649) -
Decrease (Increase) in employee severance benefit liability (110) (48)
Increase vacation pay and compensatory leave liability (62) (53)
  12,487 14,346
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting appropriations    
Add (Less):    
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 420 135
  420 135
Forecast current year lapse 1,160 -
Forecast authorities available 14,067 14,481

6. Tangible Capital Assets

Cost
(in thousands of dollars)
Capital asset class Opening Balance Acquisitions Disposal Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 995 83 - 1,078
Furniture and equipment 255 52 - 307
Total 1,250 135 - 1,385

">
Accumulated amortization
(in thousands of dollars)
Capital asset class Opening Balance Acquisitions Disposal Closing Balance
Informatics Hardware and Software 530 142 - 673
Furniture and equipment 102 56 - 159
Total 633 198 - 831

">
Net book value
(in thousands of dollars)
Capital asset class 2011 2012
Informatics Hardware and Software 465 405
Furniture and equipment 153 148
Total 617 554

7. Employee benefits

(a) Pension benefits: The Board's employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

Both the employees and the Board contribute to the cost of the Plan. The forecast expenses are $879,795.57 in 2010-2011 and $933,792.68 in 2011-2012, representing approximately 1.9 times the contributions of employees.

The Board's responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan's sponsor.

(b) Severance benefits: The Board provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about the severance benefits, estimated as at the date of these statements, is as follows:

">
  Estimated Results
2011
Forecast
2012
  (in thousands of dollars)
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 1,526 1,636
Expense for the year 219 160
Expected benefits paid during the year (109) (112)
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 1,636 1,684

8. Related party transactions

The Board is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. The Board enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. In addition, theBoard has an agreement with Department Public Service Staffing Tribunal related to the provision of finance and administration services. During the year, the Board received services which were obtained without charge from other Government departments as presented below.

(a) Common services provided without charge by other government departments

During the year the department is forecasted to receive without charge from other departments, accommodation and the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services without charge have been recognized in the department's future-oriented Statement of Operations as follows:

">
  Estimated Results
2011
Forecast
2012
  (in thousands of dollars)
Accommodation 2,270 2,406
Employer’s contribution to the health and
dental insurance plans
628 628
Total 2,898 3,034

The Government has structured some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes so that one department performs these on behalf of all without charge. The costs of these services, which include payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada and audit services provided by the Office of the Auditor General, are not included as an expense in the department's Statement of Operations.

9. Segmented information

(in thousands of dollars)
  2011 2012
  Total Adjudication, mediation and compensation
analysis and research
Internal services Total
OPERATING EXPENSES
Salaries and employee benefits 9,439 7,150 2,412 9,562
Professional and special services 2,114 2,081 630 2,711
Accommodation 2,270 1,559 846 2,406
Transportation and telecommunications 687 813 203 1,017
Machinery and equipment 368 197 459 656
Rentals 507 452 113 565
Utilities, materials and supplies 170 4 278 282
Amortization of tangible capital assets 127 - 198 198
Repairs and maintenance 85 - 169 169
Communication 101 55 58 113
Other operating expenses 464 - - -
Total Expenses 16,332 12,311 5,368 17,680
NET COST OF OPERATIONS 16,332 12,311 5,368 17,680

Retourner aux rapports

Les états financiers prospectifs

Notes complémentaires aux états financiers prospectifs

1. Autorisations et objectifs

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission), créée en 2005 par l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, succède à l’ancienne Commission créée en 1967 et a pour mandat d’administrer efficacement et avec efficience les systèmes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs établis par la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique et la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, ainsi que certaines dispositions de la Partie II du Code canadien du travail concernant la sécurité et la santé au travail qui sont applicables aux fonctionnaires de l’État. La Commission administre aussi la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon. Les trois lignes de services de la Commission sont l'arbitrage, la médiation et l'analyse et la recherche en matière de rémunération, lesquels sont soutenus par ses activités de services internes.

2. Hypothèses importantes

Les états financiers prospectifs ont été établis en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans du ministère qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  1. Les activités du ministère resteront, pour l’essentiel, pareilles à celle de l’an dernier.
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  3. Les provisions pour irrécouvrabilité sont estimées à la lumière de l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  4. L’information estimative de fin d’exercice pour 2010-2011 représente la situation financière d’ouverture pour établir les prévisions de 2011-2012.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 9 février 2011.

3. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice 2010-2011 et pour 2011-2012, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de ces états financiers, la Commission a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et jugements pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les jugements sont évalués de façon continue et sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre les états financiers prospectifs et les états financiers historiques sont notamment :

  1. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d’immobilisations peuvent influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d’amortissement.
  2. Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en oeuvre plus tard au courant de l’exercice.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, la Commission ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Les états financiers prospectifs ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor énoncé ci-après, lesquelles s'appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et aux résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donne lieu à aucun écart important par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Crédits parlementaires - La Commission est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Les opérations touchant les crédits parlementaires sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse. Alors que les états financiers prospectifs sont établis selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Par conséquent, les postes consignés dans l'état des résultats prospectif et dans l'état de la situation financière prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux correspondant aux crédits parlementaires. La note 5 présente un rapprochement entre les deux.
  2. Charges – Elles sont constatées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice
    • - Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi
    • - Les services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les services juridiques sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.
  3. Avantages sociaux futurs
    1. Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime multiemployeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations de la Commission au régime sont passées en charges dans l’exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l’obligation totale du ministère découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, le ministère n’est pas tenu de verser des cotisations au titre de l’insuffisance actuarielle du régime
    2. Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit aux indemnités de départ prévues dans leurs conventions collectives ou conditions d'emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s’accumule à mesure que les employés rendent les services y donnant droit. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l’aide de l’information tirée des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle au titre des prestations de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement.
  4. Immobilisations corporelles – Toutes les immobilisations corporelles et les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d'au moins 3 000 $ sont comptabilisées à leur coût d'achat. La Commission n'inscrit pas à l'actif les biens incorporels, les oeuvres d'art et les trésors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthétique ou historique.Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’immobilisation, comme suit :
    Catégorie d'immobilisations Période d'amortissement
    Fournitures et équipements 5 ans
    Matériel et logiciels informatique 3 ans

5. Crédits parlementaires

Le ministère reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement sous forme de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats et l'état de la situation financière d'un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans un exercice précédent, pendant l'exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un exercice futur. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du ministère diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochés dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Autorisations demandées

(en milliers de dollars) Estimations
2011
Prévisions
2012
Autorisations demandées    
Crédit 110 - Dépenses du programme 12 401 12 419
Virement du crédit 25 du Conseil du Trésor 304 620
Virement du crédit 30 du Conseil du Trésor 109 112
Contributions au régime d'avantages sociaux des employés 1 253 1 330
Autorisations disponibles 14 067 14 481

Les autorisations demandées prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 représentent les montants des dépenses prévues inscrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2011-12. Les autorisations demandées estimatives pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 comprennent les montants présentés dans le Budget des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses (A), (B) et (C) et les montants estimatifs, à la fin de l’exercice, des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

b) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées :

(en milliers de dollars) Estimations
2011
Prévisions
2012
Coût de fonctionnement net 16 332 17 680
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais n'ayant pas d'incidence sur les autorisations :    
Ajouter (déduire) :    
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (2 898) (3 034)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (127) (198)
(Perte) Gain sur l’aliénation et la dépréciation d’immobilisations corporelles (649) -
Diminution (Augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs (110) (48)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires (62) (53)
  12 487 14 346
Rajustements pour les postes n'ayant pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations :    
Ajouter (déduire) :    
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 420 135
  420 135
Ressources inutilisées prévues pour l’exercice 1 160 -
Autorisations disponibles prévues 14 067 14 481

6. Immobilisations corporelles

">
Cost
(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie d'immobilisations Solde d'ouverture Acquisition Dispositions Solde de clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 995 83 - 1 078
Fournitures et équipement 255 52 - 307
Total 1 250 135 - 1 385

">
Amortissement cumulé
(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie d'immobilisations Solde d'ouverture Amortissement Dispositions Solde de clôture
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 530 142 - 673
Fournitures et équipement 102 56 - 159
Total 633 198 - 831

">
Valeur comptable nette
(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie d'immobilisations 2011 2012
Matériel et logiciels informatiques 465 405
Fournitures et équipement 153 148
Total 617 554

7. Avantages sociaux

(a) Les employés de la Commission participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s’accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l’inflation.

Tant les employés que la Commission versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. Les charges prévues à ce titre s’élèvent à 879 795.57 $ en 2010-2011 et à 933 792.68 $ en 2011-2012, soit environ 1,9 fois les cotisations des employés.

La responsabilité du ministère relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

(b) Indemnités de départ : Le ministère verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l'admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d’avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici des informations sur les indemnités de départ estimatives en date des présents états financiers :

">
  Résultats estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
  (en milliers de dollars)
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, début de l’exercice 1 526 1 636
Charge pour l’exercice 219 160
Indemnités de départ versées prévues pendant l’exercice (109) (112)
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l’exercice 1 636 1 684

8. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, la Commission est apparenté à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État du gouvernement du Canada. La Commission conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. De plus, la Commission a conclu une entente avec le Tribunal de la dotation dans la fonction publique au sujet de la prestation de services financiers et administratifs. Au cours de l’exercice, la Commission a reçu des services courants gratuitement d’autres ministères qui sont décrits ci-dessous.

(a) Services courants fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères

Au cours de l'exercice, le ministère prévoit recevoir gratuitement d'autres ministères des services de locaux, frais juridiques, indemnités pour accident du travail et cotisations de l'employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires. Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l'état des résultats prospectif du ministère :

">
  Résultats estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
  (en milliers de dollars)
Locaux 2 270 2 406
Cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires 628 628
Total 2 898 3 034

Le gouvernement a structuré certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l’efficience et l’efficacité de sorte qu’un seul ministère mène certaines activités au nom de tous sans frais. Les coûts de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d'émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et les services de vérification offerts par le Bureau du vérificateur général ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l'état des résultats du ministère.

9. Informations sectorielles

(en milliers de dollars)
  2011 2012
  Total Arbitrage,
médiation et
analyse et
recherche en
matière de
rémunération
Services internes Total
Charges de fonctionnement
Salaires et avantages sociaux des employés 9 439 7 150 2 412 9 562
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 114 2 081 630 2 711
Locaux 2 270 1 559 846 2 406
Transports et télécommunications 687 813 203 1 017
Machinerie et d’équipement 368 197 459 656
Locations 507 452 113 565
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 170 4 278 282
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles 127 - 198 198
Entretien et réparation 85 - 169 169
Communication 101 55 58 113
Autres charges de fonctionnement 464 - - -
Total – Charges de fonctionnement 16 332 12 311 5 368 17 680
COÛT DE FONCTIONNEMENT NET 16 332 12 311 5 368 17 680