For the Quarter ended December 31 2011

Public Service Staffing Tribunal
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2011


Management Statement for the Quarter Ending December 31, 2011

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Tribunal Mandate

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is an independent, quasi-judicial body that was established with the coming-into-force of the new Public Service Employment Act on December 31, 2005 as part of the new arrangements for staffing recourse. The legislative mandate of the Tribunal is to consider and dispose of complaints dealing with internal appointments, lay-offs, revocation of appointments, and the failure of corrective action ordered by the Tribunal. Under the Act, the Tribunal is also authorized to provide mediation services at any stage of a proceeding.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the department’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Tribunal uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Statement of Authorities

As of December 31, 2011, the total authorities available for use for the year was $235 thousand higher compared to the same quarter of 2010-11. This variance arose from a combination of net increases in Vote 110 - Program expenditures ($205 thousand) and statutory authorities ($30 thousand).

As per the Statement of Authorities, the net increase in Vote 110 - Program expenditures ($205 thousand) is primarily attributable to the amount of the transfer of funds for the operating budget carry-forward. The Tribunal received an amount of $215 thousand in Q1 in fiscal year 2011-12 while it received only $47 thousand in Q2 in fiscal year 2010-11. It is also attributable to a funding variation of $10 thousand in 2011-12 compared to $28 thousand in 2010-11 for retroactive salary payments from collective agreement settlement. Increases were offset by reduction of $21 thousand in 2011-12 and $19 thousand in 2010-11 from the cost-containment measures outlined in Budget 2010. In addition, an amount of $57 thousand was frozen due to a transfer of funding between the operating budget and the salary budget for 2010-2011. The increase in the statutory authorities ($30 thousand) is attributable to a rate change for contributions to employee benefit plans.

Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The Tribunal’s quarterly and year-to-date spending are similar to the previous year. There is an increase of $112 thousand in personnel expenses, primarily attributable to the amount paid to the Tribunal's employees for ratification on severance pay upon renewal of the collective agreement. Rental expenses are lower than last year by $50 thousand due in part to the increase in the number of settlement conference and telephone and video conferencing mediation. Other expenses have had an overall variation of $16 thousand.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is faced with both internal and external risks. The risks that the Tribunal must deal with include the unpredictability of its caseload, an aging case management system that does not meet our needs, the likelihood of greater turnover in its staff after five years of operation, the current review of the PSMA and the reporting burden.

As in other micro-agencies, the added demands of certain government-wide initiatives continue to pose a challenge to the Tribunal's limited resources. In order to fulfill its obligations related to these demands, the Tribunal has developed a strategic plan for the next three years, strengthened its performance measurement framework and increased its information management capacity.

The Tribunal will continue to seek innovative, cost efficient ways of addressing risks. The Tribunal will also continue to look for opportunities to work in collaboration with other Government of Canada organizations to achieve efficiencies to deliver on its business goals. This is aligned with the Government of Canada's priority of reducing the fiscal deficit as announced in Budget 2010 "Leading the Way on Jobs and Growth".

4. Significant Changes to Operations, Personnel and Programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

Approved by:


________________________
Guy Giguère
Chairperson


________________________
Josée Dubois
Chief Financial Officer


Ottawa, Ontario

PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2011

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 110 - Program expenditures 5,120,521 1,029,994 3,041,224
Budgetary statutory authorities 576,919 144,230 432,689
       
Total authorities 5,697,440 1,174,224 3,473,913

Fiscal year 2010-2011 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011 * Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 115 - Program expenditures 4,915,410 985,003 2,985,325
Budgetary statutory authorities 546,807 136,702 410,105
       
Total authorities 5,462,217 1,121,705 3,395,430

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.


PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2011

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 3,782,864 1,052,522 3,071,340
Transportation and telecommunications 516,936 36,862 117,496
Information 95,729 17,820 32,562
Professional and special services 689,247 35,093 144,734
Rentals 402,061 23,992 89,010
Repair and maintenance 19,146 3,842 4,732
Utilities, materials and supplies 76,583 2,164 6,369
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 114,874 1,982 7,992
Other subsidies and payments - (53) (322)
       
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,697,440 1,174,224 3,473,913

Fiscal year 2010-2011 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 4,057,099 954,313 2,958,809
Transportation and telecommunications 272,593 39,836 119,267
Information 49,179 3,482 16,274
Professional and special services 587,339 51,740 145,232
Rentals 165,804 70,026 139,327
Repair and maintenance 25,292 507 757
Utilities, materials and supplies 49,179 1,950 14,526
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 123,650 404 2,471
Other subsidies and payments 132,082 (553) (1,233)
       
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,462,217 1,121,705 3,395,430

Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011

Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011


Compte rendu de la gestion pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2011

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu en parallèle avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Ce rapport a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor dans la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor (CT). Le présent document n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Mandat du Tribunal

Le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique est un organisme indépendant et quasi judiciaire, créé à la suite de l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique le 31 décembre 2005 dans le cadre des nouvelles dispositions de recours en dotation. Le mandat législatif du Tribunal est d’instruire les plaintes et statuer sur elles. Il s'agit de plaintes portant sur les nominations internes, les mises en disponibilité, la révocation des nominations, et l'échec des mesures correctives ordonnées par le Tribunal. En vertu de la Loi, le Tribunal est également autorisée à fournir des services de médiation en tout état de cause.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Tribunal utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Au 31 décembre 2011, le total des autorisations budgétaires utilisables pour l'exercice était de 235 mille dollars supérieur par comparaison au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cet écart découle d'une augmentation nette du crédit 110 - Dépenses du Programme (205 mille dollars) et des autorisations budgétaires législatives (30 mille dollars).

Tel qu'il est indiqué dans l'état des autorisations, l'augmentation nette du crédit 110 - Dépenses du Programme (205 mille dollars) est surtout attribuable au montant provenant du transfert de fonds lié au report du budget de fonctionnement. Le Tribunal a reçu un montant de 215 mille dollars au premier trimestre de l'exercice 2011-2012 alors qu'il n'a reçu que 47 mille dollars au deuxième trimestre de l'exercice 2010-2011. Elle est également attribuable à un écart de financement d’un montant de 10 mille dollars en 2011-2012 – en comparaison de 28 mille dollars en 2010-2011 – destiné à des versements de salaires rétroactifs par suite d'un règlement décidé dans le cadre de la convention collective. Ces augmentation sont compensées par des réductions de 21 mille dollars en 2011-2012 et de 19 mille dollars en 2010-2011 à partir des mesures de compression des coûts contenues dans le Budget 2010. De plus, un montant de 57 mille dollars a été bloqué suite à un transfert de financement entre le budget d'opération et le budget des salaires pour 2010-2011. L'augmentation des autorisations budgétaires législatives (30 mille dollars) est attribuable à un changement de taux pour les cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Les dépenses trimestrielles et cumulatives du Tribunal pour l’exercice courant sont semblables à celles de l’année précédente. Les dépenses liées au personnel ont augmenté de 112 mille dollars notamment en raison des montant payés aux employés de Tribunal relativement à l'entente de principe sur l'indemnité de départ lors du renouvellement de leurs conventions collectives. Les dépenses de location sont inférieures de 50 mille dollars comparativement à l'an dernier. Cette variation est imputable en partie à l'augmentation du nombre de conférences de règlement et de médiations par téléphone et par vidéoconférence. Les autres dépenses ont connues une variation globale de 16 mille dollars.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le Tribunal fait face à des risques internes et externes. Le Tribunal devra notamment composer avec l’imprévisibilité du nombre de plaintes qu'il reçoit, un système de gestion de cas désuet et non conforme à ses besoins, la possibilité d’un roulement accru de son personnel après cinq ans d’opération, l’examen actuel de la LMFP et les exigences en matière de rapports.

Comme c’est le cas pour les autres organismes de très petite taille, les multiples exigences imposées par certaines initiatives pangouvernementales continuent de présenter un défi compte tenu des ressources limitées du Tribunal. Afin de remplir ses obligations, le Tribunal a élaboré un plan stratégique pour les trois prochaines années, renforcé son cadre de mesure du rendement et augmenté sa capacité de gestion de l’information.

Le Tribunal continuera de chercher des moyens novateurs et économiques d’atténuer les risques. Il demeurera également à l’affût d’occasions de collaborer avec d’autres organisations du gouvernement du Canada afin de réaliser des économies dans l’atteinte de ses objectifs opérationnels. Il s’agit de se conformer à la politique de réduction du déficit financier du gouvernement du Canada, priorité annoncée dans le budget de 2010 : « Tracer la voie de la croissance et de l’emploi ».

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n'y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de l'année écoulée.

Approuvé par :


________________________
Guy Giguère
Président


________________________
Josée Dubois
Dirigeant principal des finances


Ottawa, Ontario


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 110 - Dépenses du Programme 5 120 521 1 029 994 3 041 224
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 576 919 144 230 432 689
       
Autorisations totales 5 697 440 1 174 224 3 473 913

Exercice 2010-2011 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 115 - Dépenses du Programme 4 915 410 985 003 2 985 325
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 546 807 136 702 410 105
       
Autorisations totales 5 462 217 1 121 705 3 395 430

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 3 782 864 1 052 522 3 071 340
Transports et télécommunications 516 936 36 862 117 496
Information 95 729 17 820 32 562
Services professionnels et spéciaux 689 247 35 093 144 734
Location 402 061 23 992 89 010
Services de réparation et d'entretien 19 146 3 842 4 732
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 76 583 2 164 6 369
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 114 874 1 982 7 992
Autres subventions et paiements - (53) (322)
       
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 697 440 1 174 224 3 473 913

Exercice 2010-2011 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 4 057 099 954 313 2 958 809
Transports et télécommunications 272 593 39 836 119 267
Information 49 179 3 482 16 274
Services professionnels et spéciaux 587 339 51 740 145 232
Location 165 804 70 026 139 327
Services de réparation et d'entretien 25 292 507 757
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 49 179 1 950 14 526
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 123 650 404 2 471
Autres subventions et paiements 132 082 (553) (1 233)
       
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 462 217 1 121 705 3 395 430