For the Quarter ended December 31, 2012

Public Service Staffing Tribunal
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2012


Management Statement for the Quarter Ending December 31, 2012

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates A as well as Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012). It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Tribunal Mandate

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is an independent, quasi-judicial body that was established with the coming-into-force of the new Public Service Employment Act on December 31, 2005 as part of the new arrangements for staffing recourse. The legislative mandate of the Tribunal is to consider and dispose of complaints dealing with internal appointments, lay-offs, revocation of appointments, and the failure of corrective action ordered by the Tribunal. Under the Act, the Tribunal is also authorized to provide mediation services at any stage of a proceeding.

Detailed information on the Tribunal's authority, mandate and program activities can be found in our Report on Plans and Priorities.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the department's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2012-2013 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-2013, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

The Tribunal uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Return to Top of Page
Top of Page

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Statement of Authorities

As of December 31, 2012, the total authorities available for use for the year have increased by $48 thousand when compared to the same quarter of 2011-12 -- from $5.697 million to $5.745 million. The net increase arose from an increase in Vote 105 - Program expenditures ($11 thousand) and an increase in statutory authorities ($37 thousand).

As per the Statement of Authorities, the net increase in Vote 105 - Program expenditures ($11 thousand) is primarily attributable to a funding reduction of $94 thousand due to a permanent transfer in the operating budget, compensated by an increased amount received for the operating budget carry-forward and the reimbursement of eligible paylist expenditures for severance pay and parental benefits. The increase in the statutory authorities ($37 thousand) is attributable to a rate change for contributions to employee benefit plans.

Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The Tribunal’s quarterly and year-to-date spending are higher by $157 thousand this year compared to last year -- from $3.473 million to $3.630 million. This variance is primarily due to a decrease in personnel expenditures of $42 thousand and to an increase in professional and special services expenditures of $217 thousand. The decrease in personnel expenditures is primarily due to a decrease in the payments for severance pay benefits. The increase in expenditures for professional and special services is mainly due to a timing difference in the accounting of financial transactions related to internal support services provided by other departments and by the investments made by the Tribunal in the implementation of its new case management system. Other expenses have had an overall variation of $18 thousand.

Return to Top of Page
Top of Page

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A for which full supply was released on June 29, 2012 as well as Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012).

The Tribunal is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament. Budget 2010 announced that the operating budgets of departments would be frozen at their 2010-11 levels for the fiscal years 2011-12 and 2012-13 and that departments would not be funded for salary increases resulting from collective agreements in those years. As departments must pay the salary increases to employees, they are expected to find efficiencies within their operating vote to fund these increases. Management is reviewing various options to adjust to this constraint in funding.

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is faced with both internal and external risks. The risks that the Tribunal must deal with include the unpredictability of its caseload, an aging case management system that does not meet our needs, the likelihood of greater turnover in its staff after five years of operation and the reporting burden.

As in other micro-agencies, the added demands of certain government-wide initiatives continue to pose a challenge to the Tribunal's limited resources. In order to fulfill its obligations related to these demands, the Tribunal has developed a strategic plan for the next three years, strengthened its performance measurement framework and increased its information management capacity.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

Although the Tribunal was not directly affected by Budget 2012 measures, it will continue to seek innovative, cost efficient ways of addressing risks. The Tribunal will also continue to look for opportunities to work in collaboration with other Government of Canada organizations to achieve efficiencies to deliver on its business goals. With these changes the Tribunal will continue to contribute to the effective management of human resources to the benefit of federal public service departments and agencies, managers, employees and Canadians at large.

Return to Top of Page
Top of Page

4. Significant Changes to Operations, Personnel and Programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

Approved by:


________________________
Guy Giguère
Chairperson


________________________
Josée Dubois
Chief Financial Officer


Ottawa, Ontario
February 28th, 2013.

PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2012

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 * Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 105 - Program expenditures 5,130,313 1,001,519 3,169,893
Budgetary statutory authorities 614,407 153,602 460,805
Total authorities 5,744,720 1,155,121 3,630,699

Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 110 - Program expenditures 5,119,678 1,029,995 3,041,223
Budgetary statutory authorities 576,918 144,230 432,690
Total authorities 5,696,596 1,174,225 3,473,913

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.


PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2012

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 4,184,515 871,056 3,029,222
Transportation and telecommunications 374,449 44,838 109,006
Information 78,010 13,183 26,999
Professional and special services 436,857 189,821 361,407
Rentals 343,245 32,535 94,660
Repair and maintenance 15,602 144 144
Utilities, materials and supplies 46,806 4,093 9,180
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 93,613 - 1,021
Other subsidies and payments 171,623 (550) (940)
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,744,720 1,155,121 3,630,699

Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 3,782,020 1,052,522 3,071,340
Transportation and telecommunications 516,936 36,863 117,496
Information 95,729 17,820 32,562
Professional and special services 689,247 35,093 144,734
Rentals 402,061 23,992 89,010
Repair and maintenance 19,146 3,842 4,732
Utilities, materials and supplies 76,583 2,164 6,369
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 114,874 1,982 7,992
Other subsidies and payments - (53) (322)
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,696,596 1,174,225 3,473,913

Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012

Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012


Compte rendu de la gestion pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2012

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu en parallèle avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses A, de même qu'avec le Plan d'action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012). Ce rapport a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor dans la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor (CT). Le présent rapport n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification ou d'un examen externe.

Mandat du Tribunal

Le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique est un organisme indépendant et quasi judiciaire, créé à la suite de l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique le 31 décembre 2005 dans le cadre des nouvelles dispositions de recours en dotation. Le mandat législatif du Tribunal est d'instruire les plaintes et statuer sur elles. Il s'agit de plaintes portant sur les nominations internes, les mises en disponibilité, la révocation des nominations, et l'échec des mesures correctives ordonnées par le Tribunal. En vertu de la Loi, le Tribunal est également autorisée à fournir des services de médiation en tout état de cause.

Les renseignements détaillés sur les pouvoirs, le mandat et les activités de programme du Tribunal se retrouvent dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2012-2013. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le Budget 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars, après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l'exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d'empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d'économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux autorisations ministériels seront mises en œuvre par l'intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans les Budgets principaux des dépenses ultérieurs déposés au Parlement.

Le Tribunal utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Au 31 décembre 2012, le total des autorisations budgétaires utilisables pour l'exercice a augmenté de 48 mille dollars en comparaison au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, passant de 5,697 millions de dollars à 5,745 millions de dollars. Cette hausse nette découle d'une augmentation du crédit 105 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (11 mille dollars) et d'une augmentation des autorisations budgétaires législatives (37 mille dollars).

Tel qu'il est indiqué dans l'état des autorisations, la hausse nette du crédit 105 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (11 mille dollars) est principalement imputable à une diminution du financement d'un montant de 94 mille dollars résultant d'un transfert permanent du budget de fonctionnement. En contrepartie, elle est attribuable à l'augmentation du montant provenant du transfert de fonds lié au report du budget de fonctionnement et le remboursement des dépenses admissibles au chapitre de la rémunération pour les indemnités de départ et de congé parental. L'augmentation des autorisations budgétaires législatives (37 mille dollars) est due à un changement de taux pour les cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Les dépenses cumulatives du Tribunal pour l'exercice courant sont plus élevées de 157 mille dollars cette année comparativement à celles de l'année précédente, passant de 3,473 millions de dollars à 3,630 millions de dollars. Cette hausse est essentiellement liée à la diminution des dépenses salariales de 42 mille dollars et à l’augmentation des dépenses pour les services professionnels et spéciaux de 217 mille dollars. La diminution des dépenses de personnel de 42 mille dollars est principalement attribuable à une diminution des indemnités de départ qui ont été versées. La hausse au niveau des dépenses pour les services professionnels et spéciaux est essentiellement imputable à un décalage, lors de l'exercice précédent, dans la comptabilisation de transactions financières liée aux services de soutien internes fournis par d’autres ministères ainsi que par les investissements réalisés par le Tribunal dans la mise en œuvre de son nouveau système de gestion des cas. Les autres dépenses ont eu une variation globale de 18 mille dollars.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Ce rapport financier trimestriel reflète les résultats de l'exercice courant relativement au Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), pour lequel la totalité des crédits a été octroyée le 29 juin 2012, de même qu'avec le Plan d'action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012).

Le Tribunal est financé par l'entremise de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, tout changement apporté au financement approuvé par le Parlement a des répercussions sur ses activités. Dans le Budget 2010, il a été annoncé que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères seraient bloqués aux niveaux de 2010-2011 pour les années 2011-2012 et 2012-2013, et que les ministères ne recevraient pas de fonds pour couvrir les augmentations salariales négociées dans les conventions collectives pour ces années-là. Puisque les ministères doivent payer les augmentations salariales des employés, on s'attend à ce qu'ils trouvent des moyens de réaliser des économies au sein de leur crédit de fonctionnement pour financer ces augmentations. La direction examine diverses options pour s'ajuster aux contraintes de financement.

Le Tribunal fait face à des risques internes et externes. Le Tribunal devra notamment composer avec l'imprévisibilité du nombre de plaintes qu'il reçoit, un système de gestion de cas désuet et non conforme à ses besoins, la possibilité d'un roulement accru de son personnel après cinq ans d'opération et les exigences en matière de rapports.

Comme c'est le cas pour les autres organismes de très petite taille, les multiples exigences imposées par certaines initiatives pangouvernementales continuent de présenter un défi compte tenu des ressources limitées du Tribunal. Afin de remplir ses obligations, le Tribunal a élaboré un plan stratégique pour les trois prochaines années, renforcé son cadre de mesure du rendement et augmenté sa capacité de gestion de l'information.

Mise en oeuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d'économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui seront mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Bien que le Tribunal n'était pas directement touché par les mesures d'économies annoncées dans le Budget 2012, il continuera de chercher des moyens novateurs et économiques d'atténuer les risques. Le Tribunal demeurera également à l'affût d'occasions de collaborer avec d'autres organisations du gouvernement du Canada afin de réaliser des économies dans l'atteinte de ses objectifs opérationnels. Ces changements aideront le Tribunal à continuer de contribuer à la gestion efficace des ressources humaines au profit de la fonction publique fédérale et des sociétés d'État, des gestionnaires, des employés et des Canadiens en général.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n'y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de l'année écoulée.

Approuvé par :


________________________
Guy Giguère
Président


________________________
Josée Dubois
Dirigeante principale des finances


Ottawa, Ontario
Le 28 février 2013


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 105 - Dépenses du Programme 5 130 313 1 001 519 3 169 893
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 614 407 153 602 460 805
Autorisations totales 5 744 720 1 155 121 3 630 699

Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 110 - Dépenses du Programme 5 119 678 1 029 995 3 041 223
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 576 918 144 230 432 690
Autorisations totales 5 696 596 1 174 225 3 473 913

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 4 184 515 871 056 3 029 222
Transports et télécommunications 374 449 44 838 109 006
Information 78 010 13 183 26 999
Services professionnels et spéciaux 436 857 189 821 361 407
Location 343 245 32 535 94 660
Services de réparation et d'entretien 15 602 144 144
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 46 806 4 093 9 180
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 93 613 - 1 021
Autres subventions et paiements 171 623 (550) (940)
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 744 720 1 155 121 3 630 699

Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 3 782 020 1 052 522 3 071 340
Transports et télécommunications 516 936 36 863 117 496
Information 95 729 17 820 32 562
Services professionnels et spéciaux 689 247 35 093 144 734
Location 402 061 23 992 89 010
Services de réparation et d'entretien 19 146 3 842 4 732
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 76 583 2 164 6 369
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 114 874 1 982 7 992
Autres subventions et paiements - (53) (322)
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 696 596 1 174 225 3 473 913