For the Quarter ended June 30 2011

Public Service Staffing Tribunal
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2011


Management Statement for the Quarter Ending June 30, 2011

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Tribunal Mandate

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is an independent, quasi-judicial body that was established with the coming-into-force of the new Public Service Employment Act on December 31, 2005 as part of the new arrangements for staffing recourse. The legislative mandate of the Tribunal is to consider and dispose of complaints dealing with internal appointments, layoffs, revocation of appointments, and the failure of corrective action ordered by the Tribunal. Under the Act, the Tribunal is also authorized to provide mediation services at any stage of a proceeding.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the department’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Tribunal uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Statement of Authorities

As of June 30, 2011, the total authorities available for use for the year have increased by $233 thousand when compared to the same quarter of 2010-11 -- from $5.463 million to $5.696 million. The net increase arose from a combination of increases in Vote 110 - Program expenditures ($203 thousand) and statutory authorities (30 thousand).

As per the Statement of Authorities, the net increase in Vote 110 - Program expenditures ($203 thousand) is primarily attributable to a timing difference in the approval of a transfer of funds for the operating budget carry-forward. The Tribunal received that funding, in the amount of $215 thousand, in Q1 in fiscal year 2011-12, while it received the funding only in Q2 in fiscal year 2010-11. It is also attributable to funding increase of $8 thousand for retroactive salary payments from collective agreement settlement. Increases were offset by reduction of $21 thousand in 2011-12 from the cost-containment measures outlined in Budget 2010. The increase in the statutory authorities ($30 thousand) is attributable to a rate change for contributions to employee benefit plans.

Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The Tribunal's quarterly and year-to-date spending are very similar to the previous year. The lack of significant difference is mainly due to the number of complaints received. A stabilization is apparent over the last four years with an average of 773 complaints per year. The Tribunal held a total of 16 hearings during the first quarter of 2011-2012 compared to 13 hearings in the first quarter of 2010-2011.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is faced with both internal and external risks. The risks that the Tribunal must deal with include the unpredictability of its caseload, an aging case management system that does not meet our needs, the likelihood of greater turnover in its staff after five years of operation, the current review of the Public Service Modernization Act and the reporting burden.

As in other micro-agencies, the added demands of certain government-wide initiatives continue to pose a challenge to the Tribunal's limited resources. In order to fulfill its obligations related to these demands, the Tribunal has developed a strategic plan for the next three years, strengthened its performance measurement framework and increased its information management capacity.

The Tribunal will continue to seek innovative, cost efficient ways of addressing risks. The Tribunal will also continue to look for opportunities to work in collaboration with other Government of Canada organizations to achieve efficiencies to deliver on its business goals. This is aligned with the Government of Canada's priority of reducing the fiscal deficit as announced in Budget 2010 "Leading the Way on Jobs and Growth".

4. Significant Changes to Operations, Personnel and Programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

Approved by:


________________________
Guy Giguère
Chairperson


________________________
Josée Dubois
Chief Financial Officer


Ottawa, Ontario
August 29, 2011


PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2011

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 110 - Program expenditures 5,119,678 967,410 967,410
Budgetary statutory authorities 576,918 144,230 144,230
       
Total authorities 5,696,596 1,111,640 1,111,640

Fiscal year 2010-2011 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 115 - Program expenditures 4,916,511 1,004,682 1,004,682
Budgetary statutory authorities 546,807 136,702 136,702
       
Total authorities 5,463,318 1,141,384 1,141,384

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.



PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2011

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 3,782,020 994,364 994,364
Transportation and telecommunications 516,936 38,570 38,570
Information 95,729 6,260 6,260
Professional and special services 689,247 47,546 47,546
Rentals 402,061 19,212 19,212
Repair and maintenance 19,146 303 303
Utilities, materials and supplies 76,583 887 887
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 114,874 4,545 4,545
Other subsidies and payments - (47) (47)
       
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,696,596 1,111,640 1,111,640

Fiscal year 2010-2011 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 3,763,318 1,031,825 1,031,825
Transportation and telecommunications 330,000 46,028 46,028
Information 60,000 4,419 4,419
Professional and special services 710,000 27,516 27,516
Rentals 200,000 25,853 25,853
Repair and maintenance 30,000 250 250
Utilities, materials and supplies 60,000 4,764 4,764
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 150,000 942 942
Other subsidies and payments 160,000 (213) (213)
       
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,463,318 1,141,384 1,141,384

Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011


Compte rendu de la gestion pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2011

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu en parallèle avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A). Ce rapport a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor dans la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor (CT). Le présent document n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Mandat du Tribunal

Le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique est un organisme indépendant et quasi judiciaire, créé à la suite de l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique le 31 décembre 2005 dans le cadre des nouvelles dispositions de recours en dotation. Le mandat législatif du Tribunal est d’instruire les plaintes et statuer elles. Il s'agit de plaintes portant sur les nominations internes, les mises en disponibilité, la révocation des nominations, et l'échec des mesures correctives ordonnées par le Tribunal. En vertu de la Loi, le Tribunal est également autorisé à fournir des services de médiation en tout état de cause.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Tribunal utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel.Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Au 30 juin 2011, le total des autorisations budgétaires utilisables pour l'exercice a augmenté de 233 mille dollars en comparaison au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, passant de 5,463 millions de dollars à 5,696 millions de dollars. Cette hausse nette découle d'une augmentation du crédit 110 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (203 mille dollars) et des autorisations budgétaires législatives (30 mille dollars).

Tel qu'il est indiqué dans l'état des autorisations, l'augmentationnette du crédit 110 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (203 mille dollars) est surtout attribuable à un décalage dans l'approbation d'un transfert de fonds lié au report du budget de fonctionnement. Le Tribunal a reçu ce financement d'un montant de 215 mille dollars au premier trimestre pour l'exercice 2011-2012 alors qu'il n'a reçu ce financement qu'au deuxième trimestre pour l'exercice 2010-2011. Elle est également attribuable a une augmentation de financement d'un montant de 8 mille dollars destinée à des versements de salaires rétroactifs pour certains employés en raison de la décision relative à la convention collective. L'augmentation est compensée par une réduction de 21 mille dollars en 2011-2012 à partir des mesures de compression des coûts contenues dans le Budget 2010. L'augmentation des autorisations budgétaires législatives (30 mille dollars) est attribuable à un changement de taux pour les cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Les dépenses cumulatives du Tribunal pour l'exercice courant sont très semblables à celles de l'année précédente. L'absence de différence significative est surtout attribuable au nombre de plaintes reçues. Le nombre de plaintes s'est quelque peu stabilisé au cours des quatre dernières années à une moyenne annuelle de 773. Le Tribunal a tenu un total de 16 audiences au cours du premier trimestre de 2011-2012, comparativement à 13 audiences au premier trimestre de 2010-2011.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le Tribunal fait face à des risques internes et externes. Le Tribunal devra notamment composer avec l’imprévisibilité du nombre de plaintes qu'il reçoit, un système de gestion de cas désuet et non conforme à ses besoins, la possibilité d’un roulement accru de son personnel après cinq années d'activités, l’examen actuel de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique et les exigences en matière de rapports.

Comme c’est le cas pour les autres organismes de très petite taille, les multiples exigences imposées par certaines initiatives pangouvernementales continuent de présenter un défi compte tenu des ressources limitées du Tribunal. Afin de remplir ses obligations, le Tribunal a élaboré un plan stratégique pour les trois prochaines années, renforcé son cadre de mesure du rendement et augmenté sa capacité de gestion de l’information.

Le Tribunal continuera de chercher des moyens novateurs et économiques d’atténuer les risques. Il demeurera également à l’affût d’occasions de collaborer avec d’autres organisations du gouvernement du Canada afin de réaliser des économies dans l’atteinte de ses objectifs opérationnels. Il s’agit de se conformer à la politique de réduction du déficit financier du gouvernement du Canada, priorité annoncée dans le budget de 2010 : « Tracer la voie de la croissance et de l’emploi ».

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n'y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes durant l'année écoulée.

Approuvé par :


________________________
Guy Giguère
Président


________________________
Josée Dubois
Dirigeant principal des finances


Ottawa, Ontario
Le 29 août 2011


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 110 - Dépenses du Programme 5 119 678 967 410 967 410
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 576 918 144 230 144 230
       
Autorisations totales 5 696 596 1 111 640 1 111 640

Exercice 2010-2011 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 115 - Dépenses du Programme 4 916 511 1 004 682 1 004 682
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 546 807 136 702 136 702
       
Autorisations totales 5 463 318 1 141 384 1 141 384

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 Juin 2011

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 3 782 020 994 364 994 364
Transports et télécommunications 516 936 38 570 38 570
Information 95 729 6 260 6 260
Services professionnels et spéciaux 689 247 47 546 47 546
Location 402 061 19 212 19 212
Services de réparation et d'entretien 19 146 303 303
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 76 583 887 887
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 114 874 4 545 4 545
Autres subventions et paiements - (47) (47)
       
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 696 596 1 111 640 1 111 640

Exercice 2010-2011 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 3 763 318 1 031 825 1 031 825
Transports et télécommunications 330 000 46 028 46 028
Information 60 000 4 419 4 419
Services professionnels et spéciaux 710 000 27 516 27 516
Location 200 000 25 853 25 853
Services de réparation et d'entretien 30 000 250 250
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 60 000 4 764 4 764
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 150 000 942 942
Autres subventions et paiements 160 000 (213) (213)
       
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 463 318 1 141 384 1 141 384