For the Quarter ended September 30, 2013

Public Service Staffing Tribunal
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended September 30, 2013


Management Statement for the Quarter Ending September 30, 2013

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates A as well as Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012). It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Tribunal Mandate

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is an independent, quasi-judicial body that was established with the coming-into-force of the new Public Service Employment Act on December 31, 2005 as part of the new arrangements for staffing recourse. The legislative mandate of the Tribunal is to consider and dispose of complaints dealing with internal appointments, lay-offs, revocation of appointments, and the failure of corrective action ordered by the Tribunal. Under the Act, the Tribunal is also authorized to provide mediation services at any stage of a proceeding.

Detailed information on the Tribunal's authority, mandate and program activities can be found in our Report on Plans and Priorities.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the department's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2013-2014 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-2013, frozen allotments were established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In 2013-2014, the changes to departmental authorities were reflected in the 2013-2014 Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

The Tribunal uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Statement of Authorities

As of September 30, 2013, the total authorities available for use for the year have decreased by $222 thousand when compared to the same quarter of 2012-13. The net decrease is primarily attributable to the amount of funds for the operating budget carry-forward. The Tribunal received an amount of $239 thousand in the second quarter of fiscal year 2012-13 while it had not received any amount for fiscal year 2013-14. It is also attributable to an increase in Vote 105 - Program expenditures of $20 thousand for funding increases from collective agreement settlements and a decrease in statutory authorities of $3 thousand attributable to a rate change for contributions to employee benefit plans.

Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The Tribunal’s quarterly and year-to-date spending are lower by $57 thousand this year compared to last year. This variance is primarily due to a decrease in personnel expenditures of $122 thousand, an increase in professional and special services expenditures of $123 thousand and a decrease of $34 thousand in rental expenditures. The decrease in personnel expenditures is primarily due to a reduction in personnel through attrition. The increase in expenditures for professional and special services is mainly due to the investments made by the Tribunal in the implementation of its new case management system. The decrease of rental expenditures is primarily attributable to the timing in the renewal of software licenses and a greater use of teleconferencing by mediation services, which has led to a reduction in the need for room rentals. Other expenses have had an overall variation of $24 thousand.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A for which full supply was released on June 20, 2013 as well as Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012).

The Tribunal is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament. Budget 2010 announced that the operating budgets of departments and agencies would be frozen at their 2010-11 levels for fiscal years 2011-12 and 2012-13. Consequently, increases in expenditures related to personnel costs and other operating expenditures have to be managed within the allocated budget. The Tribunal managed the impact of these measures mainly through attrition due to retirements or departures for other reasons.

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is faced with both internal and external risks. The risks that the Tribunal must deal with include the unpredictability of its caseload, an aging case management system that does not meet our needs, the likelihood of greater turnover in its staff after five years of operation and the reporting burden.

As in other micro-agencies, the added demands of certain government-wide initiatives continue to pose a challenge to the Tribunal's limited resources. In order to fulfill its obligations related to these demands, the Tribunal has developed a strategic plan for the next three years, strengthened its performance measurement framework and increased its information management capacity.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

Although the Tribunal was not directly affected by Budget 2012 measures, it will continue to seek innovative, cost efficient ways of addressing risks. The Tribunal will also continue to look for opportunities to work in collaboration with other Government of Canada organizations to achieve efficiencies to deliver on its business goals. With these changes the Tribunal will continue to contribute to the effective management of human resources to the benefit of federal public service departments and agencies, managers, employees and Canadians at large.

4. Significant Changes to Operations, Personnel and Programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

Approved by:


________________________
Guy Giguère
Chairperson


________________________
Josée Dubois
Chief Financial Officer


Ottawa, Ontario
November 29, 2013


PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended September 30, 2013

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2013-2014 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014 * Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 105 - Program expenditures 4,832,445 1,149,128 2,112,897
Budgetary statutory authorities 611,000 152,750 305,500
Total authorities 5,443,445 1,301,878 2,418,397

Fiscal year 2012-2013 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 * Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 105 - Program expenditures 5,051,150 1,060,092 2,168,375
Budgetary statutory authorities 614,407 153,602 307,203
Total authorities 5,665,557 1,213,694 2,475,578

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.



PUBLIC SERVICE STAFFING TRIBUNAL
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended September 30, 2013

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2013-2014 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 4,122,495 1,086,749 2,035,823
Transportation and communications 264,190 17,481 44,952
Information 66,048 2,585 4,678
Professional and special services 693,499 178,814 294,859
Rentals 211,352 10,016 28,266
Repair and maintenance 6,605
Utilities, materials and supplies 26,419 3,563 7,035
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 39,629 2,408 2,523
Other subsidies and payments 13,208 261 261
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,443,445 1,301,878 2,418,397

Fiscal year 2012-2013 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 4,105,352 994,509 2,158,165
Transportation and communications 374,449 28,414 64,168
Information 78,010 8,636 13,816
Professional and special services 436,857 121,353 171,586
Rentals 343,245 56,855 62,125
Repair and maintenance 15,602
Utilities, materials and supplies 46,806 3,151 5,087
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 93,613 736 1,021
Other subsidies and payments 171,623 40 (390)
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,665,557 1,213,694 2,475,578

Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013

Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013


Compte rendu de la gestion pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 septembre 2013

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu en parallèle avec le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses A, de même qu'avec le Plan d'action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012). Ce rapport a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor dans la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor (CT). Le présent rapport n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification ou d'un examen externe.

Mandat du Tribunal

Le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique est un organisme indépendant et quasi judiciaire, créé à la suite de l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique le 31 décembre 2005 dans le cadre des nouvelles dispositions de recours en dotation. Le mandat législatif du Tribunal est d'instruire les plaintes et statuer sur elles. Il s'agit de plaintes portant sur les nominations internes, les mises en disponibilité, la révocation des nominations, et l'échec des mesures correctives ordonnées par le Tribunal. En vertu de la Loi, le Tribunal est également autorisée à fournir des services de médiation en tout état de cause.

Les renseignements détaillés sur les pouvoirs, le mandat et les activités de programme du Tribunal se retrouvent dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2013-2014. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le Budget 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars, après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels ont été établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. En 2013-2014, les modifications aux autorisations ministérielles ont été mises en œuvre par l’intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et ont été reflétées dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2013-2014 déposé au Parlement.

Le Tribunal utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Au 30 septembre 2013, le total des autorisations budgétaires utilisables pour l'exercice a diminué de 222 mille dollars en comparaison au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cette baisse nette est surtout attribuable au montant provenant du transfert de fonds lié au report du budget de fonctionnement. Le Tribunal a reçu un montant de 239 mille dollars au deuxième trimestre de l'exercice 2012-2013 alors qu'il n'a reçu aucun montant pour l'exercice 2013-2014. La différence découle aussi d'une augmentation du crédit 105 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement de 20 mille dollars attribuable à une augmentation de financement en raison d’ententes liées aux conventions collectives et d'une diminution des autorisations budgétaires législatives de 3 mille dollars due à un changement de taux pour les cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Les dépenses cumulatives du Tribunal pour l'exercice courant sont plus basses de 57 mille dollars cette année comparativement à celles de l'année précédente. Cette baisse est essentiellement liée à la diminution des dépenses salariales de 122 mille dollars, à l’augmentation des dépenses pour les services professionnels et spéciaux de 123 mille dollars et à la diminution des dépenses de location de 34 milles dollars. La diminution des dépenses de personnel est principalement attribuable à une réduction de personnel grâce à l’attrition. La hausse au niveau des dépenses pour les services professionnels et spéciaux est essentiellement imputable aux investissements réalisés par le Tribunal dans la mise en œuvre de son nouveau système de gestion des cas. La diminution des dépenses de location est principalement attribuable à un décalage du renouvellement des licences annuelles de logiciels et une plus grande utilisation de la téléconférence par les services de médiation, qui a conduit à une réduction de la nécessité pour la location de salles. Les autres dépenses ont eu une variation globale de 24 mille dollars.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Ce rapport financier trimestriel reflète les résultats de l'exercice courant relativement au Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), pour lequel la totalité des crédits a été octroyée le 20 juin 2013, de même qu'avec le Plan d'action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012).

Le Tribunal est financé par l'entremise de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, tout changement apporté au financement approuvé par le Parlement a des répercussions sur ses activités. Dans le Budget 2010, il a été annoncé que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères seraient bloqués aux niveaux de 2010-2011 pour les années 2011-2012 et 2012-2013. En conséquence, les augmentations de dépenses liées aux frais de personnel et autres frais de fonctionnement doivent être gérées à l'intérieur du budget alloué. Le Tribunal a géré les répercussions de ces mesures, principalement grâce à l’attrition en raison de départs à la retraite.

Le Tribunal fait face à des risques internes et externes. Le Tribunal devra notamment composer avec l'imprévisibilité du nombre de plaintes qu'il reçoit, un système de gestion de cas désuet et non conforme à ses besoins, la possibilité d'un roulement accru de son personnel après cinq ans d'opération et les exigences en matière de rapports.

Comme c'est le cas pour les autres organismes de très petite taille, les multiples exigences imposées par certaines initiatives pangouvernementales continuent de présenter un défi compte tenu des ressources limitées du Tribunal. Afin de remplir ses obligations, le Tribunal a élaboré un plan stratégique pour les trois prochaines années, renforcé son cadre de mesure du rendement et augmenté sa capacité de gestion de l'information.

Mise en oeuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d'économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui seront mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Bien que le Tribunal n'était pas directement touché par les mesures d'économies annoncées dans le Budget 2012, il continuera de chercher des moyens novateurs et économiques d'atténuer les risques. Le Tribunal demeurera également à l'affût d'occasions de collaborer avec d'autres organisations du gouvernement du Canada afin de réaliser des économies dans l'atteinte de ses objectifs opérationnels. Ces changements aideront le Tribunal à continuer de contribuer à la gestion efficace des ressources humaines au profit de la fonction publique fédérale et des sociétés d'État, des gestionnaires, des employés et des Canadiens en général.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n'y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de l'année écoulée.

Approuvé par :


________________________
Guy Giguère
Président


________________________
Josée Dubois
Dirigeante principale des finances


Ottawa, Ontario
Le 29 novembre 2013


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 105 - Dépenses du Programme 4 832 445 1 149 128 2 112 897
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 611 000 152 750 305 500
Autorisations totales 5 443 445 1 301 878 2 418 397

Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 105 - Dépenses du Programme 5 051 150 1 060 092 2 168 375
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 614 407 153 602 307 203
Autorisations totales 5 665 557 1 213 694 2 475 578

* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre


TRIBUNAL DE LA DOTATION DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 4 122 495 1 086 749 2 035 823
Transports et communications 264 190 17 481 44 952
Information 66 048 2 585 4 678
Services professionnels et spéciaux 693 499 178 814 294 859
Location 211 352 10 016 28 266
Services de réparation et d'entretien 6 605
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 26 419 3 563 7 035
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 39 629 2 408 2 523
Autres subventions et paiements 13 208 261 261
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 443 445 1 301 878 2 418 397

Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 4 105 352 994 509 2 158 165
Transports et communications 374 449 28 414 64 168
Information 78 010 8 636 13 816
Services professionnels et spéciaux 436 857 121 353 171 586
Location 343 245 56 855 62 125
Services de réparation et d'entretien 15 602
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 46 806 3 151 5 087
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 93 613 736 1 021
Autres subventions et paiements 171 623 40 (390)
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 665 557 1 213 694 2 475 578