Complaints Under Section 133 of the Canada Labour Code

Introduction

The purpose of this guide is to provide parties representing themselves in Canada Labour Code (the Code) proceedings with information on the process for hearings before the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (the FPSLREB). This guide is only an informal tool, which should be used in conjunction with Part 3 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA) and Part II of the Code. These Acts can be accessed on the Department of Justice’s Web site at http://laws.justice.gc.ca, or on the FPSLREB's Web site at fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca, under Legislation and Forms.

General information

What is the FPSLREB?

The FPSLREB is an independent quasi-judicial tribunal responsible for administering the complaint system under the Code within the federal public service. Its commitment to resolve labour relations issues in an impartial manner benefits Canadians through the smooth delivery of government programs and services.

Who chairs the hearings?

Hearings relating to complaints are heard by the FPSLREB, sitting in a panel of one or more members.

Filing a complaint

What types of complaints can I file before the FPSLREB?

The FPSLREB will inquire into complaints made pursuant to section 133 of the Code (OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY).

More specifically, section 133 of the Code requires the FPSLREB to inquire into complaints where it is alleged that the employer has taken a measure described in section 147 of the Code, which are measures:

  • against an employee’s participation in a proceeding engaged under Part II of the Code or;
  • against an employee’s action in accordance or in furtherance of Part II of the Code.

Can I represent myself?

Employees wishing to file a complaint before the FPSLREB under section 133 of the Code may represent themselves without help from a bargaining agent or lawyer.

How do I file a complaint before the FPSLREB?

Employees wishing to file a complaint under section 133 of the Code must submit a written complaint to the FPSLREB, outlining the measures described in section 147 of the Code that the employer has taken against them.

Form 26 is available for filing a complaint before the FPSLREB under Part II of the Code. It is available on the FPSLREB’s Web site at:

http://fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca/forms/pslra/form26.pdf

The written complaint should include (1) the name, address, and phone and fax numbers of the complainant, (2) the name and address of the respondent, (3) a short summary of the measures taken by the employer that resulted in the complaint, specifying dates and the names of the persons in question, (4) the steps taken by the complainant or on his/her behalf to rectify the situation, (5) the corrective action or order requested under article 134 of the Code and, (6) other matters relevant to the complaint.

What happens after a complaint has been filed with the FPSLREB?

Opening the file

When the FPSLREB receives a complaint, a letter is sent to each of the parties acknowledging receipt of the complaint and advising the respondent of its opportunity to reply. The acknowledgement letter also provides the parties with information required for continuing the process, such as the FPSLREB’s file number, and instructions on the next step. It is important that the FPSLREB’s file number be used on all subsequent documents and correspondence.

Based on the persons named in the complaint, the FPSLREB will create a list of parties, intervenors and other persons who may be affected by the proceeding (the “Board’s list”). The FPSLREB will send copies of the complaint to the persons whose names appear on this list. The FPSLREB will also send to everybody on that list a copy of the Board’s list.

  • Please note that any document submitted subsequently to the complaint shall be filed with the FPSLREB. The party filing a subsequent document (except for Applications for a summons) shall provide a copy to every person whose name appears on the Board’s list, unless he or she has notified the FPSLREB in writing that he or she does not wish to receive a copy of subsequent documents.

Mediation

Every complaint is automatically referred to mediation; however, mediation remains voluntary. If a party declines mediation in writing, or if the conflict cannot be resolved through this approach, the Chairperson may refer the dispute to a formal hearing.

A party has 15 calendar days to notify in writing the FPSLREB of its intention not to participate in mediation. A party’s notice of intention is a subsequent document and must be copied to every person whose name appears on the Board’s list.

Even if the parties refuse mediation at the outset, they may at any point request that the matter be referred to mediation. If the parties jointly file with the Executive Director a request to have the conflict referred to mediation, the complaint will in most cases be immediately put in abeyance and a mediation date scheduled.

Preparing for the hearing

Introduction

As a rule, the process for a hearing before the FPSLREB is the same as that before a court, though somewhat less formal. The parties may file supporting documents as evidence and examine and cross-examine witnesses. Hearings give them an opportunity to present their arguments in order to establish their allegations.

Scheduling the hearing

The FPSLREB usually tentatively schedules hearing dates four months in advance. The parties will be contacted to confirm their availability.

Notice of hearing

When the Chairperson refers a complaint to a hearing, a notice of hearing is sent to each person whose name appears on the Board’s list, informing him or her of the date, time and place where the hearing will be held. A notice of hearing will normally be sent out one month prior to the hearing date.

Deferral and withdrawal

A hearing, for exceptional circumstances, may be postponed if either or both parties believe that they are unable to attend. In such a case, a postponement must be requested in writing with the FPSLREB, and the reasoning for the request must be provided. The requesting party must send a copy of the request to all persons whose names appear on the Board’s list. Only in exceptional circumstances (e.g. a serious injury on the morning of the hearing) can the request be made with the FPSLREB panel.

The opinion of the other party will be obtained before a decision is made whether to postpone the hearing and all persons whose names appear on the Board’s list will be informed of that decision.

Sometimes, the parties settle the complaint among themselves before the hearing. It is then up to the complainant to inform in writing the FPSLREB that the dispute has been resolved and is being withdrawn, or is in the process of being resolved. If the hearing has started or is about to start (on that same day), the parties should inform the FPSLREB panel who is hearing the case about the withdrawal before informing the FPSLREB in writing.

English or French?

Hearings may take place in English or French. However, they are normally held in the language in which the complaint was filed. Simultaneous interpretation services, when needed, are provided by the FPSLREB, but the parties must notify in writing the Executive Director of such a requirement at least three weeks ahead of time. The FPSLREB assumes all of the costs associated with this service.

At the written request of the complainant and with sufficient notice, the language of the hearing can be other than the language of the complaint (i.e. the language in which it was filed).

Witnesses

A party that wants to call a witness to testify and thinks that the witness will attend only if legally required to do so can request (in writing and in detail) a summons. It is up to this party to explain why this witness is essential to the presentation of its case. If the FPSLREB issues a summons, the party that intends to summon the witness must inform the witness that he or she is being called to testify at a hearing by serving him or her with the document sufficiently in advance of the hearing. All costs related to the service of a summons are paid by the party requesting the summons.

Furthermore, witnesses who are summoned by a party are entitled to compensation if they attend the hearing (see section 41 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board Act). It is up to the party that summoned them to pay this compensation. The party must ensure that the amount is equal to that to which the witnesses would be entitled if summoned to attend before the Federal Court.

As well, the party that summons a witness must pay ahead of time, where applicable and in accordance with the Federal Courts Rules, any travel expenses that the witness may incur.

Special needs

The parties are responsible for notifying in writing the FPSLREB sufficiently in advance of any needs or services that they will require before or during the hearing (for instance, that the building where the hearing is to take place be accessible to people with mobility disabilities).

Technical and procedural issues

Recording

The hearings are not normally recorded, and no minutes are prepared. Hence, it is important that the parties take notes. The FPSLREB panel will however take notes of the evidence and submissions. The notes taken by the FPSLREB panel are not accessible by the parties or the general public.

Swearing an oath

A witness who is called to testify at a hearing must swear an oath or solemnly affirm to tell the truth for his/her testimony to be admitted as evidence. Individuals asked to testify may swear on the Bible or another sacred text or object, or promise to tell the truth.

Please advise the FPSLREB in writing at least two weeks in advance if a specific sacred text is required for the hearing. Witnesses may also bring their own sacred text or object.

Failure to attend

If a person fails to attend a hearing or any subsequent session of that hearing, the FPSLREB panel may proceed with the hearing and decide the matter without further notice to that person.

Objections

If a party raises an objection at the hearing, the FPSLREB panel will ask the other party for its position on the objection. It will then give the objecting party an opportunity to respond to the other party’s position before rendering a decision on that matter. The decision on some objections may be reserved by the FPSLREB panel and dealt with in the final decision.

Applications

An application may be made to the FPSLREB panel at a hearing to have it render a decision on an issue concerning the procedure which does not touch on the substance of the case. An application may be presented in writing or, more commonly, orally at the hearing. When a party files such an application, it must provide its reasons for doing so. The other party then provides its position on the reasons, to which the party making the application then responds.

For instance, an application could be made to have the following day’s hearing start later than indicated on the notice of hearing.

If one of the parties contests the FPSLREB panel’s jurisdiction for hearing a complaint, after considering relevant evidence and submissions, the FPSLREB panel must be satisfied that it has jurisdiction before ruling on the complaint. The FPSLREB panel may also reserve decision on the question of jurisdiction and proceed with the hearing, based on the merits of the case (a common practice for jurisdiction-type questions).

The conduct of the hearing

Decorum

Proper behaviour is expected from the participants. As a sign of respect, when the FPSLREB panel enters or exits the room, it is customary, however not required, for participants to rise. As well, special places are assigned to the participants in the room depending on their role in the case (complainant, visitor, witness, etc.) (see Appendix 1).

Opening statement and preliminary matters

At the beginning of a hearing, the FPSLREB panel makes an opening statement. It takes this opportunity to explain the reason why the parties are there and the basic rules for the hearing. It then asks the parties whether they have any preliminary questions that they would like to bring to the panel’s attention. This is when the parties can raise an objection concerning the FPSLREB panel’s jurisdiction for hearing the complaint, request the exclusion of witnesses from the hearing or request modifications or clarifications on the conduct of the hearing.

Afterwards, each party may make an opening statement, during which it can provide a summary or overview of what it intends to prove and how it intends to do so and the remedy or relief sought. The order of presentation of the opening statements is the same as that of the presentation of evidence and the examination (see section on Presentation of evidence and examination of witnesses). It should be noted that the party that comes second may wait until it presents its case to make its opening statement, in other words, before its evidence is presented.

Presentation of evidence and examination of witnesses

Generally, the complainant will proceed first with the presentation of his or her evidence. However, in complaints involving sections 128 and 129 of the Code, the respondent is the one with the burden of proof and will proceed with presenting its evidence first (see subsection 133(6) of the Code).

The party that presents its evidence first is automatically the first one to examine its witnesses. During its examination-in-chief, this party shall aim to present all of the information that will help support its case. Then, the other party examines the first party’s witnesses: this is the cross-examination. It will then try to contradict the evidence presented or demonstrate that the merits of the case are unfounded. After the cross-examination, the party that was the first to examine its witnesses will have an opportunity to re-examine its witness to address any new point raised during the cross-examination. Then, the other party will have a chance to examine its own witnesses to present its evidence and, as before, this will be followed by a cross-examination and re-examination.

It should be noted that all witnesses, including the complainant who wish to testify, must swear an oath or make a solemn affirmation to tell the truth.

How do I present my evidence and examine my witnesses?

Essentially, the presentation of evidence involves examining witnesses and filing documents or items applicable to the dispute. Documents and other items presented as evidence are generally provided through a witness or with the other party’s agreement. A copy of such documents must be provided to each of the parties, to the witness, and to the FPSLREB panel. The documents must be filed in both official languages if they exist in both languages. To the extent possible, documents should be in their original form and not edited.

It is important that questions asked during the examination-in-chief of a witness be kept short and open to enable the witness to be free to recount the facts relative to the matter. This means that leading questions, where the witness is guided towards an answer, should not be used. However, there is nothing to prevent the parties from asking leading questions at the beginning of a witness’s examination-in-chief to establish the latter’s identity or during cross-examination to focus the witness’s answers.

How do I prepare my arguments?

When parties present their arguments, they can also present, in support of their case, the applicable case law (i.e., decisions from the courts), previous decisions of the FPSLREB or its predecessor tribunals (i.e., the Public Service Labour Relations Board and the Public Service Staffing Relations Board) or decisions of adjudicators. Research is very important in preparing the arguments. The parties may consult the FPSLREB’s Web site, where they can find its previous decisions or those of its predecessors as well as those of adjudicators, the different statutes under its jurisdiction and other useful links.

Argument

During the presentation of arguments, the parties speak in the same order as for the presentation of evidence. By this time, the FPSLREB panel knows all of the elements or relevant facts of the dispute as they were presented and hears the parties’ arguments.

This is when the parties refer to previous decisions, statutes or case law to support their arguments.

Federal Court decisions are available online at:

http://decisions.fct-cf.gc.ca/fc-cf/en/nav.do

The FPSLREB’s (or predecessors’) decisions are available at:

http://fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca/decisions/intro_e.asp

If a party wishes to refer to a previous decision, statute or case law, it must ensure that a copy is provided to each party and to the FPSLREB panel.

End of Hearing

After the parties have presented their arguments, the hearing will come to a close.

If more time is needed to continue the hearing, the FPSLREB panel will specify the date, time, place and terms of its continuance.

What happens after the hearing?

Decision

The hearing gives the FPSLREB panel an opportunity to hear the parties’ arguments, submissions, and all the evidence required to understand the dispute. The FPSLREB panel must then render its decision in writing. Normally, the FPSLREB panel tries to render its decision within four months of the hearing.

The FPSLREB’s Policy on Openness and Privacy explains why information filed with the FPSLREB is generally available to the public and why it could be reported in a decision posted on the PSLRB website and distributed to publishers.

APPENDIX 1: HEARING ROOM

Diagram showing arrangement of parties in a typical hearing room.

Plaintes présentées en vertu de l'article 133 du Code canadien du travail

Introduction

Le présent guide a pour but de fournir aux parties, qui se représentent elles-mêmes dans le cadre de procédures entamées sous le régime du Code canadien du travail (le Code), de l'information sur la procédure régissant les audiences devant la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (la CRTESPF). Ce n'est qu'un outil informel, qui devrait être employé conjointement avec la partie 3 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (LRTSPF) et la partie II du Code canadien du travail (le Code), qu'on peut consulter sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice, à http://lois.justice.gc.ca, ou sur celui de la CRTESPF elle-même, à www.fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca, en cliquant sur Lois et formules.

Renseignements généraux

Qu'est-ce que la CRTFP?

La Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral est un tribunal indépendant quasi judiciaire chargé, dans la fonction publique fédérale, de l'administration du système des plaintes fondées sur le Code. Son engagement à résoudre avec impartialité les questions de relations de travail profite aux Canadiens et Canadiennes en assurant la prestation efficace des programmes et services gouvernementaux.

Qui préside les audiences?

Les audiences concernant les plaintes sont entendues par une formation de la CRTESPF composée d'un ou de plusieurs commissaires.

Dépôt d'une plainte

Quels types de plaintes puis-je déposer devant la CRTESPF?

La CRTESPF instruit les plaintes présentées en vertu de l'article 133 du Code (SANTÉ ET SÉCURITÉ AU TRAVAIL).

Plus spécifiquement, l'article 133 du Code requière que la CRTESPF instruise toute plainte alléguant que l'employeur a pris des mesures contraires à l'article 147 du Code, soit

  • contre un employé ayant participé à une procédure fondée sur la partie II du Code ou ;
  • contre un employé ayant agi conformément aux dispositions de la partie II du Code ou ayant cherché à les faire appliquer.

Puis-je assurer seul ma représentation?

Les fonctionnaires qui souhaitent déposer devant la CRTESPF une plainte fondée sur l'article 133 du Code peuvent se représenter eux-mêmes, sans l'aide d'un agent négociateur ni d'un avocat.

Comment puis-je déposer une plainte devant la CRTESPF?

Les fonctionnaires qui souhaitent déposer une plainte fondée sur l'article 133 du Code doivent la présenter par écrit à la CRTESPF, en précisant les mesures décrites à l'article 147 du Code que l'employeur a prises contre eux.

Il existe une formule, Formule 26, de présentation de plainte à la CRTESPF en vertu de la parti II du Code; on peut la trouver sur le site Web de la CRTESPF à :

http://fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca/forms/pslra/formule26.pdf

La plainte présentée par écrit devrait préciser (1) le nom, l'adresse, le numéro de téléphone et le numéro de télécopieur du plaignant; (2) le nom et l'adresse du défendeur et contenir (3) un court résumé des mesures prises par l'employeur qui ont entraîné la plainte, les dates et les noms des personnes en cause étant précisés; (4) les mesures prises par le plaignant ou la plaignante ou en son nom afin de rectifier la situation; (5) le redressement ou l'ordonnance demandés en vertu de l'article 134 du Code et (6) les autres questions pertinentes pour la plainte.

À quoi dois-je m'attendre une fois qu'une plainte a été présentée à la CRTESPF?

Ouverture du dossier

Quand la CRTESPF reçoit une plainte, une lettre est envoyée à chacune des parties pour en accuser réception et pour informer le défendeur qu'il peut y répondre. L'accusé de réception fournit aussi aux parties les renseignements nécessaires à la poursuite du processus, comme le numéro de dossier de la CRTESPF, ainsi que des instructions sur la prochaine étape de la procédure. Il est important que ce numéro de dossier soit inscrit sur tous les documents et toute la correspondance qui suivent.

À partir des noms des personnes précisées dans la plainte, la CRTESPF crée une liste des parties, des intervenants et des autres personnes pouvant être intéressées dans la procédure (la « liste de la Commission »). Elle envoie des copies de la plainte à toutes les personnes dont les noms figurent sur cette liste, en leur faisant aussi parvenir une copie de la liste.

  • N'oubliez pas que tous les documents présentés subséquemment doivent être déposés auprès de la CRTESPF. La partie qui dépose un document subséquemment (sauf les demandes d'assignation) en fournit une copie à toutes les personnes dont le nom figure sur la liste de la Commission, à moins qu'elles n'aient informé par écrit la CRTESPF qu'elles ne tiennent pas à recevoir une copie des documents présentés subséquemment.

Médiation

Toutes les plaintes sont soumises d'office à la médiation, quoique ce processus demeure volontaire. Lorsqu'une partie refuse la médiation, par écrit,— ou que celle-ci n'aboutit pas au règlement du conflit —, le président peut renvoyer le différend à une audience officielle.

Les parties ont 15 jours pour aviser la CRTESPF par écrit de leur intention de ne pas se prévaloir de la médiation. Leur avis d'intention est un document présenté subséquemment dont une copie doit être fournie à toutes les personnes dont le nom figure sur la liste de la Commission.

Même si les parties refusent la médiation au départ, elles peuvent demander à s'en prévaloir à n'importe quel moment par la suite. Lorsqu'elles présentent conjointement au directeur général une demande pour ce que le différend soit renvoyé à la médiation, la plainte est, dans la plupart des cas, immédiatement suspendue et l'on établit la date de la séance de médiation.

Préparation à l'audience

Introduction

Règle générale, le processus d'audience de la CRTESPF est identique à celui d'une cour de justice, quoique moins formel. Les parties peuvent présenter des pièces justificatives en preuve ainsi qu'interroger et contre-interroger les témoins. L'audience leur offre la possibilité de présenter leurs arguments afin d'établir leurs allégations.

Établissement de la date d'audience

La CRTESPF établit habituellement les dates d'audience quatre mois à l'avance à titre provisoire, en communiquant avec les parties pour qu'elles confirment si elles seront disponibles.

Avis d'audience

Quand le président renvoie une plainte à une audience, on envoie un avis d'audience à chacune des personnes dont le nom figure sur la liste de la Commission pour l'informer de la date, de l'heure et du lieu où l'audience se déroulera. L'avis d'audience est normalement envoyé un mois avant la date de l'audience.

Remise et retrait

Une audience peut être reportée à titre exceptionnel si l'une ou l'autre des parties, ou les deux, estiment qu'elles ne peuvent s'y présenter. En pareil cas, il est nécessaire de présenter une demande motivée par écrit à la CRTESPF pour que l'audience soit reportée. La demande doit être accompagnée des raisons pour lesquelles l'audience devrait être reportée. La partie qui présente la demande doit en faire parvenir à toutes les personnes dont les noms figurent sur la liste de la Commission. La demande de report de l'audience ne devrait être présentée à la formation de la CRTESPF qu'en cas de circonstances exceptionnelles (p.ex. : une blessure grave le matin de l'audience).

La CRTESPF obtient l'avis de l'autre partie avant de se prononcer sur la demande de report de l'audience; toutes les personnes dont les noms figurent sur la liste de la Commission sont informées de sa décision à cet égard.

Il arrive que les parties en arrivent à un règlement entre elles avant l'audience. Il incombe alors au plaignant ou à la plaignante d'informer par écrit la CRTESPF que le différend a été réglé et que la plainte est retirée ou en voie d'être réglée. Si l'audience a déjà commencé ou est sur le point de commencer (le jour même), les parties doivent informer la formation de la CRTESPF qui instruit la plainte du retrait de celle-ci avant d'en informer la CRTESPF par écrit.

Français ou anglais?

Des audiences peuvent se dérouler aussi bien en français qu'en anglais, mais elles se tiennent normalement dans la langue dans laquelle la plainte a été présentée. Au besoin, la CRTESPF offre un service d'interprétation simultanée, mais les parties doivent informer le directeur général par écrit qu'elles ont besoin de ce service au moins trois semaines à l'avance. La CRTESPF assume la totalité des frais à cet égard.

À la demande écrite du plaignant et sous réserve d'un préavis suffisant, l'audience peut se tenir dans une autre langue que celle de la plainte (c.-à-d. la langue dans laquelle elle a été présentée).

Témoins

La partie qui voudrait faire comparaître un témoin et qui croit que celui-ci ne le fera que s'il est légalement tenu de le faire peut demander — par écrit et de façon détaillée — un bref d'assignation. C'est à elle qu'il incombe d'expliquer pourquoi le témoin en question est essentiel à la présentation de sa thèse. Si la CRTESPF émet un bref d'assignation, la partie qui veut faire témoigner le témoin doit l'informer qu'il (ou elle) est appelé à témoigner à une audience, en lui faisant signifier le bref d'assignation assez longtemps à l'avance. Les frais reliés à la signification du document sont pris en charge par la partie qui présente la demande.

De plus, les témoins qu'une partie assigne à comparaître ont droit à une indemnité s'ils se présentent à l'audience (voir l'article 41 de la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral). Cette indemnité doit être payée par la partie qui les fait comparaître, qui doit s'assurer que l'indemnité est égale à celle à laquelle les témoins auraient droit s'ils étaient cités à comparaître devant la Cour fédérale.

En outre, la partie qui assigne un témoin à comparaître doit payer à l'avance ses frais de voyage, s'il y a lieu, conformément aux Règles des Cours fédérales.

Besoins particuliers

Les parties doivent informer la CRTESPF par écrit suffisamment à l'avance de leurs besoins ou des services qu'il leur faudra avant ou pendant l'audience (par exemple, s'il faut que le bâtiment où l'audience doit avoir lieu soit accessible pour les personnes à mobilité réduite.)

Questions techniques et procédurales

Enregistrement

De façon générale, les audiences ne sont pas enregistrées, et l'on ne produit aucun procès-verbal, de sorte qu'il est important que les parties prennent des notes. La formation de la CRTESPF prend des notes sur la preuve et les observations. Ni les parties ni le public n'ont accès à ces notes.

Prestation de serment

Les personnes appelées à témoigner dans une audience doivent prêter serment ou affirmer solennellement qu'elles diront la vérité pour que leur témoignage soit admis en preuve. Elles peuvent prêter serment sur la Bible, sur un autre livre ou objet sacré ou promettre de dire la vérité.

Prière d'informer la CRTESPF par écrit au moins deux semaines à l'avance des livres sacrés dont elles auront besoin à l'audience. Les témoins peuvent aussi apporter leur propre livre ou objet sacré.

Défaut de comparaître

Lorsqu'une personne ne se présente pas à l'audience ou à toute reprise éventuelle de l'audience, la formation de la CRTESPF peut tenir l'audience et rendre sa décision sans autre avis à cette personne.

Objections

Lorsqu'une partie soulève une objection au cours de l'audience, la formation de la CRTESPF demande à l'autre partie sa position quant à l'objection, puis donne à la partie l'ayant soulevée la possibilité de répondre à cette position avant de trancher l'objection. Dans certains cas, la formation de la CRTESPF peut prendre sa décision en délibéré et statuer sur l'objection dans sa décision définitive.

Requêtes

Les parties peuvent présenter une requête au cours de l'audience à la formation de la CRTESPF pour qu'elle rende une décision sur une question de procédure n'influant pas sur le fond de l'affaire. Ces requêtes peuvent être présentées par écrit ou de vive voix à l'audience. Lorsqu'une partie présente une telle requête, elle doit en donner les raisons. L'autre partie présente ensuite sa position sur ces raisons, après quoi la partie ayant présenté la requête y répond.

Par exemple, on pourrait présenter une requête pour que l'audience du lendemain commence plus tard qu'à l'heure indiquée dans l'avis d'audience.

Si une des parties conteste la compétence de la formation de la CRTESPF d'instruire une plainte, celle-ci doit établir à sa satisfaction, au vu de la preuve et des observations pertinentes, que l'affaire est de son ressort avant de se prononcer sur la plainte. La formation de la CRTESPF peut également prendre sa décision en délibéré sur la question de la compétence et poursuivre l'instruction de la plainte au fond (il s'agit d'une pratique courante dans le cas de questions de ce genre).

Déroulement de l'audience

Décorum

La CRTESPF s'attend à ce que les participants se comportent correctement. En signe de respect, lorsque la formation de la CRTESPF entre dans la salle d'audience ou en sort, il est d'usage, mais non obligatoire, que les participants se lèvent. En outre, on leur assigne une place dans la salle d'audience en fonction de leur rôle dans l'affaire (plaignant, spectateur, témoin, etc.) (Voir l'annexe 1).

Déclaration d'ouverture et questions préliminaires

Au début de l'audience, la formation de la CRTESPF fait une déclaration d'ouverture et en profite pour expliquer les raisons pour lesquelles les parties sont réunies et pour exposer les règles de base de l'audience. Elle demande ensuite aux parties si elles ont des questions préliminaires qu'elles aimeraient porter à son attention. C'est à ce moment-là qu'elles peuvent soulever une objection contestant la compétence de la formation pour entendre la plainte, demander l'exclusion des témoins ou encore réclamer des modifications ou des précisions quant au déroulement de l'audience.

Par la suite, chaque partie a l'occasion de faire une déclaration d'ouverture dans laquelle elle peut présenter un résumé ou un aperçu de ce qu'elle entend démontrer et de la façon dont elle entend procéder à cette fin, ainsi que la mesure de réparation demandée. L'ordre de présentation des déclarations d'ouverture est le même que celui de la présentation de la preuve et des interrogatoires (voir la rubrique Présentation de la preuve et interrogation des témoins). La partie qui procède en second peut attendre le début de la présentation de sa version pour la faire (avant la présentation de la preuve).

Présentation de la preuve et interrogation des témoins

Généralement, le plaignant est le premier qui commence à présenter sa preuve. Toutefois, lorsqu'il s'agit de plaintes fondées sur les articles 128 et 129 du Code, c'est le défendeur qui a le fardeau de la preuve et qui présente celle-ci en premier (voir le paragraphe 133(6) du Code).

La partie qui présente sa preuve la première est automatiquement la première à interroger ses témoins. Pendant son interrogatoire principal, elle s'efforce de présenter toute l'information susceptible d'étayer sa version. Ensuite, l'autre partie interroge les témoins en contre-interrogatoire; elle s'efforce alors de contredire la preuve présentée pendant l'interrogatoire ou de démontrer que la version de l'autre partie n'est pas fondée. Après le contre-interrogatoire, la partie qui a été la première à interroger les témoins peut les interroger de nouveau sur tous les nouveaux points soulevés au cours du contre-interrogatoire, après quoi l'autre partie peut interroger ses propres témoins pour présenter sa preuve; ils sont ensuite contre-interrogés, puis interrogés de nouveau.

Il convient de noter que tous les témoins, y compris le plaignant qui souhaite témoigner, doivent prêter serment ou affirmer solennellement qu'ils diront la vérité.

Comment puis-je présenter ma preuve et interroger mes témoins?

La présentation de la preuve consiste essentiellement à interroger les témoins ainsi qu'à déposer les documents ou les pièces pertinents. Les documents ou pièces présentés en preuve le sont généralement par l'intermédiaire d'un témoin ou avec le consentement de l'autre partie. Une copie de ces documents et pièces doit être fournie à chacune des parties, au témoin et à la formation de la CRTESPF, et ce dans les deux langues officielles, s'il en existe une version dans chaque langue. Dans la mesure du possible, il faut présenter l'original des documents, sans aucune modification.

Il est important que les questions posées au cours de l'interrogatoire principal d'un témoin soient courtes et ouvertes, pour lui permettre d'exposer librement les faits relatifs à l'affaire. Cela signifie qu'on ne devrait pas poser de questions suggestives incitant le témoin à répondre dans un sens donné. Par contre, rien n'empêche les parties de poser des questions suggestives au début de l'interrogatoire principal d'un témoin, pour établir son identité, ou dans son contre-interrogatoire, pour orienter les réponses d'un témoin.

Comment puis-je préparer mon argumentation?

Lorsque les parties présentent leur argumentation, elles peuvent aussi présenter à l'appui de leur thèse la jurisprudence pertinente des cours, ou encore invoquer des décisions antérieures de la CRTESPF (ou de son prédécesseur, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral) ou celles d'arbitres de griefs. La recherche est très importante pour la préparation de l'argumentation. Les parties peuvent consulter le site Web de la CRTESPF où figurent ses décisions antérieures, ainsi que des décisions de son prédécesseur et d'arbitres de griefs, de même que les lois qu'elle est chargée d'administrer et d'autres liens utiles.

Argumentation

Au stade de l'argumentation, les parties prennent la parole dans le même ordre que celui de la présentation de la preuve. À ce stade, la formation de la CRTESPF connaît tous les éléments ou tous les faits pertinents qui ont été présentés et entend les arguments des parties.

C'est à ce moment-là que les parties invoquent des décisions antérieures ainsi que des lois ou de la jurisprudence pour étayer leurs arguments.

Les décisions de la Cour fédérale se trouvent à l'adresse suivante :

http://decisions.fct-cf.gc.ca/fc-cf/fr/nav.do

Les décisions de la CRTESPF (ou de son prédécesseur) se trouvent à l'adresse suivante :

http://fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca/decisions/intro_f.asp

Quand une partie invoque une décision antérieure, une loi ou de la jurisprudence, elle est tenue d'en fournir copie à chaque partie ainsi qu'à la formation de la CRTESPF.

Fin de l'audience

Quand les parties ont présenté leurs arguments, l'audience prend fin.

Si les parties ont besoin de plus de temps pour poursuivre l'audience, la formation de la CRTESPF précise la date, l'heure, le lieu et les conditions de sa reprise.

Que se passe-t-il après l'audience?

Décision

L'audience donne à la formation de la CRTESPF la possibilité d'entendre les arguments et les observations des parties et de prendre connaissance de toute la preuve nécessaire à la compréhension du différend. Elle doit alors rendre sa décision par écrit; normalement, elle s'efforce de le faire dans un délai de quatre mois de la date d'audience.

La Politique sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée de la CRTESPF explique pourquoi les renseignements soumis à la CRTESPF sont généralement mis à la disposition du public et pourquoi ils peuvent être rapportés dans une décision affichée sur le site Web de la CRTESPF et distribuée aux éditeurs.

Annexe 1 : Salle d'audience

salle d'audience