Grievances under the FPSLRA

The Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA) provides for three different types of grievances. Among those, some may be referred to adjudication: certain individual grievances, all group grievances and all policy grievances.

Individual

When an employee feels aggrieved by, for example, the interpretation or application of a collective agreement, or as a result of an occurrence or matter affecting his or her terms and conditions of employment, that employee is entitled to present an individual grievance to that employee's immediate supervisor or the person identified as the first level response to a grievance within the department or agency. Employers may have specific grievance procedures in their organization or agency. Each level will include specific time frames for filing and for response.

In these collective agreement situations, it is a requirement that the bargaining agent indicate its support for the grievance to go forward. When the deputy minister gives the department's final reply and it is not acceptable to the employee, in certain situations the employee can refer the grievance to the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) for a hearing and decision.

Employees can file grievances involving issues under the Canadian Human Rights Act, except in relation to pay equity, and be awarded monetary relief as provided under that Act (s. 208). The Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC) is entitled to be notified of such grievances and, if the grievance is referred to adjudication, can make submissions before an adjudicator.

Disciplinary action on the part of a manager can also be cause for a grievance, if the employee feels that it was not justified. If the action resulted in suspension or in termination of employment, the employee can file an individual grievance. When the deputy minister gives the department's final reply and it is not acceptable to the employee, the employee can refer the grievance to the FPSLREB for a hearing and decision if the disciplinary action has resulted in a financial penalty.

Group

When a number of employees in the same department or agency believe that their collective agreement has not been administered correctly, they can ask their bargaining agent to file a group grievance on their behalf. Each one of those employees must sign his or her agreement to representation by the bargaining agent. As with the individual type of grievance, it is a requirement that the bargaining agent indicate its support for the grievance to go forward. If the response received by the deputy minister is not satisfactory, the employees can ask the bargaining agent to refer the grievance to the FPSLREB for a hearing and decision.

Policy

The FPSLRA also allows either the bargaining agent or the employer to file a "policy grievance". A policy grievance must relate to an alleged violation of the collective agreement which affects the employees generally.

Griefs sous la LRTSPF

La nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (LRTSPF) prévoit trois types de griefs. Certains griefs individuels, tous les griefs collectifs et tous les griefs de principe peuvent être renvoyés à l'arbitrage :

Individuel

Lorsqu'un fonctionnaire estime avoir été lésé par l'interprétation de sa convention collective, par exemple, ou à la suite d'un événement qui pourrait modifier ses conditions d'emploi, ce fonctionnaire peut présenter un grief individuel à son surveillant immédiat ou à la personne désignée comme étant la réponse au premier palier du ministère ou de l'agence. Les employeurs peuvent disposer de procédures spécifiques relatives aux griefs dans leur ministère ou agence. Chaque niveau inclut des échéanciers spécifiques pour déposer et répondre à un grief.

Dans les situations touchant les conventions collectives, il faut l'aval de l'agent négociateur pour donner suite au grief. Lorsque le sous-ministre présente une réponse du ministère au dernier palier qui lui semble inacceptable, le fonctionnaire peut, dans certaines situations, renvoyer le grief à la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTESPF) aux fins d'une audience et d'une décision.

Les fonctionnaires peuvent déposer des griefs portant sur des questions visées par la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, sauf celles en relation avec le droit à la parité salariale, et obtenir la réparation pécuniaire prévue par la Loi (art. 208). La Commission canadienne des droits de la personne (CCDP) a le droit d'être informée de ces griefs et a la qualité de présenter des observations à un arbitre de grief si le grief est renvoyé à l'arbitrage.

Une mesure disciplinaire imposée par un gestionnaire peut également être matière à grief, si le fonctionnaire visé estime qu'elle est injustifiée. Si la mesure disciplinaire a donné lieu à une suspension ou à un licenciement, le fonctionnaire peut déposer un grief individuel. Lorsque le sous-ministre présente une réponse du ministère au dernier palier qui lui semble inacceptable, le fonctionnaire peut renvoyer le grief à la CRTESPF aux fins d'une audience et d'une décision, si la mesure disciplinaire a donné lieu à une sanction pécuniaire.

Collectif

Lorsqu'un groupe de fonctionnaires d'un même ministère ou organisme estiment que leur convention collective n'a pas été appliquée comme il se doit, ils peuvent demander à leur agent négociateur de déposer un grief collectif en leur nom. Chacun des fonctionnaires doit signer un consentement afin d'être représenté par l'agent négociateur. À l'instar du grief individuel, l'agent négociateur doit signifier son accord avant que le grief puisse aller de l'avant. Si la réponse du sous-ministre est inacceptable, les fonctionnaires peuvent demander à l'agent négociateur de saisir la CRTESPF de l'affaire.

De principe

La nouvelle LRTSPF permet également à l'agent négociateur ou à l'employeur de déposer un grief de principe. Le grief de principe doit se rapporter à une allégation de violation de la convention collective touchant l'ensemble des fonctionnaires.