Guide for self-represented complainants alleging an unfair labour practice under sections 185 and 187 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA)

DUTY OF FAIR REPRESENTATION

The Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (the FPSLREB) certifies employee organizations as bargaining agents for given bargaining units. As such, the employee organization has exclusive authority to bargain collectively on behalf of the employees in the bargaining unit. By the same token, an employee cannot grieve the interpretation or application of a collective agreement (or of an arbitral award), nor refer such a grievance to adjudication, without the support of his or her bargaining agent. Thus, in some cases, an employee will not be able to proceed with what he or she considers a legitimate grievance. This is where the issue of the duty of fair representation arises.

What is the duty of fair representation?

Section 187 of the FPSLRA provides that no bargaining agent for a bargaining unit, and none of its officers and representatives, may act in a manner that is arbitrary or discriminatory or that is in bad faith in the representation of any employee in the bargaining unit. However, it is important to note that within the legal parameters of section 187, the bargaining agent has discretion to determine the scope of representation. In Canadian Merchant Service Guild v. Gagnon et al., [1984] 1 S.C.R. 509, the Supreme Court of Canada stated the following concerning the principles that form a bargaining agent’s duty of representation:

  1. The exclusive power conferred on a union to act as spokesman for the employees in a bargaining unit entails a corresponding obligation on the union to fairly represent all employees comprised in the unit.
  2. When, as is true here and is generally the case, the right to take a grievance to arbitration is reserved to the union, the employee does not have an absolute right to arbitration and the union enjoys considerable discretion.
  3. This discretion must be exercised in good faith, objectively and honestly, after a thorough study of the grievance and the case, taking into account the significance of the grievance and of its consequences for the employee on the one hand and the legitimate interests of the union on the other.
  4. The union’s decision must not be arbitrary, capricious, discriminatory or wrongful.
  5. The representation by the union must be fair, genuine and not merely apparent, undertaken with integrity and competence, without serious or major negligence, and without hostility towards the employee.

For further information about this decision please refer to the following website:
http://www.canlii.org/en/ca/scc/doc/1984/1984canlii18/1984canlii18.html.

What do “arbitrary,” “discriminatory” and “bad faith” mean?

Arbitrary conduct generally refers to instances in which a bargaining agent has not sufficiently investigated or handled an employee’s case or grievance or has not adequately considered the employee’s interests. It can also refer to incidences of serious negligence.

Discriminatory conduct refers to the biased and unfair treatment of an employee based on illegal or prohibited grounds, such as age, race, religion, sex or medical condition.

Actions made in bad faith are generally described as those motivated by personal feelings of hostility or ill will toward an employee. The term may also include deceitful or dishonest conduct.

In deciding whether or not a bargaining agent has acted in a manner that is arbitrary, discriminatory or in bad faith, the FPSLREB will assess the bargaining agent's conduct as to how it handled an employee's case. It will look at how the bargaining agent acted and the process it used to make its decisions concerning the employee's case. The FPSLREB will consider whether the bargaining agent put its mind to the merits of the employee's case, considered relevant factors and made an objective and rational judgment about how to resolve the matter. The FPSLREB does not assess the merits of the employee's grievance or second-guess the actual decision made by the bargaining agent as to whether or not it will take a grievance forward.

Points to consider

To date, FPSLREB and its predecessor, the Public Service Labour Relations Board, have allowed only a small number of complaints involving the duty of fair representation. As the burden of proof lies with the complainant, there are a number of factors should be considered before submitting a complaint to the PSLREB:

  • Right to representation
    • The bargaining agent cannot be expected to drop everything in order to pursue the interests of a single employee or to guarantee that every decision it makes accords with that employee's wishes; it can only be expected to consider issues affecting the individual employee fairly and in a conscientious manner (Punko v. Customs Excise Union Douanes Accise, 2007 PSLRB 56).
    • Employees do not have an absolute right to be represented by their bargaining agent in the grievance process (Richard v. Public Service Alliance of Canada, 2000 PSSRB 61).
  • Selection of grievances – The bargaining agent is not required to proceed with every grievance. It is the business of the bargaining agent to make decisions about which grievances proceed and which do not (Bahniuk v. Public Service Alliance of Canada, 2007 PSLRB 13).
  • Timeliness
    • As per subsection 190(2) of the FPSLRA, a complaint must be made to the FPSLREB not later than 90 days after the date on which the complainant knew, or, in the Board's opinion, ought to have known, of the action or circumstances giving rise to the complaint (Panula v. Canada Revenue Agency and Bannon, 2008 PSLRB 4).
  • Negligence - Only flagrant negligence not simple negligence makes the bargaining agent liable (Archambault v. Public Service Alliance of Canada, 2003 PSSRB 56).
  • Arbitrariness – Acts or omissions on the part of the bargaining agent must exceed the limits of a discretion reasonably exercised. They must demonstrate a failure to engage in a process of rational decision making and/or a failure to arrive at a thoughtful judgment (Jakutavicius v. Public Service Alliance of Canada, 2005 PSLRB 70).

How to file a complaint

To file a complaint with the FPSLREB concerning the duty of fair representation, please fill out Form 16, Complaint Under Section 190 of the Act, available on the FPSLREB’s website: http://fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca/forms/pslra/form16.pdf.

The complaint must be filed in duplicate (the signed original and one copy), in paper form. The complaint is to be addressed to the FPSLREB. The complaint may be sent by fax (and will be deemed to have been received on the date of the fax transmission), but the paper copy must then be sent to the FPSLREB as soon as possible. Complaints received after 4 p.m. local time will be considered to have been received the day following that is not a Saturday or a holiday. For information regarding receipt dates, please refer to section 9 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Regulations.

When to file a complaint

A complaint must be made to the FPSLREB not later than 90 days after the date on which the complainant knew or should have known of the action or circumstances giving rise to the complaint.

The FPSLREB's Policy on Openness and Privacy explains why information filed with the FPSLREB is generally available to the public and why it could be reported in a decision posted on the FPSLREB website and distributed to publishers.

Guide à l'intention des plaignants qui se représentent eux-mêmes et qui allèguent une pratique déloyale en vertu des articles 185 et 187 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (LRTSPF)

DEVOIR DE REPRÉSENTATION ÉQUITABLE

La Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (la CRTESPF) accrédite des organisations syndicales à titre d'agents négociateurs d'unités de négociations. À ce titre, l'organisation syndicale a le pouvoir exclusif de négocier collectivement au nom des fonctionnaires qui composent l'unité de négociation. Ainsi, un fonctionnaire ne peut pas déposer un grief concernant l'interprétation ou l'application d'une convention collective (ou d'une décision arbitrale), ni renvoyer un tel grief à l'arbitrage, sans avoir obtenu l'appui de son agent négociateur. Par conséquent, dans certains cas, le fonctionnaire ne pourra pas déposer ce qu'il considère être un grief légitime. C'est ainsi que peut être soulevée la question du devoir de représentation équitable.

Qu'est-ce que le devoir de représentation équitable?

L'article 187 de la LRTSPF interdit à tout agent négociateur d'une unité de négociation, ainsi qu'à ses dirigeants et représentants, d'agir de manière arbitraire ou discriminatoire ou de mauvaise foi dans le cadre de la représentation de tout fonctionnaire qui fait partie de l'unité de négociation. Toutefois, il est important de souligner que, selon les paramètres juridiques de l'article 187, l'agent négociateur a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de déterminer la portée de la représentation. Dans Guilde de la marine marchande du Canada c. Gagnon et al., [1984] 1 R.C.S. 509, la Cour suprême du Canada a établi les principes suivants en ce qui concerne le devoir de représentation de l'agent négociateur :

  1. Le pouvoir exclusif reconnu à un syndicat d'agir à titre de porte-parole des fonctionnaires faisant partie d'une unité de négociation comporte en contrepartie l'obligation de la part du syndicat d'une juste représentation de tous les fonctionnaires compris dans l'unité.
  2. Lorsque, comme en l'espèce et comme c'est généralement le cas, le droit de porter un grief à l'arbitrage est réservé au syndicat, le fonctionnaire n'a pas un droit absolu à l'arbitrage et le syndicat jouit d'une discrétion appréciable.
  3. Cette discrétion doit être exercée de bonne foi, de façon objective et honnête, après une étude sérieuse du grief et du dossier, tout en tenant compte de l'importance du grief et des conséquences pour le fonctionnaire, d'une part, et des intérêts légitimes du syndicat d'autre part.
  4. La décision du syndicat ne doit pas être arbitraire, capricieuse, discriminatoire, ni abusive.
  5. La représentation par le syndicat doit être juste, réelle et non pas seulement apparente, faite avec intégrité et compétence, sans négligence grave ou majeure, et sans hostilité envers le fonctionnaire.

Pour plus de détails concernant cette décision, veuillez consulter le site Web suivant :
http://www.canlii.org/fr/ca/csc/doc/1984/1984canlii18/1984canlii18.html.

Que signifie agir « de manière arbitraire », « discriminatoire » ou « de mauvaise foi »?

La conduite arbitraire renvoie généralement à des cas où un agent négociateur n'a pas suffisamment examiné ou traité l'affaire ou le grief d'un fonctionnaire ou n'a pas bien pris en compte les intérêts d'un fonctionnaire. Elle peut également faire référence à des cas de négligence grave.

La conduite discriminatoire s'entend du traitement partial et injuste d'un fonctionnaire pour un motif illégal ou interdit, tel que l'âge, la race, la religion, le sexe ou l'état de santé.

Les mesures prises de mauvaise foi sont généralement décrites comme étant motivées par des sentiments d'hostilité et d'animosité envers un fonctionnaire. Il peut aussi s'agir d'un comportement trompeur ou malhonnête.

Afin de déterminer si un agent négociateur a agi de manière arbitraire, discriminatoire ou de mauvaise foi, la CRTESPF évaluera la manière dont l'agent a traité le dossier du fonctionnaire. Elle examinera comment a agi l'agent négociateur et le processus qu'il a utilisé pour rendre sa décision à l'égard de l'affaire du fonctionnaire. La CRTESPF déterminera si l'agent négociateur s'est penché sur le bien-fondé de l'affaire du fonctionnaire, s'il a examiné les facteurs pertinents et s'il a pris une décision objective et rationnelle quant à la façon de procéder pour régler l'affaire. La CRTESPF n'évalue pas le bien-fondé du grief du fonctionnaire ni ne remet en question la décision proprement dite de l'agent négociateur de donner ou de ne pas donner suite au grief.

Éléments à prendre en compte

Jusqu'à maintenant, la CRTESPF n'a accueilli qu'un petit nombre de plaintes concernant le devoir de représentation équitable. Comme le fardeau de la preuve incombe au plaignant, celui-ci doit prendre en compte certains facteurs avant de déposer une plainte auprès de la CRTESPF :

  • Droit à la représentation
    • On ne peut exiger de l'agent négociateur qu'il laisse tout tomber afin de défendre les intérêts d'un seul fonctionnaire ou qu'il s'engage à ce que toutes ses décisions correspondent aux désirs de ce fonctionnaire; on peut seulement exiger qu'il examine les questions soumises par les fonctionnaires individuels de manière équitable et consciencieuse (Punko c. Customs Excise Union Douanes Accise, 2007 CRTFP 56).
    • Les fonctionnaires n'ont pas un droit absolu à la représentation par leur agent négociateur dans le cadre de la procédure de règlement des griefs (Richard c. Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, 2000 CRTFP 61).
  • Sélection des griefs – L'agent négociateur n'est pas tenu de poursuivre tous les griefs. Il appartient à l'agent négociateur de déterminer quels griefs seront poursuivis et lesquels ne le seront pas (Bahniuk c. Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, 2007 CRTFP 13).
  • Respect des délais
    • En vertu du paragraphe 190(2) de la LRTSPF, une plainte doit être présentée à la CRTESPF dans les 90 jours qui suivent la date à laquelle le plaignant a eu — ou selon la CRTESPF, aurait dû avoir — connaissance des mesures ou des circonstances y ayant donné lieu (Panula c. Agence du revenu du Canada et Bannon, 2008 CRTFP 4).
  • Négligence – Seule la négligence flagrante, et non une simple négligence, rendra l'agent négociateur responsable (Archambault c. Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, 2003 CRTFP 56).
  • Conduite arbitraire – Les actes ou les omissions de l'agent négociateur doivent excéder les limites d'un pouvoir discrétionnaire exercé de façon raisonnable. Ils doivent illustrer un défaut de prendre part à un mécanisme décisionnel rationnel et/ou un défaut d'en arriver à un jugement raisonné (Jakutavicius c. Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, 2005 CRTFP 70).

Comment déposer une plainte

Pour déposer une plainte auprès de la CRTESPF concernant le devoir de représentation équitable, vous devez remplir la formule 16, Plainte visée à l'article 190 de la Loi, que vous trouverez dans le site Web de la CRTESPF : http://fpslreb-crtespf.gc.ca/forms/pslra/formule16.pdf.

La plainte doit être remplie en deux exemplaires (l'original signé et une copie), en format papier. La plainte doit être adressée au directeur général de la CRTESPF. Elle peut être envoyée par télécopieur (et sera réputée avoir été reçue à la date de la transmission par télécopieur), mais la copie papier doit ensuite être envoyée au directeur général dans les plus brefs délais. Les plaintes reçues après 16 h, heure locale, seront réputées avoir été reçues le jour suivant qui n'est ni un samedi ni un jour férié. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les dates de réception, veuillez consulter l'article 9 du Règlement sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral.

Quand déposer une plainte

Toute plainte doit être déposée auprès de la CRTESPF dans les 90 jours suivant la date à laquelle le plaignant a eu ou aurait dû avoir connaissance des mesures ou des circonstances ayant donné lieu à la plainte.

 

La Politique sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée de la CRTESPF explique pourquoi les renseignements soumis à la CRTESPF sont généralement mis à la disposition du public et pourquoi ils peuvent être rapportés dans une décision affichée sur le site Web de la CRTFP et distribuée aux éditeurs.