Applying for an Order to Declare a Position Managerial or Confidential

This practice note provides the information required from an employer to file a post-certification application for an order to declare a position managerial or confidential.

Under section 71 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA), an employer may apply to the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) for an order declaring that any position of an employee in a bargaining unit for which a bargaining agent has been certified by the PSLRB is a managerial or confidential position on the grounds that the position is a position referred to in any of paragraphs 59(1)(a) to (h) of the FPSLRA.

Pursuant to section 33 of the Public Service Labour Relations Board Regulations (the Regulations), an application under section 71 of the FPSLRA must contain, for each position, the following information:

  • the position title, description, number and classification, the department or agency to which it belongs, the geographic location of the position and the name of the occupant of the position;
  • the paragraph in subsection 59(1) of the FPSLRA on which the employer relies in support of the application; and
  • if the employer relies on paragraph 59(1)(h) of the PSLRA, the paragraphs [59(1)(b), (c), (d) or (f)] to which paragraph 59(1)(h) applies, together with the title, description, number and classification of the position in relation to which the duties and responsibilities of the occupant of the position to be excluded are alleged to be confidential.

The PSLRB requests that the employer use a specific form to list the positions in both official languages that it considers to be managerial or confidential positions. That form is available to the employer upon request.

Key points

  • Under section 72 of the FPSLRA, the employer must provide the bargaining agent with a copy of the application.
  • Under section 73 of the FPSLRA, the bargaining agent may file an objection to any position referred to in the employer's application. Objections will be dealt with in a separate practice note.
  • Under section 75 of the FPSLRA, if no objection to the employer's application is filed or if an objection was filed by the bargaining agent and was subsequently withdrawn, the PSLRB will make an order declaring the position listed in the employer's application to be a managerial or confidential position.

For more information…

Please consult:

Demande de déclaration, par ordonnance, qu’un poste est un poste de direction ou de confiance

La présente note de pratique décrit les renseignements que l’employeur doit fournir afin de présenter une demande visant à obtenir une ordonnance déclarant qu’un poste est un poste de direction ou de confiance après accréditation.

En vertu de l’article 71 de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (la nouvelle LRTSPF), une fois l'agent négociateur accrédité par la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTFP), l'employeur peut présenter une demande à la CRTFP pour qu'elle déclare, par ordonnance, que l'un ou l'autre des postes appartenant à l'unité de négociation est un poste de direction ou de confiance pour le motif qu'il correspond à l'un des postes mentionnés aux alinéas 59(1)(a) à (h) de la nouvelle LRTSPF.

Conformément à l’article 33 du Règlement de la Commission des relations de travail dans la  fonction publique (le Règlement), la demande prévue à l’article 71 de la nouvelle LRTSPF doit contenir, pour chaque poste, les renseignements suivants :

  • le titre du poste, sa description, son numéro, sa classification, le nom du ministère ou de l'organisme dont il relève, le lieu d'occupation et le nom de son titulaire;
  • l'alinéa du paragraphe 59(1) de la nouvelle LRTSPF sur lequel la demande est fondée;
  • si l’employeur fonde sa demande sur l'alinéa 59(1)(h) de la nouvelle LRTSPF, celui des alinéas [(59(1)(b), (c), (d) ou (f)] visés à cet alinéa 59(1)(h) qui est applicable, le titre du poste occupé par la personne à l'égard de laquelle le titulaire du poste exerce des fonctions dites de confiance ainsi que sa description, son numéro et sa classification.

La CRTFP demande que l'employeur utilise une formule particulière, sur demande, pour indiquer les postes, dans les deux langues officielles, qu'il considère comme des postes de direction ou de confiance.

Points essentiels

En vertu de l’article 72 de la nouvelle LRTSPF, l'employeur doit envoyer une copie de la demande à l'agent négociateur.

En vertu de l’article 73 de la nouvelle LRTSPF, l'agent négociateur peut déposer un avis d'opposition à l'égard d'un poste mentionné dans la demande de l'employeur. Les avis d’opposition font l’objet d’une note de pratique distincte.

En vertu de l’article 75 de la nouvelle LRTSPF, si l'agent négociateur ne dépose pas d'avis d'opposition à l'égard de la demande de l'employeur ou s'il a déposé un tel avis et l'a subséquemment retiré, la CRTFP rend une ordonnance dans laquelle elle déclare que le poste mentionné dans la demande de l'employeur est un poste de direction ou de confiance.

Pour de plus amples renseignements…

Veuillez consulter :