Filing Subsequent Documents

The purpose of this practice note is to inform parties of the process for filing subsequent documents with the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB), which is described in greater detail in section 7 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Regulations (the Regulations).

Subsequent documents

Once an initiating document has been filed and a proceeding has begun, any document that is sent to the FPSLREB thereafter is considered a subsequent document. The Regulations state that any subsequent document must be filed with the FPSLREB.

Copies

The person sending subsequent documents to the FPSLREB is also responsible for providing copies of that document to the other party, to "every person in receipt of an initiating document by virtue of section 4" of the Regulations, and to intervenors. When an individual, group or policy grievance raises an issue involving the interpretation or application of the Canadian Human Rights Act, the sender should also provide a copy to the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

Exceptions

To protect the privacy of certain information, the Regulations also state that certain subsequent documents should not be copied. These documents include applications for a summons, the documentary evidence referred to in section 30 (relating to an application for certification) and section 42 (relating to an application for revocation), the lists provided by the employer under section 32 and section 44, statements of opposition, and applications to amend statements of opposition.

Documents présentés subséquemment

La présente note de pratique vise à informer les parties de la procédure à suivre pour déposer des documents subséquemment auprès de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTESPF). La procédure est décrite plus en détail à l'article 7 du Règlement sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (le Règlement).

Documents présentés subséquemment

Une fois le document introductif déposé et l'affaire en cours, tout document qui est envoyé par la suite à la CRTESPF est considéré comme un document présenté subséquemment. Le Règlement dispose que tout document présentés subséquemment est déposé auprès de la CRTESPF.

Copies

La personne qui envoie à la CRTESPF un document présenté subséquemment est aussi tenue d'en faire tenir copie à l'autre partie, à « toute personne ayant reçu une copie du document initial en application de l'article 4 » du Règlement, ainsi qu'aux intervenants. Lorsqu'un grief individuel, collectif ou de principe soulève une question liée à l'interprétation ou à l'application de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, une copie doit aussi en être envoyée à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

Exceptions

Afin de protéger la confidentialité de certains renseignements, le Règlement indique également que certains documents présentés subséquemment ne doivent pas être copiés. Il s'agit des demandes d'assignation, de la preuve documentaire visée aux articles 30 (concernant une demande d'accréditation) et 42 (concernant une demande de révocation), des listes fournies par l'employeur en application des articles 32 et 44, des déclarations d'opposition et des demandes de modification de ces déclarations.