Group Grievances

As of April 1, 2005, group grievances can now be presented to an employer by a bargaining agent.

Section 215 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA) provides that the bargaining agent may only present a group grievance with respect to employees in a single portion of the federal public administration who feel aggrieved by the interpretation or application of a provision of a collective agreement or arbitral award. The bargaining agent must also have obtained the consent of each of the individual employees who make up the group that is presenting a grievance.

An individual employee may withdraw from the presentation of a group grievance by notifying the bargaining agent. This may be done at any time before a final decision.

Section 216 of the FPSLRA provides that a bargaining agent can refer to adjudication any group grievance that has already been presented to the employer up to and including the final level of an internal process in which the outcome was unsatisfactory.

Limitations

There are some limitations related to presenting a group grievance. Group grievances may not be presented if:

  • a redress process is already provided for under any Act of Parliament, other than the Canadian Human Rights Act;
  • the grievance involves “the right to equal pay for work of equal value”; and
  • the grievance is related to action taken under instruction, direction or regulation given by or made by the Government of Canada in the interest of the safety or security of Canada or states associated to Canada.

Please note that employees who, in relation to a particular matter, have availed themselves of any employer's complaint procedures that expressly preclude participation in a group grievance under the FPSLRA may not be included in group grievances on the matter by a bargaining agent.

References to adjudication

Group grievances should be referred to adjudication using form 22 of the Public Service Labour Relations Board Regulations (the Regulations).

Please note that a party that raises an issue involving the Canadian Human Rights Act must also give notice of the issue to the Canadian Human Rights Commission by using form 24 of the Regulations.

For more information…

Please consult sections 215 through 219 of the FPSLRA, as well as sections 74 to 82 of the Regulations for more precise details regarding group grievances.

The following may also be useful:

Griefs collectif

Depuis le 1er avril 2005, les agents négociateurs ont la possibilité de présenter des griefs collectifs à l’employeur.

L’article 215 de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (la nouvelle LRTSPF) dispose que l’agent négociateur peut présenter un grief collectif, mais seulement au nom des fonctionnaires d’un même secteur de l’administration publique fédérale qui s’estiment lésés par l’interprétation ou l’application d’une disposition d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale, et qu’il doit obtenir au préalable le consentement de chacun des fonctionnaires faisant partie du groupe qui présente le grief.

Le fonctionnaire peut se retirer de la présentation du grief collectif en en avisant l’agent négociateur. Il peut le faire en tout temps avant la décision définitive.

En vertu de l’article 216 de la nouvelle LRTSPF, l’agent négociateur peut renvoyer à l’arbitrage de griefs le grief collectif après l’avoir présenté à l’employeur et porté jusqu’au dernier palier d’une procédure interne sans avoir obtenu satisfaction.

Restrictions

Certaines restrictions s’appliquent à la présentation d’un grief collectif. Un tel grief ne peut être présenté :

  • si un recours administratif de réparation est prévu par une autre loi fédérale, à l'exception de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne;
  • s’il porte sur le « droit à la parité salariale pour l'exécution de fonctions équivalentes »;
  • s’il porte sur une mesure prise en vertu d'une instruction, d'une directive ou d'un règlement établis par le gouvernement du Canada, ou au nom de celui-ci, dans l'intérêt de la sécurité du pays ou de tout État associé au Canada.

Veuillez prendre note que le fonctionnaire qui choisit, relativement à une question particulière, de se prévaloir de toute procédure de plainte de l'employeur qui lui interdit expressément de participer à un grief collectif présenté sous le régime de la nouvelle LRTSPF ne peut pas être inclus dans les griefs collectifs présentés par l’agent négociateur sur cette question.

Renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs

Les griefs collectifs sont renvoyés à l’arbitrage de griefs au moyen de la formule 22 du Règlement de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (le Règlement).

Veuillez prendre note que la partie qui soulève une question liée à la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne doit aussi donner avis de cette question à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne au moyen de la formule 24 du Règlement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements…

Veuillez consulter les articles 215 à 219 de la nouvelle LRTSPF, de même que les articles 74 à 82 du Règlement pour obtenir plus de détails au sujet des griefs collectifs.

Vous pouvez également consulter :