Objecting to a Position Listed in an Application Concerning Managerial or Confidential Positions

This practice note provides the information required from a bargaining agent when filing an objection to a position listed in a post-certification application by an employer for an order to declare a position managerial or confidential.

Under section 73 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA), if the bargaining agent considers that a particular position in the employer's application is not a position referred to in any of paragraphs 59(1)(a) to (h) of the FPSLRA, the bargaining agent may file an objection in respect of that position.

Pursuant to section 34 of the Public Service Labour Relations Board Regulations (the Regulations), an objection that is filed with the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) under section 73 of the FPSLRA must be filed no later than 20 calendar days after receipt of a copy of the employer's application. The objection must contain, for each position objected to, the following information:

  • the position title, description, number and classification, the department or agency to which it belongs and the geographic location of the position; and
  • a statement of the grounds for the objection.

Conditional consent has not been deemed to be an objection

The PSLRB does not consider conditional consent by a bargaining agent to be an objection under section 73 of the PSLRA. This includes instances in which a bargaining agent files a statement indicating it agrees with the employer about a managerial or confidential position mentioned in an application on the condition that the order declaring another position managerial or confidential be revoked or that a position be returned to the bargaining unit. In such cases, the PSLRB will process the employer's application as though no objection had been filed.

Consent on one of multiple grounds

In cases where the employer had filed an application for a particular position on the basis of more than one paragraph of subsection 59(1) of the FPSLRA and where the bargaining agent had consented to the application on one of those grounds, the PSLRB processes the application on the basis of the bargaining agent's consent to that ground.

Key points

  • Under subsection 34(2) of the Regulations, the bargaining agent must provide the employer with a copy of its objection.
  • Under section 75 of the FPSLRA, if no objection to the employer's application is filed or if an objection was filed by the bargaining agent and was subsequently withdrawn, the PSLRB will make an order declaring the position listed in the employer's application to be a managerial or confidential position.

For more information…

Please consult:

Avis d’opposition à l’égard d’un poste mentionné dans une demande concernant les postes de direction ou de confiance

La présente note de pratique décrit les renseignements que doit fournir l’agent négociateur qui dépose un avis d’opposition à l’égard d’un poste mentionné dans une demande de déclaration, par ordonnance, qu’un poste est un poste de direction ou de confiance, présentée après l’accréditation.

En vertu de l’article 73 de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (la nouvelle LRTSPF), s'il estime qu'un poste mentionné dans la demande de l'employeur n'est pas visé à l'un des alinéas 59(1)(a) à (h) de la nouvelle LRTSPF, l'agent négociateur peut déposer un avis d'opposition à l'égard de ce poste.

En vertu de l’article 34 du Règlement de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (le Règlement), l’avis d'opposition visé à l'article 73 de la nouvelle LRTSPF doit être déposé auprès de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTFP) au plus tard 20 jours civils après la réception de la copie de la demande de l'employeur. L'avis d'opposition doit, pour chaque poste en cause, contenir les renseignements suivants :

  • le titre du poste, sa description, son numéro, sa classification, le nom du ministère ou de l'organisme dont il relève et le lieu d'occupation;
  • un exposé des motifs de l'opposition.

Consentement conditionnel non considéré comme une opposition

La CRTFP ne considère pas qu’un consentement conditionnel donné par l’agent négociateur constitue un avis d’opposition visé à l’article 73 de la nouvelle LRTSPF. Cela vaut aussi lorsque l’agent négociateur dépose une déclaration indiquant qu'il accepte le point de vue de l’employeur au sujet d’un poste de direction ou de confiance mentionné dans la demande, à la condition que l’ordonnance déclarant qu'un autre poste est un poste de direction ou de confiance soit annulée ou qu'un poste soit rendu à l'unité de négociation. Dans ces cas-là, la CRTFP traitera la demande comme si aucun avis d'opposition n'avait été déposé.

Consentement sur l'un des nombreux motifs

Lorsque l'employeur a déposé une demande à l'égard d'un poste particulier en invoquant plusieurs alinéas du paragraphe 59(1) de la nouvelle LRTSPF et que l'agent négociateur a consenti à la demande pour l'un de ces motifs, la CRTFP traite la demande en se basant sur le consentement de l'agent négociateur à l'égard de ce motif.

Points essentiels

En vertu du paragraphe 34(2) du Règlement, l'agent négociateur doit fournir à l'employeur une copie de son avis d'opposition.

En vertu de l’article 75 de la nouvelle LRTSPF, si l'agent négociateur ne dépose pas d'avis d'opposition à l'égard de la demande de l'employeur ou s'il a déposé un tel avis et l'a retiré par la suite, la CRTFP rend une ordonnance dans laquelle elle déclare que le poste mentionné dans la demande de l'employeur est un poste de direction ou de confiance.

Pour de plus amples renseignements…

Veuillez consulter :