Summoning Witnesses Under the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act

An application for a summons under the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA) must be filed with the Board. Pursuant to paragraph 20(a) of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board Act (FPSLREBA), subsection 147(1), subsection 174(1) and paragraph 226(1) of the FPSLRA, the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB), an arbitration board, a public interest commission or an adjudicator can summon witnesses, enforce their attendance and compel them to give oral or written evidence under oath in the same manner as a superior court of record.

Pursuant to sections 18 and 103 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Regulations (the Regulations), the party applying for a summons should provide the following information:

  • the name and address of the witness to be summoned;
  • a brief statement of the evidence that the witness is expected to give at the hearing.

(Note: When a witness must also produce documents, the request should include an explanation of the documents' relevance with respect to the issues raised by the proceedings.)

The party summoning a witness bears the responsibility of serving the summons in accordance with the rules in force in the province or territory where the hearing will be held. More information regarding those rules may be sought from the appropriate superior court.

Expert witnesses

Parties intending to have a witness recognized as an "expert witness" at the hearing should send this individual's credentials (e.g., curriculum vitæ and list of publications) to the other party beforehand. This will serve to notify the other party of the intention to produce the evidence of an expert witness and allow the party to review the individual's credentials in advance.

When requesting a summons for an expert witness, the requesting party should arrange for a specific date and time for that testimony and provide that information to the FPSLREB, along with the request for a summons. If necessary, the requesting party should discuss these scheduling arrangements with the opposing party prior to requesting the summons.

All reports of expert witnesses that will be produced at the hearing should be sent to the other party in advance. If the other party intends to challenge the qualifications of the expert witness or produce its own expert witness, its intentions should be indicated by return correspondence.

The FPSLREB does not require copies of this type of correspondence between the two parties. However, the credentials of the expert witness must be produced at the hearing.

Payment of witness fees

Section 248 of the FPSLRA and section 41 of the FPSLREBA provide that a person who is summoned by the FPSLREB, an arbitration board, a public interest commission or an adjudicator to attend a hearing under the FPSLRA and the PSLREBA as a witness is entitled to the same fees and allowances as if that person were to attend before the Federal Court. More information regarding those fees and allowances may be sought from the Federal Courts Rules.

All costs, fees and allowances regarding the attendance of a witness, including those relating to the service of the summons, are paid by the party summoning the witness.

Copies

An application for a summons does not need to be copied to the other parties, intervenors, or interested persons as it falls within the exceptions listed in subsection 7(3) of the Regulations.

Assignation de témoins en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral

Toute demande d'assignation de témoins en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (la nouvelle LRTSPF) doit être déposée auprès de la Commission. En vertu de l'alinéa 20(a) de la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (Loi sur la CRTESPF), du paragraphe 147(1), du paragraphe 174(1) et de l'alinéa 226(1) de la LRTSPF, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (CRTESPF), un conseil d'arbitrage, une commission de l'intérêt public ou un arbitre de grief peut convoquer des témoins et les contraindre à comparaître et à déposer sous serment, oralement ou par écrit, au même titre qu'une cour supérieure d'archives.

Conformément aux articles 18 et 103 du Règlement sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (le Règlement), la partie qui présente une demande d'assignation devra fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom et l'adresse du témoin à assigner;
  • un bref exposé de la preuve attendue du témoin à l'audience.

(Remarque: Lorsqu'un témoin doit également produire des documents, la demande doit préciser en quoi ces documents se rapportent aux questions soulevées par les procédures.)

Il revient à la partie qui assigne un témoin de signifier l'assignation conformément aux règles en vigueur dans la province ou le territoire où se tiendra l'audience. La cour supérieure compétente peut fournir plus de détails sur l'application de ces règles.

Témoins experts

Les parties qui ont l'intention de demander qu'un témoin soit reconnu en tant que «témoin expert» à l'audience doivent expédier à l'avance à l'autre partie une copie de ses titres (p.ex. son curriculum vitæ et la liste de ses publications). L'autre partie se trouvera ainsi avisée de l'intention de faire entendre un témoin expert et pourra prendre connaissance de ses titres à l'avance.

La partie qui présente une demande d'assignation d'un témoin expert doit convenir avec celui-ci de la date et de l'heure de son témoignage et fournir cette information à la CRTESPF avec la demande d'assignation. Au besoin, elle doit discuter avec l'autre partie des dispositions qui ont été prises à cet égard avant de présenter la demande d'assignation.

L'autre partie doit recevoir à l'avance tous les rapports des témoins experts qui seront produits à l'audience. Elle doit aussi indiquer par retour du courrier si elle a l'intention de contester les titres du témoin expert ou d'appeler son propre témoin expert.

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'envoyer à la CRTESPF des copies de cet échange de correspondance entre les parties. Il n'en reste pas moins que les titres du témoin expert (p. ex. son curriculum vitæ et la liste de ses publications) devront être produits à l'audience.

Paiement des indemnités des témoins

L'article 248 de la LRTSPF et l'article 41 de la Loi sur la CRTESPF disposent qu'un témoin assigné à comparaître devant la CRTESPF, un conseil d'arbitrage, une commission de l'intérêt public ou un arbitre de grief en vertu de la nouvelle LRTSPF et de la Loi sur la CRTESPF a droit pour sa comparution aux frais et indemnités accordés aux témoins assignés devant la Cour fédérale. Le cas échéant, on peut consulter les Règles des Cours fédérales pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

La partie qui convoque le témoin acquitte directement les coûts, les frais et les indemnités occasionnés par sa comparution, y compris ceux liés à la signification de l'assignation.

Copies

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'envoyer des copies de la demande d'assignation aux autres parties, intervenants ou parties intéressées, ce document étant visé par les exceptions indiquées au paragraphe 7(3) du Règlement.