Summoning Witnesses Under the Public Service Staff Relations Act

Summoning of witnesses

An application for a summons under the former Public Service Staff Relations Act (PSSRA) must be filed with the Executive Director. Pursuant to paragraph 25(a), subsection 77.1(5), subsection 78.1(8), section 86 and section 96.1 of the PSSRA, a conciliation commissioner, a designation review panel, a conciliation board or an adjudicator can summon witnesses, enforce their attendance, compel them to give oral or written evidence on oath, and produce such documents and things as are necessary, to the same extent as a superior court of record.

The party applying for a summons may be required to provide some information before the summons is issued. Such information may include the following:

  • the name, address, occupation, employer and title of the person to be summoned;
  • the substance of such person’s proposed testimony.

(Note: When a witness must also produce documents, the request should include an explanation of the documents’ relevance with respect to the issues raised by the proceedings.)

The party summoning a witness bears the responsibility of serving the summons in accordance with the rules in force in the province or territory where the hearing will be held. More information regarding those rules may be sought from the appropriate superior court.

Expert witnesses

Parties intending to have a witness recognized as an "expert witness" at the hearing should send this individual's credentials (e.g., curriculum vitæ and list of publications) to the other party beforehand. This will serve to notify the other party of the intention to produce the evidence of an expert witness and allow the party to review the individual's credentials in advance.

When requesting a summons for an expert witness, the requesting party should arrange for a specific date and time for that testimony and provide that information to the PSLRB, along with the request for a summons. If necessary, the requesting party should discuss these scheduling arrangements with the opposing party prior to requesting the summons.

All reports of expert witnesses that will be produced at the hearing should be sent to the other party in advance. If the other party intends to challenge the qualifications of the expert witness or produce its own expert witness, its intentions should be indicated by return correspondence.

The PSLRB does not require copies of this type of correspondence between the two parties. However, the credentials of the expert witness must be produced at the hearing.

Payment of witness fees

Section 109 of the PSSRA provides that a person who is summoned by the PSLRB, a conciliation commissioner, an adjudicator, a conciliation board or a designation review panel to attend a hearing under the PSSRA as a witness is entitled to be paid an allowance for expenses. This is determined in accordance with the scale for the time being in force for witnesses in civil suits in the superior court of the province in which the proceedings are taking place.

All costs, fees and allowances regarding the attendance of a witness, including those relating to the service of the summons, are borne directly by the party summoning the witness.

For more information…

Please consult:

  • Paragraph 25(a), subsection 77.1(5), subsection 78.1(8), section 86, section 96.1 and section 109 of the PSSRA.
  • Subsection 12(1) of the P.S.S.R.B. Regulations and Rules of Procedure, 1993.

Assignation de témoins en vertu de l’ancienne Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral

Assignation de témoins

Toute demande d’assignation de témoins en vertu de l’ancienne Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral (l’ancienne LRTSPF) doit être déposée auprès du directeur général. En vertu de l’alinéa 25(a), des paragraphes 77.1(5) et 78.1(8) et des articles 86 et 96.1 de l’ancienne LRTSPF, un commissaire-conciliateur, un comité d’examen des désignations, un bureau de conciliation ou un arbitre de grief peut convoquer des témoins et les contraindre à comparaître et à déposer sous serment, oralement ou par écrit, ainsi qu’à produire les documents indispensables, au même titre qu’une cour supérieure d’archives.

La partie qui présente une demande d’assignation peut être tenue de fournir certains renseignements avant de délivrer l’assignation, tels que :

  • le nom, l’adresse, le titre et l’employeur du témoin à assigner;
  • un exposé du témoignage attendu du témoin.

(Remarque: Lorsqu’un témoin doit également produire des documents, la demande doit préciser en quoi ces documents se rapportent aux questions soulevées par les procédures.)

Il revient à la partie qui assigne un témoin de signifier l’assignation conformément aux règles en vigueur dans la province ou le territoire où se tiendra l’audience. La cour supérieure compétente peut fournir plus de détails sur l’application de ces règles.

Témoins experts

Les parties qui ont l’intention de demander qu’un témoin soit reconnu en tant que « témoin expert » à l’audience doivent expédier à l’avance à l’autre partie une copie de ses titres (p.ex. son curriculum vitæ et la liste de ses publications). L’autre partie se trouvera ainsi avisée de l’intention de faire entendre un témoin expert et pourra prendre connaissance de ses titres à l’avance.

La partie qui présente une demande d’assignation d’un témoin expert doit convenir avec celui-ci de la date et de l’heure de son témoignage et fournir cette information à la CRTFP avec la demande d’assignation. Au besoin, elle doit discuter avec l’autre partie des dispositions qui ont été prises à cet égard avant de présenter la demande d’assignation.

L’autre partie doit recevoir à l’avance les rapports des témoins experts qui seront produits à l’audience. Elle doit aussi indiquer par retour du courrier si elle a l’intention de contester les titres du témoin expert ou d’appeler son propre témoin expert.

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’envoyer à la CRTFP des copies de cet échange de correspondance entre les parties. Il n’en reste pas moins que les titres du témoin expert (p. ex. son curriculum vitæ et la liste de ses publications) devront être produits à l’audience.

Paiement des indemnités des témoins

En vertu de l’article 109 de l’ancienne LRTSPF, un témoin qui se rend à la convocation de la CRTFP, d’un commissaire-conciliateur, d’un arbitre de grief, d’un bureau de conciliation ou d’un comité d’examen des désignations pour assister à une audience en vertu de l’ancienne LRTSPF a droit à une indemnité au titre de ses frais dont le montant est fixé d'après le tarif en vigueur, pour les témoins en matière civile, à la cour supérieure de la province où l’instance a lieu.

La partie qui convoque le témoin acquitte directement les coûts, les frais et les indemnités occasionnés par sa comparution, y compris ceux liés à la signification de l’assignation.

Pour de plus amples renseignements…

Veuillez consulter :

  • l’alinéa 25(a), les paragraphes 77.1(5) et 78.1(8) et les articles 86, 96.1 et 109 de l’ancienne LRTSPF.
  • le paragraphe12(1) du Règlement et règles de procédure de la C.R.T.F.P. (1993).