Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Public Service Labour Relations Board (the Board) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

In particular, the Board’s mandate is to effectively and efficiently administer the systems of collective bargaining and grievance adjudication established under the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, as well as certain provisions of Part II of the Canada Labour Code concerning occupational safety and health applicable to employees in the public service.

Through its role in adjudicating grievances and complaints, mediating disputes, supporting the collective bargaining process, and performing compensation analysis and research, the Board helps resolve labour relations issues in the federal public service and in Parliament in an impartial manner. This benefits Canadians by supporting a productive and effective workplace that delivers government programs in the public interest.

Further details on the Board’s mandate, program activities and legislation may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Departmental Performance Report.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Board are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013
(a)
Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2012
(b)
Variance
(a - b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants $344 $347 ($3)
Travel - Non-Public Servants $98 $135 ($37)
Total Travel $442 $482 ($40)
Hospitality $14 $28 ($14)
Conference Fees $28 $47 ($19)
Total $484 $557 ($73)

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year.

TRAVEL:

  1. Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, the Board’s travel expenditures by public servants have slightly decreased.
  2. Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, the Board’s travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased mainly due to:

    • The decrease is mainly attributable to a reduced use of part-time Board members, which decreased the Board’s travel expenditures for these non-public servants. This decrease was offset by an increase in travel expenses associated with the PSLRB’s involvement in recent arbitral awards and public interest commissions; its responsibilities associated with administering the collective bargaining process in the federal public service and in Parliament.

HOSPITALITY: Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, the Board’s hospitality expenditures have decreased by 50%.

  • The decrease is mainly attributable to a reduction of interest-based negotiation and mediation training sessions held during 2012-2013. Due to the Board’s responsibilities associated with administering the collective bargaining process in the federal public service and in Parliament during the year, the Board’s dispute resolution specialists were less available to provide this training.

CONFERENCE FEES: Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, the Board’s conference fees expenditures have decreased by 40%:

  • This decrease is mainly attributable to an overall reduction in the Board’s participation in conference activities and also to a timing difference in the payment for the Board’s participation in the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals (CCAT) conference.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences

Comme l’exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient pour la plupart directement le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

En particulier, la Commission a pour mandat d’administrer efficacement et avec efficience les systèmes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs établis par la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique et la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, ainsi que certaines dispositions de la Partie II du Code canadien du travail concernant la sécurité et la santé au travail qui son applicables aux fonctionnaires de l’État. La Commission administre aussi la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon.

La Commission facilite le règlement impartial des questions inhérentes aux relations de travail au sein de la fonction publique fédérale et du Parlement en assurant l’arbitrage de griefs et de plaintes, en assurant la médiation de différends, en appuyant le processus de la négociation collective, et en réalisant des analyses et des recherches en matière de rémunération. Cette façon de faire profite aux Canadiens étant donné qu’elle contribue à créer un milieu de travail productif et efficace qui exécute les programmes gouvernementaux dans l’intérêt du public.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, les activités de programme et la législation de la Commission dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de la Commission sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013
(a)
Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012
(b)
Écart
(a - b)
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 334 $ 347 $ -3 $
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 98 $ 135 $ -37 $
Total des dépenses de voyages 442 $ 482 $ -40 $
Accueil 14 $ 28 $ -14 $
Frais de participation aux conférences 28 $ 47 $ -19 $
Total 484 $ 557 $ -73 $

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

VOYAGE :

  1. Fonctionnaires : Comparées à l’exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires de la Commission ont légèrement diminué. :
  2. Non-fonctionnaires : Comparées à l’exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses de voyages des non-fonctionnaires de la Commission ont diminué, principalement en raison de ce qui suit :

    • La diminution est principalement attribuable à une réduction de l’utilisation des commissaires à temps partiel, ce qui a réduit les dépenses de voyages de la Commission pour les non-fonctionnaires. Cette diminution a été compensée par une augmentation des frais de déplacement associés à la participation de la CRTFP aux récentes décisions arbitrales et commissions de l’intérêt public, à ses responsabilités liées à l’administration du processus de négociation collective dans la fonction publique fédérale et au Parlement.

ACCUEIL : Comparées à l’exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses d’accueil de la Commission ont diminué de 50 % :

  • La diminution est principalement attribuable à la réduction du nombre de séance de formation en matière de négociation raisonnée et de médiation qui s'est tenues au cours de l’année 2012-2013. En raison de ses responsabilités liées à l’administration du processus de négociation collective dans la fonction publique fédérale et au Parlement au cours de l'année, les spécialistes de règlement des conflits de la Commission étaient moins disponibles pour assurer cette formation.

FRAIS DE PARTICIPATION AUX CONFÉRENCES : Comparées à l’exercice 2011-2012, les frais de participation aux conférences de la Commission ont diminué de 40 % :

  • La diminution est principalement attribuable à une réduction globale de la participation de la Commission à des conférences ainsi qu’au décalage du paiement des frais de participation à la conférence du Conseil des tribunaux administratifs canadiens (CTAC).