Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board

May 27, 2019

It is with great sadness that the Board informs you of the passing of Mr. Stephan J. Bertrand on Friday May 24th, 2019. Mr. Bertrand was a skilled arbitrator with many years of experience. He was a full-time member of the FPSLREB since December 30, 2010. Prior to joining the Board, Mr. Bertrand had, among other things, a distinguished career working as a lawyer in employment and labour law.

The Board gives its deepest condolences to the entire family of Mr. Bertrand.

The celebration of Mr. Bertrand’s life will be held on Saturday June 1st, 2019 at the Beechwood National Memorial Centre, 280 Beechwood Ave, to pay him final tribute. The family will receive condolences starting 3 p.m., and the celebration will start at 4:30 p.m.

https://www.beechwoodottawa.ca/en/services/stephane-bertrand-0

Catherine Ebbs, Chairperson


Welcome to Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board’s Website.

The Board is an independent tribunal that was created on November 1, 2014, when the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Act came into force.

The Board administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the federal public sector and Parliamentary employees as well as, since June 1, 2016, RCMP members and reservists. It is also responsible for resolving staffing complaints under the Public Service Employment Act related to internal appointments and layoffs in the federal public service.

The Board provides two main services:

  • adjudication - hearing and deciding grievances, labour relations complaints, and other labour relations matters and dealing with staffing complaints related to internal appointments, layoffs, the implementation of corrective measures ordered by the Board, and revocations of appointments.
  • mediation - helping parties reach collective agreements, manage their relations under those agreements, and resolve disputes and complaints without resorting to a hearing.

The Board’s commitment to impartially resolving labour relations issues and staffing complaints contributes to a productive and efficient workplace that ultimately benefits all Canadians through the efficient delivery of government programs and services.

Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral

Le 27 mai 2019

C’est avec une grande tristesse que la Commission vous fait part du décès de M. Stephan J. Bertrand, survenu le vendredi 24 mai 2019. M. Bertrand était un arbitre très qualifié possédant  de nombreuses années d’expérience. Il était commissaire à temps plein à la Commission depuis le 30 décembre 2010. Avant de se joindre à la CRTESPF, M. Bertrand a, entre autres, fait une brillante carrière à titre d’avocat en droit de l’emploi et du travail.

La Commission offre ses sincères condoléances à toute la famille M. Bertrand.

La célébration de vie de M. Bertrand aura lieu le samedi 1er juin 2019 au Centre commémoratif National Beechwood, au 280 av Beechwood, afin de lui rendre un dernier hommage. La famille recevra les condoléances à partir de 15 h, et la célébration commencera à 16 h 30.

https://www.beechwoodottawa.ca/fr/node/514

Catherine Ebbs,  Présidente


Bienvenue sur le site Web de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral.

La CRTESPF est un tribunal indépendant établi par la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (LCRTESPF), qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er novembre 2014.

La Commission est chargée de l’administration des régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs dans le secteur public fédéral et au Parlement ainsi que, depuis le 1er juin 2016, pour les membres et les réservistes de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). En vertu de la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique, elle est également responsable du règlement des plaintes en matière de dotation liées aux nominations internes et aux mises en disponibilité dans la fonction publique fédérale.

La Commission offre deux principaux services :

  • l’arbitrage – instruire et trancher les griefs, les plaintes en matière de relations de travail et d’autres questions relatives aux relations de travail, et traiter les plaintes en matière de dotation liées à des nominations internes, à des mises en disponibilité, à la mise en œuvre de mesures correctives ordonnées par la Commission et à la révocation des nominations;
  • la médiation – aider les parties à conclure des conventions collectives, à gérer leurs relations en vertu de ces conventions et à régler leurs différends et leurs plaintes sans qu’il soit nécessaire de tenir une audience.

Notre détermination à régler les questions de relations de travail et les plaintes en matière de dotation d’une manière impartiale contribue à la création d’un milieu de travail productif et efficient qui, au bout du compte, profite à tous les Canadiens en assurant la prestation efficace des programmes et des services gouvernementaux.